LB 855

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 855

## Approved by the Governor May 31, 2001

AN ACT relating to redistricting; to amend sections 32-509, 75-101.01, and 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change boundaries of the public service commissioner districts; to eliminate obsolete language; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; to outright repeal section 75-101.03, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 32-509, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

32-509. (1) The State of Nebraska is divided into five public service commissioner districts as provided and described in sections 75-101.01 to 75-101.03 and 75-101.02. A candidate for the office of public service commissioner shall meet the qualifications found in section 75-101. The commissioners shall be elected on the partisan ballot.

(2) Each public service commissioner shall be elected for a term of six years. One public service commissioner from public service commissioner district number one and one public service commissioner from public service commissioner district number three shall be elected at the statewide general election in 1994 and each six years thereafter. One public service commissioner from public service commissioner district number four and one public service commissioner from public service commissioner district number five shall be elected at the statewide general election in 1992 and each six years thereafter. One public service commissioner from public service commissioner district number two shall be elected at the statewide general election in 1996 and each six years thereafter.

Sec. 2. Section 75-101.01, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

75-101.01. Based on the  $\frac{1990}{2000}$  Census of Population by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into five public service commissioner districts, and each public service commissioner district shall be entitled to one member. The limits and designations of the five districts shall be as follows:

(1) District No. 1. The counties of Lancaster, Otoe, and Cass and that part of Sarpy County not included in public service commissioner district 2 Cass, Otoe, Gage, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

(2) District No. 2. That part of Douglas County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and <del>Interstate Highway 80, north</del> on Interstate Highway 80 to Interstate Highway 680, north on Interstate Highway 680 to Maple Street, east on Maple Street to 90th Street, north on 90th Street to Fort Street, east on Fort Street to Military Avenue, southeast on Military Avenue to 72nd Street, north on 72nd Street to Interstate Highway 680, east on Interstate Highway 680 to the Missouri River, south along the Missouri River to the Douglas-Sarpy County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning and that part of Sarpy County which includes the Highland I precinct, the Highland II precinct, and the city of Bellevue Harry Andersen Avenue, northwest on Harry Andersen Avenue to Golfing Green Drive, northeast on Golfing Green Drive to Oak Hills Drive, northwest on Oak Hills Drive to South 122nd Street, follow South 122nd Street north to Q Street, east on Q Street to South 120th Street, north on South 120th Street to the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way, west along the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way to the western boundary of precinct 5-37, north along such boundary to A Street, west on A Street to South 126th Avenue, north on South 126th Avenue to Augusta Avenue, northwest on Augusta Avenue to South 129th Avenue, north on South 129th Avenue to West Center Road, west on West Center Road to South 132nd Street, north on South 132nd Street to the northern boundary of precinct 6-9, follow such boundary west to Cedar Street, west on Cedar Street to South 135th Avenue, northeast on South 135th Avenue to Shirley Street, northwest on Shirley Street to Trendwood Drive, northeast on Trendwood Drive to South 132nd Street, north on South 132nd Street to West Dodge Road, on West Dodge Road to the eastern boundary of precinct 6-65, follow such boundary north, east, and then north to Burt Street, east on Burt Street to Rose Lane, northeast on Rose Lane to Burt Court, east on Burt Court to North

LB 855

124th Court, south on North 124th Court to Burt Plaza, east on Burt Plaza to Burt Street, east on Burt Street to North 122nd Street, north on North 122nd Street to Nicholas Street, east on Nicholas Street to North 120th Street, north on North 120th Street to Blondo Street, east on Blondo Street to Big Papillion Creek, northwest and north on Big Papillion Creek to West Maple Road, west on West Maple Road to North 120th Street, north on North 120th Street to the northern boundary of precinct 7-49, follow such boundary east then north to Military Road, east on Military Road to North 114th Street, north on North 114th Street to State Street, east on State Street to Blair High Road, north on Blair High Road to North 108th Street, east and north on North 108th Street to the Douglas-Washington County line, east along the Douglas-Washington County line to the Nebraska-Iowa state line, south along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning;

- (3) District No. 3. The counties of Cedar, Dixon, Dakota, Thurston, Cuming, Burt, Dodge, Washington, Dodge, Cuming, Stanton, Madison, Antelope, Pierce, and Wayne, that part of Knox County not located in public service commissioner district 5, Saunders, and Sarpy and that part of Douglas County not located in public service commissioner district 2;
- (4) District No. 4. The counties of Richardson, Pawnee, Jefferson, Thayer, Nuckolls, Webster, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Saline, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Seward, York, Hamilton, Hall, Howard, Merrick, Polk, Butler, Saunders, Colfax, Platte, Nance, and Boone, Madison, Stanton, Wayne, Pierce, Cedar, Dixon, and Dakota; and
- (5) District No. 5. The counties of Franklin, Harlan, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Dundy, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Buffalo, Dawson, Lincoln, Perkins, Keith, Deuel, Cheyenne, Kimball, Banner, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Custer, Sherman, Howard, Valley, Greeley, Wheeler, Garfield, Loup, Blaine, Thomas, Hooker, Grant, Box Butte, Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Cherry, Brown, Rock, Holt, Antelope, Knox, Boyd, and Keya Paha. and that part of Knox County which includes the townships of Raymond, Western, Washington, Walnut Grove, Bohemia, Jefferson, Logan, Miller, Verdigre, Sparta, Niobrara, and Creighton and the precincts of Verdigre, Creighton City Ward 1, and Creighton City Ward 2.
- Sec. 3. Section 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 75-101.02. The precincts, townships, and cities mentioned in section 75-101.01 are the precincts, townships, and cities set out in the 1990 Census of Population by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census. The descriptions of districts in section 75-101.01 are taken from the 2000 TIGER/Line files published by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
- Sec. 4. Original sections 32-509, 75-101.01, and 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.
- Sec. 5. The following section is outright repealed: Section 75-101.03, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska.
- Sec. 6. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.