LB299 Occupational licenses/boards Milk Hauler/Samplers – PDF Attached as Required

Provide and explanation for why you believe or do not believe that the occupational regualtions overseen by your board have been effective:

The licensing of raw bulk milk hauler/samplers in the State of Nebraska has been effective in the monitoring of persons who sample raw milk, weigh for basis of payment, and transport to processing plants. Hauler/samplers are evaluated every two years for their sampling procedures and raw milk pick-up practices which assures that Nebraska dairy producers are accurately paid for their milk and dairy product customers are assured of a safe antibiotic free product. Repeated violations of sampling and pickup practices as set forth by the Nebraska Milk Act may result in suspension or revocation of licenses.

What is the potential harm if this occupation is no longer licensed, certified or regulated?

The failure to license and consistently monitor the sampling pickup procedures of raw milk bulk hauler/samplers would place Nebraska dairy farmers at risk of lost financial payment for their product and would undermine the product safety and public health for the consumer. It would also place Nebraska at risk of losing the ability to ship milk interstate.

Comparison of other States:

South Dakota

- How are milk haulers licensed in your state? Written Test, Farm Evaluation, Application
- Permit/license fee amount? \$50
- How often are they evaluated? Every two years
- Do you accept other state's permits for haulers operating in your state? They must be licensed
 in South Dakota, but we do accept other state evaluations after the haulers initial certification in
 SD

Missouri

- How are milk haulers licensed in your state? Online training and testing
- Permit/license fee amount? \$25
- How often are they evaluated? Every two years
- Do you accept other state's permits for haulers operating in your state? Yes, but they must be licensed in Missouri (application + \$25)

<u>lowa</u>

- How are milk haulers licensed in your state? Written test, Farm Evaluation/Schooling
- Permit/license fee amount? \$20 for a two year permit
- How often are they evaluated? Every two years
- Do you accept other state's permits for haulers operating in your state? Yes, as long as the evaluation is current.

Kansas

- How are milk haulers licensed in your state? Must apply either online or by mail. Training and test online, evaluation by dairy inspector.
- Permit/license fee amount? Fee is \$35 annually.
- How often are they evaluated? Annually
- Do you accept other state's permits for haulers operating in your state? Yes

Colorado

- How are milk haulers licensed in your state? In person training/testing and onsite evaluation.
 Predominately conducted by certified industry representatives (DFA).
- Permit/license fee amount? Fee is \$50 annually.
- How often are they evaluated? Once every two years
- Do you accept other state's permits for haulers operating in your state? Yes