
ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015
COMMITTEE STATEMENT (CORRECTED)

LB494
 
 
Hearing Date: Monday February 02, 2015
Committee On: Business and Labor
Introducer: Nordquist
One Liner: Change minimum wage for persons compensated by way of gratuities
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Advanced to General File with amendment(s)
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 5 Senators Chambers, Crawford, Harr, Johnson, McCollister
          Nay: 1 Senator Bloomfield
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting: 1 Senator Ebke
 
 

Verbal Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Jeremy Nordquist Introducer
Stephanie Barth Self
Rodney D. Vlcek Nebraska State AFL-CIO
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Jim Otto Nebraska Restaurant Association
Wayne Boles Lazlo, Inc./Telesis, Inc.
Dick Clark Platte Institute
Bob Hallstrom National Federation of Independent Business
 
Neutral: Representing: 
Stephanie Barth Self
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
Sec. 1. LB 494 increases the minimum wage for people paid by tips. Currently, those individuals are paid cash wages at
a minimum rate of $2.13/hour. LB 494 increases that wage until it reaches 50% of the standard minimum wage
prescribed in Sec. 48-1203(1). 

Specifically, LB 494 increases the wage to $3.00 for the first year following the effective date of this act. Each year
thereafter, the minimum wage will equal to the preceding year's amount plus the lesser of $.95 or the amount necessary
to equal 50% of the standard minimum wage (rounded to the nearest multiple of five cents).

Sec. 2. Every employer subject to the Wage and Hour Act is required to post minimum wage amounts in effect.

The Commissioner of Labor is required to calculate the minimum wage amounts and provide notice free of charge to
employers regarding the amounts, changes, and effective dates of minimum wages.
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Explanation of amendments:
Sec. 1. AM 647 increases the minimum wage for those individuals paid by tips. Beginning August 1, 2015, the cash
wage increases from the current rate of $2.13/hour to $2.35/hour through December 31, 2015. Then, beginning January
1, 2016, the rate increases to $2.64/hour.

Sec. 2. Every employer subject to the Wage and Hour Act is required to post the minimum wage amounts in effect.

Sec. 3. Repealer.

Sec. 4. Includes an emergency clause.

 

Burke Harr, Chairperson
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