ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 46

WHEREAS, the Division of Aeronautics of the Department of Transportation presented the 2022 Airport of the Year award, which recognizes Nebraska airports that have demonstrated benefits to aviation and involvement in the community, to Thomas County Airport in Thedford, Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, in October of 2022, over 18,000 acres in and near the Nebraska National Forest succumbed to the Bovee Fire; and

WHEREAS, Thomas County Airport served as a base for firefighters who used the airport and all amenities, services, and assistance available during the Bovee Fire disaster; and

WHEREAS, Thomas County Airport boasts many services to pilots and passengers, modern updates to the facility, and authority members ready to serve and assist.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

- 1. That the Legislature congratulates Thomas County Airport on being named the Division of Aeronautics of the Department of Transportation 2022 Airport of the Year.
- 2. That copies of this resolution be sent to Thomas County Airport and to each member of the Thomas County Airport Authority, which includes Jack Johnson, Roy Licking, Ron Masten, Herb Hall, and Tim Maseberg.