ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2022 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB795

Hearing Date: Monday January 31, 2022

Committee On: Banking, Commerce and Insurance

Introducer: Flood

One Liner: Change provisions relating to the release or modification of certain restrictions under the Nebraska

Uniform Prudent Management of Institutional Funds Act

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Aguilar, Bostar, Flood, Lindstrom, McCollister, Pahls, Slama,

Williams

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Mike Flood Nebraska Legislature

Keith Miles University of Nebraska System

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

This bill would amend section 58-615 of the Nebraska Uniform Prudent Management of Institutional Funds Act regarding the modification or release of restrictions on management, investment, or purpose of an institutional fund.

In addition to provisions which allow a court, at the request of a charitable institution, to modify restrictions in a gift instrument regarding management or purpose of an institutional fund according to rules of equitable deviation or cy pres, section 58-615 provides that if an institution determines that a restriction contained in a gift instrument on the management, investment, or purpose of an institutional fund is unlawful, impracticable, impossible to achieve, or wasteful, the institution, sixty days after notification to the Attorney General, may release or modify the restriction, in whole or part, if: (1) the fund has a total value of less than twenty-five thousand dollars; (2) more than twenty years have elapsed since the fund was established; and (3) the institution uses the property in a manner consistent with the charitable purposes expressed in the gift instrument. The bill would allow the institution to so act if the fund has a total value of less than one hundred thousand dollars instead of twenty-five thousand dollars.

Matt Williams, Chairperson