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INTRODUCTION 
 

The following review provides a summary of significant legislative 
issues addressed during the first session of the One Hundredth 
Legislature of Nebraska. The review briefly describes many, but by 
no means all, of the issues discussed by the Legislature during the 
2007 session. Information gathered from committee chairpersons 
and staff members, staff of the Legislative Fiscal Office, legislative 
records, and the Unicameral Update is used to produce the re-
view. 
 
Bill summaries and summaries of legislative resolutions proposing 
constitutional amendments are found under the heading of the 
legislative committee to which each bill or resolution was referred. 
Because the subject matter of some legislation relates to more than 
one committee, cross-referencing notes are included as needed.  A 
bill-number index and a legislative-resolution index are included 
for ease of reference. 
 
The authors acknowledge and thank the legislative staff who as-
sisted in the preparation of this review. 
 
A word about effective and operative dates— 
 
Article III, section 27,  of the Nebraska Constitution provides in 
part that, unless an emergency is declared, any bill passed by the 
Legislature takes effect three calendar months after the Legislature 
adjourns sine die.  This year, the effective date for all enacted leg-
islation that does not  have  (1) a specific operative date or (2) the 
emergency clause is September 1, 2007.  
 
Enacted legislation with a specific operative date takes effect on 
that date.  

 
If enacted legislation has no specific operative date but passes with 
the emergency clause, the measure takes effect the day after the 
Governor signs the measure. For example, if a bill passes with the 
emergency clause and the Governor signs the measure into law on 
May 31, the bill becomes effective June 1. 
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AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE 
Senator Philip Erdman, Chairperson 
 

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS  
 
LB 12—Change the Commercial Dog and Cat Operator Inspection Act 
(Mines, Cornett, Pahls, and Schimek) 
 

LB 12 amends the Commercial Dog and Cat Operator Act with the 
goal of eliminating “puppy mills.” “Puppy mill” is a negative term 
used to describe breeding operations that mistreat dogs and cats. 
Puppy mill owners often keep animals in overcrowded and un-
clean conditions and breed females repeatedly.  
 
Under the bill, the Department of Agriculture can require an in-
spection of commercial kennels, including breeding and boarding 
kennels, shelters, and pet stores, at the time of the initial applica-
tion for a license. In addition, the new law requires kennel inspec-
tions be done every two years. (Under prior law, inspections were 
done only in response to complaints about a particular kennel.)  
 
LB 12 also establishes a new fee schedule for kennel licenses. The 
fee for an initial kennel license is $125. Subsequent license fees 
will vary according to the number of animals housed by the ken-
nel: (1) 10 or fewer cats or dogs, $150; (2) 11 to 50 cats or dogs, 
$200; and (3) more than 50 cats or dogs, $250. If a licensee does 
not house cats or dogs, the license fee is $150. The Director of Ag-
riculture can increase or decrease any license fees after holding a 
public hearing for purposes of outlining the rationale behind the 
fee change; however, the maximum fee authorized by the act is 
$350.  
 
A violation of the act can result in a fine of up to $5,000.    
 
The bill is a response to the growth of puppy mills in the state. 
Proponents acknowledged that most breeders run good opera-
tions, and are responding to the market demand for pets through-
out the country. However, backers of the bill want to crack down 
on unethical breeders, protecting consumers from buying animals 
with genetic defects and from the trauma and expense of owning a 
damaged pet.   
 
LB 12 passed 44-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 30, 
2007. 

 
LB 25—Change Rabies Control Provisions to Include Hybrid Animals 
(Langemeier)  

 
Controlling the spread of rabies among hybrid dogs by requiring 
they be vaccinated is the intent of LB 25. The bill defines a hybrid 
animal to be the product of breeding between a domestic dog and 
a nondomestic canine species, such as a wolf or a coyote. Cur-
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rently, no federally approved vaccine for hybrid dogs exists; there-
fore, the bill delays implementation of the inoculation requirement 
until a scientifically reliable vaccine is developed. Once developed, 
hybrid dog owners will have one year to vaccinate their animals. 
 
Wolf-dogs are one of the most common hybrid dogs. Wolves and 
dogs can breed because they are genetically similar. Wolf-dogs are 
also controversial. Some think the animals are vicious and un-
trainable. They point to the fact that attacks on people, mostly 
children, have resulted in severe injury, even death. Others say 
that wolf-dogs are merely an alternative exotic pet. They contend 
that the animals are generally docile and have dispositions that 
vary, just like dispositions of domestic dogs.   
 
LB 25 passed 41-1 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 

 
LB 108—Change Provisions Relating to Fence Disputes (Agriculture 
Committee) 

 
LB 108 amends Nebraska’s fence law. Generally, fence law regu-
lates boundary and fence disputes by providing procedures to be 
used when disputes between rural landowners cannot be resolved.  
 
Nebraska’s early fence law was considered to be “fence-out,” re-
flecting the open range of settlement days. The law required land-
owners to fence agricultural land to keep out neighboring live-
stock. Current fence law is considered to be “fence-in,” and re-
quires a landowner to fence his or her property to contain live-
stock, with the provision that landowners are obligated to share 
the cost and responsibility of building and maintaining fence that 
separates adjoining properties (division fence).  
 
However, rural-land use in Nebraska and throughout the country 
is no longer so exclusively agricultural. Rural land is increasingly 
used for residential purposes, such as acreages and ranchettes. 
Despite this fact, the state’s fence law has continued to obligate all 
rural residents to build and maintain fence, even if they do not 
benefit from it.  
 
The changes to the fence law included within LB 12 reflect the new 
uses of rural land. Neighboring landowners will continue to share 
the cost and maintenance of division fence, determining the exact 
arrangement themselves. However, if a dispute arises, the bill pre-
scribes an equal (50-50) responsibility only if both landowners use 
division fence to contain livestock.   
 
LB 108 also ends the “fence viewer” system, by which county offi-
cials or persons appointed to be “fence viewers” arbitrate fence 
disputes. System administrators have had difficulty attracting 
fence viewers, in part, because of fear of being drawn into a bitter 
fence dispute between neighbors.  
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Alternatively, LB 108 provides that a party in a fence dispute can 
bring an action in the county court where the land is located. The 
bill establishes a process by which a disputant may choose media-
tion under programs offered by the Department of Agriculture or 
the Office of Dispute Resolution. If an agreement is reached, the 
court will enter it as the judgment. If mediation is not chosen or is 
not successful, a civil action can proceed.   
 
LB 108 passed with the emergency clause 34-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on March 7, 2007. 

 
LB 435—Study Issues Relating to the Nebraska State Fairgrounds 
(Raikes, Avery, Dierks, Dubas, Fulton, Hudkins, Karpisek, McDonald, 
McGill, Nantkes, Schimek, and Wallman) 
 

The future of the Nebraska State Fair is the topic of LB 435. The 
debate is whether the fair should remain at its current, historically 
significant site or whether it should be moved to a new location.  
Those wishing to move the fair would like to see the current state 
fair site converted to a research park for the University of Ne-
braska. 
 
The fair is an institution deeply rooted in Nebraska history and is 
actually older than the state. In 1859, eight years before statehood, 
there was a Territorial and Mechanical Fair held in Nebraska City. 
The next fair was in 1868, when it became an annual event, held 
mostly in Lincoln and Omaha. In 1901, the fair was established at 
its current site at State Fair Park in Lincoln.  
 
The fair has recently undergone significant changes. After years of 
declining revenue and attendance and deteriorating facilities, the 
fair has been given a more solid financial foundation. Responsibil-
ity for the fair was moved from the State Board of Agriculture to 
the State Fair Board (board). After the fair had nearly gone bank-
rupt, voters approved a lottery subsidy in 2004. The subsidy to-
taled $2.5 million in 2005 and $2.9 million in 2006, and the fair 
showed a profit in both years.  
 
LB 435 directs the Agriculture Committee, in cooperation with the 
board, to conduct a study that addresses two different futures for 
the fair. The study will estimate the cost of keeping the fair at its 
current location, including the costs of renovation. The study will 
also analyze the cost of establishing the fair at a new, undesignated 
location. The study will analyze the fair’s infrastructure needs and 
projected revenue over a 15-year period for each outcome.  
 
The bill authorizes the committee to employ an independent, neu-
tral consultant, using up to $150,000 of fair funds. The commit-
tee’s report is due on December 15, 2007.  
               
LB 435 passed with the emergency clause 47-1 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 16, 2007. 
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LB 516—Authorize a Study with Respect to Corporate Farming and 
Agricultural Production in Nebraska (Agriculture Committee) 
 

A series of federal court decisions overturned Nebraska’s tough 
ban on corporate farming. LB 516 addresses what happens next by 
authorizing a study to propose options for state policymakers. 
 
Passed by the voters in 1982, Initiative 300 (I-300) prohibited 
nonfamily corporations from owning farmland or livestock. While 
other midwestern states had prohibitions on corporate farming, 
Nebraska’s ban, by virtue of its placement in the Constitution, was 
deemed one of the strictest. 
 
I-300 survived repeated attempts to change or repeal it, by legisla-
tion, petition drive, and court challenge until it was finally over-
turned by the United States District Court. The court ruled that I-
300 violated the commerce clause of the U.S. Constitution, be-
cause it made it difficult for non-Nebraskans to meet the require-
ments for establishing a family farm corporation. The decision was 
upheld by the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. In March 2007, the 
United States Supreme Court declined to review the lower court 
rulings, essentially affirming the lower court decisions.  
 
In recognition of the significant impact of these court rulings on 
the future of agriculture in Nebraska, LB 516 requires the Legisla-
ture’s Agriculture Committee to conduct a study to identify possi-
ble policies, legislation, or alternatives designed to protect Ne-
braska’s agriculture industry, including its family farms.  
 
The Legislature’s Executive Board and the Attorney General are to 
assist the Agriculture Committee in the conduct of the study.  
 
LB 516 passed with the emergency clause 45-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 24, 2007. 
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APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE  
Senator Lavon Heidemann, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
Biennial Budget Package 
 

On May 15, 2007, by a vote of 37-12, the Nebraska Legislature 
passed (with the emergency clause) a General Fund biennial 
budget totaling approximately $6.8 billion. The budget figures re-
flected an annual average overall spending level increase of 4.6 
percent and anticipated revenue growth of approximately 4.2 per-
cent in fiscal year 2007-2008 and 4.7 percent in fiscal year 2008-
2009.   
 
Lawmakers touted the budget package as “lean” and fiscally re-
sponsible, noting that the annual average overall spending level 
increase of 4.6 percent was substantially less than the 7.4 percent 
increase prescribed in the last biennial budget. 
 
The bulk of the budget package is detailed in LB 321, the mainline 
budget bill. Other bills in the package are LB 317, LB 318, LB 
319, LB 320, LB 322, and LB 323. 
 
As the budget advanced through the legislative process, several 
amendments were offered but few were adopted. Funding for road 
improvements, economic development, and health care sparked 
vigorous debate.  
 
LB 321 included an appropriation to the Department of Roads 
which likely would have necessitated an increase in the gasoline 
tax. With the price of gasoline at an all-time high, several senators 
argued this was not the time for a tax increase. Amendments were 
offered to LB 321 and LB 323, which if adopted, would have elimi-
nated the need for the increase. Both amendments failed; how-
ever, Governor Heineman used his line-item veto to reduce the 
appropriation to the Department of Roads by $19 million, thus 
eliminating the need for the tax increase.  
 
Senators amended the budget on Select File to appropriate 
$290,000 each fiscal year of the biennium to the Eastern Ne-
braska Office on Aging and $250,000 in fiscal year 2007-2008 
and $500,000 in fiscal year 2008-2009 for area health education 
centers. The Governor’s red pen eliminated these spending items, 
neither of which was overridden by the Legislature.  
 
In addition to the above-mentioned vetoes, the Governor reduced 
proposed salary increases for Supreme Court and state probation 
staff from 7 percent to 4.5 percent, which results in a reduction of 
$732,695 in General Funds and $667,267 salary limit each year of 
the biennium.  
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Other vetoes included: 
 

• $60,000 each fiscal year to the Supreme Court for estab-
lishment of a Prostitution Diversion Court; 

• A reduction of the funding increase for special education, 
from 4 percent to 3 percent annual growth, which 
reduces General Fund appropriations by 
$1,742,802 in fiscal year 2007-2008 and 
$3,607,599 in fiscal year 2008-2009; and 

• A reduction in the rate increase, from 2 percent to 1 per-
cent, for foster parents, mental health therapists, 
care managers, and other providers who care for 
Health and Human Services clients. The reduction 
results in a savings of $11 million over the bien-
nium. 

 
All-in-all, the Governor’s vetoes totaled $42.6 million in General 
Fund appropriations for the biennium. The vetoes reduced the 
budget passed by lawmakers by approximately 0.3 percent, result-
ing in an average annual spending level increase of 4.3 percent. 
None of the Governor’s vetoes were overridden. 
 
Other bills in the budget package are: 
 

• LB 317, which provides for deficit appropriations and 
transfers. The bill passed with the emergency clause 48-0. 

• LB 318, which appropriates funds for salaries of state leg-
islators. The bill passed with the emergency clause 49-0. 

• LB 319, which appropriates funds for salaries of constitu-
tional officers. LB 319 passed with the emergency clause 
49-0. 

• LB 320, which appropriates funds for capital construc-
tion. LB 320 passed with the emergency clause 49-0. 

• LB 322, which creates, renames, eliminates, and changes 
the use of certain funds and transfers funds necessary to 
carry out the appropriations process. The bill also extends 
the excise tax on corn and grain sorghum (7/8 cent per 
bushel for corn and 7/8 cent per hundredweight of grain 
sorghum) for two years until October 1, 2012, Beginning 
October 1, 2012 through October 1, 2019, the tax will be ½ 
cent. Beginning January 1, 2013, revenue from the excise 
tax will be credited to the Water Resources Cash Fund, 
which is created in LB 701 and discussed beginning on 
page 77.  (Currently, excise tax revenue is credited to the 
Ethanol Production Incentive Cash Fund.) LB 322 also re-
directs revenue generated by the cigarette tax.  
 
LB 322 passed with the emergency clause 44-1.  
 

• LB 323, which transfers money from the Cash Reserve 
Fund. The bill passed with the emergency clause 42-2. 

 
These bills were approved by the Governor on May 21, 2007. 
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OTHER ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 542—Create the Children’s Behavioral Health Task Force 
(Synowiecki) 

 
With the enactment of LB 542, the Children’s Behavioral Health 
Task Force is created. Members of the task force include the chair-
persons of the Legislature’s Health and Human Services and Ap-
propriations committees, a member of the Behavioral Health 
Oversight Commission, two providers of community-based behav-
ioral health services to children, one regional administrator, two 
representatives of organizations advocating on behalf of consum-
ers of children’s behavioral health services, a juvenile court judge, 
two representatives from the Department of Health and Human 
Services, and the administrator of the Office of Juvenile Services.  
 
The task force is to prepare a children’s behavioral health plan and 
submit the plan to the Governor and the Legislature’s Health and 
Human Services Committee by December 4, 2007. 
 
The plan must include: 
 

• Plans for the development of a statewide integrated system 
of care to provide appropriate educational, behavioral 
health, substance abuse, and support services to children 
and their families; 

• Plans for the development of community-based inpatient 
and subacute substance abuse and behavioral health ser-
vices and the allocation of funding for such services to the 
community; 

• Strategies for effectively serving juveniles who need sub-
stance abuse or behavioral health services upon release 
from the youth rehabilitation and treatment centers in 
Kearney and Geneva; 

• Strategies and mechanisms for the integration of funding 
sources for the provision of community-based substance 
abuse and behavioral health services for children; 

• Measurable benchmarks and timelines for the develop-
ment of a more comprehensive and integrated system of 
treatment for children; 

• Suggestions for statutory changes needed to accomplish 
the task force’s goals; and 

• Plans for a data and information system to allow informa-
tion-sharing among all parties providing behavioral ser-
vices to children and families. 

 
Additionally, the task force must prepare a written implementa-
tion and appropriations plan relative to the health plan and sub-
mit it to the Governor and Legislature’s Health and Human Ser-
vices Committee by January 4, 2008. The committee’s chairperson 
is directed to prepare the legislation necessary to implement the 
plan. 
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LB 542 also prescribes behavioral health evaluation and treatment 
procedures for youth committed to the rehabilitation and treat-
ment centers at Kearney and Geneva. The bill mandates that, 
within 14 days of admission, an evaluation and treatment plan 
must be developed for each juvenile. Private and public sector be-
havioral health providers are to be involved in the evaluation 
process, and the evaluation must balance the treatment needs of 
the juvenile and the goals of the juvenile justice system. 
 
LB 542 passed with the emergency clause 46-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 24, 2007. 
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BANKING, COMMERCE, AND INSURANCE 
COMMITTEE 
Senator Rich Pahls, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 117—Omnibus Insurance Legislation, Including Adoption of the 
Captive Insurers Act (Banking, Commerce, and Insurance Commit-
tee) 

 
LB 117 amends several provisions of Nebraska’s insurance law, 
ranging from workers’ compensation to long-term care insurance. 
The bill also creates the Captive Insurers Act and, as enacted, in-
cludes provisions of LB 119, LB 120, and LB 121.  
 
LB 117 adopts the Captive Insurers Act.  A captive insurer is a do-
mestic insurer authorized under the Captive Insurers Act to pro-
vide insurance and reinsurance to its parent, any affiliated entity, 
or both. Such insurance and reinsurance is limited to the risks, 
hazards, and liabilities of its parent and affiliated entities.  
 
The purposes of the new act are to establish procedures for orga-
nizing and regulating captive insurers doing business in Nebraska 
and to encourage integrity, financial solvency, and stability of cap-
tive insurers so as to promote the development of businesses in 
the state.  
 
The Captive Insurers Act includes provisions that: prohibit the use 
of certain names; require payment of a $500 application fee to ob-
tain a certificate of authority to do business in Nebraska and pay-
ment of an annual $500 renewal fee; require bylaws and a govern-
ing board to manage the business of each captive insurer (no one 
convicted of fraud against a financial institution or of a felony in-
volving misuse of funds can be a member of the board); require 
the filing of annual reports; require at least $100,000 in total capi-
tal and surplus to transact business in the state; authorize audits 
pursuant to the Insurers Examination Act; impose loan restric-
tions; authorize credit for reserves on risks ceded to a reinsurer; 
deny a captive insurer membership in specified guaranty associa-
tions (e.g., the Nebraska Life and Health Insurance Guaranty As-
sociation); authorize voluntary dissolution of a captive insurer 
with approval of the Department of Insurance, but no dissolution 
will impair the right of any person to sue the captive insurer for 
any liability previously incurred; permit suspension or revocation 
of a certificate of authority after notice and hearing; authorize 
fines up to $1,000 per violation of certain requirements; allow the 
creation of “special purpose” captive insurers to diversify and 
broaden life insurers’ access to capital; authorize the department 
to adopt related rules and regulations; and impose a premiums tax 
equal to one-fourth of one percent of the gross direct writing pre-
miums received for business transacted in Nebraska.  Nebraska’s 
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other insurance laws, such as the Insurers Examination Act do not 
apply to captive insurers, except as permitted in the Captive Insur-
ers Act.   
 
LB 117 also changes the name of the Nebraska Senior Protection in 
Annuity Transactions Act to the Nebraska Protection in Annuity 
Transactions Act and makes the act applicable to all consumers 
(not just consumers age 65 or older) entering into annuity transac-
tions.  
 
The bill further amends numerous statutes relating to insurance, 
including: 
 
(1) The Business Corporation Act. LB 117 imposes a $300 filing fee 
for insurers holding a certificate of authority who file articles of in-
corporation or documents relating to domestication. 
 
(2) The Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act. LB 117 allows the 
Director of Insurance to establish an “alternative assigned risk sys-
tem” of workers’ compensation insurance for assigned risk em-
ployers, as a backstop in case no insurer is willing to provide cov-
erage for the assigned risk plan.  
 
(3) The Viatical Settlements Act. LB 117 provides insurers a right 
to an administrative hearing if the department denies an applica-
tion or refuses to renew a license. 
 
(4) The Long-Term Care Insurance Act. LB 117 establishes training 
requirements for long-term care insurance providers and author-
izes the department to adopt rules and regulations establishing 
minimum training requirements for insurance producers. 
 
(5) The Insurers Investment Act. LB 117 eliminates a “minimum 
quality rating” for outstanding debt and commercial paper and a 
requirement that an insurer’s authorized investments cannot ex-
ceed 10 percent of its admitted assets; provides that an investment 
will be measured by the lesser of actual cost or admitted value at 
the time of acquisition; imposes restrictions on lending securities 
with the aim of ensuring adequate liquidity; provides that an in-
surer’s investments in any one foreign jurisdiction, whose sover-
eign debt has a “4, 5, or 6 designation from the Securities Valua-
tion Office,” cannot exceed three percent of the insurer’s admitted 
assets and prohibits the aggregate of such investments from ex-
ceeding 20 percent (formerly 15 percent) of the insurer’s admitted 
assets; prohibits a life insurer’s investment in certain corporate 
stocks from exceeding 25 percent (formerly 10 percent) of its ad-
mitted assets and also prohibits  such investments from exceeding 
ten percent of its admitted assets unless the investments are rated 
“P-1 or P-2 by the Securities Valuation Office;” allows investments 
in equity interests in business entities that are not general part-
nerships even if such business entities were not created under the 
laws of the United States or Canada; prohibits an insurer from 
making certain specified investments; and imposes other require-
ments.    
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(6) The Surplus Lines Insurance Act. LB 117 permits an industrial 
insured to procure insurance upon risks in Nebraska in a nonad-
mitted insurer even if the department has not issued a surplus 
lines license to such insurer; and imposes a three percent pre-
mium tax on industrial insurers for policies procured through 
nonadmitted insurers.  
 
(7) The Property and Casualty Insurance Rate and Form Act. LB 
117 makes technical changes to various insurance related statutes 
that coordinate those provisions with provisions of the Property 
and Casualty Insurance Rate and Form Act. 
 
LB 117 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 30, 
2007. 

 
LB 124—Omnibus Financial Institution Legislation (Banking, Com-
merce, and Insurance Committee and Mines) 
 

LB 124, introduced at the request of the Department of Banking 
and Finance, is the annual legislation (a.k.a. “wild-card” bill) that 
gives state-chartered banks, savings and loan associations, and 
credit unions the same rights, powers, and privileges as their fed-
erally chartered brethren.  
 
As amended by the Standing Committee amendments, LB 124 in-
cludes a variety of changes to Nebraska’s laws governing financial 
institutions, trusts, and secured interests. The legislation includes 
the provisions of many different bills, each of which was advanced 
to General File during the session by the committee, including the 
following: 
 
LB 122 makes technical changes to the statutes governing as-
sessments, examination costs, and fees imposed by the depart-
ment.  
 
LB 125 makes technical changes to the statutes authorizing state-
chartered banks to make community development investments. 
 
LB 126 includes trust companies among the types of financial in-
stitutions that are prohibited by Nebraska law from having identi-
cal or confusingly similar names if two or more such institutions 
are located in the same city, village, or county. 
 
LB 127 requires loan broker disclosure statements and loan bro-
kerage agreements to include the loan broker’s telephone number, 
e-mail address, and Internet address, if any. The legislation also 
requires loan brokerage agreements to include the loan broker’s 
agent for service of process.   
 
LB 128 amends the Nebraska Installment Sales Act’s license re-
newal provisions to require sales finance companies to have and 
maintain minimum net capital of $100,000 and a $50,000 surety 
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bond to cover any losses resulting from violations of law. Current 
licensees have until October 1, 2008, to comply.  
 
LB 129 amends the Mortgage Bankers Registration and Licensing 
Act to prohibit (1) a convicted felon from being employed at, or as 
an agent of, a mortgage banker; and (2) a licensee and its employ-
ees and agents from obtaining a signature on a document to be no-
tarized without first obtaining a notarial attestation in the pres-
ence of the person signing the document. The legislation also au-
thorizes Nebraska’s participation in a uniform system of electronic 
licensing of entities that make residential mortgage loans, applica-
ble January 1, 2008, for new applications and December 31, 2008, 
for renewal applications. And, the bill provides licensing fees, 
change-of-control procedures, and procedures for licensing 
branch offices.   
 
