
ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2021
COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB448
 
 
Hearing Date: Tuesday February 02, 2021
Committee On: Transportation and Telecommunications
Introducer: Morfeld
One Liner: Impose a surcharge on operator's licenses and permits and state identification cards issued under the

Motor Vehicle Operator's License Act for the Nebraska State Patrol Retirement System
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Indefinitely postponed
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 6 Senators Albrecht, Bostelman, Friesen, Geist, Hughes, Moser
          Nay: 2 Senators Cavanaugh, M., DeBoer
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 

Oral Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Adam Morfeld Introducer
Matt Schaefer State Troopers Assn
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Rhonda Lahm Director DMV
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
   LB 448 would impose a $3 surcharge on each operators%u2019 license, permit or state identification card. This surcharge
would be remitted to the State Treasurer for credit to the Nebraska State Patrol Retirement System. This charge would
begin on January 1, 2022. 
   Section-by-Section Summary
   Section 1 would amend section 60-4,115 to add a $3 fee to operators%u2019 licenses, permits, and state ID cards, with
this amount credited to the State Patrol Retirement Fund.
   Section 2 would repeal the original section.
 
 

 

Curt Friesen, Chairperson
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