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COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB493
 
 
Hearing Date: Monday February 09, 2015
Committee On: Business and Labor
Introducer: Nordquist
One Liner: Adopt the Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Indefinitely postponed
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 6 Senators Bloomfield, Crawford, Ebke, Harr, Johnson, Howard
          Nay:   
          Absent: 1 Senator Chambers
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 

Verbal Testimony:
Proponents: Representing: 
Senator Jeremy Nordquist Introducer
Aubrey Mancuso Voices for Children in Nebraska
Robert Sanford Nebraska Coalition to End Sexual and Domestic

Violence
Rodney D. Vlcek Nebraska State AFL-CIO
Mike Marvin Nebraska Association of Public Employees
James Goddard Nebraska Appleseed
Teresa Larson Self
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Ron Sedlacek Nebraska Chamber of Commerce
Bob Hallstrom National Federation of Independent Business
Ann Post Lincoln Independent Business Association
Kathy Siefken Nebraska Grocery Industry Association, Inc.
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
Sec. 1. Creates the Healthy and Safe Families and Workplaces Act. 

Sec. 2. Definitional section. Defines for purposes of the Act (1) Commissioner, (2) Department, (3) Domestic assault, (4)
Employee, (5) Employer, (6) Family member, (7) Health care professional, (8) Paid sick and safe time, (9) Sexual
assault, and (10) Stalking.

Sec. 3. Beginning on the first day of employment, employees will accrue a minimum of 1 hour of paid leave for every 30
hours worked. Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under the FLSA will be assumed to work 40
hours a week. If their normal work week is less than 40 hours, leave will accrue based on that normal work week.

Unless the employer selects a higher cap, this leave is capped at 40 hours per calendar year. Unused leave will be
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carried over to the next year so long as it does not exceed 40 hours.

An employer with a paid leave policy, such as PTO, that meets the Act's accrual requirements for paid sick and safe
time leave and which can be used under the same circumstances, is not required to offer additional paid sick and safe
time.

When an employee resigns, retires, is fired, or is otherwise separated from employment, the employer does not have to
pay out for unused sick and safe time leave.  If an employee is transferred within the company, the accrued leave will
follow the employee. If there is a separation of employment and the employee is rehired by the same employer within 6
months, the employee is entitled to the unused leave he/she had accrued prior to separation.

Employees can begin using their accrued leave on the 16th calendar day following employment. Employees can only
use this leave as it is accrued, unless the employer loans this leave in advance of accrual.

Sec. 4. Paid leave will be provided for an employee or for the employee to care for a family member for a mental or
physical illness or injury, a diagnosis or treatment of an illness or injury, or the need for preventative medical care. Paid
leave is also provided for absence necessary as the result of domestic assault, sexual assault or stalking of an
employee or family member in order to obtain medical attention, services from a victim services organization,
counseling, relocation, or legal services.

Paid leave must be provided upon the employee's oral request as soon as possible. If the leave is foreseeable, the
employee must make a good faith effort to provide notice of the need for sick and safe time leave.

An employer cannot require the employee requesting leave to find a replacement to cover the hours he/she will be gone.

If the use of paid sick and safe time leave exceeds 3 consecutive workdays, the employer may require reasonable
documentation as outlined in the section. The employee must provide such documentation no later than 30 days after
the first day of the period of time in which the employee requested leave. Any information provided regarding this leave
must be confidential.

Sec. 5. It is unlawful for any person to interfere with another's rights under this Act. An employer cannot retaliate or
discriminate against an employee for using this leave, for filing a complaint against the employer for violation of the Act,
or for informing another person of his/her rights under the Act.

It is unlawful for an employer to count an employee's use of this leave as absence under its absence control policy and
then take any adverse action against the employee, such as discipline, discharge, or demotion.

This section applies to good faith alleged violations.

Sec. 6. Employers must give notice when the employee is hired that employees are entitled to paid leave under the Act,
the amount of leave, the terms of use, and employee's rights against employer retaliation.

Sec. 7. An employee or another person may report a suspected violation to the Commissioner. The Commissioner will
keep the name of the employee or person reporting a violation or other identifying information confidential so far as
permitted by law. If the reporting individual authorizes disclosure, the Commissioner may disclose that information. The
Department may conduct an investigation, to include witnesses and examination of employer's books, records and other
documents.

The Commissioner must assess an administrative penalty against an employer who violated the Act no more than $500
for the first violation and no more than $5,000 for a second or subsequent violation. Once the Commissioner notifies the
employer of the penalty, the employer has 15 working days to contest the penalty. The Commissioner will provide a
hearing in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act.
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Any person aggrieved by a violation of the Act may bring a civil action in court. The person does not have to file an
administrative complaint first. If the aggrieved party prevails, he/she will recover the full amount of any unpaid leave and
attorney's fees.

Sec. 8. Employers are free to offer a more generous paid sick and safe time leave policy.

Sec. 9. The Department of Labor will administer and enforce the Act and may promulgate rules.

Sec. 10. Severability clause.
 
 

 

Burke Harr, Chairperson
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