ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2015 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB112

Hearing Date: Friday January 23, 2015

Committee On: Government, Military and Veterans Affairs

Introducer: Larson

One Liner: Adopt the Interstate Compact on the Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National

Popular Vote

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Indefinitely postponed

Vote Results:

Aye: 6 Senators Bloomfield, Craighead, Garrett, Groene, Hansen, Murante

Nay: 1 Senator Larson
Absent: 1 Senator McCov

Present Not Voting:

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Tyson Larson Introducer

Patrick Rosenstiel National Popular Vote

Peggy Adair League of Women Voters of Greater Omaha

Gavin Geis Common Cause Nebraska

Opponents: Representing:

Paul Von Behren Self

Jerry Anderson Sarpy County Republican Party

Larry Bradley Self
Amber Parker Self
Patrick Borchers Self

Kathy Wilmot Nebraska Eagle Forum and Self

Lona Ferguson Self

Bud Synhorst Nebraska Republican Party

Trent England Oklahoma Council of Public Affairs

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 112 adopts the Interstate Compact on the Agreement Among the States to Elect the President by National Popular Vote. The compact will become effective when states cumulatively possessing a majority of electoral votes have enacted this compact.

The chief election official of each member state will designate the presidential slate with the largest national popular vote total as the national popular vote winner. The presidential elector certifying official of each member state will certify the appointment in that official's own state of the elector slate nominated in that state in association with the national popular vote winner.

	John Murante, Chairpe

Each state which has adopted the compact will make a determination of the number of popular votes cast in the state