LEGISLATIVE BILL 306

Approved by the Governor April 22, 1993

Introduced by Beutler, 28

AN ACT relating to courts; to amend sections 24-301.02 and 24-503, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992; to change provisions relating to district court judicial districts and county judge districts; and to repeal the original sections.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. That section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992, be amended to read as follows:

24-301.02. The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the

following twelve district court judicial districts:

District No. I shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,

and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota,

Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming,

Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and

Hall;

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Clay,

Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball,

Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

In the fourth district there shall be fourteen judges of the district court. In the third district there shall be six judges of the district court. In the twelfth district there shall be five judges of the district court.

LB 306

In the fifth district there shall be four judges of the district court. In the first, second, sixth, ninth, and eleventh districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.

Sec. 2. That section 24-503, Revised Statutes Supplement,

1992, be amended to read as follows:

24-503. For the purpose of serving the county courts in each county, the following twenty one twelve county judge districts are hereby created:

<u>District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline,</u> Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass,

and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster; District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders:

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota,

Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming,

Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and

Hall:

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,

<u>District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker,</u> Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Chevenne, Grant, and Deuel.

(1) District 1 shall contain the counties of Johnson; Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

rawnee, remana, and rechardson

(2) District 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and

Otoc:

(3) District 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

(4) District 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

(5) District 5 shall contain the counties of Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

(6) District 6 shall contain the counties of Burt. Dodge, and

Washington;

(7) District 7 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, Saline, Thayer, and Nuckolls;

LB 306 LB 306

(8)-District 8 shall-contain the counties of Dakota, Dixon, Cedar, and Thurston;

(9) District 9-shall contain the counties of Knox, Antelope, Cuming: Pierce: Madison, Stanton; and Wayne;

(10)-District-10-shall-contain-the-counties-of-Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

(11) District 11 shall contain the counties of Hall and

Howard:

(12) District 12-shall contain the counties of Sherman and

Buffalo:

(13)-District-13-shall-contain-the-counties-of-McPherson, Logan, Lincoln, Dawson, Keith, Arthur, Hooker, and Thomas;

(14) District 14 shall contain the counties of Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Perkins, Gosper, and Dundy: (15) District 15 shall contain the counties of Brown, Keya

Paha; Boyd, Rock, Holt, and Cherry;

(16) District 16-shall contain the counties of Sheridan;

Grant, Dawes, Box Butte, and Sioux; (17)-District 17-shall contain the counties of Scotts Bluff; Merrill, and Garden;

(18) District 18 shall contain the counties of Jefferson and

Gage:

(19) District 19 shall contain the counties of Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, and Devel;

(20) District 20 shall contain the counties of Blaine, Loup,

Garfield, Greeley, Wheeler, Valley, and Custer; and

(21) District 21-shall contain the counties of Boone; Platte, Colfax, Nance, and Merrick.

District 4 shall have eleven county judges. Districts 3, 5, and 12 shall have six county judges. District 11 shall have five county judges. Districts 6 and 9 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 2, 5, 9, 13, and 21 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges. Districts 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 19 shall have two county judges. Districts 1, 18, and 20 shall have one county judge.

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.

Sec. 3. That original sections 24-301.02 and 24-503,

Revised Statutes Supplement, 1992, are repealed.