LB 130 amends the Nebraska Installment Sales Act to provide re-
quirements for the relocation of a licensed office, including an ap-
plication, a $150 fee, publication of notice, and necessity of an 
administrative hearing if an objection is filed to the proposed relo-
cation.  
 
LB 149 expands the list of entities that can use the word “bank” or 
any derivative thereof to include affiliates or subsidiaries of a 
bank, building and loan association, savings and loan association, 
savings bank, or bank holding company, and organizations sub-
stantially owned by any such entity or combination of such enti-
ties. The legislation also allows a firm, company, corporation, or 
association that has been in existence and doing business before 
December 1, 1975, under a name that includes the word “bank” or 
any derivative thereof to continue using the word in its name.  
 
Pursuant to LB 156, a state-chartered bank is no longer required 
to appoint a cashier and can appoint a secretary who is not a 
member of the bank’s board of directors. Additionally, the legisla-
tion states that investments by a state-chartered bank in premises 
necessary for the transaction of business include premises owned 
and occupied by the bank, realty for future expansion, parking fa-
cilities, and other property for use by officers, employees, or cus-
tomers. The legislation outright repeals Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 8-1,123 
so that federal law governing account bonuses and premiums will 
automatically apply to state-chartered banks by virtue of the Leg-
islature’s annual wild-card legislation.   
 
LB 114 and LB 189 amend the Nebraska Uniform Trust Code. 
Changes to the code that were approved and recommended by the 
National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws are 
included in LB 114, while LB 189 identifies two transactions that 
will not be presumed to be affected by a conflict of interest be-
tween the personal and fiduciary interests of a trustee, if the trans-
action and any investment made pursuant to such a transaction 
complies with the prudent investor rule and is in the best interests 
of the beneficiaries: (1) a trustee’s investment in an investment 
company’s securities when the trustee or its affiliate provides ser-
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vices in a capacity other than as trustee; and (2) a trustee’s place-
ment of securities through a securities broker that is part of the 
same company as the trustee. Additionally, LB 189 prohibits a 
trustee from receiving more than reasonable compensation for 
such transactions.  
 
LB 346 amends Nebraska’s law governing the central filing sys-
tem for filing Effective Financing Statements (EFS) for purposes 
of: (1) improving the electronic filing of an EFS, amendments to an 
EFS, and continuation statements; and (2) better protecting a 
debtor’s identity by providing a way to identify the debtor on an 
EFS without using the debtor’s social security number or federal 
tax identification number.    
 
LB 124 passed with the emergency clause 46-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on March 19, 2007. 

 
LB 136—Adopt the Nebraska Uniform Prudent Management of Insti-
tutional Funds Act and Eliminate the Uniform Management of Institu-
tional Funds Act (Flood) 
 

LB 136 adopts the Nebraska Uniform Prudent Management of In-
stitutional Funds Act, as approved by the National Conference of 
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws in 2006, and outright re-
peals the Uniform Management of Institutional Funds Act which 
was first enacted by Laws 1996, LB 973. [For a summary of Laws 
1996, LB 973, see A Review: Ninety-Fourth Legislature, Second 
Session, 1996, pp. 20-22, Legislative Research Division (July 
1996).] 
 
Essentially, LB 136 delineates the investment authority of, and 
imposes duties of care upon, persons charged with managing insti-
tutional funds or endowment funds.  
 
An institutional fund is “a fund held by an institution exclusively 
for charitable purposes,” but the term does not include program-
related assets (i.e., an asset held by an institution primarily to ac-
complish a charitable purpose of the institution and not primarily 
for investment”); a fund held for an institution by a trustee that is 
not an institution; or a fund in which a beneficiary that is not an 
institution has an interest, other than an interest that could arise 
upon violation or failure of the purposes of the fund. 
 
An endowment fund is “an institutional fund or part thereof that, 
under the terms of a gift instrument, is not wholly expendable by 
the institution on a current basis,” but the term does not include 
assets that an institution designates as an endowment fund for its 
own use.  
 
The act applies to institutional funds existing on or established af-
ter September 1, 2007. As applied to institutional funds existing 
on such date, the act governs only decisions made or actions taken 
on or after that date. Compliance with the act is not determined by 
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hindsight, but in light of the facts and circumstances when a deci-
sion is made or action taken and, when applying or construing the 
act, consideration must be given to the need for uniformity of the 
law as to its subject matter among states that enact it.  
 
Standards of Conduct for Managing and Investing Insti-
tutional Funds 
 
The standards of conduct for managing and investing institutional 
funds expressed in LB 136 are generally subservient to the intent 
of the donor expressed in a gift instrument. In light of that, the act 
requires an institution—in managing and investing institutional 
funds—to consider the charitable purposes of the institution and 
the purposes of the institutional fund.    
 
In addition to the common law duty of loyalty, each person re-
sponsible for managing and investing an institutional fund must 
manage and invest the fund in good faith and with the care an or-
dinarily prudent person in a like position would exercise under 
similar circumstances. Thus, an institution can incur only appro-
priate and reasonable costs in relation to the assets, the institu-
tion’s purposes, and the skills available to the institution; and it 
must make a reasonable effort to verify relevant facts.  
 
The act permits an institution to pool two or more institutional 
funds for purposes of management and investment and sets forth 
other factors that must be considered when managing and invest-
ing an institutional fund, including general economic conditions; 
inflation and deflation; tax consequences; the role played by each 
investment or course of action within the overall investment port-
folio; the expected total return from income and appreciation of 
assets; other resources of the institution; the institution’s needs; 
the fund’s need to make distributions and preserve capital; and an 
asset’s special relationship or value, if any, to the institution’s 
charitable purposes. 
 
The act requires management and investment decisions about an 
individual asset to be made in the context of the institutional 
fund’s portfolio of investments as a whole and as part of an overall 
investment strategy having risk and return objectives reasonably 
suited to the fund and the institution. Thus, an institution can in-
vest in any kind of property consistent with the act, provided that 
such investment is not otherwise prohibited by law, but the insti-
tution must diversify the investments of an institutional fund 
unless it reasonably determines that, due to special circumstances, 
diversification would not better serve the fund. The act also re-
quires an institution to make and carry out decisions concerning 
retention or disposition of the property or to rebalance a portfolio 
within a reasonable time after receiving the property, and any per-
son with special skills or expertise (or who represented himself or 
herself as having such skills or expertise) has a duty to use those 
skills or expertise when managing and investing institutional 
funds.  
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Appropriation for Expenditure or Accumulation of En-
dowment Fund 
 
The act’s rules governing the expenditure or accumulation of an 
endowment fund are also generally subservient to the intent of the 
donor expressed in the gift instrument. If the donor wishes to re-
strict expenditures or accumulation, the gift instrument must spe-
cifically state the limitation.  
 
In light of that, the assets in an endowment fund are donor-
restricted assets until appropriated for expenditure and the insti-
tution can appropriate for expenditure or accumulate so much of 
an endowment fund as it determines is prudent for the uses, bene-
fits, purposes, and duration for which the fund is established. In 
making such determination, the institution must act in good faith, 
with the care that an ordinarily prudent person in like position 
would exercise under similar circumstances, and it must consider 
seven specific factors in doing that, including duration and preser-
vation of the fund; purposes of the institution and the endowment 
fund; general economic conditions; inflation and deflation; ex-
pected total return from income and appreciation of assets; the in-
stitution’s other resources; and the institution’s investment policy. 
The act also sets forth rules for specific circumstances that decid-
edly determine the effect of certain donor restrictions, including 
whether an endowment fund of permanent duration has been es-
tablished. 
 
Delegation of Managerial and Investment Functions 
 
Subject to any specific limitation set forth in a gift instrument or in 
law other than the act, an institution can delegate to an external 
agent the management and investment of an institutional fund to 
the extent that an institution could prudently delegate under the 
circumstances. An institution can also delegate management and 
investment functions to its committees, officers, or employees, as 
authorized by Nebraska law other than the act.  
 
Even so, an institution must still act in good faith, with the care 
that an ordinarily prudent person in like position would exercise 
under similar circumstances, when selecting an agent; establishing 
the scope and terms of the engagement; and periodically reviewing 
the agent’s actions to monitor the agent’s performance and com-
pliance with the scope and terms of the engagement.  
 
Thus, the act provides that the agent owes a duty of reasonable 
care to the institution and, if the institution is in compliance with 
the act’s requirements governing delegation, it is not liable for de-
cisions or actions of the agent to whom the function was delegated. 
By accepting the engagement, the agent submits to the jurisdiction 
of the courts of Nebraska in all proceedings arising from or related 
to the engagement or the performance of the delegated function.      
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Release or Modification of a Restriction in a Gift In-
strument 
 
LB 136 provides means (i.e., going to court if the donor does not 
consent in a record to the release or modification of a restriction in 
the gift instrument) by which an institution can obtain a release of 
a restriction imposed by a gift instrument. However, such a release 
cannot permit the fund to be used for a purpose other than a 
charitable purpose of the institution.  
 
Upon application of the institution, the court can modify a restric-
tion in a gift instrument regarding the management or investment 
of an institutional fund if the restriction has become impractical or 
wasteful; impairs the management or investment of the fund; or, 
due to circumstances not anticipated by the donor, a modification 
of a restriction will further the purposes of the fund. Likewise, if a 
particular charitable purpose or restriction in a gift instrument on 
the use of an institutional fund becomes unlawful, impractical, 
impossible to achieve, or wasteful, the court can modify the pur-
pose of the fund or the restriction in a manner consistent with the 
charitable purposes expressed in the gift instrument; however, the 
institution must notify the Attorney General of the application and 
the Attorney General must be given an opportunity to be heard.  
 
In addition, 60 days after notifying the Attorney General, an insti-
tution can unilaterally release or modify a restriction in a gift in-
strument on the management, investment, or purpose of an insti-
tutional fund if the institution determines that the restriction is 
unlawful, impracticable, impossible to achieve, or wasteful, but 
only if (1) the total value of the institutional fund is less than 
$25,000; (2) more than 20 years have passed since the fund was 
established; and (3) the institution uses the property in a manner 
consistent with the charitable purposes expressed in the gift in-
strument. 
 
Therefore, LB 136 preserves the judicial doctrine of cy pres, “un-
der which a court reforms a written instrument with a gift to char-
ity as closely to the donor’s intention as possible, so that the gift 
does not fail.” [Black’s L. Dict. 392 (7th ed. 1999).] 
 
Finally, LB 136 supersedes Congress’ Electronic Signatures in 
Global and National Commerce Act (15 U.S.C. sec. 7001, et seq.), 
but does not supersede section 101 of that act or permit electronic 
delivery of any of the notices described in section 103 of that act. 
 
LB 136 passed 43-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 

 
LB 191—Clarify Duties of Corporate Directors (Mines, Johnson, Pahls, 
and White) 
 

LB 191 clarifies the statutory duties of corporate directors, includ-
ing directors of insurance companies. When considering the best 
interests of the corporation, a director can—but does not have to—
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consider the effects of any action on the corporation’s employees, 
suppliers, creditors, customers, and communities in which offices 
or other facilities of the corporation are located.  
 
LB 191 passed with the emergency clause 33-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on March 7, 2007. 

 
LB 368—Adopt the Nebraska Limited Cooperative Association Act 
(Erdman, Flood, Gay, and Pirsch) 
 

LB 368 adopts the Nebraska Limited Cooperative Association Act, 
operative January 1, 2008. Inclusion of persons who are investors 
only is the main thing that distinguishes limited cooperative asso-
ciations from traditional cooperative associations.  
 
In traditional cooperatives, participation is limited to patron 
members only. Patron members use the services of a cooperative 
association to buy products from or sell products to the coopera-
tive association.  
 
In a limited cooperative association, investors can earn a return on 
their investment without participating in the business as a patron. 
The act establishes restrictions on allocating voting control and 
distributing profits among patron members and investors. 
 
Similar legislation has already been enacted in Iowa, Minnesota, 
Tennessee, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. The National Council of 
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws has developed a draft uni-
form limited cooperative association act. 
 
LB 368 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 16, 
2007. 

 
LB 425—Adopt the Nebraska Operational Assistance Act (Pankonin, 
Pahls, Nantkes, and Christensen) 
 

LB 425 adopts the Nebraska Operational Assistance Act, the pur-
pose of which is to have the Department of Economic Develop-
ment create a program to assist businesses in Nebraska to achieve 
“the thresholds necessary for private equity investments.” The 
program will assist potential high-growth businesses to establish a 
foundation sufficient to attract private equity, including, but not 
limited to, market analysis, executive recruitment, sales and mar-
keting, financial planning, business structure, and intellectual 
property development. The program can also provide other ser-
vices, including a statewide system for facilitating venture capital 
investments for businesses generally trying to raise new equity fi-
nancing up to $1 million. 
 
LB 425 directs the department to select a single private, nonprofit 
organization that is either: (1) incorporated in Nebraska and tax-
exempt under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3); or (2) a 
Nebraska corporation or Nebraska organization that is tax-exempt 
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under Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(6). In addition, LB 
425 requires the department to consider, among other things, the 
organization’s ability to deliver a statewide program and the or-
ganization’s ability to provide certain matching funds. 
 
The legislation requires the Legislature to appropriate funds to the 
department which must award such funds as a grant to the pri-
vate, nonprofit organization selected to carry out the provisions of 
the act. LB 425 also authorizes the department to receive funds 
from the federal government, local governments, private founda-
tions, and other sources. However, LB 425 also requires the pri-
vate, nonprofit organization to provide matching funds (any part 
of which can be an in-kind contribution) equal to at least one-third 
of all funds appropriated for the program.  
 
Finally, the department must submit an annual report on its ac-
tivities under the act to the Governor and the Clerk of the Legisla-
ture on or before January 1 each year. 
 
LB 425A appropriates $250,000 from the General Fund for fiscal 
year 2007-08 and another $250,000 from the General Fund for 
fiscal year 2008-09 to the Department of Economic Development 
to carry out the provisions of LB 425. 
 
LB 425 and LB 425A both passed 48-0, and both bills were ap-
proved by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 
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BUSINESS AND LABOR COMMITTEE 
Senator Abbie Cornett, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 255—Change the Nebraska Wage Payment and Collection Act 
(Rogert and Pirsch) 
 

LB 255 is the Legislature’s response to the Nebraska Supreme 
Court’s decision in Roseland v. Strategic Staff Management, 272 
Neb. 434 (2006), which held that “accrued vacation time, which is 
part of an employment agreement, is due and payable as wages 
upon termination of employment.”  LB 255 changes the Nebraska 
Wage Payment and Collection Act and, in effect, eviscerates future 
application of the court’s holding in Roseland. 
 
LB 255 redefines “wages” and adds a new section to the act gov-
erning unpaid commissions. (The provisions of LB 505 dealing 
with unpaid commissions were amended into LB 255.) 
 
Pursuant to LB 255, “paid leave” which constitutes an “employer 
provided fringe benefit” (e.g., sick leave) will not be included in 
wages due and payable when the employee and employer go their 
separate ways unless the employer and employee (or the employer 
and collective bargaining representative) have agreed otherwise. 
However, LB 255 expressly provides that “earned but unused vaca-
tion leave” is not subject to the new rule. 
 
LB 255 redefines “wages” to include commissions on all orders de-
livered and on file with the employer at the time of separation of 
employment (minus any orders returned or canceled at the time 
the lawsuit is filed), unless the employer and employee have spe-
cifically agreed otherwise through a contract effective when em-
ployment commences or at least 90 days before separation from 
employment.   
 
LB 255 also provides that when an employee is no longer on the 
employer’s payroll, the unpaid commissions, if any, are due on the 
next regular payday following the employer’s receipt of payment 
for the goods or services from the customer generating the com-
mission. Furthermore, the employer must provide an employee 
with a periodic accounting of outstanding commissions until all 
commissions are paid or the orders returned or canceled by the 
customer.   
 
LB255 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on April 2, 2007.  
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LB 265—Omnibus Business and Labor Legislation (Business and La-
bor Committee) 
 

LB 265 is an omnibus package of business-and-labor-related legis-
lation. LB 265 includes provisions of LB 31, LB 209, LB 432, 
and LB 543. The legislation makes numerous changes, including 
raising minimum wages and amending the Employment Security 
Law; the Act Prohibiting Unjust Discrimination in Employment 
Because of Age; the Conveyance Safety Act; and the Nebraska 
Amusement Ride Act. 
 
Unemployment Insurance 
 
LB 265 authorizes the Commissioner of Labor to establish a 
schedule of fees for returned check charges and electronic pay-
ments not accepted. 
 
Additionally, the bill redefines “wages” for agricultural labor to in-
clude the cash value of commodities not intended for personal 
consumption by the worker or his or her immediate family. The 
bill also removes a prohibition on increasing the maximum weekly 
unemployment benefit amount when an emergency solvency sur-
charge is imposed. 
 
LB 265 also allows imposition of a continuous levy to aid collec-
tion of unemployment benefits wrongfully obtained. Under cur-
rent law, an individual who willfully failed to disclose amounts 
earned during the week in which unemployment benefits were 
claimed or who willfully failed to disclose or falsified any fact that 
would have disqualified or rendered him or her ineligible for bene-
fits during that week was required to forfeit all or part of his or her 
benefit rights with respect to uncharged wage credits accrued be-
fore the date of such failure or falsification. LB 265 adds a mecha-
nism to help enforce that rule. Pursuant to the bill, the Commis-
sioner of Labor can issue a continuous levy on salary, wages, or 
other regular payments due to or received by any person (e.g., the 
individual or a third-party transferee) liable to repay an overpay-
ment of unemployment benefits who has failed or refused to repay 
such overpayment within 12 months of the date the overpayment 
determination became final. The levy is continuous from the date 
the levy is served until the amount of the levy is paid. The commis-
sioner must mail notice of the levy to the person whose wages, sal-
ary, or other regular payment is levied upon at the person’s last-
known address; the notice must be mailed not later than the date 
the levy is served. Furthermore, exemptions or limitations on the 
amount of wages, salary, or other regular payment that can be 
garnished or levied upon by a judgment creditor will apply to con-
tinuous levies made by the commissioner. Although the levy can 
be appealed, filing an appeal will not in itself stay the levy. 
 
Unemployment Insurance Taxes 
 
LB 265 outright repeals the emergency solvency surcharge (for-
merly authorized by Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 48-649.01).  
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The bill changes the “combined” unemployment insurance tax rate 
for any employer who has not been subject to payment of contri-
butions during each of the two four-calendar-quarter periods end-
ing on September 30 of any year, but who has been subject to the 
payment of contributions in any two four-calendar-quarter peri-
ods, regardless whether such four-calendar-quarter periods are 
consecutive.  
 
Such an employer’s combined tax rate for the following tax year 
will be: (1) the highest combined tax rate for employers with a 
positive experience account balance if the employer’s experience 
account balance exhibits a positive balance as of September 30 of 
the year of rate computation; or (2) the standard rate if the em-
ployer’s experience account exhibits a negative balance as of Sep-
tember 30 of the year of rate computation.   
 
LB 265 provides that the standard rate is the rate assigned to 
Category 20 (2.60) for that year and that the standard rate will not 
be less than 5.4 percent of the employer’s annual payroll. 
 
LB 265 changes four of the 20 unemployment insurance “experi-
ence rating” categories. Category 1 is 0.00 (formerly 0.15); Cate-
gory 15 is 1.20 (formerly 1.15); Category 16 is 1.35 (formerly 1.30; 
and Category 17 is 1.55 (formerly 1.50). 
 
All voluntary contributions (made by an employer for credit to its 
experience account) received on or before January 10 (formerly 
March 10) of any year will be deemed paid January 1 of that calen-
dar year.   
 
An employer—including an individual employer, partner, corpo-
rate officer, or member of a limited liability company—who will-
fully fails or refuses to make any combined tax payment will be 
jointly and severally liable for the payment of such tax and any re-
lated penalties and interest. 
 
Confidentiality of Employment Records 
 
LB 265 establishes a comprehensive regulatory regime governing 
confidentiality of employment records and authorized disclosure 
of such records in certain circumstances. 
 
Age Discrimination in Employment Act 
 
LB 265 changes the name of the Act Prohibiting Unjust Discrimi-
nation in Employment Because of Age. Its new name is the “Age 
Discrimination in Employment Act.” 
 
LB 265 eliminates the upper age limit (formerly 70 years of age), 
so the act applies to anyone 40 years of age or older. 
 
The bill also redefines “employer” so that the act applies only to 
employers having 20 or more employees for each working day in 
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each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the current or preceding cal-
endar year.  
 
Pursuant to LB 265, it is an unlawful employment practice for an 
employment agency to discharge, expel, or otherwise discriminate 
against any person because he or she opposed any unlawful em-
ployment practice specified in the act or has filed a charge or law-
suit, or testified, participated, or assisted in any proceeding under 
the act. 
 
LB 265 gives the Equal Opportunity Commission 60 days (for-
merly 30 days) to initiate action following receipt of a formal writ-
ten complaint by any person aggrieved by a suspected violation of 
the act. The complaint must be filed within 300 days after the oc-
currence of the alleged unlawful employment practice and notice 
of the charge must be served upon the person against whom the 
charge is made within 10 days after the complaint is filed. The re-
spondent must file with the commission a written response to the 
charge within 30 days after notice of the charge has been served 
upon the respondent. Except for good cause shown, failure to so 
respond will result in a mandatory reasonable cause finding 
against the respondent by the commission; and except for good 
cause shown, if the complainant fails to cooperate with the com-
mission, its investigators, or its staff, the commission must dismiss 
the complaint. After a charge is filed, and in connection with any 
investigation of a filed charge, the commission or its authorized 
agents can—at any time—issue or cause to be served interrogato-
ries and will have at all reasonable times access to—for purposes of 
examination—and the right to copy any evidence or records of any 
person being investigated or proceeded against that relate to 
unlawful employment practices covered by the act and that are 
relevant to the charge under investigation. The commission can 
seek preparation of and judicial enforcement of any legal process 
or interrogatories through the Office of the Attorney General. 
 
Increase Minimum Wages 
 
LB 265 increases the minimum wage as follows:  
 
(1) $5.15 per hour (same as current law) through July 23, 2007;  
 
(2)$5.85 per hour from July 24, 2007, through July 23, 2008;  
 
(3) $6.55 per hour from July 24, 2008, through July 23, 2009; 
and  
 
(4) $7.25 per hour beginning July 24, 2009. 
 
LB 265 also changes the “training wage,” which is the hourly wage 
paid to a new employee who is younger than 20 and is not a sea-
sonal or migrant worker. The training wage (formerly $4.25 per 
hour) must be at least 75 percent of the federal minimum wage for 
90 days from the date the new employee was hired. 
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Amend the Conveyance Safety Act and Nebraska 
Amusement Ride Act 
 
LB 265 merges provisions governing elevator safety into the Con-
veyance Safety Act (CSA). Additionally, the bill eliminates the Ele-
vator Inspection Fund and the Nebraska Amusement Ride Fund 
and requires any money in those two funds to be transferred to the 
Mechanical Safety Inspection Fund (MSIF).  All fees collected by 
the Department of Labor under the Nebraska Amusement Ride 
Act (NARA) and the CSA will be credited to the MSIF and will not 
lapse into the state’s General Fund. Fees so collected will be used 
for the sole purpose of administering the CSA and NARA.  
 
LB 265 also makes a number of other changes to the CSA, includ-
ing the following:   
 
(1) The state elevator inspector who is serving on January 1, 2008, 
will continue to serve unless removed by the Commissioner of La-
bor. 
 
(2) The state elevator inspector must have at least five years’ ex-
perience in installing, maintaining, and repairing elevators as de-
termined by the commissioner; must be certified as a qualified 
elevator inspector by an association accredited by the American 
Society of Mechanical Engineers; or must have at least five years’ 
journeyman experience in elevator installation, maintenance, and 
inspection as determined by the commissioner and must be famil-
iar with the inspection process and rules and regulations adopted 
and promulgated under the CSA. Any qualified person who applies 
for the job of elevator inspector or deputy inspector must include 
his or her social security number on the application, but such so-
cial security number will not be a public record.  
 
(3) The inspection fee schedules for conveyances that were 
adopted before January 1, 2008, will continue to be effective until 
amended or repealed by the commissioner. 
 
(4) The commissioner will administer the CSA. 
 
