March 22, 1982

LR 251, 252

PRESIDENT: LR 247 is adopted. We now go to LR 251.

CLERK: LR 251 offered by Senator Wesely. (Read LR 251.)

PRESIDENT: The Chair recognizes Senator Wesely.

SENATOR WESELY: Thank you. Mr. President and members of the Legislature, this is in recognition of the achievement Northeast High had this past year in winning the Class A boys' championship and coming in second in the Class A girls' championship which is an awful unique achievement, I think, for any high school in this state. I think it speaks well of the quality in our sports programs at this point. I also want to commend my friends, Senator Kahle and Jenator Cope, that 73 foot shot if it had been a slightly different score would have won that game as you know, and it could have been a different situation, but we didn't, we came up one point short. So with that, I ask your recognition of Northeast. Ed Johnson now has won seven state chamionships in 32 years and is very deserving of recognition as well as the team members.

PRESIDENT: Any further discussion on LR 251? All those in favor vote aye, opposed may. Record the vote.

CLERK: 29 ayes, 1 may, Mr. President, on adoption of the resolution.

PRESIDENT: LR 251 passes anyway, Senator Wesely. Okay, it is adopted, the resolution is adopted. We will go to LR 252, Mr. Clerk.

CLERK: Mr. President, LR 252 offered by Senator Beyer. (Read LR 252.)

PRESIDENT: The Chair recognizes Senator Beyer.

SENATOR BEYER: Mr. Speaker and members of the Legislature, the Gretna Dragons boys' basketball team could pick no better time than near St. Patrick's Day to capture the Class B championship. The Green and White under the fine coaching of Tim Hoffman made believers of everyone as it swept past three highly regarded opponents to win the title Caturday afternoon in Lincoln. Gretna also holds the distinction of being the last Carpy High School to win a state boys' basketball championship. Three years ago in 1929 Gretna brought home the title in Class H (sic).And also for a point of information, four of the five starters, all Seniors, were selected by the University of Nebraska at Lincoln as walk-on candidates for its 1982 football team.