ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2022 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB1204

| Hearing Date: | Monday January 31, 2022 |
|---------------|---|
| Committee On: | General Affairs |
| Introducer: | Briese |
| One Liner: | Change provisions relating to the Nebraska Liquor Control Act |

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

| Vote Results: | | | | | | | | | | |
|---------------------|--------------|------------------------------------|-------|---------|---------|---------|------------|-------|---------|-------|
| Aye: | 8 | Senators Wayne | Arch, | Brandt, | Brewer, | Briese, | Cavanaugh, | J., (| Groene, | Lowe, |
| Nay: | | | | | | | | | | |
| Absent: | | | | | | | | | | |
| Present Not Voting: | | | | | | | | | | |
| | | | | | | | | | | |
| | Oral Testimo | ny: | | | | | | | | |
| Proponents: | | | | Represe | enting: | | | | | |
| Hobert Rupe | | Nebraska Liquor Control Commission | | | | | | | | |
| Opponents: | | | | Represe | enting: | | | | | |
| Neutral: | | | | Represe | enting: | | | | | |

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 1204 is a bill that makes several technical changes at the request of the Nebraska Liquor Control Commission. These changes include allowing licenses to be sent electronically, removing the requirement that certain documents be filed in triplicate, and removing the requirement that applications for licenses be signed by a notary public.

Section-by-Section Summary:

Section 1: Adds the new language in section 2 of the bill to be part of the Nebraska Liguor Control Act.

Section 2: This section is all new language which allows the commission to use either mail or electronic delivery when delivering any type of license under their jurisdiction.

Section 3: Amends section 53-123.12 by removing the requirement that an applicant file their application to the commission in triplicate.

Section 4: Amends section 53-124.12 by removing the triplicate requirement for an application for a catering license when submitted to the commission.

Section 5: Amends section 53-131.01 by eliminating the requirement that the application being filed be verified by a notary public.

Section 6: Amends section 53-132 by adding the option of electronically delivering new or renewed licenses by the commission to the city, village, or county clerk.

Section 7: Amends section 53-135 to remove the requirement for a retail or bottle club license application to be filed in

triplicate.

Section 8: Amends section 53-148.01 to allow the commission to provide warning signs electronically to retail or bottle club licensees who are required to post a notice warning that drinking alcoholic beverages during pregnancy can cause birth defects.

Section 9: Amends section 53-180.04 by allowing the commission to send warning signs electronically to licensees who are required to post notice to persons under the age of 21 that they are subject to a penalty of up to \$500.00 fine and 3 months in jail or both if you are under the age of 21 and you consume, purchase, attempt to purchase, or have in your possession alcoholic liquor in the establishment. The notice also warns adults over the age of 21 that they are subject to up to \$1,000.00 fine, 1 year in jail, or both for purchasing alcoholic liquor to persons under the age of 21.

Explanation of amendments:

Clarifies under 53-132 that the commission may send the license to the licensee electronically upon confirmation from the clerk of the city, village, or county, that necessary fees and taxes have been received by that clerk.

Tom Briese, Chairperson