(5) The Legislature’s expressly stated intent is to fund administra-
tion of the CSA for fiscal year 2008-2009 entirely from the cash 
funds (i.e., fees collected in administering the CSA) remitted to the 
MSIF. 
 
(6) The CSA no longer applies to the design of conveyances, but it 
continues to apply to the construction, operation, inspection, test-
ing, maintenance, alteration, and repair of conveyances. 
 
(7) The CSA applies to conveyances in private residences located 
in counties with a population of more than 100,000 inhabitants, 
but it does not apply to conveyances in residences located in coun-
ties with a population of 100,000 or fewer inhabitants. 
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(8) LB 265 prohibits anyone from wiring, altering, replacing, re-
moving or disassembling an existing conveyance contained within 
a building or structure located in a county with a population of 
more than 100,000 inhabitants unless such person is a licensed 
elevator mechanic or is working under the direct supervision of a 
licensed elevator mechanic. 
 
Changes made to the CSA are operative January 1, 2008. 
 
LB 265 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 31, 2007. 

 
LB 339—Change Statute of Limitations for Filing Claims Against the 
State (Business and Labor Committee) 
 

LB 339 changes the statute of limitations for filing claims against 
the State of Nebraska. 
 
Claims relating to expiration of state warrants have no time bar to 
recovery pursuant to LB 339. In addition, the bill does not estab-
lish a time bar to recovery of: (1) requests on behalf of any de-
partment, board, or commission for the state for waiver or cancel-
lation of money or charges when necessary for fiscal or accounting 
procedures; or (2) claims filed under the State Miscellaneous 
Claims Act regarding petroleum release remedial action.   
 
However, except to the extent that the running of the statute of 
limitations is tolled, all other claims allowed under the State Mis-
cellaneous Claims Act are forever barred unless the claim is filed 
with the Risk Manager within two years after the time the claim 
accrued. 
 
LB 339 passed 41-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 24, 
2007. 

 
LB 588—Change the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act (Business 
and Labor Committee) 
 

LB 588 establishes a Diagnostic Related Group (DRG) inpatient 
hospital fee schedule, which applies only to reimbursement for in-
patient hospital services provided by hospitals located in or within 
15 miles of a city of the metropolitan (Omaha) or primary (Lin-
coln) class and by hospitals with more than 50 licensed beds.  
 
LB 588 sets forth the methodology to be used when establishing 
and annually adjusting the DRG inpatient hospital fee schedule; 
provides for alternative schedules for reimbursing hospitals for 
charges that are not subject to the DRG inpatient hospital fee 
schedule; requires hospitals to assign and include a DRG on each 
workers’ compensation claim submitted and allows the workers’ 
compensation insurer, risk management pool, or self-insured em-
ployer to audit the DRG assignment made by the hospital; defines 
key terms; and imposes annual reporting requirements on hospi-
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tals, workers’ compensation insurers, risk management pools, and 
self-insured employers. The Workers’ Compensation Court must 
publish the DRG inpatient hospital fee schedule (and certain other 
fee schedules) and furnish them to the public.  
 

In addition, LB 588 permits a workers’ compensation insurer, risk 
management pool, self-insured employer, and certified managed 
care plan to enter into a written contract—mutually agreed upon 
before the date services are provided—with a provider or provider 
network for medical, surgical, or hospital services and also permits 
such contract to establish fees for services different than the fee 
schedules established under LB 588.  
 

Furthermore, the bill prohibits a provider or supplier of medical, 
surgical, or hospital services from collecting or attempting to col-
lect from any employer, insurer, government, or injured employee 
or dependent or estate of any injured or deceased employee any 
amount in excess of: (1) the fee established by the compensation 
court for any such services; (2) the applicable DRG inpatient hos-
pital fee; or (3) the applicable contracted fee.  
 

LB 588 also provides that the Prompt Payment Act applies to 
payment for medical, surgical, and hospital service for a state em-
ployee under the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act. For other 
claims for payment, LB 588 requires the workers’ compensation 
insurer, risk management pool, or self-insured employer to notify 
the provider within 15 business days after receiving a claim as to 
what information is necessary to process the claim. Failure to pro-
vide such notification gives rise to a presumption that all informa-
tion necessary to pay the claim has been received. Furthermore, 
such payors must pay providers within 30 days after receipt of all 
information necessary to process the claim.  Payment of a claim 
means the receipt of funds by the provider. If the workers’ com-
pensation insurer, risk management pool, or self-insured em-
ployer fails to timely pay a claim, it will have to reimburse the pro-
vider’s billed charges rather than the statutorily scheduled or con-
tracted fee. LB 588 also establishes certain rebuttable presump-
tions that can arise with respect to claims submitted electronically 
and by mail.  
 

Finally, LB 588 includes provisions of LB 77 relating to disability 
compensation. The legislation gives the Workers’ Compensation 
Court discretion to determine whether worker’s compensation 
benefits for loss of use of two or more members (e.g., fingers) or 
parts of more than one member resulting from the same accident 
or illness adequately compensates the employee for such loss and 
whether such loss results in at least a 30 percent loss of earning 
capacity. If the court determines that such workers’ compensation 
benefits are inadequate, it must—upon request of the employee—
determine the employee’s loss of earning capacity and, when doing 
so, the court must use the statutorily prescribed process, which 
means that the employee will not be entitled to the workers’ com-
pensation schedule of benefits set forth in the statutes.  
 
LB 588 passed 43-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 
24, 2007.     
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LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LB 609—Adopt the Nebraska Recruitment Promotion Act (Carlson, 
Adams, Dubas, Flood, Hansen, Harms, Johnson, Karpisek, Nelson, 
Pankonin, and Wallman) 
 

LB 609 would adopt the Nebraska Recruitment Promotion Act, 
the purpose of which would be to encourage population growth in 
rural areas of the state. The act would be administered by the De-
partment of Economic Development. 
 
Nebraska communities that have not had significant population 
growth in the past 10 years would be eligible to apply for grants to 
help pay for marketing materials and programs that promote the 
community (e.g., establishing and maintaining a website). Grants 
would be limited to a maximum of $10,000 per application, and 
the aggregate number of grants would be limited to 10 grants dur-
ing a fiscal year.  
 
Money for the grants would be appropriated from the state Gen-
eral Fund to the Nebraska Recruitment Promotion Fund, which 
would be created by LB 609. 
 
LB 609 advanced to General File. 
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EDUCATION COMMITTEE 
Senator Ron Raikes, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
 LB 641—Change Provisions Relating to Learning Communities 
(Raikes) 
 

The 2007 legislative session might well be deemed the “education 
session,” as several education issues dominated the agenda. One of 
the most important pieces of legislation pushed, pulled, ham-
mered, and finessed through the legislative process was LB 641.  
 
LB 641 is the culmination of two years of intense discussions and 
negotiations surrounding the state of education in the Douglas-
Sarpy county metropolitan area.  
 
First, a bit of history— 
 
Last year the Legislature enacted LB 1024, which first authorized 
the creation of a learning community. The 2006 legislation was a 
reaction to a boundary dispute between the Omaha Public School 
District (OPS) and its neighboring districts. 
 
As envisioned by LB 1024, the learning community was designed 
to bring all public school districts in Douglas and Sarpy counties 
under one administrative umbrella. While each member district 
would continue to operate independently, the districts, via the 
learning community, would share a common property tax levy.  
 
A key component of LB 1024 directed the learning community 
council (the community’s governing board) to submit recommen-
dations for dividing OPS into separate districts.  
 
Following the enactment of LB 1024, lawsuits challenging the bill, 
specifically the plan to divide OPS, were filed in federal and state 
courts. With an injunction in place, both cases were temporarily 
put on hold. 
 
2007 and LB 641—the Learning Community 
 
As enacted, LB 641 maintains the learning community concept 
first articulated in Laws 2006, LB 1024, but repeals the provision 
calling for the break-up of OPS. Instead, school district boundaries 
remain intact, and no school district can expand into the territory 
of another district without an agreement between the districts in-
volved.  
 
Under LB 641, the 11 public school districts within Douglas and 
Sarpy counties belong to the learning community. (While the focus 
of LB 641 is the Omaha metropolitan area, the bill authorizes the 
establishment of learning communities throughout the state at the 
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request of a school board as long as (1) all school districts in the 
county agree to join the learning community and (2) the districts 
are categorized as sparse or very sparse under the state aid for-
mula or have at least 2,000 students.) 
 
The learning community is to be governed by a learning commu-
nity coordinating council, composed of 18 members.  Six council 
members are to be chosen by the learning community’s local 
school board members, while the remaining 12 members are to be 
elected from six districts (2 per district). When electing the 12 dis-
trict members, a voting process known as limited voting will be 
used. Limited voting allows each voter to vote for a single candi-
date even though two positions are to be filled, thus increasing the 
chances of achieving diversity in the council membership. Council 
members will to receive up to $200 per day of work, up to a maxi-
mum of 60 days or $12,000 per year.  
 
Generally, the purpose of the learning community is to develop a 
working cooperative of its member districts, enabling them to 
share financial resources, work together to integrate schools, de-
velop interdistrict programs and schools, and improve opportuni-
ties and achievement for all students within the learning commu-
nity, while paying special attention to poor and minority students.  
 
Specifically, the learning community must: 
 

• Develop integration and diversity plans, which must in-
clude open enrollment procedures and can include focus 
schools and programs and magnet pathways, schools, and 
programs; 

• Administer and market open enrollment programs; 
• Approve focus schools and magnet pathways established 

pursuant to the integration and diversity plan; 
• Approve or disapprove member districts’ poverty plans; 
• Establish and administer elementary learning centers; 
• Levy and distribute the common tax levy; 
• Develop reorganization plans as necessary; 
• Establish a procedure to receive community comments, 

suggestions, and complaints; 
• Provide access for parents, citizens, and member districts 

to mediation centers for purposes of dispute resolution; 
and  

• Collect, report, and analyze data. 
 
Encouraging Diversity and Student Achievement 
 
One of the primary purposes of LB 641 is to develop and imple-
ment an education system that encourages diversity and student 
achievement.   
 
Pursuant to the integration and diversity plan adopted by the 
learning community, the community must provide an open en-
rollment program for students within the community. Preference 
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in open enrollment is to be given to those students who enhance 
the socioeconomic diversity of the schools they wish to attend. 
Plus, free transportation is to be provided to the transferring stu-
dent if the student enhances the diversity of the school, is a pov-
erty student (meaning a student who qualifies for free or reduced-
price milk or lunches), and attends a magnet school more than one 
mile from his or her home.  
 
The community’s integration and diversity plan also allows the es-
tablishment of focus programs, focus schools, magnet pathways, 
magnet programs, and magnet schools. A focus program is a 
uniquely designed program which does not have an attendance 
area; a focus school is a school that does not have an attendance 
area and whose enrollment is designed to reflect the socioeco-
nomic diversity of the learning community; a magnet pathway is a 
location where elementary, middle, and high school magnet 
schools are placed; a magnet program is a program which offers 
coordinated elementary, middle, and high school programs and 
services that are unique and have specific learning goals in addi-
tion to the standard curriculum; and a magnet school is a school 
having a home attendance area but which reserves a portion of its 
capacity for students from outside the attendance area who con-
tribute to the socioeconomic diversity of the student body. 
 
Additionally, the bill requires the establishment of an elementary 
learning center for every 25 elementary schools in which at least 
35 percent of the students who attend the schools are from the re-
spective attendance areas and are poverty students. Elementary 
learning centers are separate from schools and are designed to 
provide a variety of opportunities, programs, and services aimed at 
improving the academic achievement of its students. A sampling 
of services and programs provided by a learning center include 
summer school, tutors, computer labs, English classes, transporta-
tion, distribution of clothing and school supplies, and assistance in 
resolving truancy issues. The learning community coordinating 
council and a center executive director will be in charge of each 
center. 
 
The Commissioner of Education is to appoint a student achieve-
ment coordinator who will be responsible for evaluating and coor-
dinating the services, programs, and other resources available for 
those students living in poverty, who are learning English, or who 
are transient. 
 
LB 641 also requires any school district in the state wishing to 
qualify for the poverty or limited English proficiency (LEP) allow-
ance prescribed in the school finance formula to develop a poverty 
plan or an LEP plan.  While each plan has required elements, gen-
erally, each plan must identify practical and instructional ap-
proaches to meet the needs of the children and families each plan 
is trying to serve.  Educational service units are instructed to de-
velop professional development programs aimed at improving the 
abilities of teachers to teach these children. 
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School Finance and Property Taxes— 
 
Each school district within the learning community can levy a 
property tax of up to $1.05 per $100 of valuation. Of that $1.05: 
 

• Up to 95 cents is the common levy for all learning commu-
nity districts. The minimum common levy is 93 cents; 

• Up to 2 cents can be levied throughout the learning com-
munity for a common special building fund; and 

• The remainder can be levied by each individual district. 
 
Additionally, the learning community is authorized to levy a tax of 
up to 5 cents per $100 for focus schools, schools designed for di-
versity, and elementary learning centers. 
 
Finally, LB 641 makes the necessary changes to the state aid for-
mula to carry out the changes prescribed in the bill, including the 
provision of transition aid to districts within the learning commu-
nity.  
 
LB 641 passed 33-14 and was approved by the Governor on May 
24, 2007. 

 
LB 21—Change Provisions Relating to the School State Aid Formula 
(Raikes) 
 

One of the first bills passed during the 2007 session.  LB 21 re-
moves the number of early childhood education students from the 
cost growth factor used in calculating state aid to schools under 
the Tax Equity and Educational Opportunities Support Act. To ac-
count for the change to the formula, the bill also changes the state 
aid certification deadline from February 1 to February 15 for the 
2007-2008 school year only.   
 
LB 21 reduces state aid to schools by $6.5 million in fiscal year 
2007-2008 and $10.5 million in fiscal year 2008-2009. 
 
LB 21 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved by 
the Governor on January 31, 2007. 

 
LB 73—Change Provisions Relating to Reimbursement for School 
Breakfasts (McGill and Howard) 
 

In 2000, via the enactment of Laws 2000, LB 126, the Legislature 
declared that qualified public schools in Nebraska should be reim-
bursed a portion of their costs for providing breakfasts for stu-
dents. Reimbursement was to be provided in the amount of 5 cents 
per breakfast served by each school. However, shortly thereafter, 
the state was faced with a budget crisis necessitating the passage 
of Laws 2003, LB 796, which provided that state reimbursement 
for the breakfast program would be prorated among schools if the 
Legislature did not appropriate sufficient funds to fully reimburse 
qualified schools.  
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In 2007, better budget times prevailed and LB 73 was introduced.  
As originally introduced, the bill removed the proration language, 
thus paving the way for full funding of the school breakfast pro-
gram. As the bill proceeded through the legislative process, sena-
tors recognized the importance of the breakfast program, but some 
advocated a more cautious funding approach.  
 

As enacted, LB 73 requires reimbursement for school breakfasts in 
the amount of 5 cents per breakfast, but requires the reimburse-
ment be based on the number of breakfasts served by each school 
two years prior to the appropriation year.  
 

LB 73 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 

 
LB 219—Change Provisions Relating to Petitions to Transfer Land Be-
tween School Districts (Dierks and Dubas) 
 

LB 219 clarifies the process by which a landholder can file a peti-
tion asking to have a tract of land set off from an existing Class II 
or III school district and attached to another accredited school dis-
trict which is contiguous to the land. The process is known as free-
holding. 
 

Current law authorizes a landholder to file a freeholding petition 
if: 
 

• The Class II or III school district has had an average daily 
membership in grades nine through twelve of less than 60 
for the two consecutive school years immediately preceding 
filing of the petition; 

• The Class II or III school district has voted to exceed the 
maximum tax levy for the school year in which the petition 
is filed or for the following school year; 

• The high school is within 15 miles on a maintained public 
highway or maintained public road of another high school; 
and  

• Neither school district is a member of a learning commu-
nity. 

 
LB 219 makes no changes to the freeholding process but provides 
deadlines by which the process must be completed. Supporters of 
the measure believe that providing deadlines for the freeholding 
process provides financial stability to impacted school districts. 
 
LB 219 requires a landowner to file a freeholding petition on or be-
fore June 1 of each year (on or before July 15 for the 2007-2008 
school year) with a board consisting of the county assessor, county 
clerk, and county treasurer. The board then holds a hearing on the 
petition on or before November 1 and approves or disapproves the 
petition. If the petition is approved, the transfer officially takes 
place on January 1 following the filing of the petition.  
 
LB 219 passed with the emergency clause 46-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 16, 2007. 
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LB 316—Create the Special Education Task Force (Friend and Raikes) 
 

An in-depth examination of special education services is the goal 
of the Special Education Task Force created by LB 316. 
 

The 15-member task force brings a variety of expertise and experi-
ence to the table and includes: the chairperson and one other 
member of the Legislature’s Education Committee; one legislator 
who is not a member of the Education Committee; a parent of a 
child receiving special education services in a private setting; two 
parents of children receiving special education services in a school 
district; two educational service unit special education teachers; 
one public school special education teacher; one special education 
director from a public school or educational service unit; a private 
school principal or director; one school board member; a special 
education expert from the State Department of Education; a rep-
resentative of the Department of Health and Human Services who 
has expertise in the placement of state wards; and a representative 
of a private provider of special education services.  The chair of the 
Legislature’s Education Committee will chair the task force. 
 

The task force will examine: 
 

• Applicable federal and state laws; 
• The provision of special education services in other states; 
• Application of the least-restrictive environment doctrine; 
• The availability of special education services across the 

state; 
• The use of private providers of special education services 

by public school districts and private citizens; and 
• The provision of special education services for wards of the 

state or wards of the court. 
 

The task force is authorized to hold public hearings as it deems 
necessary and to make any recommendations for policies and po-
tential legislation to the Clerk of the Legislature and the Education 
Committee by December 31, 2007.  
 
LB 316 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 

 
LB 342—Adopt the Community College Foundation and Equalization 
Aid Act and Change Provisions Relating to Certain Postsecondary 
Scholarship Programs (Raikes, Adams, Aguilar, Avery, Burling, Carl-
son, Christensen, Cornett, Dierks, Engel, Flood, Friend, Gay, Hansen, 
Janssen, Johnson, Karpisek, Kopplin, Kruse, Lathrop, McDonald, 
Mines, Pahls, Pankonin, Pedersen, Preister, Rogert, Schimek, Stuth-
man, Synowiecki, Wallman, and Wightman) 
 

“Needs - resources = state aid.” The equation has been used 
for years to describe the state aid formula for Nebraska’s public 
school districts.  With the passage of LB 342, the equation now can 
be used to describe the state aid formula for Nebraska’s commu-
nity colleges. The new formula reflects the Legislature’s desire to 
equalize funding for all community colleges.  
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The Community College Foundation and Equalization Act (College 
Aid Act) statutorily prescribes the state aid formula calculation. 
Generally, the Department of Revenue (department) is to deter-
mine each community college area’s base revenue need and avail-
able formula resources.   
 
To determine an area’s need, the department takes into account 
such factors as the area’s foundation need, reimbursable education 
units, adjustments based on average spending per full-time 
equivalent student, and a revenue remainder allowance. On the 
other side of the equation, an area’s resources include property tax 
revenue, tuition receipts, foundation aid, and reimbursable educa-
tion unit aid. 
 
Additionally, LB 342 requires the department to determine a 
common local effort property tax rate and a property tax levy limit 
for the community college areas.  The maximum levy is 15 percent 
above the formula’s local effort rate, while the minimum levy is 20 
percent below the local effort rate. If an area fails to impose the 
minimum levy, the department can reduce the amount of state aid 
awarded to the area.  
 
LB 342 designates the Coordinating Commission for Postsecond-
ary Education as the data collector under the College Aid Act and 
requires each community college to annually submit the necessary 
data to the commission for purposes of carrying out the act.  
 
In addition to adopting the College Aid Act, LB 342 renames the 
Minority Scholarship Program Act the Student Diversity Scholar-
ship Program Act.  
 
Along with the new name comes the Legislature’s recognition of 
the importance of diversity at all of Nebraska’s public postsecond-
ary institutions and a stated intent to design and implement a stu-
dent diversity scholarship program which achieves greater racial, 
ethnic, and cultural diversity at these institutions. 
 
Finally, LB 342 changes the Nebraska Scholarship Act by provid-
ing that the maximum award amount for the 2007-2008 award 
year is 50 percent (up from 25 percent) of the tuition and manda-
tory fees for a full-time, resident, undergraduate student for the 
last completed award year at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. 
 
LB 342 passed with the emergency clause 41-6 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 
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LB 603—Change Provisions Relating to Educational Service Units 
(Raikes) 
 

This year, the Legislature introduced several bills proposing 
changes ranging from funding to governance of educational ser-
vice units (ESUs). ESUs are composed of local school districts 
within a geographical area and primarily act as service providers 
to their member districts. ESUs provide certain core services, such 
as staff development services, technology services, and instruc-
tional materials to their member districts, as well as provide other 
services upon request.  
 
While each bill had a separate hearing, the committee used LB 603 
as the vehicle and added the provisions of LB 600, LB 601, LB 
602, LB 656, and LB 657 via the Standing Committee amend-
ments to produce legislation proposing several changes to the op-
eration, governance, and funding of ESUs. 
 
LB 603 directs the State Board of Education to align the bounda-
ries of each ESU with the boundaries of its member school dis-
tricts, according to the boundaries existing on July 1 of each year.  
The boundary adjustments must be completed by July 31, and the 
appropriate county and ESU officials must be notified to make the 
necessary changes. 
 
If any ESU boundary changes are sought via the petition process 
outlined in the Educational Service Units Act, the bill authorizes 
the State Board of Education to appoint a hearing officer to con-
duct a public hearing on the petition. The board can issue a sum-
mary of the evidence presented at the hearing and can direct the 
hearing officer to recommend a decision to the board; however, 
the board is not bound by the hearing officer’s recommendation.  
 
Additionally, LB 603 provides that ESU board members are to be 
elected by election district beginning in 2008. The bill mandates 
that by December 31, 2007, and after each decennial census, each 
ESU board must divide its ESU into at least 5 but not more than 12 
election districts for purposes of electing its board members.  The 
election districts are to be compact and contiguous and substan-
tially equal in population. Elected board members will serve stag-
gered, four-year terms. This provision does not apply to those 
ESUs with only one member school district. (For example, Lincoln 
Public Schools operates its own ESU.) 
 
The Educational Service Unit Coordinating Council is created by 
LB 603. The coordinating council, composed of one administrator 
from each ESU, assumes the powers, duties, assets, and liabilities 
of the Distance Education Council. The coordinating council’s pri-
mary goal is to work toward statewide coordination to provide the 
most cost-effective services for students, teachers, and school dis-
tricts in each ESU.  
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The coordinating council is also responsible for coordinating dis-
tance education, and to that end, must appoint a distance educa-
tion director. (The council can also appoint a council director if it 
chooses.)  
 
Beginning in school fiscal year 2008-2009, of the funds appropri-
ated to ESUs for core services and technology infrastructure, one 
percent will be transferred to the Educational Service Unit Coor-
dinating Council and the remainder will be distributed to the ESUs 
based on the new equalized formula articulated in LB 603. (Gen-
erally, the distribution of core services and technology infrastruc-
ture funds for each ESU equals the needs of the ESU minus the 
product of the adjusted valuation for the ESU multiplied by the lo-
cal effort rate.) 
 
For fiscal year 2008-2009 through fiscal year 2013-2014, each 
ESU will receive at least 95 percent of the core services and tech-
nology infrastructure funds received in the prior fiscal year. If the 
current appropriation is less than the prior year’s appropriation, 
the amount distributed to each ESU will be reduced proportion-
ally.    
 
LB 603 authorizes temporary funding for aggregation routing 
equipment and network transport costs for Network Nebraska 
from the School District Reorganization Fund and changes dis-
tance education financial incentives. 
 
Finally, LB 603 provides that any nonequalized school district re-
ceiving early childhood grant funding will continue to receive the 
funding for the 2007-2008 school year. 
 
