

Hearing Date: January 22, 2007 Committee On: Business and Labor

Introducer(s): (Synowiecki, 7) **Title:** Change provisions relating to the Contractor Registration Act

Roll Call Vote – Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

X Advanced to General File with Amendments Indefinitely Postponed

Vote Results:

6	Yes	Senators Cornett, Lathrop, McGill, Rogert, Wallman, White
	No	
	Present, not voting	
1	Absent	Senator Chambers

Proponents: Representing: Senator John Synowieki Introducer Steve Mulcahy Carpenters Dist. Council Jim Steele Falewitch Construction Services Larry Arnold Himself **Bill Kutilek** Larry Arnold Nebraska State Home Buiders Assoc. G. Bruck Kiwil Nebraska State AFL-CIO Ken Mass Gregg D. Rhoades Plasters and Cement Masons Local #538 Jim Sheard Change to Win Coalition of Nebraska and Teamsters Local

Opponents:

Representing:

Neutral:

Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes: This bill provides that all contractors across the state, regardless of the population in a county, shall be registered with the Department of Labor. The penalties for a citation are increased to \$5,000 for a first violation and to \$10,000 for a subsequent penalty.

Technical Details:

Section 1: amends 48-2101 to strike "counties with a population of over one hundred thousand inhabitants" and inserts "Nebraska" so that now all contractors in Nebraska are to be registered with the Department of Labor;

Section 2: amends 48-2104 to strike "any county with a population of over one hundred thousand inhabitants" and inserts "Nebraska" requiring the registration of all contractors prior to performing construction work;

Section 3: amends 48-2107 to change the application or renewal fee from \$25.00 to \$100.00;

Section 4: amends 48-2114 to provide for technical changes; strikes "if" and inserts "when"; increases the penalty for a first violation from \$500 to \$5,000, and increases the penalty of a second or subsequent violation from \$5,000 to \$10,000;

Strikes the self-employed fee exemption requirement "and does not pay more than one thousand dollars annually to employ other persons in the business" and inserts the exemption requirement "with a maximum equivalent of one full-time employee at any one time"; changes reporting requirements for receiving exemption from the fee.

Section 5: amends 48-2115 to provide authority to use the Contractor Registration Cash Fund "to enforce the Contractor Registration Act".

Explanation of amendments, if any: This amendment reduces the application fee to \$50 and provides that a contractor, who has never been registered before, shall have a sixty-day grace period after the issuance of a citation. The penalty will be waived, if the contractor registers within such sixty-day period. The grace period and waiver provisions will sunset on March 1, 2008.

Senator Abbie Cornett, Chairperson