LR 169

ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 169

Introduced by Campbell, 25.

WHEREAS, the United States Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in and pursue careers in mathematics and science; and

WHEREAS, the Lux Middle School 2009 Science Bowl Team members are Ben Bradley, Trevor Henning, Akshay Rajagopal, Katie Sedlar, and Alex Toalson, who were among twenty thousand students from across the country who participated in science bowls in 2009; and

WHEREAS, forty Nebraska middle school teams competed at the Nebraska Middle School Science Bowl on January 29, 2009, at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln; and

WHEREAS, the Lux Middle School team won the state competition, thereby also winning a trip to Washington, D.C., with expenses paid by the United States Department of Energy, to compete at the National Science Bowl April 30 through May 5, 2009; and

WHEREAS, the Lux Middle School team competed against thirty-six other teams in the National Science Bowl, advancing to the final round of sixteen teams and finishing fifth in the nation.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, FIRST SESSION:

LR 169 LR 169

1. That the Legislature congratulates the students of the Lux Middle School 2009 Science Bowl Team on winning the Nebraska Middle School Science Bowl Competition and finishing fifth in the National Middle School Science Bowl Competition.

2. That a copy of this resolution be presented to Mr. Rich Powers and Ms. Colleen Toalson, coaches of the Lux Middle School 2009 Science Bowl Team.