AMENDMENTS TO LB624

Introduced by Government, Military and Veterans Affairs.

1. Strike the original sections and insert the following new

2 sections:

13

24

25

3 Section 1. Section 81-3710, Revised Statutes Cumulative Supplement,

4 2022, is amended to read:

5 81-3710 (1) The Nebraska Tourism Commission is created. The terms of

6 the members serving pursuant to subsection (2) of this section terminate

7 thirty days after August 24, 2017. The terms of the members serving

8 pursuant to subsection (3) of this section begin thirty days after August

9 24, 2017. (2) Until thirty days after August 24, 2017, the commission

10 shall consist of the following members: (a) One representative from the

11 Game and Parks Commission; (b) One representative from the Nebraska

12 Travel Association; (c) One representative from the Nebraska Hotel and

Motel Association; (d) One representative from a tourism attraction that

14 records at least two thousand out-of-state visitors per year; (e) One

15 representative from the Nebraska Association of Convention and Visitors

16 Bureaus; (f) One representative from the Western Nebraska Tourism

17 Coalition; (g) One representative who resides in eastern Nebraska and is

18 employed by a business that derives a majority of its revenue from out-

19 of-state visitors; (h) One representative from the Central Nebraska

20 Tourism Partnership; and (i) One representative of a business that

21 derives a majority of its revenue from out-of-state visitors. (3)(a) The

22 Governor shall, within thirty days after August 24, 2017, appoint the

23 members of the commission to begin serving at such time, prior to

approval by the Legislature. The members of the commission shall consist

of the Director of Economic Development and twelve eleven residents of

26 the State of Nebraska appointed by the Governor, to include one member

27 representing a state chamber of commerce organized under the Nebraska

AM2402 AM2402 LB624 MAL - 02/08/2024 MAL - 02/08/2024

- 1 Nonprofit Corporation Act, and one member appointed from each of the
- 2 eleven districts described in subsection (2) of this section. The members
- 3 appointed by the Governor shall be subject to approval by the majority of
- the members of the Legislature. The term of the member representing a 4
- 5 state chamber of commerce shall be four years, and the terms of the
- 6 district members shall be as provided in subdivision (2)(b) of this
- 7 section. No appointed member may serve more than two successive terms.
- Four of the <u>district</u> members shall have professional, volunteer, or 8
- 9 public service experience that contributes to the fiduciary and
- governance duties of the commission. Seven of the district members shall 10
- be affiliated with the tourism industry. One member shall be appointed 11
- from each of the eleven districts designated in subdivision (b) of this 12
- 13 subsection.
- 14 (2)(a) (b) For purposes of this section, the state is hereby divided
- 15 into eleven districts. The limits and designations of the eleven
- districts shall be as follows: 16
- 17 (i) District No. 1. Douglas County;
- (ii) District No. 2. Lancaster County; 18
- 19 (iii) District No. 3. The counties of Richardson, Pawnee, Nemaha,
- 20 Johnson, Otoe, Gage, Saline, and Jefferson;
- 21 (iv) District No. 4. The counties of Cass and Sarpy;
- 22 (v) District No. 5. The counties of Saunders, Washington, Dodge,
- 23 Colfax, Stanton, Cuming, Burt, Thurston, Wayne, Cedar, Dixon, and Dakota;
- 24 (vi) District No. 6. The counties of Butler, Polk, Platte, Merrick,
- Nance, Boone, Madison, Pierce, Antelope, Knox, Holt, and Boyd; 25
- 26 (vii) District No. 7. The counties of Thayer, Nuckolls, Webster,
- 27 Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Seward, York, Hamilton, Franklin, and Harlan;
- (viii) District No. 8. The counties of Kearney, Phelps, Hall, 28
- 29 Howard, Greeley, Wheeler, Buffalo, Sherman, Valley, and Garfield;
- 30 (ix) District No. 9. The counties of Lincoln, Keya Paha, Rock,
- Brown, Loup, Blaine, Custer, Logan, McPherson, Arthur, Grant, Hooker, 31

AM2402 AM2402 LB624 MAL - 02/08/2024

- 1 Thomas, and Cherry;
- (x) District No. 10. The counties of Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, 2
- 3 Dundy, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dawson, Perkins, and Keith; and
- (xi) District No. 11. The counties of Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, 4
- 5 Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, and
- 6 Kimball.
- 7 (b) (c) The Governor shall appoint members representing district
- 8 numbers 1, 6, 8, and 11 to serve for terms ending April 1, 2019; members
- 9 representing district numbers 2, 5, 7, and 10 to serve for terms ending
- April 1, 2021; and members representing district numbers 3, 4, and 9 to 10
- 11 serve for terms ending April 1, 2023. The terms of their successors shall
- 12 be four years. The Governor shall appoint their successors with the
- 13 approval of the majority of the members of the Legislature. A person
- 14 appointed to serve pursuant to this subsection may serve only two
- 15 successive terms.
- 16 Sec. 2. Original section 81-3710, Revised Statutes Cumulative
- 17 Supplement, 2022, is repealed.