ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 387

Introduced by Brasch, 16.

WHEREAS, Bancroft-Rosalie Elementary School was recognized as a 2015
National Blue Ribbon School by the United States Department of Education; and

WHEREAS, the Blue Ribbon Schools Program honors public and private elementary, middle, and high schools that are exemplary, high-performing schools or that have improved student achievement to high levels, especially among disadvantaged and minority students; and

WHEREAS, Bancroft-Rosalie High School was ranked 253 out of the 500 schools on Newsweek's 2015 "Beating the Odds" list; and

WHEREAS, Newsweek's rankings aim to identify public high schools across the United States that excel at preparing students for college while overcoming the obstacles posed by socioeconomic inequality; and

WHEREAS, Bancroft-Rosalie High School ranked in the 81st percentile for college readiness and achieved 100 percent in the categories of student retention, graduation rate, and percentage of students who go to college; and

WHEREAS, Bancroft-Rosalie Public School was the only Nebraska school to achieve recognition as both a Blue Ribbon and "Beating the Odds" school; and

WHEREAS, these achievements are a testament to the dedication of the students of Bancroft-Rosalie Public School, as well as the commitment of the faculty and staff to providing the best educational opportunities for their students.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the students, faculty, and staff of Bancroft-Rosalie Public School on their admirable achievements and applauds their dedication to a high standard of education.

- 2. That the Legislature recognizes the superior administration of Superintendent and Elementary School Principal Dr. Jon Cerny and Principal Mike Sjuts and thanks them for their commitment to their students.
- 3. That a copy of this resolution be sent to Bancroft-Rosalie Public School, Dr. Jon Cerny, and Mike Sjuts.