LB 603 passed with the emergency clause 42-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 

 
LB 653—Require Implementation of a Statewide Assessment and Re-
porting System (Raikes) 
 

Beginning with the 2009-2010 school year, a new and improved 
statewide assessment and reporting system (system) will be in 
place. LB 653 amends the Quality Education Accountability Act 
and directs the State Board of Education (state board) to imple-
ment the new system, the purposes of which are to: 
 

• Determine how well public schools are performing in terms 
of achievement of public school students in relation to state 
academic content standards; 

• Report the performance of public schools based upon the 
results of state assessment instruments and national as-
sessment instruments; 

• Provide information for the public and policymakers on the 
performance of public schools; and 

• Provide for comparison of Nebraska’s public schools with 
each other and with public schools elsewhere. 
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The assessment system in place prior to LB 653 allowed school 
districts to assess students using a variety of different assessment 
tools. The lack of consistency and uniformity made it difficult for 
policymakers to effectively measure the educational performance 
of Nebraska’s schools and students. Supporters of LB 653 believe 
the new system will bring consistency to the assessment process 
and help educators and policymakers work together to ensure that 
Nebraska’s public schools educate its children to the best of their 
abilities and that Nebraska’s children are learning to the best of 
their abilities as well.  
 
The new system envisioned by LB 653 must include all public 
schools and public school students, including students with dis-
abilities, students entering school for the first time, and students 
with limited English proficiency. Student assessment results are to 
be reported in the aggregate, thus providing confidentiality for in-
dividual students. 
 
To implement the system, the state board will select three grade 
levels for statewide assessment and reporting.  Students will be as-
sessed in writing, reading, math, science, social studies, and his-
tory. The new statewide assessments in reading and math will be 
phased in, beginning with reading in school year 2009-2010 and 
followed by math in 2010-2011.  
 
Pursuant to LB 653, the writing assessment will rely on writing 
samples in each of the three grades selected by the state board. 
Each year at least one of the three selected grades will participate 
in the statewide writing assessment; each selected grade level 
must participate at least once every three years. 
 
The other statewide assessments will be based on model assess-
ment instruments developed through collaboration among educa-
tional service units and approved by a majority of unit administra-
tors. 
 
For purposes of national comparison, LB 653 directs the state 
board to recommend national assessment instruments (such as 
the Metropolitan Achievement Test, California Achievement Test, 
or Iowa Test of Basic Skills).  
 
LB 653 requires school districts to develop assessment portfolios. 
(An assessment portfolio is the collection of practices, procedures, 
tests, and other tools used by a school district to comply with the 
assessment and reporting requirements prescribed in the Quality 
Education Accountability Act.) School districts can collaborate 
with educational service units or learning communities or enter 
into interlocal agreements to develop their portfolios. Educational 
service units will annually review the portfolios and must submit 
documentation relating to the portfolios for review by the State 
Department of Education (department) once every three years. 
 
The bill directs the department to identify criteria for rating as-
sessment instruments and portfolios and to establish statewide 

 36 



minimum proficiency levels. To carry out the directives, the de-
partment must (1) contract with independent, recognized experts 
to review and rate locally developed assessment instruments and 
portfolios based on the requisite criteria and proficiency levels, (2) 
annually verify the technical quality of the assessment instruments 
and demonstrate the comparability of the assessment results, and 
(3) annually submit a report of its findings to the Legislature, Gov-
ernor, and State Board of Education. 
 
LB 653 also prescribes requirements for reporting assessment re-
sults. Each school district must report the aggregate assessment 
results, by school building, to the residents of the district, to the 
department, and if the district is a member of a learning commu-
nity, to the learning community coordinating council. In turn, the 
department must compile a report detailing the assessment results 
by building, school district, and learning community. Results from 
both the statewide and national assessments must be reported. 
 
In addition to assessment and reporting requirements, LB 653 re-
quires the state board to develop a plan to review and update 
standards for each subject area every five years, beginning with 
reading, which will have updated standards in place by July 1, 
2009. Math standards will be updated by July 1, 2010; and stan-
dards in all other subject areas will be updated by July 1, 2013. 
 
In an effort to track the progress of students with high needs, edu-
cational service units comprised of school districts in a learning 
community are to develop grade-level  standards and implement 
assessment criteria for students in grades kindergarten through 
three.  The department and the special achievement coordinator 
(appointed pursuant to LB 641, which is discussed beginning on 
page 27) will provide assistance to the educational service units.  
 
Finally, the state board is to implement a student data tracking 
system designed to track student progress by demographic charac-
teristics, such as race, poverty, high mobility, and limited English 
proficiency, on available measures of student achievement, such as 
national, statewide, and local assessment instruments. The system 
must also be able to aggregate student data by educational input 
characteristics, such as class size, teacher education, teacher ex-
perience, special education, early childhood programs, and other 
targeted education programs. School districts must provide the 
department with the requisite data to implement the system. 
Then, the department and special achievement coordinator will 
analyze the data and issue a report on student achievement for the 
state, each school district, and each learning community.  
 
LB 653 passed 30-13 and was approved by the Governor on May 
31, 2007. 
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LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LR 12CA—Constitutional Amendment to Require Board of Educational 
Lands and Funds to Sell Certain School Lands (Fischer) 
 

LR 12CA would have proposed an amendment to Article VII, sec-
tion 6, of the Nebraska Constitution, to require the Board of Edu-
cational Lands and Funds to sell enough of the school lands man-
aged by the board so that one-fourth of the school trust portfolio 
would be invested in real property in Nebraska and three-fourths 
of the portfolio would be invested by the state investment officer. 
 
The provisions of the proposed amendment are currently pre-
scribed in statute. The statute directs the board to have the requi-
site sales accomplished by January 1, 2008. However, according to 
the Introducer’s Statement of Intent, over 56 percent of the school 
trust is held in real property, and the board has “expressed limita-
tions in selling the land for fear that to do so would violate its fidu-
ciary duty to the beneficiaries of the trust. This constitutional 
amendment will clear up any confusion about the direction the 
citizens of Nebraska wish to take with this trust.” 

 
LR 12CA was indefinitely postponed on May 29, 2007. 

 
LB 658—Change Provisions Relating to Class I School Districts 
(Raikes) 
 

Nebraska’s largest school districts were not the only districts gen-
erating heated debate on the floor of the Legislature. Nebraska’s 
smallest school districts were the focus of intense discussions as 
well. 
 
In 2005, the Legislature enacted LB 126, which required all Ne-
braska school districts to be included within districts offering in-
struction in grades kindergarten through 12 (K-12 districts). The 
change in governance: (1) required Nebraska’s Class I districts 
(elementary only) to merge into their high school partners and 
Class VI districts (high school only) to become part of Class II or 
Class III districts; and (2) represented a monumental change in 
the statewide structure of Nebraska’s public school system. 
 
After its passage, supporters of the smaller school districts initi-
ated a petition drive and gathered enough signatures to put a ref-
erendum measure on the 2006 general election ballot, calling for 
the repeal of LB 126. However, while the small school supporters 
garnered enough signatures to place the referendum on the ballot, 
they fell short of the number of signatures needed to halt the law’s 
implementation. Consequently, during the time period between 
the passage of LB 126 and the 2006 general election,  approxi-
mately 215 Class I schools were dissolved, 53 elementary atten-
dance centers were closed, and assets and liabilities were  ab-
sorbed by the assimilating K-12 districts. 
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At the 2006 general election, voters approved the referendum, ef-
fectively repealing LB 126. The issue facing the 2007 Legislature 
was how to honor the vote on the referendum.  
 
LB 658 would have established a reorganization process to be used 
to create new Class I school districts. Generally, the process would 
have been initiated by an individual or group, who would develop 
an organizational plan. The organizational plan would have out-
lined the proposed district, resident students, facilities, staffing 
needs, estimated budget, and a proposed method for dividing as-
sets and liabilities, and included a statement detailing the reasons 
for creating the district.  
 
The plan would have been filed with the affected K-12 district and 
the State Committee for the Reorganization of School Districts 
(state committee). The state committee would have approved or 
denied the plan. If approved, the county commissioner or election 
commissioner would have prepared petitions for circulation within 
the affected K-12 district. If the requisite number of signatures 
were obtained, then the plan would have been placed on the ballot 
at the next statewide primary or general election. Registered vot-
ers of the K-12 districts would have voted on the issue. If approved 
by a majority of those voting, the plan would have become effec-
tive the following July 1. 
 
The bill would have required the newly created Class I district to 
be affiliated with a single K-12 district, which also would have had 
control over the Class I district budget.  
 
Supporters of LB 658 touted the measure as a genuine and sincere 
effort to respond to referendum supporters, while acknowledging 
that “you can’t turn back the clock.” 
 
Opponents believed the procedure was too cumbersome and truly 
did not satisfy the wishes of those who voted to repeal LB 126.  
 
LB 658 passed with the emergency clause 36-12, but the Governor 
vetoed the measure. The motion to override the Governor’s veto 
failed 24-22. 
 
In addition to LB 658, two other measures were introduced in an 
effort to reestablish Nebraska’s Class I and Class VI school dis-
tricts. 
 
LB 30, introduced by Senators Hudkins, Fischer, and Heide-
mann, would have required all Class I and Class VI school districts 
that were reorganized pursuant to LB 126 to be restored on the ef-
fective date of LB 30 according to their boundaries as of November 
30, 2005. 
 
LB 234, introduced by Senators Dierks, Karpisek, and Dubas, 
would have reestablished those school districts that existed on No-
vember 30, 2005 but were later dissolved. The reestablished dis-
tricts would have had the same boundaries, assets, liabilities, 
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board members, legal powers, and budget authority they pos-
sessed on November 30, 2005.  
 
Supporters of both measures believed the bills more accurately re-
flected the will of the voters who voted to repeal LB 126. 
 
Both bills were indefinitely postponed. 
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EXECUTIVE BOARD 
Senator Pat Engel, Chairperson 
  
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS  
 
LR 1CA—Constitutional Amendment to Change Legislative Salaries 
(Preister and Schimek) 
 

LR 1CA proposes an amendment to Article III, section 7, of the 
Nebraska Constitution that, if passed by the voters, would raise a 
legislator’s salary from $12,000 to $22,000 annually, beginning in 
2011. Salaries were last increased by the voters in 1988, from 
$4,800 to $12,000. In addition to their salary, legislators receive a 
per diem expense allowance.  
 
The measure initially failed to advance from General File. Oppo-
nents of LR 1CA argued that 2008 was too soon to propose an-
other legislative pay raise, after voters rejected one in 2006. How-
ever, a compromise was reached and the measure was amended to 
delay its submission to the voters until 2010.  
 
Proponents of the pay raise believe Nebraska’s legislators are un-
derpaid. They contend that being a senator is a full-time job, de-
spite the length of the legislative sessions, and maintain that 
higher pay will attract more candidates and a broader range of 
Nebraskans to serve in the Legislature.  
 
Others contend that modest pay is appropriate for Nebraska’s citi-
zen Legislature and point to the fact that Nebraska voters gener-
ally seem to agree. Since the Unicameral was established in 1934, 
voters have approved pay raises only four times.  
 
LR 1CA passed 42-0 and was presented to the Secretary of State on 
May 30, 2007. The proposed amendment will appear on the pri-
mary election ballot in May 2010.  

 
LB 34—Create the State-Tribal Relations Committee (Schimek) 
 

LB 34 is intended to promote better relations between the State of 
Nebraska and federally recognized Native American Indian tribes 
by establishing the State-Tribal Relations Committee (committee) 
as a special committee of the Legislature. Special committees are 
established for a specific purpose, usually to provide legislative 
oversight of a particular policy area. Standing committees, on the 
other hand, are organized around various public policy areas, such 
as the Agriculture, Education, and Revenue committees.  
 
Pursuant to the bill, the Legislative Council is to appoint seven leg-
islators to the committee for two-year terms and designate a 
chairperson and vice-chairperson. The committee’s tasks include: 
(1) monitoring legislation that affects state-tribal relations; and  
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(2) making policy recommendations and proposing legislation to 
an appropriate standing committee. 
 
Nebraska has four federally recognized tribes, the Omaha, Ponca, 
Santee Sioux, and Winnebago. Of these, only the Poncas do not 
have a reservation in the state. The tribes, like others around the 
country, are recognized by federal law as sovereign nations and are 
self-governing. However, the tribes’ independence is limited be-
cause Indian land is held in trust by the United States, and federal 
law regulates the political and economic rights of tribal govern-
ments.   
 
LB 34 passed 36-6 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 

 

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LR 3CA—Constitutional Amendment to Change from a Unicameral 
Legislature to a Bicameral Legislature (Friend) 

 
The reign of Nebraska’s Unicameral (one-house) Legislature 
would have come to an end under LR 3CA, a proposal to amend 
Articles III, IV, and VII of the Nebraska Constitution. If passed by 
the voters, LR 3CA would have created a bicameral (two-house) 
legislature. Nebraska’s Unicameral was created by the passage of a 
constitutional amendment in 1934. It is the only unicameral state 
legislature in the country. (Nebraska’s is also the nation’s only 
nonpartisan legislature.)  
 

The bicameral legislature proposed by LR 3CA would have con-
sisted of a Senate and a House of Representatives. The Senate 
would have been composed of up to 31 members, and the House 
would have had no more than 62. The state would have been di-
vided into districts from which one Senator and two House mem-
bers would have been elected. (The Unicameral has 49 senators, 
and is limited by the Constitution to 50.)  
 

The amendment would have retained term limits, and legislators 
would have been limited to two consecutive terms.  
 

Proponents of LR 3CA contended a bicameral legislature would 
have provided: (1) a more deliberative legislative process with bet-
ter checks and balances; and (2) better lawmaking and public pol-
icy. Proponents also argued that a two-house system would  
provide more institutional memory than the Unicameral, because 
term-limited legislators in one house would be able to run for a 
seat in the other chamber. 
 

Opponents of the resolution said the state’s system unicameral 
system has worked well and should not be changed, maintaining 
that the Unicameral is open, accountable, inexpensive, and rela-
tively free of corruption. In short, they argued, it has met the 
promise of its original backers.   
 

LR 3CA was indefinitely postponed by the committee.  
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LR 7CA—Constitutional Amendment to Change Legislative Salaries 
Based on Inflation as Determined by the Legislature (Kruse) 
 

LR 7CA would take a different approach in raising legislative sala-
ries. The measure would propose an amendment to Article III, sec-
tion 7, of the Nebraska Constitution that, if passed by the voters, 
would provide cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs) to senators’ 
salaries. Beginning in January 2009, the current legislative salary 
of $12,000 would be adjusted to account for inflation since pay 
was last increased in 1989. The salary would be adjusted again for 
inflation every two years. The Legislature would determine the 
COLA amounts. 
 
LR 7CA is being held in committee. 
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GENERAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE 
Senator Vickie McDonald, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 64—Eliminate a Gaming Fee and Tax Adopted by Initiative 
(Schimek) 
 

LB 64 repeals a tax on which nary a dime was ever collected. The 
bill repeals gaming statutes adopted by voters as Initiative 419 in 
2004. 
 
Initiative 419 was part of a package of ballot initiatives and 
amendments authorizing casino gaming that faced voters in the 
2004 general election, but it was the sole gambling initiative ap-
proved. It set up a tax and fee schedule for casinos, including a 
state tax of 36 percent of the first $15 million of gross gaming 
revenue and 20 percent of the gross gaming revenue exceeding 
$15 million. Initiative 419 divided the revenue between the state’s 
General Fund and the communities authorizing casino gaming. 
Initiative 419 also imposed a $100 annual license fee on each au-
thorized operator. 
 
However, there was nothing to tax since no measure passed au-
thorizing casinos. Additionally, proponents argued Nebraska 
would not want to be tied to this tax and fee structure should the 
state ever authorize casinos. The $100 licensing fee, in particular, 
was cited as being low. As a comparison, it was noted the licensing 
fee in Pennsylvania is $50 million.  
 
Passing LB 64 required more than the usual 25 votes on final pas-
sage because of another initiative passed by voters in 2004. Initia-
tive 418 requires a vote of two-thirds of the Legislature to repeal or 
change laws enacted via initiative. 
 
LB 64 passed 49-0 and was approved by the Governor on Febru-
ary 14, 2007. 

 
LB 441—Change Provisions Relating to Distribution of Shippers’ Li-
cense Fees (McDonald, Dierks, Heidemann, Hudkins, Rogert, Wight-
man, and Mines) 
 

As the fledgling wine industry takes flight in Nebraska, LB 441 is 
intended to put some more wind under its wings by increasing the 
nest egg it has to promote itself, market its product, and research 
more efficient ways to grow grapes. LB 441 does this by diverting 
the tax collected on out-of-state alcoholic liquor shipped directly 
to consumers from the General Fund to the Nebraska Winery and 
Grape Producers Promotional Fund and by imposition of an excise 
tax on grape growers.  
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Out-of-state, direct shippers must purchase an S1 liquor license, 
which costs $500 annually. Currently, there are about 139 S1 li-
censees, generating $69,500.  
 
LB 441 also imposes an excise tax of one cent per pound on grapes 
sold or delivered in Nebraska that are intended for use to make 
wine or juice or for drying. The excise tax is imposed on the 
grower at the point of first purchase of the product and remitted to 
the state Department of Agriculture for deposit into the wine pro-
motional fund. The Fiscal Note estimates this tax could generate 
$28,000 in revenue. Prior to the passage of LB 441, the wine pro-
motional fund was funded solely by a tax on farm wineries, which 
generated about $6,000 annually. The idea to increase the money 
going to the wine board grew from an interim study on the state’s 
wine industry. 
 
The money from the shipping tax and the excise tax is intended to 
be used by the Grape and Winery Board for research, marketing, 
and promotion of Nebraska’s wine industry.  That industry has 
grown from two wineries and about 40 acres of grapes a decade 
ago to 18 wineries and more than 300 acres planted in grapes at 
80 vineyards, according to testimony at the committee hearing.  
 
The diversion of the shipping fee to the wine promotional fund ex-
pires on April 30, 2012. 
 
LB 441 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 
30, 2007. 

 
LB 549—Provide for Microdistilleries (Synowiecki and Heidemann) 
 

LB 549 creates a new category of liquor license, a microdistillery 
license that allows retail businesses to distill and sell their own al-
coholic liquor. The license is patterned after the microbrewery li-
cense, established in 1988, that allows businesses to brew and sell 
their own beer, but not bypass the three-tier distribution system 
that became law after Prohibition.  
 
The bill defines microdistillery as an establishment licensed to dis-
till 10,000 or fewer gallons of liquor annually on its premises. The 
product is taxed at the same rate, $3.75 per gallon, as all other dis-
tilled spirits sold in Nebraska. 
 
The license authorized in LB 549 allows for sale on- and off-
premises and is the only liquor license required unless the micro-
distillery also wishes to sell beer, wine, or alcohol, other than its 
distilled product, which requires the appropriate retail license. Mi-
crodistilleries can also sell their product to licensed wholesalers 
for distribution to other retailers. The annual cost of a license to 
operate a microdistillery is $250. Licensees must monthly report 
to the Liquor Control Commission the total number of gallons of 
liquor distilled in the previous month. 
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Further, the commission can grant microdistilleries special li-
censes allowing them to purchase and import wines or spirits to be 
used as ingredients for the sole purpose of blending with and fla-
voring their products. 
 
LB 549 passed 31-1 and was approved by the Governor on March 
7, 2007. 

 
LB 638—Change and Eliminate Provisions Relating to Bingo, Lotter-
ies, and Raffles (General Affairs Committee) 
 

LB 638 gives investigators from the Department of Revenue law 
enforcement authority to investigate illegal gambling devices they 
encounter during the course of an inspection.  
 
LB 638 allows revenue investigators to report their findings di-
rectly to the county attorney. Previously, investigators had to re-
port the illegal device to the State Patrol for further investigation.  
The investigators already have law enforcement authority to carry 
out the state’s tax laws.   
 
Among the bill’s other provisions, LB 638 increases the procure-
ment threshold for competitive bidding on lottery contracts from 
$15,000 to $25,000, making it consistent with most other state 
agencies. This portion of the bill was originally contained in LB 
637.  
 
The bill also extends the current distribution of the lottery pro-
ceeds until 2009. That provision was set to expire on January 1, 
2008. (The deadline extension was originally introduced in LB 
301, but with an extension to January 1, 2013.) 
 
LB 638 also allows the Department of Revenue to authorize bingo 
more than twice in one week at a single location, making it more 
cost-effective for different organizations that sponsor bingo and 
want to co-locate. Finally, LB 638 deletes obsolete language re-
garding annual licensing of charitable gaming to reflect the com-
pletion of the phased-in change to a biennial licensing scheme that 
was authorized in Laws 2000, LB 1086.  
 
LB 638 passed 39-8 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 
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LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LR 11CA—Constitutional Amendment to Change the Distribution of 
Lottery Proceeds 
(Flood) 

 
LR 11CA would have placed before the voters at the 2008 general 
election a proposal to fund anti-drug law enforcement efforts with 
a share of the lottery proceeds.  
 
Currently, the first $500,000 of lottery profits, after the payment 
of prizes and operating expenses, is given to the Compulsive Gam-
blers Assistance Fund; the remainder is divided thusly: 44½ per-
cent to the Environmental Trust Fund; 44½ percent to be used for 
education as the Legislature directs; 10 percent for the Nebraska 
State Fair; and an additional one percent to the problem gambler’s 
fund. 
 
LR 11CA would have reduced the Environmental Trust Fund’s take 
to 41½ percent and given three percent to a fund to be established 
by the Legislature for the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforce-
ment and Criminal Justice. The commission could use the money 
to provide matching grants to local law enforcement for enforcing 
laws that deal with drug offenses, violent crime, and serious of-
fenders.  The local funding would have replaced federal funding 
used to start drug task forces. The federal funding is not expected 
to continue. 
 
LR 11CA was indefinitely postponed after the committee learned 
another source for the law enforcement grants had been secured. 
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GOVERNMENT, MILITARY AND VETERANS 
AFFAIRS COMMITTEE 
Senator Ray Aguilar, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS  
 
LB 389—Change Provisions Relating to Public Records (Aguilar) 
 

LB 389 changes the law regarding publication of the names of ap-
plicants for public employment.  Nebraska’s public records law al-
lows public entity employers, such as state and local governments, 
to withhold certain job application information, but requires the 
disclosure of applicant information when a candidate becomes a 
finalist for a position. LB 389 redefines “finalist”, thus altering the 
pool of applicants whose names can be publicly disclosed.  
 
Under prior law, a finalist was an applicant who had accepted an 
interview.  Pursuant to LB 389, a finalist is one who: (1) reaches 
the final pool of applicants if the pool consists of four or more per-
sons; (2) is an original applicant when the final pool of applicants 
is less than four; or (3) is an original applicant of four or fewer 
original applicants. 
 
The bill reflects a compromise between the University of Nebraska 
and the news media, resulting from a disagreement between those 
entities over the disclosure of applicants for the position of univer-
sity president.  
 
During debate on the measure, some senators argued for protect-
ing the identity of applicants for public positions, contending that 
it increases the number and quality of applicants because appli-
cants need not fear loss of status or goodwill with their existing 
employers.  
 
Others contended that confidentiality undermines the connection 
the public has with high-profile public entities such as the Univer-
sity of Nebraska, school districts, or law enforcement agencies. 
They also cited the broad application of Nebraska’s public records 
law and argued that secrecy in government is a bad idea.  
 
LB 389 passed with the emergency clause 46-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on April 2, 2007.  

 
LB 497—Adopt the Family Military Leave Act (White) 
 

LB 497 guarantees family military leave to an employee who is a 
spouse or parent of a soldier who has been actively deployed for 
179 days or more by the state or federal government. Under the 
bill, state and local government employees and most private sector 
employees qualify for leave as long as they have been on the same 
job for at least a year.   
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Employers with 50 or more employees are required to provide 30 
days of unpaid leave to qualifying employees during the soldier’s 
deployment. Employers with 15 to 50 employees must provide 15 
days of leave. The bill also requires that an employee who requests 
5 or more days of leave must do so 14 days before the leave begins.       
 
An employer must continue to provide benefits for the employee, 
at the employee’s expense, during the family military leave period 
and allows the employee to negotiate to have the employer pay for 
the benefits. LB 497 also: (1) assures that the employee is able to 
keep any benefits accrued prior to taking leave; and (2) guarantees 
the employee’s right to return to the same position with the same 
benefits.   
 
Proponents of LB 497 contend that military families on the home 
front are bearing a disproportionate burden of the wars in Iraq 
and Afghanistan and hope that family military leave will help 
families rebuild ties with spouses or parents who have been ac-
tively deployed.  

