LR509 LR509

ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 509

Introduced by Harr, 8.

WHEREAS, the Omaha Benson High School Magnet girls' basketball team won the 2014 Class A Girls' State Basketball Championship by defeating Bellevue West High School by a score of 47-43; and

WHEREAS, the win gave Omaha Benson High School Magnet their first ever girls' state basketball championship; and

WHEREAS, the Omaha Benson High School Magnet girls' basketball team ended the season with a record of 26-2; and

WHEREAS, Coach Jon Perone and assistant coaches Mike Duggan, Pat Holston, Ashley Jones, Finis Jones, Ricky Ruffin, Lindsey Moore, and Bob Woodworth did a tremendous job of guiding the team during the season; and

WHEREAS, the Omaha Benson High School Magnet girls' basketball team includes team members Kylee Askew, Arbrieal Benson, Teonna Brye, TaShiana Coffiel-Nelson, Nikole Howard, Kianna Ibis, Zabrina Kentch, Kia Kirby, Octavia McGraw, Kanesha Plater, Moneeka Robinson, Nautika Valentine, Tia Warren, Montrese Weller, and Bri'ya Wilson; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes the academic, athletic, and artistic achievements of the youth of our state.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

LR509

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Omaha Benson High School Magnet girls' basketball team on winning the 2014 Class A Girls' State Basketball Championship.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Omaha Benson High School Magnet girls' basketball team and Coach Jon Perone.