## ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 273**

Introduced by Cavanaugh, J., 9; Brandt, 32; Cavanaugh, M., 6; Juarez, 5; McKinney, 11; Rountree, 3; Spivey, 13.

WHEREAS, the University of Nebraska at Omaha women's softball team won its first and only national championship in the 1975 Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW) Women's College World Series; and

WHEREAS, the 1975 AIAW Women's College World Series was held in Omaha, Nebraska, days after a devastating tornado hit Omaha; and

WHEREAS, softball was the first sanctioned women's sport at the University of Nebraska at Omaha; and

WHEREAS, led by head coach Connie Claussen, the University of Nebraska at Omaha defeated the University of Northern Iowa to win the 1975 AIAW Women's College World Series; and

WHEREAS, 2025 is the fiftieth anniversary of the University of Nebraska at Omaha Women's Softball team's victory in the 1975 AIAW Women's College World Series.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the 1975 University of Nebraska at Omaha women's softball team on the fiftieth anniversary of their victory in the AIAW Women's College World Series.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the University of Nebraska at Omaha.

-1-