 
LB 497 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on April 4, 2007. 
 

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
Initiative Petitions—LR 8CA and LB 39  
 

There has been an ongoing fight in Nebraska to define the scope of 
the right of initiative, the first power reserved to the people by Ne-
braska’s Constitution. Two measures introduced in 2007 regard-
ing the initiative petition process are part of this controversy.  
 
LR 8CA, introduced by Senator Avery, would propose an 
amendment to Article III, section 2, of the Nebraska Constitution 
that, if passed by the voters, would change the signature require-
ment for initiative petitions. Under the amendment, an initiative 
petition to amend the Constitution would have to be signed by 15 
percent of registered voters, rather than the current 10 percent. 
The amendment would also lower the signature requirement for 
initiative petitions proposing a change to statutory law, from 7 
percent to 4 percent of voters.  
 
If LR 8CA were passed by the voters, about 174,000 signatures 
would be required to place a constitutional amendment on the bal-
lot and 46,000 signatures would be needed to propose a statutory 
change to the voters.    
 
Proponents of LR 8CA want to protect the Nebraska Constitution 
from being frivolously amended. They believe constitutions should 
be relatively immutable documents. More specifically, proponents 
want to protect the Constitution from wealthy, out-of-state inter-
ests who focus on amending the Constitution because they under-
stand that such changes are not easily undone. Proponents are 
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also responding to alleged abuses by petition gatherers during the 
2006 election.   
 
Opponents of the measure argued that the current 10-percent sig-
nature requirement for constitutional initiatives is a sufficiently 
high standard and raising the standard to the level proposed by LR 
8CA would make it too difficult, if not impossible, to place a con-
stitutional amendment before the voters. The result would be a re-
striction of Nebraskans’ rights. Some opponents also claimed the 
initiative process is, in effect, the second house of Nebraska’s uni-
cameral system.  
 
LR 8CA failed to advance from General File.   
 
LB 39, introduced by Senators Schimek, Howard, Mines, and 
Pahls, would prohibit payment of petition circulators based on the 
number of signatures collected. However, circulators could still be 
paid in other ways for their work.  Additioinally, the bill would re-
quire campaign statements to include the amount paid to individ-
ual circulators but not list a circulator’s name or other personal in-
formation.   
 
Proponents maintained the bill’s limitations on the petition proc-
ess were needed to keep the process free of fraud and corruption. 
They were particularly concerned about out-of-state interests who 
spend millions trying to place initiative proposals on the ballot and 
who finance paid circulators.  
 
Opponents of the bill questioned placing further restrictions on 
the initiative process, citing federal free speech guarantees. They 
noted the importance given the initiative by the Constitution and 
the fact that this right should be protected. 
 
LB 39 is on Select File. 

 
LB 198—Change Requirements for Campaign Messages (Schimek) 
 

Responding to complaints about the excessive use of “robocalls” 
during the 2006 election campaign, LB 198 would have restricted 
automatic telephone calling using a computer or automatic calling 
device. LB 198 would have amended the Automatic Dialing-
Announcing Act and the Nebraska Accounting and Disclosure Act.  
 
The bill’s restrictions would have applied to political robocalls, in-
cluding those for candidates and ballot questions, and would have 
applied to federal, state, and local races.  
 
LB 198 would have: (1) limited robocalls to two per residence per 
day; (2) restricted the calls to between 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.; (3) re-
quired that the call identify the person on whose behalf the call is 
being made; and (4) required the disclosure of whether a candi-
date authorized the message, and if so, the candidate’s name.  
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Proponents of the bill contended that excessive robocalling vio-
lated campaign decorum. Opponents said the bill’s restrictions 
violated federal free speech guarantees, particularly because the 
bill regulated political calls only.  
 
LB 198 passed 31-7; however, the bill was vetoed by the Governor 
on May 21, 2007. Proponents of the bill did not attempt to over-
ride the Governor’s veto.  
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HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
COMMITTEE 
Senator Joel Johnson, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 236—Provide for and Change Regulation of Perfusionists, Optome-
trists, Pharmacy Technicians, and In-Home Personal Services Provid-
ers (Johnson, Hansen, and Pirsch) 
 

Allowing the elderly and disabled affordable options to live inde-
pendently in their own homes is the intent of LB 236, which sets 
standards for in-home personal services.  
 
The bill exempts agencies that provide in-home personal services 
from the regulatory requirements of an agency or service that falls 
under the definition of a home health agency. This allows personal 
services agencies, as defined in the bill, to provide services that do 
not involve medical or nursing judgment at a lower cost than if 
they were providing skilled nursing or medication assistance.  
 
The bill defines in-home personal services to mean attendant ser-
vices, companion services, and homemaker services, not requiring 
medical or nursing judgment, that are provided to individuals in 
their homes. In-home personal services workers can give medica-
tion reminders, but they cannot administer the medication them-
selves. They can also help with the administration of nonmedical 
topical applications.  
 
LB 236 provides that persons wishing to be in-home personal ser-
vices workers must be 18 years old, “have good moral character,” 
with no criminal convictions that involve imprisonment for more 
than one year for crimes that are rationally related to the person’s 
fitness or capacity to act as an in-home personal services worker. 
Additionally, such workers must pass appropriate background 
checks, including the Adult Protective Services Central Registry, 
the central registry for child protection cases, the Medication Aide 
Registry, the Nurse Aide Registry, and the State Patrol’s sex of-
fender registry. They also must be able to speak English or the 
language of the person for whom they are providing services and 
have training sufficient to provide the services for which they have 
been hired. 
 
LB 236 also includes the recodification of the statutes pertaining 
to optometrists that were originally contained in LB 398. Accord-
ing to the Introducer’s Statement of Intent, the practice of op-
tometry has changed greatly over the past two decades as optome-
trists sought and gained a wider scope of practice in Nebraska. The 
resultant helter-skelter of statutes, however, has hindered a clear 
understanding of the requirements and duties of their profession. 
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LB 236 is intended to correct this. The bill makes few substantive 
changes and does not change their legal scope of practice.  
 
LB 236 also adopts the Pharmacy Technician Act, provisions 
originally introduced as LB 426. Among these provisions, LB 236 
establishes a registry of all practicing pharmacy technicians in Ne-
braska to be managed by the Department of Health and Human 
Services. It requires pharmacy technicians to register within 30 
days after being hired by a pharmacy or after the bill becomes op-
erative for pharmacy technicians employed at that time and pro-
vides they must renew their registrations biennially. The bill de-
fines pharmacy technician and outlines what they are allowed to 
do but does not change their scope of duties. The bill includes a 
provision that allows pharmacy technicians to report other techni-
cians or health care professionals for practicing while impaired or 
diverting medications. 
 
Finally, LB 236 requires persons practicing perfusion to be li-
censed under the Uniform Licensing Law. A perfusionist is a 
medical professional trained in the science of diverting patients’ 
blood through a cardiopulmonary bypass machine or similar de-
vice that assumes the functions of the patient’s organs. The bill 
sets out licensing and continuing education requirements for per-
fusionists. These provisions were originally introduced in LB 399. 
 
LB 236 creates a Perfusionist Committee to review and make rec-
ommendations to the Board of Medicine and Surgery on all mat-
ters pertaining to perfusion that come before the board.  
 
LB 236 passed 44-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 15, 
2007. 

 
LB 292—Authorize Transfers of Funds for Medical Assistance Pay-
ments and Change a Tax Rate for Intermediate Care Facilities (Han-
sen, Harms, and Johnson) 
 

LB 292 makes a small but significant change in the laws governing 
Medicaid payments. It allows county boards to transfer county 
public assistance funds to the Department of Health and Human 
Services to pay providers who serve Medicaid recipients or low-
income uninsured persons in order to meet federal and state dis-
proportionate share payment requirements. 
 
This change allows the state to gain the Medicaid match to pay 
disproportionate share payments to hospitals. Disproportionate 
share hospitals are those that serve a large number of poor people. 
Qualifying hospitals receive an additional reimbursement under 
Medicaid. 
 
The state could receive $3 million from the transfer if all counties 
participate, netting the state about $4.1 million from the federal 
government, according to the bill’s Fiscal Note. 
 

 54 



The bill also reduces a tax paid by intermediate care facilities for 
the mentally retarded from 6 percent to 5.5 percent to comply with 
changes in federal law. Under federal Medicaid law, states are al-
lowed to assess taxes on medical providers and use the money to 
leverage federal Medicaid payments. The taxes must be assessed 
equally to all providers in a class. Congress recently passed the Tax 
Relief and Health Care Act of 2006, which changes the maximum 
provider rate to 5.5 percent beginning January 1, 2008. The new 
state rate will also take effect on that date. 
 
LB 292 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 

 
LB 296—Reorganize the Health and Human Services System (John-
son, Burling, Erdman, Fischer, Flood, Friend, Gay, Hansen, Hudkins, 
Janssen, Kruse, Louden, Nantkes, Pankonin, Pedersen, Stuthman, 
Howard, and Pirsch, at the request of the Governor) 
 

From five to three to one could be a cryptic history of Nebraska’s 
Health and Human Services System over the past decade.  
 
In 1996, legislators approved a plan developed by the Governor to 
merge four separate state agencies and part of a fifth into the be-
hemoth Health and Human Services System. The new system was 
composed of three separate but interrelated agencies, with names 
that somewhat hid the functions each performed and perhaps 
added to the public’s dissatisfaction with the services the system 
provided.  
 
This session, LB 296 transforms the Health and Human Services 
System into one department with six divisions, each correspond-
ing to a specific service. The divisions in the new Department of 
Health and Human Services are the Division of Behavioral Health; 
the Division of Children and Family Services; the Division of De-
velopmental Disabilities; the Division of Medicaid and Long-Term 
Care; the Division of Public Health; and the Division of Veterans’ 
Homes. 
 
The bill is an attempt to bring “clarity, transparency and compre-
hension to an agency that makes up one-third of state govern-
ment,” according to the introducer of LB 296. As such, it affects 
some 6,000 state employees, with a budget of about $2.5 billion in 
state, federal, and cash funds. The reorganization is budget neu-
tral. All employees, funding, contracts, and property of the De-
partments of Health and Human Services, Regulation and Licen-
sure, and Finance and Support transfer to the new agency on July 
1, 2007, which is the operative date of the bill with the emergency 
clause.  
 
Proponents say the changes make the system more accountable to 
the numerous and disparate individuals it serves. Critics say the 
changes affect the structure, but do nothing to change a culture 
that is unresponsive to those it serves. Debate on the floor indi-
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cated that many senators believe LB 296 represents another step 
in the process of reorganization pertaining to structure and not the 
“done deal” in terms of responsiveness.  The reorganization is also 
the subject of an interim study, LR 208, intended to provide addi-
tional recommendations and address critics’ concerns. 
 
LB 296 eliminates the Policy Cabinet and the policy secretary and 
replaces them with a single chief executive officer, who is ap-
pointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Legislature. The 
Governor also appoints, and the Legislature confirms, directors for 
each of the six divisions. LB 296 also increases the number of dis-
cretionary employees who are not subject to the state personnel 
system to 25 from 24 and adds the service area administrators and 
the Chief Medical Officer to the list of specifically exempted, or 
discretionary, employees.  
 
Finally, the bill changes the name of the veterans’ Board of Inquiry 
and Review to the Veterans’ Home Board and vests it with addi-
tional duties pertaining to approving persons for admission to the 
state’s veterans’ homes.  
 
LB 296 passed with the emergency clause 47-1 and was approved 
by the Governor on March 15, 2007. 

 
LB 351—Change and Provide for Transitional Public Assistance Pay-
ments (Stuthman and Erdman) 
 

The new federal focus on work participation rates for welfare re-
cipients was the impetus behind LB 351, which attempts to avert 
$2.9 million in potential penalties for failing to comply with the 
federal changes to the Temporary Assistance to Needy Families 
(TANF) program. 
 
To address these changes, LB 351 makes three significant changes: 
 

• It enacts the federal 60-month lifetime limit for receiving 
TANF. Prior Nebraska law allowed TANF recipients to get 
cash aid for a total of 24 months during a continuous 48-
month period. Recipients could reapply for benefits after 
each 48-month time period with no lifetime limit. The 
change means a family qualifies for aid for a longer, con-
tinuous period of time; but, once that time – 60 months – 
is over, assistance is no longer available except for certain 
enumerated hardship cases. 
 

• It provides for monthly ongoing transitional payments for 
five months after a family becomes ineligible for Aid to De-
pendent Children (ADC) payments if the family income is 
at or below 185 percent of the federal poverty level. The 
payment is intended to meet the family’s basic needs and 
can be used for food, clothing, shelter, utilities, household 
goods, and personal care items. This change allows these 
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recipients to count toward the state’s work participation 
rate as they transition off welfare. 
 

• It adopts the federal part-time work provision for families 
who have children under age 6. Previously, Nebraska re-
quired most single parents to participate in 30 hours of 
work activity weekly, regardless of the age of their children, 
which was a difficult requirement for the parents of young 
children. Adopting the federal requirement of 20 hours per 
week work activity for an adult member of a single-parent 
family whose youngest child is under 6 makes it easier for 
those participants who qualify to meet their required work 
activity. This in turn helps the state in meeting its federally 
required work participation rate.  

 
LB 351 also allows families whose ADC eligibility has expired to 
receive 12 months of transitional medical assistance if federal 
money is available through Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 
 
LB 351 originally would have eliminated postsecondary education 
as an approved work activity because the federal government does 
not count it as such for purposes of calculating the state’s work 
participation rate. However, testimony at the committee hearing 
from welfare recipients who were also nursing students spoke to 
the long-term benefits of higher education in helping the families 
of poor women achieve real self-sufficiency; therefore, postsec-
ondary education remained an approved work activity. 
 
LB 351 also eliminates the “family cap” provision from Nebraska’s 
Aid to Dependent Children program, a proposal originally intro-
duced in LB 82. The family cap excludes children born while a 
family is receiving welfare and was intended to discourage poor 
women from having more children while on the state dole. How-
ever, proponents contend no one is having a child for the extra $71 
a family would receive each month and that it merely punishes the 
very poor and may encourage abortion.   
 
LB 351 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007. 

 

LB 463—Adopt the Uniform Credentialing Act (Johnson) 
 

Some 39 health professions and occupations – as diverse a crowd 
as tattoo artists and physicians to acupuncturists and osteopaths – 
all under the purview of the Department of Health and Human 
Services Division of Public Health are affected by the recodifica-
tion (and renaming) of the Uniform Licensing Law adopted via LB 
463.  
 
Although massive – the bill runs to 1,056 pages – it is largely tech-
nical, providing clarification and unification of existing statutes, 
which the introducer compared to a house that has been repeat-
edly renovated over the years and now needs to be rebuilt to 
achieve a better floor plan. 
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With the enactment of LB 463, what was known as the Uniform 
Licensing Law is now the Uniform Credentialing Act.  The purpose 
of the newly enacted Uniform Credentialing Act is to protect the 
public health, safety, and welfare through (1) credentialing per-
sons and businesses that provide health and health-related ser-
vices; (2) developing, establishing, and enforcing standards for 
these services; and (3) providing for the efficient, adequate, and 
safe practice of health-care providers. 
 
LB 463 updates and clarifies requirements necessary to obtain, re-
new, or reinstate a credential or voluntarily surrender a credential, 
but it does not change the scope of practice for any regulated pro-
fession, occupation, or entity. The bill makes several changes per-
taining to disciplinary actions, including defining acts and behav-
iors that constitute grounds for action against a credential, the 
process for filing a complaint, and defining the types of discipli-
nary action that can be imposed when a violation is found. 
 
As originally introduced, LB 463 would have made revocation of a 
credential permanent. As enacted, LB 463 reinstates the opportu-
nity for persons whose credentials have been revoked to apply two 
years after the date of revocation for reinstatement.   
 
Professional members of the various health-related boards who 
were appointed under the Uniform Licensing Law remain subject 
to the requirements of the original appointment until reappointed 
under the Uniform Credentialing Act.   
 
LB 463 becomes operative on December 1, 2008. 
 
LB 463 passed 47-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 15, 
2007. 

 
LB 610—Provide Documentation and Recordkeeping Requirements 
for the Department of Health and Human Services Regarding Sex Of-
fenders (Performance Audit Committee) 
 

A legislative audit led to the changes contained in LB 610, which 
requires the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to 
develop written policies or administrative regulations regarding 
the transfer and discharge of sex offenders from its programs.  
 
The audit found that the transfer and discharge procedures for sex 
offenders committed to treatment at the Lincoln Regional Center 
by mental health boards lacked adequate safeguards and could 
pose a threat to public safety. 
 
Following the recommendations contained in the subsequent re-
port issued by the Legislative Audit Committee, LB 610 requires 
HHS personnel who work with sex offenders to develop, maintain, 
and adhere to written policies or administrative rules and regula-
tions governing the transfer and discharge of sex offenders treated 
in an HHS program. Minimally, the policies or rules and regula-
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tions must contain: (1) specific requirements sex offenders must 
meet in order to be transferred from one treatment unit to another 
or discharged; and (2) a list of HHS personnel who are required to 
review and document their opinions regarding treatment progress 
prior to transfer or discharge. 
 
Additionally, HHS must maintain, along with each sex offender’s 
permanent medical records, complete treatment records, includ-
ing documentation for transfer and discharge.  Complete treat-
ment records include detailed documentation of whether sex of-
fenders have met requirements for transfer or discharge and 
signed comments from all personnel who must review the pa-
tient’s treatment progress prior to transfer or discharge. 
 
LB 610 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 16, 
2007. 

 
LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LB 395—Adopt a New Nebraska Clean Indoor Air Act (Johnson, Agui-
lar, Hansen, Kruse, Pankonin, Preister, Schimek, Stuthman, and 
Howard)  
 

Smoke ‘em if you got ‘em. LB 395, a bill that would have banned 
smoking in all public buildings and places of employment 
throughout Nebraska, was snuffed out by its supporters who were 
unhappy with the compromises necessary to move the bill for-
ward. 
 
As amended, LB 395 would have prohibited smoking in indoor 
public places and places of employment, with three exceptions. 
Those exceptions would have been: (1) hotel rooms designated as 
smoking; (2) indoor areas used in connection with research on the 
health effects of smoking; and (3) tobacco retail outlets.  Origi-
nally, the bill also would have prohibited smoking in private resi-
dences used for child care, for adult day care, or as a health care 
facility. 
 
Significantly, because making the law uniform across Nebraska 
was an original intent of the bill, the adopted floor amendments to 
LB 395 would have allowed cities, counties, villages, and unincor-
porated areas to reject or modify the smoking ban with a vote of 
the local governing body or by voter petition to place the issue be-
fore voters.  Or, the local governing body could adopt a smoking 
measure by ordinance or resolution, but it would be subject to re-
peal by the voters.  However, any ordinance or resolution could 
not have been less restrictive than the Clean Indoor Air Act cur-
rently in statute, which prohibits smoking in governmental build-
ings.  
 
LB 395 would have grandfathered in Omaha’s new smoking ban, 
which covers restaurants and bars that serve food but do not have  
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keno. Under its ordinance, Omaha bars must become non-
smoking by 2011. LB 395 would have required the non-smoking 
date to be moved up to January 1, 2009. 
 
Lincoln, which currently boasts the state’s most restrictive smok-
ing ban, would have had its ban nullified by LB 395 unless the city 
re-adopted its ordinance under the imprimatur of LB 395 by June 
1, 2008. The introduced version of LB 395 was modeled after the 
Lincoln ordinance.  
 
Violation of the smoking ban would have been a Class V misde-
meanor for the first offense and a Class IV misdemeanor for a sec-
ond or subsequent offense. Persons charged with violating the 
Clean Indoor Air Act would have had the option to take a smoking 
cessation class approved by the Department of Health and Human 
Services at the violators’ expense, with the charge being dismissed 
upon successful completion of the course.  
 
Proprietors who failed, neglected, or refused to comply with the 
act likewise would have been guilty of a Class V misdemeanor 
upon conviction of a first offense and a Class IV misdemeanor for 
subsequent offenses. Each day a violation continued to exist would 
have constituted a separate and distinct offense. 
 
LB 395 is on Final Reading after the introducer asked that the bill 
be passed over.  

 
LB 461—Provide for Policies and Procedures Relating to Foster Care 
Parents (Dubas, Erdman, and Nantkes) 
 

High caseloads and turnover among state social workers is fractur-
ing the state’s foster care system and disaffecting persons wanting 
to be foster parents, according to the introducer of LB 461, which 
originally proposed providing foster parents with a “bill of rights.” 
 

After fears that giving foster parents specific rights in statute 
would encourage lawsuits against the state, LB 461 was amended 
to state legislative intent that foster parents be treated fairly. LB 
461 would require the Department of Health and Human Services 
to develop policies and procedures consistent with the bill and to 
provide a copy to each foster care licensee. 
 

LB 461 would state legislative intent that the department treat fos-
ter parents with “dignity, respect, trust, value, and due considera-
tion as the primary provider of foster care and as a member of the 
team of professionals caring for foster children.” Further, the de-
partment should regularly seek input from the foster parents, pro-
vide them with necessary training, encourage communication be-
tween the foster family and persons providing care to the foster 
child and, when appropriate, encourage communication with the 
child’s birth parents, other foster parents, or adoptive parents.  
 

Further, LB 461 would state intent that foster parents be given 
timely and appropriate information regarding a foster child’s be-
havior, family background, and health history prior to placement 
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and permit foster parents to accept or refuse a foster care place-
ment or request a foster child be removed from their home for 
good cause and without threat of reprisal. 
 

The foster care system is the topic of LR 157, the committee’s top 
priority interim study. 
 
LB 461 is on Select File. 

 

 61



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

This Page Intentionally Left Blank 

62 



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE 
Senator Brad Ashford, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 97—Change Provisions Relating to the Concealed Handgun Permit 
(Flood) 
 

You can’t pack hidden heat on campus anymore under the dictates 
of LB 97, which adds colleges, universities, and hospitals to the list 
of places where individuals are statutorily barred from carrying 
concealed firearms. 
 
The bill grew from an Attorney General’s opinion which found that 
the term “school” as used in the statutes pertaining to concealed 
handguns did not include colleges and universities. Unless specifi-
cally exempted in statute from the concealed carry law, facilities 
must post individual signs banning concealed weapons on their 
premises. Hospitals were also added to the list because the previ-
ous statutory language exempted emergency rooms and trauma 
centers but not the building in which they were housed. 
 
The provisions of LB 97 pertaining to colleges and universities 
were originally introduced in LB 491, but were amended into LB 
97 on Select File. As originally conceived, LB 97 would have re-
pealed terminated statutes having to do with the settlement es-
crow process. Adopting the amendment required an affirmative 
vote to suspend the germaneness rule.  
 
LB 97 passed 42-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007. 

 
LB 142—Create the Offense of Enticement by Electronic Communica-
tion Device (Friend, Avery, Erdman, and McDonald) 
 

Addressing concerns that the myriad ways we communicate elec-
tronically have provided a new gateway for pedophiles, LB 142 
makes so-called cyberstalking a crime in Nebraska. 
 
The bill creates the new offense of enticement by electronic com-
munication device. A person commits this crime if he or she is 19 
or older and knowingly and intentionally uses an electronic com-
munication device to contact a child under 16, and in so doing: 
 

• Uses or transmits any indecent, lewd, lascivious, or ob-
scene language, writing, or sound; 

• Transmits or otherwise disseminates any visual depiction 
of sexually explicit conduct as defined by state statute; or 

• Offers or solicits any indecent, lewd, or lascivious act. 
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Enticement by electronic communication device is a Class IV fel-
ony. Electronic communication device is defined as any device 
which, in its ordinary and intended use, transmits by electronic 
means writings, sounds, visual images, or data of any nature to 
another electronic communication device. That would include 
computers, personal digital assistants, and cell phones. 
 
LB 142 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007.  
 

LB 218—Change Provisions Relating to the Acquisition of Certain 
Drug Products (Burling, Hansen, Schimek, and Wightman) 
 

LB 218 increases the amount of certain medicinal products that 
consumers can buy in a 24-hour period.  Pseudoephedrine and 
phenylpropanolamine are two legal substances used in the manu-
facture of many common over-the-counter cold and allergy medi-
cations that, unfortunately, are also used in the illicit manufacture 
of methamphetamine. 
 
