LB 287

LEGISLATIVE BILL 287

Approved by the Governor April 19, 1985

Introduced by Nichol, 48; Baack, 47; Scofield, 49;

AN ACT relating to judicial districts; to amend section 5-105, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, and section 24-503, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1984; to change the boundaries of certain judicial districts; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. That section 5-105, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, be amended to read as follows: 5-105. The State of Nebraska is hereby divided

into twenty-one judicial districts as follows:

District No. 1 shall consist of the counties of Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall consist of the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall consist of the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall consist of the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall consist of the counties of Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall consist of the counties of Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 7 shall consist of the counties of Fillmore, Saline, Thayer, and Nuckolls;

District No. 8 shall consist of the counties of Dakota, Dixon, and Cedar;

District No. 9 shall consist of the counties of Knox, Antelope, Cuming, Pierce, Madison, Stanton, and Wayne;

District No. 10 shall consist of the counties of Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, and Webster;

District No. 11 shall consist of the counties of Hall and Howard;

District No. 12 shall consist of the counties of Sherman and Buffalo;

District No. 13 shall consist of the counties of McPherson, Logan, Lincoln, Dawson, Keith, Arthur, Hooker, and Thomas;

District No. 14 shall consist of the counties of Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Perkins, Gosper, and Dundy;

547

LB 287

District No. 15 shall consist of the counties of

Brown, Keya Paha, Boyd, Rock, Holt, and Cherry; District No. 16 shall consist of the counties of Sheridan, Grant, Dawes, Box Butte, Morrill, and Sioux;

District No. 17 shall consist of the counties county of Scotts Bluff; 7 Merrill; and Garden; District No. 18 shall consist of the counties of

Jefferson and Gage;

District No. 19 shall consist of the counties of Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Garden, and Deuel;

District No. 20 shall consist of the counties of Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Greeley, Wheeler, Valley, and Custer; and

District No. 21 shall consist of the counties of Boone, Platte, Colfax, Nance, and Merrick.

In the fourth district there shall be twelve judges of the district court; in the third district there shall be six judges of the district court; in the second district there shall be three judges of the district court; in the fifth, sixth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, thirteenth, sixteenth, seventeenth, and twenty-first districts there shall be two judges of the district court in each of said such districts; in all other districts there shall be one judge of the district court.

Sec. 2. That section 24-503, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1984, be amended to read as follows:

24-503. (1) For the purpose of serving the county courts in each county, twenty-one county judge districts are hereby created, which districts shall be the same as those established by section 5-105, except that: same as those established by section 5-105, except that: District 16 shall consist of the counties of Sheridan, Grant, Dawes, Box Butte, and Sioux; district 17 shall consist of the counties of Scotts Bluff, Morrill, and Garden; and district 19 shall consist of the counties of Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, and Deuel. (2) Districts 1, 12, and 18 shall have one county judge. Districts 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, or chall have the counting Districts 2, 5, 9, 13

and 20 shall have two county judges. Districts 2, 5, 9, 13, and 21 shall have three county judges.

(3) Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Nebraska Constitution.

(4) Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct. Any vacancy occurring after July 1, 1985, which results in a decrease in the number of municipal court judges authorized immediately prior to July 1, 1985, for a city of the primary or metropolitan class shall correspondingly

LB 287

LB 287

increase the number of county court judges for the county court district in which the municipal court was located.

Sec. 3. That original section 5-105, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, and section 24-503, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1984, are repealed.

Revised Statutes Supplement, 1984, are repealed. Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act shall be in full force and take effect, from and after its passage and approval, according to law.