ONE HUNDRED NINTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2025 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB170

Hearing Date:	Thursday March 13, 2025
Committee On:	Revenue
Introducer:	Brandt
One Liner:	Eliminate the sales tax exemptions for candy and soft drinks

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye:	6
Nay:	1
Absent:	1
Present Not Voting:	

Senators von Gillern, Ibach, Jacobson, Kauth, Murman, Sorrentino Senator Dungan Senator Bostar

Testimony:

Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Tom Brandt	Opening Presenter
Bruce Rieker	Ag Leaders Working Group
Mary Vaggalis	Philip Morris International
Opponents:	Representing:
Kirk Anderson	LinPepCo, Nebraska Beverage Association
Josephine Litwinowicz	Higher Power Church
Shannon McCord	Ideal Market
Jesse Neese	Nuclear Ink Custom Tattoo, Alliance of Professional
	Tattooists, Association of Food and Drug Officials
	(Body Art Committee)
Justin Brady	Nebraska Liquor Wholesalers, Associated Beverage
	Distributors of Nebraska
Hobert B. Rupe	Nebraska Liquor Control Commission
Stacy Lostroh	Whitehead Oil, Nebraska Petroleum Marketers &
	Convenience Store Association
Ansley Fellers	Nebraska Grocery Industry Association, Nebraska
	Hospitality Association, Nebraska Retail Federation
Bryan Slone	Nebraska Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Greater
	Omaha Chamber, The Lincoln Chamber
Ryan McIntosh	National Federation of Independent Business
Ryan Nickell	Self
Neutral:	Representing:
Nicole Fox	Platte Institute
Ken Schilz	Nebraska Licensed Beverage Association



* ADA Accommodation Written Testimony

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 170 would eliminate an exemption on sales tax for defined candy and soft drinks.

Section-by-Section Summary:

Section 1. Amends Neb. Rev. Stat. § 77-2704.24 to add definitions for candy and soft drinks; and adds candy and soft drinks to items not classified as food and food ingredients, eliminating a sales tax exemption on defined candy and soft drinks.

Section 2. Operative date of October 1, 2025.

Section 3. Repealer.

R. Brad von Gillern, Chairperson