In 2005, the Legislature acted to address methamphetamine 
abuse, particularly homegrown and dangerous labs used to make 
meth, by putting restrictions on how much pseudoephedrine and 
phenylpropanolamine-containing products individuals could buy 
in a given time period and by requiring stores to keep products 
containing these ingredients behind the counter or under lock and 
key.  LB 218 does not affect where the products must be kept. 
 
However, the bill does increase the amount a person can buy in a 
24-hour period from 1.44 grams to 3.6 grams and enacts a 
monthly purchase limit of 9 grams. These changes mirror federal 
law, adopted in the Combat Methamphetamine Epidemic Act of 
2005. 
 
LB 218 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 16, 
2007. 

 
LB 373 – Provide for Inadmissibility into Evidence of Apologies Re-
garding Medical Care (Schimek, Adams, Johnson, Nelson, Pedersen, 
and Wightman) 
 

“I’m sorry,” is the medicinal balm applied by LB 373, a bill to allow 
doctors to apologize when medical treatment goes badly without 
fear that the statement can be used against them in a court of law. 
   
The measure is intended to enhance communication between pa-
tient and provider and, it is hoped, stave off medical liability law-
suits. The bill’s supporters say that doctors and nurses are dis-
couraged from talking to patients and their families when some-
thing goes wrong for fear the statements can be used against them 
in future litigation. However, silence is often seen as a lack of 
sympathy and may actually encourage lawsuits. 
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LB 373 bars admitting as evidence of  liability any utterance ex-
pressing apology, sympathy, commiseration, condolence, compas-
sion, or a general sense of benevolence made by a health care pro-
vider or an employee of a health care provider to patients and their 
families as a result of the unanticipated outcome of medical care. 
Statements of fault, however, can still be used as an admission of 
liability in a civil action or arbitration proceeding related to a civil 
action. 
 
LB 373 passed 46-2 and was approved by the Governor on May 21, 
2007. 

 
LB 540—Adopt the Probation and Parole Services Act (Synowiecki, 
Cornett, Howard, Kopplin, Kruse, Mines, Pahls, Pedersen, Preister, 
Rogert, and Stuthman) 
 

Merging the offices of probation and parole has been touted for 
some time as a means to streamline criminal offender services in 
Nebraska. LB 540 examines whether a merger would accomplish 
its intended goal by authorizing an in-depth study of Nebraska’s 
probation and parole service delivery systems.  
 
Passage of the Community Corrections Act, Laws 2003, LB 46, 
took a big step toward this goal by providing for the establishment 
of community-based programs, services, and facilities for both 
probationers and parolees. Another step was taken in 2006 when 
voters approved a measure removing a constitutional obstacle to 
merger: the state’s strict separation of powers clause. Parole func-
tions are administered by the executive-branch Department of 
Correctional Services while probation is administered by the judi-
cial branch. Passed by the Legislature and approved by the voters 
in 2006, LR 274CA allows individuals sentenced to probation, re-
leased on parole, or enrolled in specialized services within a court 
(for example, a drug court) to be supervised by either the judicial 
or executive departments as provided by the Legislature. 
 
LB 540 authorizes the Community Corrections Council, which was 
created via Laws 2003, LB 46, to contract with an organization 
with expertise in the field of corrections policy and administration 
to conduct a study of Nebraska’s probation and parole service de-
livery system.  The study must: 
 

• Identify areas of overlap in offender services and assess the 
potential for coordination; 

• Assess the best method to deliver a seamless continuum of 
offender services under the current dual system and ana-
lyze whether a single system would benefit the state and of-
fenders; 

• Conduct a comparative analysis of other states’ probation 
and parole administrative systems; and 

• Assess the needs of juveniles in the criminal justice system. 
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The bill appropriates $25,000 for the study, which must be com-
pleted by December 31, 2007. Copies of the study are to be given 
to the Governor, the Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme Court, 
and the Speaker of the Legislature.  
 
LB 540 passed with the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 

 
LB 554—Adopt a New Parenting Act (Flood, Ashford, Pedersen, and 
Schimek) 
 

Divorcing parents are required to put the best interests of their 
child first and develop a parenting plan per LB 554.  The bill, 
called the most substantive rewrite of the state’s Parenting Act in 
20 years, grew out of the introducer’s experience handling di-
vorces and witnessing the devastating effect divorce can have on 
children. 
 
To pay for the new program, LB 554 raises docket fees for divorces 
and for modifying decrees of dissolution or annulment, child sup-
port or child custody, parenting time, or visitation. The fees will be 
deposited into the Parenting Act Fund, created by the bill. The fee 
increases are effective January 1, 2008, and the mandatory media-
tion required by the bill is effective July 1, 2010. 
 
The bill requires courts to order and approve a parenting plan in 
any divorce proceeding in which custody issues and parenting 
functions for a child are at issue. The plan can be developed by the 
parties or their counsel, a court conciliation program, an approved 
mediation center, or a private mediator. If the court finds that the 
parent-directed plan fails to meet the statutory requirements or is 
not in the best interests of the child, it can modify the plan, reject 
the plan and order the parents to create a new one, or create its 
own plan following the dictates of the Parenting Act and the best 
interests of the child. 
 
Parenting plans must be specific as to the details of each parent’s 
responsibilities. Plans must address how the family will function 
after a divorce and must include determinations of legal and 
physical custody of each child; apportionment of parenting time, 
visitation, or other access for each child, including holidays; where 
each child will live during the week, weekend, and given days dur-
ing the year; a transition plan; procedures for making decisions 
regarding the day-to-day care and control of each child; provisions 
for how future changes to the plan can be accomplished; and pro-
visions for safety when there is evidence of abuse or neglect in the 
household. 
 
Further, individuals subject to the Parenting Act must take a 
court-ordered basic level parenting education course, and when 
appropriate, children can be referred to attend a child of divorce 
education course. In cases where child abuse, intimate partner 
abuse, or unresolved parental conflict has occurred, the court can 
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order the parents to attend a second-level parenting education 
course that addresses such issues. 
 
The bill requires individuals who fail to produce a parenting plan 
by the court-ordered date to participate in an initial individual 
screening session with a mediator and an initial mediation ses-
sion. However, as amended, mediation does not become manda-
tory until after July 1, 2010. The bill sets out qualifications for me-
diators under the Parenting Act, including that the mediator have 
basic mediation training, be approved by the Office of Dispute 
Resolution, and have knowledge of the court system and basic 
family law. Mediators for parents involved in high conflict or abu-
sive relationships must meet additional requirements. 
 
LB 554 also codifies the court-recognized distinction between joint 
legal custody and joint physical custody. Additionally, LB 554 
makes men liable for the reasonable and necessary medical ex-
penses associated with the pregnancy and birth of children they fa-
ther. When these expenses are paid by Medicaid, the county attor-
ney or other authorized attorney can sue to recover the amount 
from the father. 
 
Finally, LB 554 contains provisions originally found in LB 682 to 
modify court-ordered child support obligations for inmates who 
are incarcerated for more than a year. The bill makes incarceration 
an involuntary reduction of income and thus eligible for a request 
to modify the obligation.  Courts have held that incarceration is a 
voluntary reduction of income.  Individuals incarcerated for fail-
ing to pay child support or who have a prior history of failing to 
pay child support are ineligible to apply for a modification. The in-
tent of this measure is to increase the likelihood that child support 
obligations will be paid by relieving inmates from facing a large 
child support obligation upon release.   
 
LB 554 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007. 

 
LB 564—Change Provisions Relating to Tort Claims with Respect to 
Recreational Liability (Friend, Adams, Fulton, Gay, Pankonin, Mines, 
Dubas, Erdman, Louden, Pirsch, Lathrop, and Fischer) 
 

LB 564 makes a lot of skate boarders happy. The bill places some 
limits on the liability of political subdivisions that allow free rec-
reational activities on public land after a court ruling abruptly 
stripped away this protection. 
 
In 2006 the Nebraska Supreme Court, in Bronsen v. Dawes 
County, 272 Neb. 320, 722 N.W.2d 17, reversed 25 years of prece-
dent when it declared the state’s Recreational Liability Act did not 
extend to governmental entities. The act grants limited liability to 
private landowners who make their land available free of charge to 
the public for recreational purposes. 
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The Introducer’s Statement of Intent noted that the state and its 
political subdivisions, believing themselves covered by the act, 
opened thousands of acres of public land for hunting, fishing, 
swimming, hiking, biking, and numerous other leisure-time activi-
ties that, as a result of the court ruling, exposed them to significant 
legal and financial vulnerability. News stories at the time told of 
some public venues, such as skate parks, closing for fear of law-
suits should someone be injured while participating in activities 
on public land. 
 
LB 564 does not restore governmental entities to protection via 
the state’s Recreational Liability Act. Instead, it amends the State 
Tort Claims Act and the Political Subdivisions Tort Claims Act to 
give the state and its political subdivisions some protection for ac-
cidents that occur on public land when gross negligence is not a 
factor. Specifically, the bill exempts state and local governments 
from liability from claims relating to recreational activities for 
which no fee is charged in three instances: (1) Claims resulting 
from the inherent risk of the activity; (2) claims arising out of a 
spot or localized defect of the premises unless the defect is not cor-
rected by the state or political subdivision within a reasonable 
time after actual or constructive notice; and (3) claims arising out 
of the design of a skate park or bicycle motocross park that was 
built using generally recognized standards in existence at the time 
of original construction or reconstruction.  
 
Further, LB 564 requires governmental entities to post signs at 
skate parks and bicycle motocross parks operated by governmen-
tal entities stating that, under Nebraska law, governmental entities 
are not liable for injuries or deaths arising out of the inherent risk 
of an activity. However, failure to post the signs does not make the 
governmental entity liable. 
 
LB 564 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 16, 2007. 

 
LB 573—Adopt the Minor Alcoholic Liquor Liability Act and Change 
Provisions Relating to Keg Identification Numbers and Minors in Pos-
session of Alcoholic Liquor (Kruse, Aguilar, Burling, Carlson, Hansen, 
Harms, and Lathrop) 
 

LB 573 makes adults who provide alcohol to a minor responsible 
for any injuries or damages to third parties caused by the negli-
gence of the intoxicated minor. The bill applies to social hosts who 
allow minors to drink on their property, adults who buy booze for 
a minor, and retailers who sell alcohol to a minor. The bill does 
not apply to parents providing alcohol to their children or religious 
organizations serving alcohol as part of a bona fide religious cere-
mony. 
 
LB 573 provides as a defense to liability that the alcohol consump-
tion did not contribute to the negligent conduct.  Actions under 
the Minor Alcoholic Liquor Liability Act must be brought within 
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four years after the occurrence. Retailers are also afforded the pro-
tection they currently enjoy if they act in good faith and rely on 
false identification that a reasonable and prudent person would 
believe to be valid. LB 573 does not grant a cause of action to the 
intoxicated minor or his or her estate.  
 
Originally, the bill also pertained to serving intoxicated adults but 
that provision, known as a dram-shop provision, was removed by 
the adopted committee amendment. 
 
Pertaining to beer kegs, LB 573 makes possessing a keg with an al-
tered or missing registration number a Class III misdemeanor. 
Previously, the sanction applied only to persons who had tam-
pered with or removed the registration number from a keg. These 
provisions were originally introduced in LB 180. 
 
LB 573 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007.  

 
LB 674—Adopt the Credit Report Protection Act and Prohibit Certain 
Uses of Social Security Numbers (Lathrop, Rogert, and White) 
 

Identity theft is big business.  The Federal Trade Commission es-
timates as many as 9 million Americans have their identities sto-
len each year, and the primary introducer of LB 674 said that iden-
tity theft in the workplace makes up 90 percent of those cases. 
 
Identity theft occurs when someone uses your personally identify-
ing information, such as your name, Social Security number, or 
credit card number, without your permission to commit fraud or 
other crimes. 
 
In an attempt to hinder identity theft at work, LB 674 proscribes 
certain activities by an employer. As amended by the Standing 
Committee amendments, the bill prohibits employers from: 
 

• Posting more than the last four digits of an employee’s So-
cial Security number; 

• Requiring an employee to transmit more than the last four 
digits of  his or her Social Security number over the Inter-
net unless the transmission is encrypted or sent over a se-
cure connection; 

• Requiring the use of more than the last four digits of a So-
cial Security number to access an Internet site; and 

• Using more than the last four digits of a Social Security 
number as an employee identification number. 

 
The bill provides for exceptions to the limit on using the full Social 
Security number of an employee for certain internal administra-
tive purposes such as retirement plans and insurance benefits; 
compliance with state or federal laws, rules, or regulation;  and 
commercial transactions freely entered into by the employee or 
employer for purchase of goods or services.  

 69



Violation of the law is a Class V misdemeanor.  
 
LB 674 also adopts the Credit Report Protection Act. This con-
sumer protection act allows individuals, including parents or 
guardians acting on behalf of a minor, to place a security freeze on 
their files at credit reporting agencies. This would prevent the 
agencies from releasing the consumer’s credit report to a third 
party without prior authorization from the consumer.   
 
The request for a freeze must be made by certified mail. The secu-
rity freeze will remain on the consumer’s file for seven years, 
unless the consumer requests that it be removed earlier. The secu-
rity freeze can also be put on hold by the agency due to material 
misrepresentation of fact by the consumer or the freeze can be 
temporarily lifted at the consumer’s request.  Provisions pertain-
ing to security freezes were originally introduced as LB 190, 
which was heard by the Banking, Commerce, and Insurance 
Committee. 
 
LB 674 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 
24, 2007. 

 
LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LB 157—Provide for Leaving an Infant with a Firefighter or Hospital 
Staff Member (Stuthman, Carlson, and Nantkes) 
 

Providing desperate parents a safe place to leave babies they can-
not care for is the intent behind LB 157. Similar provisions are au-
thorized in 47 other states. 
 
As introduced, the bill would allow parents to leave an infant at a 
fire station or hospital. The person taking the child would be au-
thorized to perform any act necessary to preserve the child’s 
health, without fear of criminal or civil liability for any good faith 
acts or omissions. Firefighters or hospital employees who accept 
abandoned infants must notify law enforcement within four hours.   
 
The Department of Health and Human Services would be required 
to maintain and update on a monthly basis a tally of the number of 
infants abandoned in this fashion. The department would also be 
required to submit an annual report to the Legislature. 
 
The pending Standing Committee amendment would exempt par-
ents leaving a child under these circumstances from criminal 
prosecution. It would also increase the age of infants who could be 
legally abandoned to 30 days.   
 
While supporters said LB 157  would provide an alternative for 
parents who would otherwise abandon newborns in unsafe places, 
opponents countered that similar laws in other states were unsuc-
cessful in increasing the number of infants abandoned safely even 
after extensive ad campaigns to let parents know their options.  
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Attempting to address other concerns raised in extended debate, 
another pending amendment would allow only mothers to leave 
their infants with a hospital staff member, striking the reference to 
firefighters.  
 
LB 157 is on General File. 

 
LB 476—Change Penalty from Death to Life Imprisonment without 
Possibility of Parole and Provide for Restitution (Chambers and 
Pedersen) 
 

Death was on the table as the full Legislature considered a bill to 
repeal Nebraska’s death penalty statute, on the books since 1901. 
It was the first time since 1988 that the full Legislature has de-
bated a bill to repeal the death penalty, but the measure has been 
introduced every year since 1976, when the U.S. Supreme Court 
essentially reinstated the death penalty after previously declaring 
the states’ death penalty statutes – not the penalty itself – uncon-
stitutional in Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972). Senator 
Chambers has been the introducer of all of these bills. 
 
LB 476 would have replaced Nebraska’s death penalty, reserved 
for first-degree murder cases, with life without parole and with a 
mandatory order for restitution. The bill expressed the Legisla-
ture’s intent that persons on death row at the time the bill would 
have become effective would have been automatically sentenced to 
life without the possibility of parole and with an order of restitu-
tion. At the time the bill was debated, 10 men were on death row; 
the inmate serving the longest time on death row had been there 
since 1980.  
 
The bill would have provided that persons sentenced to life with-
out parole must make restitution to the victim’s estate for the pain 
and suffering inflicted upon the victim, the cost of any medical 
care given the victim prior to death, and the cost of burial and fu-
neral expenses. 
 
During extended debate on the measure an amendment was 
adopted to strike requirements that limit a prosecutor from intro-
ducing new witnesses 29 days prior to the start of a trial in cases 
when a notice of aggravation must be filed. Notices of aggravation 
are only filed in capital cases, which involve a trial to determine 
guilt and a separate trial for the jury to weigh aggravating factors 
to determine whether the convicted defendant ought to be sen-
tenced to death. The introducer of the amendment, who actually 
did not support the underlying bill, said the extra due process cur-
rently extended in a capital  case was unneeded if the death pen-
alty was not a possibility. 
 
The bill would have prohibited the Nebraska Board of Parole from 
granting parole to any offender sentenced under the provisions of 
LB 476. Only the Nebraska Pardons Board would have been able 
to grant a commutation to an individual serving a life without pa-
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role sentence. Persons who have their life sentences commuted to 
a set number of years could be eligible for parole. However, the 
Pardons Board has not commuted a life sentence since 1990.  
 
LB 476 failed to advance from General File on a 24-25 vote. 
 
Amendment to LB 377 
 
Halting the advancement of LB 476, however, did not end debate 
on the death penalty for the session. Taking its cue from com-
ments made by several senators as to what limitations on the 
death penalty they could accept, the Judiciary Committee held a 
public hearing on another proposal that would have restricted the 
death penalty to those offenders, deemed the worst of the worst, 
who could not be safely incarcerated and for whom only death was 
an appropriate punishment.   
 
The idea grew from debate on LB 476 when some senators said 
they could support a bill reserving the death penalty for cases in 
which the safety of the public could not be assured if the offender 
were sentenced to life imprisonment without parole. Opponents, 
including the Governor, said this represented a back door attempt 
to abolish the death penalty because it would be difficult to prove 
future dangerousness.  
 
The committee then advanced this proposal as an amendment that 
would strike the original language found in LB 377, a committee 
priority bill to increase the number of district court judges in Buf-
falo and Hall counties by reallocating judgeships from other dis-
tricts. 
 
The amendment would have required the jury in the sentencing 
phase of a capital case to determine whether the offender posed a 
present and substantial risk to the lives of others that could not 
reasonably and effectively be controlled by prison security meas-
ures. This determination was termed the “effective security issue” 
and it was to be a unanimous finding, proven by the state beyond a 
reasonable doubt.  
 
The effective security issue would have been determined prior to 
any finding of aggravating factors warranting the death sentence. 
If the jury found no security issue, then the offender would have 
been sentenced to life without possibility of parole. But, if the of-
fender were deemed to be a security risk, then the jury would have 
proceeded to the aggravation phase. The state must prove the exis-
tence of at least one aggravating factor for a first-degree murder 
case to warrant the death penalty.  
 
The amendment was not retroactive and would not have affected 
any inmates on death row who were sentenced prior to its becom-
ing law. 
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As did LB 476, the amendment addressed restitution to the estate 
of the victim. It would have added that restitution could be 
granted for the victim’s pain and suffering. Current statute allows 
the judge to order restitution for the cost of medical care prior to 
death and for funeral and burial expenses.    
 
Provisions were included that the amendment was not intended to 
limit the discretionary authority of the sentencing court to order 
restitution as part of any sentence other than death or life impris-
onment without parole. Nor would it alter the discretion and au-
thority of the Department of Correctional Services to determine 
the appropriate security measures and conditions of any offender 
during imprisonment. 
 
The amendment also would have struck and reinserted the lan-
guage “without parole,” where currently found in statute. This 
change would have responded to a Nebraska Supreme Court rul-
ing in State v. Conover, 270 Neb. 446, (2005), that declared the 
Legislature went beyond the narrow call of the 2002 special ses-
sion to amend the state’s death penalty statute, and therefore 
lacked constitutional authority, when it inserted the language 
“without parole” to the statute that assigns life imprisonment as 
the minimum penalty for first-degree murder.  
 
The committee amendment failed 23-25, leaving LB 377 in its 
original form.  (Ultimately, LB 377 was amended to reallocate a 
vacant county court judgeship from the 12th district to a juvenile 
judge position in Lancaster County and a district court judgeship 
from the 12th to the ninth district. The bill was also amended with 
provisions originally found in LB 659 to increase judicial salaries. 
With no death penalty provisions, LB 377 passed with the emer-
gency clause 42-2 and was approved by the Governor on May 30, 
2007.)  

 
LR 4CA—Constitutional Amendment to Provide Grounds for Im-
peachment (Avery) 
 

Making misdemeanors committed while running for public office 
an impeachable offense is the intent of LR 4CA. 
 
In 2005, the Legislature voted to impeach University of Nebraska 
Regent David Hergert for violating campaign finance laws that 
may have helped him win his seat because his late filing of cam-
paign spending reports denied his opponent access to matching 
state funds. Ultimately, the Nebraska Supreme Court convicted 
Hergert on two of 10 counts and he was removed from office. 
However, the debate in the Legislature centered on whether Her-
gert’s offenses were impeachable because they occurred prior to 
his taking office. The Nebraska Constitution, Article IV, section 5 
states, “All civil officers of this state shall be liable to impeachment 
for any misdemeanor in office.” (Italics added.)  
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LR 4CA would remove any doubt that misdemeanors committed 
while running for office constitute grounds for impeachment. The 
proposal would change this section to read, “A civil officer of this 
state shall be liable to impeachment for any misdemeanor in office 
or for any misdemeanor related to the election by which such offi-
cer was elected to the office.” 
 
The amendment would be placed before voters at the general elec-
tion in 2008.  
 
LR 4CA is being held by committee. 
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NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE 
Senator LeRoy Louden, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB299—Change Provisions Relating to the Game Law (Hudkins and 
Engel) 

They dubbed it Basil’s Law, after a pet Corgi who died in a trap 
while on a walk with his owner. LB 299, which began life as the 
cleanup bill for the Game and Parks Commission, was amended to 
outlaw the use of traps in the public right-of-way along county 
roads. Placement of such traps on state and federal highways is al-
ready banned. 
 

LB 299 also allows the commission to sell multi-year or combina-
tion permits so the agency can market hunting and fishing out-of-
state. Additionally, the bill creates a lifetime Nebraska migratory 
waterfowl stamp, with the funds going to the Nebraska Habitat 
Fund, removes the minimum age for hunting wild turkeys, estab-
lishes a paddlefish permit, and changes the name of the Nongame 
and Endangered Species Conservation Fund to the Wildlife Con-
servation Fund. 
 

LB 299 passed 41-4 and was approved by the Governor on May 24, 
2007. 

 
LB 504—Prohibit Hunting Using the Internet (Mines) 
 

Nebraska joins 29 other states in banning canned hunts over the 
Internet with the passage of LB 504.  
 
Called “pay-per-view slaughter” by the Humane Society of the 
United States, Internet hunting involves paying a fee of up to 
$1,500 to schedule a session and place an order for a deer, ante-
lope, or other animal. The hunter then logs on to a website at the 
appointed time and watches a feeding station on the computer 
screen. The animal ordered is herded in front of the camera and 
the hunter uses his mouse to line up the animal in the on-screen 
crosshairs. A click of the mouse fires the rifle and the kill is then 
shipped to the hunter’s home. 
 
LB 504 makes it a Class II misdemeanor to hunt through the 
Internet or to host hunting through the Internet. Any firearm, 
computer, equipment, appliance or conveyance used to hunt via 
the Internet is considered contraband and subject to forfeiture. In 
addition to a fine of at least $250 for a first offense and $500 or 
more on second or subsequent conviction, persons violating the 
Internet hunting ban are prohibited from hunting, fishing, or 
trapping in Nebraska for at least one year after sentencing. 
 
LB 504 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 
24, 2007.  
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LB 629—Adopt the Rural Community-Based Energy Development Act 
(Dierks, Dubas, Erdman, Karpisek, McDonald, Preister, Wallman, 
Flood, and Lathrop) 
 

Nebraska ranks sixth in the nation for wind energy potential and 
LB 629 is intended to capitalize on that while encouraging rural 
economic development opportunities. Former Nebraska Governor 
Mike Johanns dubbed the state the “Saudi Arabia of wind.” 
 
