ER8015 LB291 MHF-02/01/2007 ER8015 LB291 MHF-02/01/2007

E AND R AMENDMENTS TO LB 291

Introduced by Enrollment and Review Committee: McGill, 26, Chairperson

- 1 1. Strike the original sections and all amendments
- 2 thereto and insert the following new sections:
- 3 Section 1. Section 81-15,170, Revised Statutes Cumulative
- 4 Supplement, 2006, is amended to read:
- 5 81-15,170 (1) The Nebraska Environmental Trust Board
- 6 is hereby created as an entity of the executive branch. The
- 7 board shall consist of the Director of Environmental Quality,
- 8 the Director of Regulation and Licensure, the Director of Natural
- 9 Resources, the Director of Agriculture, the secretary of the Game
- 10 and Parks Commission, and nine eight citizens appointed by the
- 11 Governor with the approval of a majority of the Legislature.
- 12 The citizen members shall begin serving immediately following
- 13 notice of nomination and prior to approval by the Legislature.
- 14 The citizen members shall represent the general public and shall
- 15 have demonstrated competence, experience, and interest in the
- 16 environment of the state. Two At least two of the citizen
- 17 appointees shall also have experience with private financing of
- 18 public-purpose projects. Three appointees shall be chosen from each
- 19 of the three congressional districts.
- 20 (2) Of the eight citizen appointees appointed pursuant to
- 21 subsection (1) of this section, one appointee shall be appointed
- 22 <u>from each of the following districts:</u>
- 23 (a) The first district shall contain the counties of

ER8015
LB291
MHF-02/01/2007
ER8015
MHF-02/01/2007

1 Butler, Cass, Gage, Jefferson, Johnson, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee,

- 2 Richardson, Saline, Sarpy, Saunders, and Seward;
- 3 (b) The second district shall contain the county of
- 4 Douglas;
- 5 (c) The third district shall contain the counties of
- 6 Antelope, Boone, Burt, Cedar, Colfax, Cuming, Dakota, Dixon, Dodge,
- 7 Knox, Madison, Merrick, Nance, Pierce, Platte, Stanton, Thurston,
- 8 Washington, and Wayne;
- 9 (d) The fourth district shall contain the counties of
- 10 Adams, Buffalo, Clay, Fillmore, Franklin, Hall, Hamilton, Kearney,
- 11 Nuckolls, Polk, Thayer, Webster, and York;
- 12 (e) The fifth district shall contain the counties of
- 13 Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Furnas, Gosper, Harlan, Hayes,
- 14 Hitchcock, Lincoln, Perkins, Phelps, and Red Willow;
- 15 (f) The sixth district shall contain the counties of
- 16 Arthur, Blaine, Boyd, Brown, Cherry, Custer, Garfield, Grant,
- 17 Greeley, Holt, Hooker, Howard, Keya Paha, Logan, Loup, McPherson,
- 18 Rock, Sherman, Thomas, Valley, and Wheeler;
- 19 (g) The seventh district shall contain the counties of
- 20 Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Keith, Kimball,
- 21 Morrill, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, and Sioux; and
- 22 (h) The eighth district shall contain the county of
- 23 Lancaster.
- 24 (3) A citizen appointee appointed pursuant to this
- 25 section as it existed prior to the effective date of this act
- 26 may continue to serve until the expiration of his or her term of
- 27 office. Within thirty days after the effective date of this act,

1 the Governor shall designate which citizen appointees appointed

- 2 prior to the effective date of this act represent the districts
- 3 that become effective on the effective date of this act. As the
- 4 terms of citizen appointees appointed prior to the effective date
- 5 of this act expire as set out in section 81-15,171, appointments
- 6 shall be made pursuant to this section as it exists on and after
- 7 the effective date of this act.
- 8 (4) The board shall hire an executive director who shall
- 9 hire and supervise other staff members as may be authorized by
- 10 the board. The executive director shall serve at the pleasure of
- 11 the board and be solely responsible to it. The Game and Parks
- 12 Commission shall provide administrative support, including, but not
- 13 limited to, payroll and accounting functions, to the board.
- 14 Sec. 2. Section 81-15,171, Reissue Revised Statutes of
- 15 Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 16 81-15,171 The citizen members of the board shall be
- 17 appointed for terms of six years, except that of the members first
- 18 appointed, except directors of agencies. 7 the terms of three shall
- 19 expire at the end of the second year, three at the end of the
- 20 fourth year, and three at the end of the sixth year, as designated
- 21 at the time of appointment. Any member appointed to fill a vacancy
- 22 occurring prior to the expiration of the term for which his or her
- 23 predecessor was appointed shall be appointed for the remainder of
- 24 such term. A vacancy on the board shall exist in the event of the
- 25 death, disability, or resignation of a member. All members shall
- 26 be reimbursed for their actual and necessary travel expenses as
- 27 provided in sections 81-1174 to 81-1177.

ER8015
LB291
MHF-02/01/2007
ER8015
LB291
MHF-02/01/2007

1 Sec. 3. Original section 81-15,171, Reissue Revised

- 2 Statutes of Nebraska, and section 81-15,170, Revised Statutes
- 3 Cumulative Supplement, 2006, are repealed.