LR 170

ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 170

Introduced by Pirsch, 4.

WHEREAS, the Academic Decathlon competition is a strenuous mental competition that many teams enter, but in which few prevail; and

WHEREAS, the Academic Decathlon is a scholastic competition for teams of high school students; and

WHEREAS, the Harry A. Burke High School team from Omaha,
Nebraska, entered and won the Nebraska Academic Decathlon; and

WHEREAS, the Burke High School Academic Decathlon team achieved second in Division I schools and third nationally, and therefor finished higher in the national competition than ever before; and

WHEREAS, team members Alec Agan, Cristen Cavel, Michelle Clifford, Robert Dooling, John Gill, Erika Goergen, Eugene Kim, Shelby Miller, Andrew Nguyen, Kyle Seneker, and Caya Simonsen deserve special recognition for their teamwork and diverse knowledge, which contributed to the team's outstanding success in 2009; and

WHEREAS, the accomplishments of students should be recognized by the Legislature.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

LR 170 LR 170

1. That the Legislature recognizes and congratulates the members of the Burke High School Academic Decathlon team and their coach, Judy Kennedy, for their outstanding success in 2009.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the Burke High School Academic Decathlon team and their coach, Judy Kennedy.