LB 629 creates a rural Community-Based Energy Development (C-
BED) program to allow individual farmers, ranchers, and mem-
bers of their local communities to capitalize on what could become 
a land-rush to develop wind energy in the state. The Bush admini-
stration has said it wants the United States to generate 20 percent 
of its energy from wind by 2030. In 2006, wind generation be-
came the cheapest method of producing electricity. (LB 367 cre-
ates a sales and use tax exemption for the sale, lease, or rental of 
personal property for use in a C-BED project. The bill is discussed 
beginning on page 89.) 
 
LB 629 provides the framework for local initiatives. It defines the 
ownership structure to qualify as a C-BED project and divides pro-
jects into those that are only one or two wind turbines and projects 
that are larger. Qualified owners of either size project must be ei-
ther a Nebraska resident, a limited liability company whose indi-
vidual members are Nebraskans, a Nebraska nonprofit organiza-
tion, an electric supplier within certain guidelines, or a tribal 
council.  
 
No single qualified owner of a C-BED project that consists of more 
than two turbines can own more than 15 percent of the project. At 
least 33 percent of the power purchase agreement payment must 
go to the qualified owners or the local community. To the extent 
feasible, C-BED project developers must provide, in writing,  an 
opportunity to invest in the C-BED project to each property owner 
on whose property a turbine is located. 
 
C-BED projects must have a resolution of support from the county 
board of each county in which the C-BED project is to be located 
or by the tribal council if the project is located within an Indian 
reservation. Such projects must also be approved by the Power 
Review Board. 
 
LB 629 authorizes C-BED project developers and electric utilities 
to negotiate in good faith mutually agreeable power purchase 
agreement terms. It also allows qualified owners to develop a C-
BED project with an equity partner who is not a qualified owner if 
the equity partner does not receive more than 67 percent of the 
power purchase agreement payments. 
  
Further, LB 629 requires electric utilities to encourage the aggre-
gation of C-BED projects located in the same general geographical 
area; to require qualified owners to provide sufficient security to 
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assure performance under the power purchase agreement; and to 
annually prepare a statement summarizing its efforts to buy en-
ergy from C-BED projects. But, nothing in LB 629 requires electric 
utilities to enter into a power purchase agreement with a C-BED 
project. 
 
Finally, the transfer of a C-BED project to any person other than a 
qualified owner, except for an inherited interest, is prohibited dur-
ing the initial 10 years of a power purchase agreement.  
 
LB 629 passed with the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 21, 2007. 

 
LB 677—Change Inspection Requirements and Late Fees under the 
Livestock Waste Management Act (Dubas, Carlson, Dierks, Erdman, 
Fischer, Hansen, Hudkins, Langemeier, Louden, Wallman, and Chris-
tensen) 

Livestock operations that suddenly found themselves subject to a 
late fee for an inspection that initially did not apply to them caught 
a break with the passage of LB 677, which aspires to increase op-
erator compliance with the Livestock Waste Management Act.  
 
The bill extends a deadline from January 1, 2000, to January 1, 
2009 for certain livestock operations to request an inspection 
from the Department of Environmental Quality of the operation’s 
waste disposal plans. Generally, small ranching operations were 
exempted from the inspections, which  had to be requested prior 
to January 1, 2000 in order to avoid the late penalty. 
 
In 2004, Nebraska adopted federal regulations that changed the 
definitions of livestock operations and streamlined the inspection 
process. However, this forced livestock operations Nebraska had 
considered small or medium and therefore exempt from the in-
spection requirement for a National Pollutant Discharge Elimina-
tion System permit to require an inspection four years past the 
original 2000 deadline. 
 
LB 677 gives those previously exempted operations until 2009 to 
request an inspection of their livestock operation without being 
subject to the penalty.   
 
LB 677 passed with the emergency clause 43-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on April 11, 2007. 

LB 701—Enact Water Policy to Comply with an Interstate Compact 
(Christensen) 

“In a state as dependent upon its water as Nebraska, the surprise 
isn’t that there are disagreements on water issues. The surprise 
may be that there are not more disagreements.” (Flat Water: A 
History of Nebraska and Its Water, Conservation and Survey Di-
vision Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, University 
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of Nebraska-Lincoln, March 1993, “Politics and Policy,” p. 230, by 
Steve Gaul)    

LB 701 was disagreeable to nearly everyone who touched it – the 
introducer of record declined to vote it out of committee as 
amended– but the option to do nothing – and potentially cost Ne-
braska millions of dollars in fines for failing to comply with an in-
terstate water compact – brought grudging agreement after two 
public hearings and three versions of the bill (not counting the 
Governor’s pre-session proposal, part of which made it into LB 
701). 

The bill is largely intended to address depleted flows in the Repub-
lican River that threaten to put Nebraska out of compliance with 
the compact it signed in 1943 with Colorado and Kansas, which al-
locates a percentage of the Republican’s water to each of the three 
states. But the bill also contains a framework that could be used to 
address future water problems in other areas of the state.  

Significantly, LB 701 gives the three natural resources districts 
(NRDs) operating in the Republican River basin additional taxing 
and regulatory authority; creates a Water Cash Fund to pay for 
short- and long-term solutions; and creates a task force to decide 
how best to  eliminate invasive vegetation from the river and its 
banks.   

The measure gives the Upper, Middle, and Lower Republican 
NRDs authority to issue bonds to finance water conservation pro-
jects, including buying or leasing water rights. To pay off the 
bonds, the NRDs can levy a tax of up to 10 cents per $100 of as-
sessed value on all taxable property in their districts. They can also 
levy an annual occupation tax of up to $10 per irrigated acre of ag-
ricultural land. LB 701 also extends an additional levy authority of 
three cents per $100 valuation in fully or over-appropriated river 
basins through 2012. The authority to issue bonds expires on 
January 1, 2023. 

Authorized projects financed with bonds include the purchase or 
lease of groundwater or surface water rights; the acquisition of ca-
nals or reservoirs; and vegetation management. 

 LB 701 creates the Water Resources Cash Fund, administered by 
the Department of Natural Resources, to assist NRDs with projects 
intended to reduce consumptive uses of water in river basins 
deemed by the department to be fully or over appropriated or 
which are bound by an interstate compact. The water fund is also 
to be used by the department to conduct a statewide assessment of 
short- and long-term water management activities and funding 
needs. The Water Resources Cash Fund cannot be used to pay for 
staff and administrative costs. 

The bill authorizes $2.7 million to be transferred from the General 
Fund to the Water Resources Cash Fund in fiscal years 2007-2008 
and 2008-2009 and expresses legislative intent that the transfers 
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continue through fiscal year 2018-2019. Beginning October 1, 
2012, a three-fifths cent checkoff per bushel of corn and grain sor-
ghum sold in the state will also be deposited into the water fund. 
The checkoff is to expire on October 1, 2019. The bill also requires 
a transfer of unexpended funds from the Ethanol Production In-
centive Cash Fund to the water fund at the end of 2012.  

Using money from the fund requires a local 40-percent match. The 
Department of Natural Resources is required to annually deter-
mine how much money is available through the fund and to notify 
qualifying NRDs. The department is also required to annually is-
sue a report to the Legislature regarding the uses of the fund. 

 LB 701 also addresses the stranglehold invasive, water-thirsty 
vegetation has placed on depleted rivers. The bill provides $2 mil-
lion for vegetation removal guided by the work of the newly cre-
ated Riparian Vegetation Management Task Force. 

In consultation with appropriate federal agencies, the task force is 
to develop vegetation management goals and objectives, analyze 
the cost-effectiveness of available vegetation management, and 
develop plans and policies to achieve its identified goals and objec-
tives. Any plan the task force develops must use principles of inte-
grated vegetation management and sound science.  

A report is due from the task force to the Legislature and the Gov-
ernor by December 15, 2007, and each year thereafter until the 
task force terminates on June 30, 2009.  The task force’s priorities 
are river basins designated by the Department of Natural Re-
sources as fully appropriated or over appropriated. NRDs that 
qualify for funding from the Water Resources Cash Fund can use 
the money for vegetation management projects. The provisions 
pertaining to vegetation management and the task force were 
originally proposed in LB 458. 

Further, LB 701 appropriates $3 million to the Department of 
Natural Resources to negotiate surface water rights in the Bost-
wick Irrigation District. The state has previously leased water 
rights from the irrigation district and used the water released into 
the river from the arrangement to send more water to Kansas to 
meet the terms of the compact. To guarantee that irrigators who 
hold dual rights for surface and ground water do not increase 
groundwater pumping to make up for the lost surface water use, 
LB 701 restricts usage to no greater than the total ground water al-
location previously permitted less any surface water purchased, 
leased, or otherwise acquired. 

LB 701 also allows NRDs to impose an immediate, temporary stay 
of 180 days, without prior notice, on the construction of any new 
water wells and on any increase in the number of acres historically 
irrigated. This provision addresses the frenzy of applications for 
new wells and well drilling that has, in the past, attended an NRD 
notice that it intended to place a well-drilling moratorium in its 
district to address water shortages. Further, when an NRD im-
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poses an immediate stay, the department is authorized to also im-
pose a temporary stay in the affected area on the issuance of new 
surface water natural-flow appropriations.   

To stave off expectations that, faced with another water crisis, the 
state will be bound to buy water rights from private citizens, LB 
701 contains wording that clarifies that LB 701 does not establish a 
legislative precedent regarding the purchase of water. 

Finally, LB 701 also contains water-well provisions, mostly of a 
technical nature, that were originally introduced in LB 295, which 
was, in turn, amended by the provisions of LB 314. Notably 
among these changes, LB 701 closes a loophole that allowed some 
wells to escape state regulation. It changes the definition of a wa-
ter well to include those excavations in which a pump is installed 
for irrigation, regardless of why the excavation was first dug. Pre-
viously, the definition of water well was confined to excavations 
made for the purpose of extracting water. That allowed individuals 
to install pumps in excavations such as sand pits and use the pits 
for irrigation, thus escaping ground water management and con-
trols.  

LB 701 passed with the emergency clause 43-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 1, 2007. 

  
LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED    
 
LB 579 and LB 581—Authorize Net-Metering for Electricity Customer-
Generators 

Net-metering is a system of measuring the energy consumed and 
produced at a home or business that has its own renewable energy 
generator. Under net-metering, any excess energy not used by the 
customer-generator is sent into the grid to be used by the utility 
and the customer-generator takes energy from the grid when the 
customer-generator is not generating enough energy to meet his or 
her needs. A special meter – it runs backwards when the cus-
tomer-generator is not using energy from the utility – is used to 
measure energy generated, energy used, and any excess energy.  

The federal Energy Policy Act of 2005 requires all states to “con-
sider” a net-metering program by 2008 or explain why their exist-
ing programs are sufficient. About 40 states have adopted net-
metering legislation. 

Two bills were introduced that would authorize and set standards 
for net-metering programs in Nebraska. 

LB 579, introduced by Senators Louden, Carlson, Christensen, 
Hudkins, Kopplin, and Wallman, would allow customer-
generators to hook up their qualified electric power generator fa-
cilities to the local utility if the customer-generator pays for the 
utility’s costs to do so. The bill would set requirements for the cus-
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tomer-generator’s power facility to meet, would allow the utility to 
create a customer generator rate class or classes based on the size 
of the customer-generators’ facilities, and would establish a facili-
ties charge for using the distribution system in order to prevent a 
shift of costs from customer-generators to the utilities’ other cus-
tomers. Qualified customer-generator facilities would have to 
meet standards set by the National Electrical Code. 

LB 581, introduced by Senator Preister, would state legislative in-
tent to encourage private investment in renewable energy, stimu-
late economic growth, and enhance the diversification of energy 
resources in the state. LB 581 would require electric suppliers to 
provide net-metering service at nondiscriminatory rates to cus-
tomers with a qualified facility.  Qualified facilities would produce 
electricity using wind, solar, biomass, or hydropower on the prem-
ises of the customer-generator. Such facilities would be required to 
meet interconnection safety and performance standards. A cus-
tomer-generator whose qualified facility meets these standards 
could not be required to comply with additional safety or perform-
ance standards or pay for additional charges, tests, or liability in-
surance. 

Net-metering is the subject of an interim study, LR 79. Both bills 
are being held while the committee studies the issue. 
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NEBRASKA RETIREMENT SYSTEMS 
COMMITTEE 
Senator John Synowiecki, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS  
  
LB 328—Change State and County Retirement Provisions, Provide for 
the Election of Cash Balance Benefits for State and County Employ-
ees, and Adopt the Law Enforcement Officers Retirement Survey Act 
(Nebraska Retirement Systems Committee) 
 

As originally introduced, LB 328 allowed any state or county em-
ployee who returned to state or county employment within five 
years of leaving such employment to immediately re-enroll in his 
or her retirement plan. (Prior law provided for a 60-day waiting 
period.) 
 
As enacted and in addition to its original provisions, LB 328 in-
cludes provisions originally prescribed in LB 665 and LB 370. 
 
LB 328 grants state and county employees currently participating 
in the defined contribution retirement plan another opportunity to 
switch to the cash balance option.  The cash balance plan com-
bines elements of defined benefit and defined contribution plans. 
Employer and employee contributions, plus a statutorily guaran-
teed rate of return of at least five percent, are credited to the em-
ployee’s account. The State Investment Council is responsible for 
investing the retirement funds. Upon retirement or leaving em-
ployment, an employee can choose to cash in all or part of his or 
her account balance or use the money to purchase an annuity.  
 
In 2003, when the cash balance option was first offered, employ-
ees were given the opportunity to change plans, and at that time, 
approximately 30 percent chose to do so. Some analysts believed 
that many employees did not change plans because their retire-
ment accounts were depressed by stock market declines. (State 
and county employees hired after January 1, 2003 are automati-
cally enrolled in the cash balance plan.)  
 
However, with stock market indexes at an all-time high, policy-
makers decided to give state and county employees still participat-
ing in the defined contribution plan another chance to switch. LB 
328 authorizes these employees to change to the cash balance plan 
any time between November 1, 2007 and January 1, 2008. If an 
employee chooses to change plans, his or her account balances will 
be transferred on January 1, 2008.  
 
Additionally, the Law Enforcement Officers Retirement Act is 
adopted with passage of LB 328.  
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The act directs the Nebraska Public Employees Retirement Sys-
tems to survey retirement plans of most law enforcement officers 
in the state, including police officers, sheriffs and deputy sheriffs, 
and conservation officers. The retirement system will gather ex-
tensive information about officers’ current retirement benefits, in-
cluding types of pension plans, employee and employer contribu-
tion percentages, and account balances. Survey results will be 
given to an actuarial firm hired by advocates of a state retirement 
plan for law enforcement officers to assist the firm in determining 
the cost of implementing a state-administered defined benefit plan 
for officers, aimed at providing a retirement benefit equal to 60-
to-80 percent of an officer’s final salary, excluding social security.  
 
Finally, the retirement system is required to submit a report to the 
Nebraska Retirement Systems Committee by October 1, 2007.  
 
LB 328 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 30, 2007. 

 
LB 596—Change Retirement Benefits and Annuity Payments for 
School Employees Retirement Systems (Kopplin and Howard) 
 

LB 596 provides a boost to the inflation-eroded pensions of retired 
members of the School Employees Retirement System. The bill in-
creases the annuities of school retirees to 85 percent of the pur-
chasing power of their original benefit, as determined by the Con-
sumer Price Index (CPI). The raise is intended to be a one-time in-
crease, boosting retirees’ pensions that have fallen below the 85-
percent benchmark, but are above the 75-percent “floor level” of 
the original benefit amount guaranteed by the school plan.  
 
The school plan gives annual cost-of-living adjustments (COLAs) 
to most of its retirees, up to 2.5 percent or the rate of inflation as 
measured by the CPI, whichever is less. However, the value of a 
member’s annuity decreases over time because inflation exceeds 
2.5 percent in some years.    
 
The annuity increase is intended to be of particular help to very 
old school retirees, whose pensions have been especially under-
mined by inflation because they lack COLAs and the 75-percent 
floor-level guarantee.   
 
The bill adjusts school plan contribution rates to 7.28 percent of a 
member’s income to pay for the annuity increase. (Employers con-
tribute 101 percent of this amount.) 
 
LB 596 also raises contribution rates for employees of the Class V 
(Omaha) School Employees Retirement System from 6.3 percent 
to 7.3 percent of a member’s pay. The measure pegs Class V em-
ployer contributions at 101 percent of employees’ pay, up from 100 
percent.    
 
LB 596 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 16, 2007. 
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REVENUE COMMITTEE  
Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson 
 

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS  
 
LB 145—Require Notice of Property Tax Homestead Exemption 
(McDonald and Pirsch) 
 

LB 145 creates a new notice requirement and makes related 
changes to Nebraska’s property tax homestead exemption proce-
dures. 
 
Pursuant to LB 145, the Tax Commissioner must provide each 
county assessor with printed homestead exemption claim forms 
and address lists of applicants from the prior year.  On or before 
April 1 each year, the county assessor must mail a notice to each 
homestead exemption claimant who was granted a homestead ex-
emption in the previous year, unless (1) the claimant has already 
filed the application or certification for homestead exemption for 
the current year or (2) the county assessor has reason to believe 
the taxpayer no longer qualifies for the homestead exemption.  
 
The notice must include the claimant’s name, the filing deadlines 
for the application or certification for the current year, a list of 
documents that must be filed with the application for the current 
year, and the county assessor’s office address and telephone num-
ber.  
 
LB 145 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on March 
19, 2007.  

 
LB 223—Omnibus Tax Legislation (Revenue Committee) 
 

Three areas of tax law are the focus of the LB 223: (1) sales and use 
taxes; (2) adopting clarifying changes to some of Nebraska’s tax 
incentive laws; and (3) making changes to the state’s laws govern-
ing tax administration and enforcement. 
 
Sales and Use Taxes 
 
LB 223 ratifies the amendments adopted December 14, 2006, to 
the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement and brings Ne-
braska’s sales and use tax laws into conformity with that agree-
ment. LB 223 also provides a liability shield for sellers, model 2 
sellers, and certified service providers who rely on state-approved 
product-based classifications. 
 
LB 223 defines “bundled transaction” and subjects bundled trans-
actions to sales and use taxation if one or more of the products in-
cluded in the bundle are taxable. It redefines “sales price” so that 
the term includes consideration received by sellers from third par-
ties if certain conditions are met. 
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The bill also defines numerous terms (e.g., “900 service,” “confer-
ence bridging service,” and “mobile wireless service”) related to 
sales and use taxation of “telecommunications service,” which is 
defined to mean “the electronic transmission, conveyance, or rout-
ing of voice, data, audio, video, or any other information or signals 
to a point, or between or among points.” However, several types of 
service do not constitute telecommunications service, including 
certain data processing and information services, advertising, and 
Internet access. 
 
LB 223 allows the Tax Commissioner to waive registration of a 
nonresident contractor if the total contract price or compensation 
to be received is less than $10,000 (formerly $25,000). 
 
And, the bill outright repeals Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-2703.02, 
which authorized purchasers to use a “multiple points of use” sales 
tax exemption form if the purchased property will be used in more 
than one taxing jurisdiction.  
 
Changes to and Clarifications of Tax Incentive Laws 
 
LB 223 makes Nebraska’s research and development tax credit 
equal to 15 percent of the federal research and development in-
come tax credit. Formerly, Nebraska’s tax credit was equal to three 
percent of the increase in qualified research and development ex-
penditures deducted for federal income tax purposes.  
 
Pursuant to the bill, applications for incentives under the Ne-
braska Advantage Rural Development Act and the Small Business 
Microenterprise Tax Credit Program are to be filed by November 1 
and completed by December 1 each year. Any application that is 
late or incomplete beyond the due date will be considered filed for 
the following calendar year.  
 
LB 223 adopts changes to the Nebraska Advantage Rural Devel-
opment Act governing relocation of a business and specifies cer-
tain transactions that will not be allowed when computing benefits 
or in meeting any required levels under the agreement. It also re-
defines “livestock” and “livestock production” and eliminates the 
definition of “Nebraska employee.” (Other provisions of LB 223 
eliminate references to “Nebraska employee” in some of Ne-
braska’s other tax incentive acts.) 
 
With respect to the Employment and Investment Growth Act and 
the Nebraska Advantage Rural Development Act, LB 223 substi-
tutes “computer systems” for “mainframe business computers” 
and provides that “computer systems” consist of “equipment that 
is interconnected” to enable the “acquisition, storage, manipula-
tion, management, movement, control, display, transmission, or 
reception of data involving computer software and hardware.” 
Such computer systems include “peripheral components,” such as 
tape drives, power supplies, cooling units, data switches, and con-
trollers.  
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Finally, LB 223 changes the due date for various tax incentive pro-
gram annual reports issued by the Department of Revenue from 
March 15 to July 15. 
 
Tax Administration and Enforcement 
 
LB 223 authorizes the Tax Commissioner to disclose certain confi-
dential taxpayer information to the Auditor of Public Accounts and 
also authorizes the Tax Commissioner access to information re-
quired to be reported under the New Hire Reporting Act. 
 
LB 223 requires the Tax Commissioner to deny any tax credit, ex-
emption, or refund for employing any person who has been de-
ported by United States Immigration and Customs Enforcement, 
or other competent authority, or who has been convicted of a 
criminal offense related to illegal immigration. Any tax benefits 
received before the conviction or deportation will be recaptured to 
the extent the benefits were received based on the employment of 
such person. 
 
If a business holds substantial trust funds (i.e., state withholding 
tax), LB 223 requires it to post security in an amount equal to 
three times the estimated average amount payable for the report-
ing period (five times that amount for habitually delinquent tax-
payers).   
 
Operative January 1, 2008, if an employer is allowed to file federal 
withholding returns annually, LB 223 permits the employer to file 
state withholding returns annually too, on or before the last day of 
the month following the close of the calendar year. In addition, by 
March 15 each year, an employer must file with the Tax Commis-
sioner a copy of each wage withholding statement furnished by the 
employer or payor to each employee or payee. Any employer, 
payor, or agent who furnishes more than 250 wage withholding 
statements for a year must file the required copies in an author-
ized electronic manner. 
 
Also beginning January 1, 2008, any employer with 25 or more 
employees is required to withhold at least three percent of each 
employee’s gross wages, less qualified deductions and exemptions, 
unless the employee proves to the satisfaction of the employer that 
claiming additional withholding exemptions is not an attempt to 
evade taxes. For a child claimed as a dependent, such proof could 
include a birth certificate or social security number. It is a Class II 
misdemeanor for an employee to claim excess withholding exemp-
tions or to overstate the amount of withholding in any other man-
ner, if the employee does so with intent to evade or defeat income 
taxes. If an employer with 25 or more employees fails to either 
withhold taxes of at least three percent or obtain evidence that 
lower withholding is justified, the employer is subject to a penalty 
of up to $1,000 per violation.    
 
Again, on and after January 1, 2008, if any part of a requested re-
fund is overstated due to negligence, material misstatement, or in-
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tentional disregard of rules and regulations, but without intent to 
defraud, the Tax Commissioner can impose a penalty equal to five 
percent of the overstatement. However, the amount of the penalty 
can be equal to 50 percent of the overstatement if any part of the 
requested refund is overstated as a result of fraud. Furthermore, in 
addition to any other applicable penalties, a $1,000 penalty will be 
imposed on any person who aids, procures, advises, or assists in 
preparing any return, affidavit, claim for refund, or other docu-
ment knowing that its use will result in a material overstatement 
of another person’s claim for refund.  
 
For purposes of the Uniform State Tax Lien Registration and En-
forcement Act, LB 223 requires the use of only the last four digits 
of an individual’s social security number in certain documents and 
records. LB 223 also provides directions for the filing of notices in 
cases in which the three-year statute of limitations has been tolled 
due to court action. 
 
LB 223 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007.  

 
LB 334—Merge the Department of Property Assessment and Taxation 
into the Department of Revenue (Dierks, at the request of the Gover-
nor) 
 

LB 334 eliminates the Department of Property Assessment and 
Taxation (DPAT) and merges it into the Department of Revenue 
(DOR) as a division within DOR. In addition, LB 334 includes pro-
visions of LB 484, LB 519, and LB 627, which make changes to 
the statutes governing property tax administration. 
 
