ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 58

WHEREAS, the sixty-first annual United States Senate Youth Program will be held in Washington, D.C., on March 4, 2023, through March 11, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska high school students Jayden Speed and Kristie Trinh were selected as student delegates from Nebraska for the United States Senate Youth Program and will join United States Senator Deb Fisher in representing Nebraska at the program in addition to receiving a \$10,000 scholarship; and

WHEREAS, this extremely competitive and merit-based program selects two of the most accomplished high school students in each state, the District of Columbia, and the Department of Defense Education Activity; and

WHEREAS, the intensive week-long process is meant to instill these candidates with a more profound knowledge of the American political process and lifelong commitment to public service; and

WHEREAS, Jayden is a senior at Conestoga Junior-Senior High School, where he serves as the Student Council President, and also as a member of the Students Demand Action National Advisory Board and the Conestoga mock trial team and speech and debate team. Jayden believes representation and free expression are core tenants of our ideals as individuals living in a democratic society; and

WHEREAS, Kristie is a senior at Lincoln High School where she serves as the National Honor Society President, working to make the honors program more accessible to students of color while helping to increase accessibility for students in the local community to create art; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes the academic, athletic, artistic, and civic achievements of the youth of our state.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH

LR58 2023 LR58 2023

LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates Jayden Speed and Kristie Trinh on being selected as student delegates to the sixty-first annual United States Senate Youth Program.

2. That copies of this resolution be sent to Jayden Speed and Kristie Trinh.