## AMENDMENTS TO LB 265

Introduced by Nantkes, 46

1	1. Insert the following sections:
2	Section 1. Section 48-1203, Reissue Revised Statutes of
3	Nebraska, is amended to read:
4	48-1203 (1) Except as otherwise provided in this section
5	and section 48-1203.01, every employer shall pay to each of his
6	or her employees <del>wages at the minimum rate of four dollars and</del>
7	twenty-five cents per hour through August 31, 1997, and five
8	dollars and fifteen cents per hour on and after September 1, 1997.
9	<u>a minimum wage of:</u>
10	(a) Five dollars and fifteen cents per hour through July
11	<u>23, 2007;</u>
12	(b) Five dollars and eighty-five cents per hour on and
13	after July 24, 2007, through July 23, 2008;
14	(c) Six dollars and fifty-five cents per hour on and
15	after July 24, 2008, through July 23, 2009; and
16	(d) Seven dollars and twenty-five cents per hour on and
17	<u>after July 24, 2009.</u>
18	(2) For persons compensated by way of gratuities such
19	as waitresses, waiters, hotel bellhops, porters, and shoeshine
20	persons, the employer shall pay wages at the minimum rate of two
21	dollars and thirteen cents per hour, plus all gratuities given
22	to them for services rendered. The sum of wages and gratuities
23	received by each person compensated by way of gratuities shall

-1-

AM1495 LB265 DCC-05/29/2007

equal or exceed the minimum wage rate provided in subsection (1)
 of this section. In determining whether or not the individual is
 compensated by way of gratuities, the burden of proof shall be upon
 the employer.

5 (3) Any employer employing student-learners as part 6 of a bona fide vocational training program shall pay such 7 student-learners' wages at a rate of at least seventy-five percent 8 of the minimum wage rate which would otherwise be applicable.

9 Sec. 2. Section 48-1203.01, Reissue Revised Statutes of
10 Nebraska, is amended to read:

11 48-1203.01 An employer may pay a new employee who is 12 younger than twenty years of age and is not a seasonal or migrant worker a training wage at a rate of four dollars and twenty-five 13 14 cents per hour of at least seventy-five percent of the federal 15 minimum wage for ninety days from the date the new employee was 16 hired. An employer may pay such new employee the training wage 17 rate for an additional ninety-day period while the new employee is 18 participating in on-the-job training which (1) requires technical, 19 personal, or other skills which are necessary for his or her 20 employment and (2) is approved by the Commissioner of Labor. No more than one-fourth of the total hours paid by the employer shall 21 22 be at the training wage rate.

23 An employer shall not pay the training wage rate if the 24 hours of any other employee are reduced or if any other employee is 25 laid off and the hours or position to be filled by the new employee 26 is substantially similar to the hours or position of such other 27 employee. An employer shall not dismiss or reduce the hours of any

-2-

AM1495 AM1495 LB265 LB265 DCC-05/29/2007 DCC-05/29/2007 1 employee with the intention of replacing such employee or his or 2 her hours with a new employee receiving the training wage rate. 3 Sec. 3. Original sections 48-1203 and 48-1203.01, Reissue 4 Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed. 5 Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect 6 when passed and approved according to law. 7 2. Renumber the remaining sections and correct internal

8

references accordingly.