LEGISLATIVE BILL 854

Approved by the Governor February 8, 1994

Introduced by Executive Board: Hall, 7, Chairperson

AN ACT relating to educational telecommunications; to amend section 79-2102, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992; to eliminate obsolete language; and to repeal the original section. Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. That section 79-2102, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992, be amended to read as follows:

(1) Until the terms of the members of the commission 79-2102. designated pursuant to subdivisions (c) through (i) of this subsection serving on July 9, 1988, expire, the Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission shall be composed of nine members, as follows: (a) The Commissioner of Education or his or her designee; (b) the President of the University of Nebraska or his or her designee; (c) a representative of the state colleges; (d) a representative of private educational institutions of the State of Nebraska; (e) a member residing in a Class II school district; (f) a member residing in a Class III school district; (g) a member residing in a Class IV school district; (h) a member residing in a Class V school district; and (i) a member residing in a Class I or Class VI school district; and (i) a member residing in a Class I or Class VI school district; (2) Upon the expiration of the terms of the members of the

commission designated pursuant to subdivisions (1)(c) through (1)(i) of this seetion; the (1) The Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission shall be composed of eleven members, as follows: (a) The Commissioner of Education or his or her designee; (b) the President of the University of Nebraska or his or her designee; (c) a representative of the state colleges; (d) a representative of the community colleges; (e) a representative of private educational institutions of the State of Nebraska; and (f) six members of the general public, none of whom shall be associated with any of the institutions listed in subdivisions (a) through (e) of this subsection and two of whom shall be from each congressional district. No more than four of the members shall be actively engaged in the teaching profession or administration of an educational institution.

(3) (2) The members described in subdivisions (2)(e) (1)(c) through (2)(f) (1)(f) of this section shall be appointed by the Governor with the approval of the Legislature for terms of four years, except that of the members first appointed after July 9, 1988, two members shall be appointed to two year terms; two members shall be appointed to three year terms; and four members shall be appointed to four year terms and the term of the member described in subdivision (2)(d) (1)(d) of this section shall be the same as the term of the member described in subdivision (2)(e) (1)(c) of this section. Vacancies shall be filled by the Governor for the unexpired term. The commission shall be nonpolitical in character and selection of the members of the commission shall be made on a nonpolitical basis. No member of the commission shall receive any compensation for his or her services. Reimbursement shall be provided for reasonable and necessary expenses incurred in attending scheduled meetings of the commission as provided in sections 81-1174 to 81-1177.

In the event the Commissioner of Education is unable to attend a commission meeting, the deputy commissioner of education is authorized to act on his or her behalf, and in the event the President of the University of Nebraska or his or her designee is unable to attend a commission meeting, the Executive Vice President and Provost for academic affairs is authorized to act

on his or her behalf.

Sec. 2. That original section 79-2102, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992, is repealed.