
ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2023
COMMITTEE STATEMENT (CORRECTED)

LB15
 
 
Hearing Date: Monday January 30, 2023
Committee On: Business and Labor
Introducer: Briese
One Liner: Change provisions of the Wage and Hour Act
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Advanced to General File with amendment(s)
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 4 Senators Halloran, Hansen, B., Ibach, Riepe
          Nay: 2 Senators Hunt, McKinney
          Absent: 1 Senator Blood
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 

Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Tom Briese District 41
Shannon McCord Nebraska Grocery Industry Association
Kyla Habrock Hasting Early Childhood Development Center
Mathew Habrock Hastings Early Childhood Development Center
Bud Synhorst LIBA
Bob Hallstrom National Federation of Independent Businesses
Zoe Olson Nebraska Hospital Association
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Felicia Hilton North Central States Regional Council of Carpenters
Kimbal McClure Self
Thomas Blanton Self
Garret Swanson Holland Chilren's Movement
Emma Haar Self
Ken  Smith Nebraska Appleseed
Ace Grim Self
Anahi Salazar Voices for Children in Nebraska
Erin Feichtinger Women's Fund of Omaha
Cassandra Griffin Nebraska Civic Engagement Table
Susan Martin NE State AFL-CIO
Petar Georgia Self
Spike Eickholt ACLU of Nebraska
 
Neutral: Representing: 
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Summary of purpose and/or changes:
LB 15 amends provision of the Wage and Hour Act to allow employers to pay a youth minimum. Additionally, the bill allows
employers to pay new employees a training wage.

Section 1: Establishes the youth minimum wage, anyone who is at least fourteen years of age but no more than seventeen
years of age, at $9.00 per hour through December 31, 2023; for calendar year 2024, the minimum wage is established at
$9.25 per hour; In the calendar year 2025, the minimum wage increases to $9.50 per hour; beginning January 1, 2026, the
minimum wage is raised to $10 per hour. 
Section 2:  Establishes a training wage for employers to pay new employees who are at least eighteen (18) years of age,
but under twenty (20) years of age, who are not seasonal or migrant workers. The training wage minimum is set at $9.25 per
hour through December 31, 2024. The rate increases to $9.50 per hour for calendar year 2024, $9.75 per hour for calendar
year 2025, and $10.00 per hour for calendar year 2026. Beginning January 1, 2027, a rate of seventy-five percent (75%) of
the minimum wage rate that would otherwise be applicable under section 48-1203 shall be used.
 
 
Explanation of amendments:
AM11 made the following changes to LB15:
- Replaces section 1 (5) and sets the youth minimum wage at $10.50 an hour indefinitely. 
- Replaces section 2 (2) and sets the training wage rate at $10.50 an hour until Dec. 31, 2026. Starting Jan. 1, 2027, the
training wage rate would be 75% of the minimum wage rate under 48-1203. 

 

Merv Riepe, Chairperson
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