ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 333

Introduced by Conrad, 46; Ashford, 20; Avery, 28; Campbell, 25; Cook, 13; Council, 11; Dubas, 34; Gloor, 35; Harms, 48; Howard, 9; McGill, 26; Mello, 5; Nordquist, 7; Pankonin, 2; Wallman, 30.

WHEREAS, the Nebraska Appleseed Center for Law in the Public Interest was incorporated March 15, 1996; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed celebrated its fifteen-year anniversary of sowing the seeds of justice in Nebraska on March 15, 2011; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed advocates on behalf of low-income families, children in foster care, immigrants, and people who lack access to health care; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed uses targeted litigation, public policy advocacy, and community education and engagement to promote equal justice and full opportunity for all Nebraskans; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed seeks to build a Nebraska where all people have a real chance to achieve the American dream; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed works to ensure that all Nebraskans have access to quality, affordable health care; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed promotes strong, vibrant, integrated, and engaged communities; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed champions a child welfare system that provides safety, stability, and a strong future for Nebraska's children; and WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed energizes Nebraskans' civic participation and empowers people to become more effective advocates for their own rights; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed thrives under the leadership of its present Board of Directors, which includes Steve Achelpohl, Clark Bellin, Beatty Brasch, Terrence Ferguson, E. Susan Gourley, Janice Gradwohl, Matt Johnson, Taylor Keen, Forrest Krutter, Herb Friedman, Max Larsen, Jose Miguel Lemus, D. Milo Mumgaard, Othello Meadows, III, Tom Pansing, Thomas Schleich, Jim Seacrest, Allen Overcash, DiAnna Schimek, John Smolsky, Don Witt, Megan Sebastian Wright, Patricia Zieg, and Arthur Zygielbaum; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed's past members of the Board of Directors have played an important role in the organization's first fifteen years. These past members include Andre Barry, Paul Bryant, Fritz Cassman, Robert Crosby, William Dittrick, David Domina, Lourdes Gouveia, Taylor Greer, William Hoppner, Vard Johnson, Connie Kearney, Melody Loughry, Dianne Lozier, Raneta Mack, Sam Mehr, Michael Mullin, Ronald Palagi, Charles Piper, Mary Pipher, Rod Rehm, Herb Schimek, Sonya Smith, Elaine Spire, Cassia Spohn, Bruce Vosburg, Georgine Wagoner, Jim Wolf, and Bob Wolfson; and

WHEREAS, Nebraska Appleseed was founded by the following incorporators: D. Milo Mumgaard, Jeff Kirkpatrick, and Kathryn Bellman; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature recognizes Nebraska Appleseed's contributions to the State of Nebraska.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

-2-

LR333

1. That the Legislature congratulates the Nebraska Appleseed Center for Law in the Public Interest on celebrating fifteen years of advocacy for equal justice and full opportunity in Nebraska.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Nebraska Appleseed Center for Law in the Public Interest.