ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2021 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB389

Hearing Date: Monday February 08, 2021

Committee On: Education Introducer: Sanders

One Liner: Require the issuance of teaching certificates and permits to military spouses

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Day, Linehan, McKinney, Murman, Pansing Brooks, Sanders,

Walz, Morfeld

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Oral Testimony:

Proponents: Representing: SENATOR RITA SANDERS INTRODUCER

JEFF RIPPE BELLEVUE PUBLIC SCHOOLS

JEREMY EKELER NEBRASKA CATHOLIC CONFERENCE

LAURA EBKE PLATTE INSTITUTE

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Submitted Written Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

NOLAN BEYER MILLARD PUBLIC SCHOOLS
TIM GAY PAPILLION LA VISTA SCHOOLS

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Legislative Bill 389 establishes an alternative path for military spouses to receive a teaching certificate or permit in Nebraska if the applicant holds a valid certificate or permit in another state. The certificate or permit shall be valid for at least 3 years and shall include the same or similar endorsements to teach in all subject areas for which the applicant has been certified in such other state if a similar endorsement is offered in Nebraska.

Specifically, the applicant must:

- Be the spouse of a person who is serving on active duty at the time of application submission
- Active duty means full-time in the active uniformed service of the United States, including members of the National Guard and Reserve on active duty orders
- This definition is cross-referenced to the definition used in Neb. Rev. Stat. Sec. 38-118.01 (Interstate Medical Licensure Compact)
- Hold a valid certificate or permit currently in force in another state to teach, administer or provide special services in another state
- Has held such certificate or permit for at least 1 year
- Is in good standing in all states where a certificate or permit to teach, administer or provide special services is held
- Does not have any pending investigations or complaints against any such certificate or permit
- Meets all residency and background check requirements otherwise required for a Nebraska certificate or permit, and
- Pays all applicable fees

The Commissioner of Education is responsible for verifying all requisite provisions are met. He shall issue a preliminary permit that remains in force until s/he has reviewed all of the requirements of these provisions and (i) either issues a certificate or permit, or (ii) notifies the applicant of the reason it cannot be issued. The requisite steps an applicant must take prior to the issuance of a preliminary permit are:

- Submission of the application
- Payment of the applicable fees, and
- Successful complete of the criminal history record information check as required in statute

LB389 explicitly states that the Human Relations training requirement does not apply to certificates or permits issued under these provisions.

The State Board of Education shall adopt and promulgate rules and regulations to (i) expedite the processing of applications submitted under these provisions, and (ii) specify the documentation necessary to establish the applicant%u2019s status as a military spouse.

The language of the bill is inserted into Neb. Rev. Stat. 79-813, which addresses teacher reciprocity. It preserves all other provisions of that section of statute.

Lucia Nata Chaireana
Lynne Walz, Chairperson