## LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA

## ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

## FIRST SESSION

## **LEGISLATIVE BILL 81**

Introduced by Aguilar, 35; Blood, 3; Briese, 41; Conrad, 46; DeBoer, 10; Ibach, 44; Lippincott, 34; Slama, 1.

Read first time January 05, 2023

Committee: Judiciary

- 1 A BILL FOR AN ACT relating to county courts; to amend section 24-503,
- 2 Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change the number of county
- 3 judges in Buffalo and Hall counties; and to repeal the original
- 4 section.
- 5 Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

LB81 2023 LB81 2023

1 Section 1. Section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is

- 2 amended to read:
- 3 24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in each county,
- 4 twelve county judge districts are hereby created:
- 5 District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson,
- 6 Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;
- 7 District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;
- 8 District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;
- 9 District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;
- 10 District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte,
- 11 Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;
- 12 District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar,
- 13 Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
- 14 District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope,
- 15 Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;
- District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha,
- 17 Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley,
- 18 Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;
- 19 District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;
- 20 District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, Adams, Clay,
- 21 Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;
- District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas,
- 23 Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes,
- 24 Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and
- 25 District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box
- 26 Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball,
- 27 Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.
- District 4 shall have twelve county judges. District 3 shall have
- 29 seven county judges. Districts 5, 9, 11, and 12 shall have five county
- 30 judges. Districts 2<u>and</u>  $_{7}$  6 $_{7}$  and 9 shall have four county judges.
- 31 Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.

LB81	LB81
2023	2023

- 1 Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the
- 2 office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant
- 3 to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.
- 4 Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4
- 5 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court
- 6 and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section
- 7 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district,
- 8 with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.
- 9 Sec. 2. Original section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 10 Nebraska, is repealed.