## ONE HUNDRED SECOND LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2012 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB686

**Hearing Date:** Friday February 25, 2011 **Committee On:** Health and Human Services

Introducer: Schilz

One Liner: Provide an exception from the Veterinary Medicine and Surgery Practice Act for transplantation of

bovine embryos

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 7 Senators Bloomfield, Campbell, Cook, Gloor, Howard, Krist, Lambert

Nay: Absent:

**Present Not Voting:** 

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Ken Schilz District #47

Pete McClymont Nebraska Cattlemen Myron Danner Self

Eldon Starr Self

Jessica Kolterman Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation

Opponents: Representing:

Vergil Heyer Nebraska Veterinary Medical Association
Richard Cockerill Nebraska Veterinary Medical Association

Laura Hardin Self

Neutral: Representing:

Larry Berger UNL Department of Animal Science

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 686 provides an exception from the Veterinary Medicine and Surgery Practice Act for transplantation of embryos on bovine, including recovering, freezing and transferring embryos on bovine, if the procedure is being performed by a person who holds a master's degree with an emphasis in reproductive physiology from an accredited college or university.

## **Explanation of amendments:**

The Committee Amendment strikes the original sections. The amendment becomes the bill.

The amendment provides that a retrievable transplantation of embryos on bovine, including recovering, freezing, and transferring embryos on bovines may be performed by a person who has, and can show proof, of valid professional liability insurance and holds:

1. A master's degree with an emphasis in reproductive physiology from an accredited college or university and performs the procedure under the indirect supervision of a licensed veterinarian in this state; or

. A doctorate degree with an emphasis in reproductive physiology from an accredited college or university.	
	Kathy Campbell, Chairperson