The DPAT’s history is most illuminating for understanding LB 
334, and with its enactment, the organization has gone from being 
a division within DOR to a state agency independent of DOR and 
now back to a division within DOR. All of that happened since 
1999, but the full story dates back to 1995. 
 
Laws 1999, LB 36, created the DPAT, made it independent of 
DOR, and provided that the new department’s chief executive offi-
cer would be the Property Tax Administrator (PTA), an individual 
appointed by the Governor—with approval of a majority of the 
Legislature—to serve a six-year term unless removed by the Gov-
ernor for misfeasance, malfeasance, or willful neglect of duty or 
other cause.  
 
Before enactment of the 1999 legislation, DOR’s Property Tax Di-
vision handled state government’s duties relating to property taxa-
tion, which included tracking property valuations in Nebraska’s 93 
counties and working with county assessors and county boards of 
equalization to help equalize property valuations within and across 
county lines. The Property Tax Division’s chief was also known as 
the property tax administrator. 
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In 1995, the Legislature enacted LB 490, which created the Tax 
Equalization and Review Commission (TERC), and LR 3CA, a 
proposed amendment to Article IV, section 28, of the Nebraska 
Constitution that would eliminate the elected State Board of 
Equalization (SBOE) and replace it with the TERC, a three-
member commission that would function like a tax court for the 
purpose of hearing appeals by aggrieved property taxpayers and 
that would also take over the equalization duties performed by the 
SBOE.  
 
Voters approved LR 3CA at the primary election in May 1996 and, 
in September 1996, Governor Nelson appointed Nebraska’s first 
and only PTA, a well respected lawyer who was already working as 
DOR’s property tax administrator and who began her career with 
DOR in 1981 as a law clerk. She was reappointed PTA six years 
later by then-Governor Johanns. 
  
The aim of the changes made in 1995 and 1996 was to remove 
“politics” from property tax administration. In a front-page article 
published December 2, 1996, the Omaha World Herald quoted 
former state Senator Jerome Warner, an advocate of the sweeping 
changes, as saying “If the governor appointed a political hack to a 
position like this [the PTA’s job], the whole concept would be a 
disaster. . . . Those who want to rely on their political influence to 
affect valuations are the ones who are going to be most annoyed 
with this whole system.” 
 
LB 334 passed with the emergency clause 38-4 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 24, 2007.  

 
LB 367—Omnibus Tax Reduction Package (Janssen, Cornett, Dierks, 
Dubas, Howard, Preister, Fischer, Langemeier, and Pirsch) 
 

LB 367 is the Legislature’s compromise two-year (fiscal year 2007-
2008 and fiscal year 2008-2009) tax reduction package worth 
$424.3 million to the state’s General Fund. It terminates Ne-
braska’s estate and generation-skipping transfer taxes ($37.5 mil-
lion); reduces income tax revenue ($152.6 million); provides real 
property tax credits ($220 million); and provides sales and use tax 
exemptions for construction labor ($14.1 million) and community-
based energy development projects ($89,000). Additionally, the 
legislation’s sales and use tax exemptions are expected to reduce 
municipalities’ local option sales tax revenue over the two-year pe-
riod by an estimated $3.2 million. Therefore, LB 367 will be worth 
an estimated $427.5 million to taxpayers over the two-year period. 
 
The legislation includes provisions of LB 10, LB 282, LB 325, 
LB 331, LB 648, and LB 683.  
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Create a Real Property Tax Credit 
 
LB 367 adopts the Property Tax Credit Act, which will use $220 
million from the state’s General Fund to pay property tax credits 
for all real property in tax years 2007 and 2008. The money will 
be transferred from the state’s General Fund to the newly created 
Property Tax Cash Fund, which will receive $105 million for tax 
year 2007 and $115 million for tax year 2008.  
 
That money will be distributed to Nebraska’s 93 county govern-
ments. The amount disbursed to any given county will equal: (1) 
the total amount of available funding for a given tax year (e.g., 
$105 million for tax year 2007) multiplied by (2) the ratio of the 
real property valuation in the county to the real property valuation 
in the state.  
 
The amount of the property tax credit for a particular parcel of real 
property will be shown on the taxpayer’s property tax statement. 
The credit will equal: (1) the amount disbursed from the Property 
Tax Cash Fund to the county where the real property is located 
multiplied by (2) the ratio of the valuation of the taxpayer’s parcel 
of real property to the total real property valuation in the county.      
 
An attempt to amend the bill to eliminate LB 367’s property tax 
credit and replace it with an individual income tax credit up to 
$500 for real property taxes paid by homeowners failed 32-13. The 
proposed amendment contained provisions substantially similar 
to the provisions of LB 453, consideration of which was indefi-
nitely postponed. 
 
Terminate Nebraska’s Estate and Generation-skipping 
Transfer Taxes 
 
LB 367 eliminates Nebraska’s estate and generation-skipping 
transfer taxes for decedents dying on or after January 1, 2007.  
 
Eliminate Sales and Use Taxation of Construction Labor 
 
Operative October 1, 2007, LB 367 eliminates sales and use taxa-
tion of all construction labor. Sales and use taxation of construc-
tion labor was short-lived. It was first enacted as part of Laws 
2003, LB 753. 
 
During floor debate, two separate attempts to amend the bill to 
lower the state’s sales and use tax rate to 5 percent (currently 5.5 
percent) failed.  
 
Sales and Use Tax Exemption for Community-based En-
ergy Development Projects 
 
LB 367 creates a sales and use tax exemption for the sale, lease, or 
rental of personal property for use in a community-based energy 
development (C-BED) project, provided that the taxpayer meets 
filing requirements imposed by the Tax Commissioner. The filing 
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requirements are meant to ensure that the property purchased 
qualifies for the exemption.  (LB 629 creates a rural C-BED pro-
gram in Nebraska and is discussed beginning on page 76.) 
 
LB 367 defines a C-BED project to mean a new wind energy pro-
ject that has one of two specified ownership structures; a resolu-
tion of support adopted by either the county board of each county 
in which the C-BED project is located or, for a C-BED project lo-
cated within the boundaries of an Indian reservation, by the tribal 
council; and a qualified owner.  
 
A qualified owner can be a tribal council; Nebraska resident; lim-
ited liability company organized under Nebraska’s Limited Liabil-
ity Company Act whose members consist entirely of Nebraska 
residents; nonprofit corporation organized under the Nebraska 
Nonprofit Corporation Act; or a qualified electric supplier (i.e., any 
legal entity supplying, producing, or distributing electricity within 
Nebraska for sale at wholesale or retail), except that ownership in 
a single C-BED project is limited to no more than 15 percent own-
ership by a single electric supplier and a combined total of 25 per-
cent ownership by multiple electric suppliers. 
 
Income Tax Relief 
 
LB 367 makes a number of changes to provide income tax relief, 
including increasing the earned income credit and the renewable 
energy income tax credit; changing the amount of the standard 
deduction for individual income taxpayers; and changing income 
tax brackets. LB 367 does not change income tax rates.  
 
LB 367 increases Nebraska’s earned income tax credit to 10 per-
cent (formerly eight percent) of the federal earned income tax 
credit. 
 
The renewable energy income tax credit for a new zero-emission 
facility was first enacted by Laws 2006, LB 872.  LB 367 increases 
the credit for a new zero-emission facility to: 

 
(1) 0.1 cent per kilowatt-hour for electricity generated on or 
after October 1, 2007 and before January 1, 2010 (formerly 
0.075 cent);  
(2) 0.075 cent per kilowatt-hour for electricity generated 
on or after January 1, 2010, and before January 1, 2013 
(formerly 0.05 cent); and  
(3) 0.05 cent per kilowatt-hour for electricity generated on 
or after January 1, 2013, and before January 1, 2018 (for-
merly 0.025 cent). 

 
However, the total amount of renewable energy credits that can be 
used by all taxpayers is limited to $750,000 (formerly $400,000) 
and the credit cannot be claimed by a producer who receives a 
sales tax exemption for a community-based energy development 
(C-BED) project. In addition, LB 367 eliminates a requirement 
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that a new zero-emission facility must have a rated production ca-
pacity of one megawatt or greater to be eligible for the credit. 
 
LB 367 also changes Nebraska’s standard deduction for individual 
income taxpayers. The standard deduction will be the smaller of 
the federal standard deduction actually allowed or (1) $3,000 for 
single taxpayers; (2) $4,400 for head-of-household taxpayers; (3) 
for married filing jointly taxpayers, it will be double the amount of 
the standard deduction for single taxpayers; and (4) for married 
filing separately taxpayers, it will be the same as the standard de-
duction for single taxpayers. Taxpayers who are blind and/or age 
65 or older are allowed an additional amount: $600 for married 
taxpayers regardless of their filing status; and $750 for single tax-
payers and head-of-household taxpayers.  
 
However, LB 367 requires all of the standard deduction amounts 
to be indexed for inflation—using 1987 as the base year—by the 
method provided for in Internal Revenue Code sec. 151 and re-
quires resulting figures that are not a multiple of $50 to be 
rounded to the next lowest multiple of $50. Therefore, for tax year 
2007, the standard deduction will be the smaller of the federal 
standard deduction actually allowed or (1) $5,350 for single tax-
payers; (2) $7,800 for head-of-household taxpayers; (3) for mar-
ried filing jointly taxpayers, it will be double the amount of the 
standard deduction for single taxpayers; and (4) for married filing 
separately taxpayers, it will be the same as the standard deduction 
for single taxpayers. Taxpayers who are blind and/or age 65 or 
older are allowed an additional amount: $600 for married taxpay-
ers regardless of their filing status; and $750 for single taxpayers 
and head-of-household taxpayers.  
 
LB 367 changes some, but not all, individual income tax brackets. 
Tax brackets are an essential part of any progressive income tax 
system. LB 367 changes income tax brackets for taxpayers whose 
filing status is married filing jointly, married filing separately, and 
head-of-household, but it does not change the income tax brackets 
for single taxpayers. However, by doubling the size of the income 
tax brackets for taxpayers whose filing status is classified as mar-
ried filing jointly, LB 367 eliminates the so-called “marriage pen-
alty.”    
 
Repeal the Tax Credit for Business Child Care Expendi-
tures 
 
Operative January 1, 2007, LB 367 repeals the tax credit for quali-
fied business child care expenditures, which was first created by 
Laws 2001, LB 433, but never became operative. Funding for the 
tax credit was eliminated during the Legislature’s 2001 Special 
Session; then Laws 2003, LB 759, delayed the tax credit’s opera-
tive date until January 1, 2007.  
 
LB 367 passed with the emergency clause 46-2 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 18, 2007.  
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LB 456—Create an Income Tax Credit for Owners of Certain Financial 
Institutions (White) 
 

LB 456 creates a nonrefundable income tax credit for owners of 
certain financial institutions that pay Nebraska’s financial institu-
tion franchise tax, which is a tax on deposits. The credit is meant 
to rectify a perceived inequity between shareholders of financial 
institutions organized as C corporations and those organized as 
pass-through entities, such as S corporations and limited liability 
companies. The credit is allowed to each partner, shareholder, 
member, or beneficiary of a partnership, S corporation, limited li-
ability company, or estate or trust that holds an ownership interest 
in such a financial institution.  
 
For tax years 2007 and 2008, the credit is equal to 50 percent of 
each owner’s pass-through share of Nebraska’s franchise tax paid 
by the financial institution. For tax years after 2008, the credit will 
be equal to 100 percent of each owner’s pass-through share of Ne-
braska’s financial institution franchise tax. Unused credits cannot 
be carried forward or carried back to other tax years. 
 
If the taxpayer is an individual, an estate, or a trust, LB 456 re-
quires the taxpayer to add to adjusted gross income any amount 
taken as a credit pursuant to LB 456 for Nebraska franchise tax 
paid by a financial institution. The purpose of that provision is to 
prevent the taxpayer from getting a tax benefit twice for the same 
payment of franchise tax. 
 
LB 456 directs the Tax Commissioner to prescribe the necessary 
forms and supporting documentation needed to calculate the 
credit.  
 
The Fiscal Note for LB 456 estimates that the legislation will re-
duce Nebraska’s income tax revenue by $2.4 million in fiscal year 
2007-2008; $2.5 million in fiscal year 2008-2009; $3.6 million in 
fiscal year 2009-2010; and $3.7 million in fiscal year 2010-2011. 
The Fiscal Note states that currently there are 87 banks in Ne-
braska organized as subchapter S corporations.  
 
During floor debate on LB 456, it was revealed that within the past 
10 years many financial institutions organized as C corporations 
began converting to S corporations. Such conversions have been a 
nationwide trend since Congress enacted legislation (the Small 
Business Job Protection Act of 1996, P.L. 104-188) that expressly 
allowed banks to be organized as S corporations and authorized S 
corporations to establish and own “qualified S corporation sub-
sidiaries.”   
 
LB 456 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007.  
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LB 502—Increase Inheritance Tax Exemptions and Rates (Mines) 
 

As amended on the floor during a series of lively debates, LB 502 
increases inheritance tax exemptions (which have not been 
changed since Nebraska’s inheritance tax was first enacted in 
1901) and changes some, but not all, inheritance tax rates. The 
changes made by LB 502 will apply to all property passing from a 
decedent who dies on or after January 1, 2008.  
 

However, LB 502 does not change the fact that property passing 
from a decedent to his or her surviving spouse, or to a qualified 
tax-exempt organization, is fully exempt from inheritance tax.  
 

LB 502 increases from $10,000 to $40,000 the exemption for a 
decedent’s father, mother, grandfather, grandmother, brother, sis-
ter, son, daughter, child, legally adopted child, any lineal descen-
dant, any lineal descendant legally adopted, and any person to 
whom the decedent (for not less than ten years before death) stood 
in the acknowledged relation of a parent, or the spouse or surviv-
ing spouse of any such individuals. The inheritance tax rate appli-
cable to such persons remains unchanged at one percent. 
 

LB 502 increases from $2,000 to $15,000 the inheritance tax ex-
emption for a decedent’s uncle, aunt, niece, and nephew related to 
the decedent by blood or legal adoption, or other lineal descendant 
of any such individual, and the spouse or surviving spouse of any 
such individual. However, LB 502 increases the inheritance tax 
rate applicable to such persons from six percent to 13 percent. 
 

In all other cases (e.g., property passing from a decedent to a cor-
poration that is not a tax-exempt organization), LB 502 increases 
the inheritance tax exemption from $500 to $10,000 and provides 
for a flat-rate inheritance tax of 18 percent.  Thus, in such cases 
involving decedents who die before 2008, graduated tax rates 
ranging from six percent (for property with a clear market value 
up to $5,000) to 18 percent (for property with a clear market value 
of $50,000 or more) will apply. 
  

Nebraska inheritance tax revenue has always gone to county gov-
ernment—never to state government—and LB 502 does not 
change that. Much of the floor debate on LB 502 concerned county 
governments’ need for and reliance on inheritance tax revenue. In 
recognition of such needs and reliance, LB 502 enhances enforce-
ment of the tax by creating a penalty for failing to timely “file an 
appropriate proceeding” (e.g., probate proceeding) to determine 
liability for inheritance taxes. If such a proceeding is not filed 
within 12 months after the date of the decedent’s death, a penalty 
applies. The penalty is equal to the “amount due” (presumably 
taxes plus interest) multiplied by five percent per month, up to a 
maximum penalty of 25 percent of the “unpaid taxes due.”   
 

Finally, LB 502 does not change the fact that Nebraska inheritance 
tax payments are generally deductible when determining a dece-
dent’s federal estate tax liability. 
  

LB 502 passed 42-1 and was approved by the Governor on April 
25, 2007.  
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LB 551—Change the Convention Center Facility Financing Assistance 
Act (Flood, Ashford, Howard, and Mines) 
 

LB 551, as amended, overhauls the Convention Center Facility Fi-
nancing Assistance Act, which was first enacted by Laws 1999, LB 
382. Experience since 1999 shows that the act’s funding mecha-
nism has been inadequate to service the tax debt without a prop-
erty tax increase. [For a summary of Laws 1999, LB 382, see A Re-
view: Ninety-Sixth Legislature, First Session, 1999, pp. 104-109, 
Legislative Research Division (August 1999).] 
 
LB 551 changes the act’s funding mechanism and expands the act’s 
reach by authorizing financial assistance for sports arena facilities 
of appropriate size and quality to host regional, national, or inter-
national events. It limits the amount of state assistance under the 
act to a designated portion of state sales tax revenue collected by 
retailers and operators doing business at such facilities on sales at 
such facilities; state sales tax revenue collected on primary and 
secondary box office sales of admissions to such facilities; and 
state sales tax revenue collected by associated hotels. The changes 
made by LB 551 apply to state sales tax revenue collected since 
July 1, 2006. 
 
LB 551 requires that any state assistance received under the act be 
used only for public purposes and that such assistance cannot be 
used for an operating subsidy or other ancillary facility. Any mu-
nicipality, except a city that has received funding under the act, 
can apply for a grant of assistance under the act; however, applica-
tions for assistance under the act will not be accepted after June 1, 
2010. 
 
LB 551 streamlines the application process by eliminating the need 
to include certain information that is no longer relevant to an ap-
plication for assistance and it changes the act’s audit require-
ments. LB 551 gives responsibility for audits to the Tax Commis-
sioner and it imposes certain information-reporting requirements. 
The Tax Commissioner will use such information to determine the 
appropriate amount of state sales tax revenue.  
 
LB 551 makes coordinating changes to the act’s funding formula. 
The legislation expresses the Legislature’s intent to appropriate 
funds from the Convention Center Support Fund an amount of 
money up to: 
 

(1) 70 percent of state sales tax revenue collected by retail-
ers and operators doing business at such facilities on sales 
at such facilities, state sales tax revenue collected on pri-
mary and secondary box office sales of admissions to such 
facilities, and state sales tax revenue collected by associ-
ated hotels; 
(2) $75 million for any one approved project; or  
(3) The total cost of acquiring, constructing, improving, or 
equipping the eligible facility. 
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Same as before enactment of LB 551, state assistance to the politi-
cal subdivision will no longer be made available upon retirement 
of bonds issued to acquire, construct, improve, or equip the facility 
(or upon retirement of any subsequent refunding bonds) or when 
state assistance reaches the amount to be appropriated by the Leg-
islature from the Convention Center Support Fund, whichever 
comes first.  
 
The remaining 30 percent of the revenue collected will be appro-
priated by the Legislature to the Local Civic, Cultural, and Conven-
tion Center Financing Fund. Any municipality that has applied for 
and received a grant of assistance under the Local Civic, Cultural, 
and Convention Center Financing Act cannot receive state assis-
tance under the Convention Center Facility Financing Assistance 
Act. (Laws 1999, LB 382, adopted the Local Civic, Cultural, and 
Convention Center Financing Act too.) 
 
Ten percent of the funds appropriated to a city of the metropolitan 
class (Omaha is the only city of the metropolitan class in Ne-
braska) will be equally distributed to areas with a high concentra-
tion of poverty to showcase important historical aspects of such 
areas. LB 551 defines “an area with a high concentration of pov-
erty” to mean “an area within the corporate limits of a city of the 
metropolitan class consisting of one or more contiguous tracts, as 
determined by the most recent federal decennial census, which 
contain a percentage of families below the poverty line of greater 
than thirty percent, as determined by the most recent federal de-
cennial census.” 
 
Each poverty area that receives such funds must establish a devel-
opment fund and form a committee that will identify and research 
potential projects and make final determinations on the use of 
state sales tax revenue received for such projects. The committee 
will have three members, including a: (1) member of the city coun-
cil; (2) county commissioner; and (3) resident of the area with a 
high concentration of poverty, appointed by the other two mem-
bers of the committee. 
 
The city council and county commissioner members of the com-
mittee must represent a district that includes a majority of the 
census tracts which each contain a percentage of families below 
the poverty line of greater than 30 percent, as determined by the 
most recent federal decennial census, within the area with a high 
concentration of poverty. 
 
The committee must solicit project ideas from the public and hold 
a public hearing in the area with a high concentration of poverty. 
Notice of such hearing must be published in accordance with the 
requirements of Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 18-2115.  
The committee must research potential projects in its area and 
make the final determination regarding the annual distribution of 
funding to such projects. 
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LB 551 passed with the emergency clause 38-9 and was approved 
by the Governor on May 31, 2007. 

 
LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LB 106—Change Taxation of Tobacco Products (Engel) 
 

LB 106, a Revenue Committee priority bill, would have changed 
Nebraska’s taxation of “snuff,” a smokeless tobacco product. Un-
der current law, the rate of tax for all tobacco products other than 
cigarettes (e.g., cigars, pipe tobacco, loose leaf tobacco, chewing 
tobacco not sold in a can, and snuff) is 20 percent of the tobacco 
product’s wholesale price. Tax revenue collected from the whole-
sale sale of tobacco products is credited to the Tobacco Products 
Administration Cash Fund, to cover costs of administering the tax, 
and to the state’s General Fund.  
 
As introduced, LB 106 would have taxed snuff and chewing to-
bacco sold in a tin can at the rate of $0.50 per ounce, or fraction of 
an ounce. In addition, LB 106 would have adopted the federal gov-
ernment’s definition of snuff (i.e., any finely cut, ground, or pow-
dered tobacco not meant for smoking). The proposed changes 
would have been operative October 1, 2007. The bill’s Fiscal Note 
recognized that the proposed changes might generate additional 
revenue in the short term, but anticipated a definite loss of reve-
nue in the long term because “a weight-based method of taxation . 
. . is not automatically adjusted for inflation or any other increase 
in wholesale price. . . .” 
 
The Standing Committee amendment proposed to gut the original 
bill and create two classifications for taxing tobacco other than 
cigarettes. The tax on “smoking tobacco” (e.g., cigars, pipe to-
bacco, and loose leaf tobacco) would have remained 20 percent of 
the product’s wholesale price, while the tax on “tobacco products” 
(e.g., snuff and chewing tobacco not sold in a tin can) would have 
been $0.65 per ounce. The rationale for the two classifications, as 
expressed in the Committee Statement, is that tobacco products, 
such as snuff, “are ordinarily sold by weight while smoking to-
bacco is not.” 
 
However, during floor debate, the committee amendment was di-
vided and amended before the bill advanced to Select File. One of 
the adopted amendments to the divided committee amendment 
proposed increasing the tax rate to $1.05 per ounce for tobacco 
products. An attempt to make the bill revenue neutral lost. 
 
On Final Reading, LB 106 passed 30-12, but the Governor vetoed 
the measure on April 5, 2007.  
 
In his veto message, Governor Heineman stated that he could have 
supported the bill as advanced to General File by the Revenue  
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Committee, but that he could not support the Final Reading ver-
sion of the bill:  
 

In my view, this bill is a tax increase not based on sound 
public policy but rather on a desire to increase the tax on 
tobacco products. Further consideration should be given as 
to how such a dramatic increase in the tax affects the ulti-
mate consumer.  

 
The Legislature did not attempt to override the veto and LB 106 
never became law. 
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TRANSPORTATION AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE 
Senator Deb Fischer, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LB 307—Change Provisions Relating to the Operation of All-Terrain 
Vehicles (Stuthman) 
 

Cities and villages are authorized to regulate the operation of all-
terrain vehicles (ATVs) within their corporate limits via the en-
actment of LB 307.  
 
Specifically, LB 307 authorizes the operation of an ATV on a high-
way, other than a controlled-access highway: 
 

• Outside the corporate limits of a city, village, or unincorpo-
rated village if the operation is incidental to the vehicle’s 
use for agricultural purposes;  

• Within the corporate limits of a city or village if authorized 
by a duly enacted ordinance; or 

• Within an unincorporated village if authorized by a duly 
passed county resolution.  

 
A controlled-access highway is a highway or road to which owners 
or occupants of land abutting the highway have no legal right of 
access to or egress from except as determined by the public au-
thority having jurisdiction over the highway. (LB 307 specifically 
prohibits the operation of an ATV on a controlled-access highway 
with more than two marked traffic lanes. Crossing the controlled-
access highway is also prohibited.) 
 
LB 307 allows an ATV to cross a highway, other than a controlled-
access highway, if the: 
 

• Crossing is made at a 90-degree angle to the direction of 
the highway and at a place where no obstruction prevents a 
quick and safe exit; 

• ATV is brought to a complete stop before crossing the 
shoulder or roadway of the highway;  

• ATV driver yields the right-of-way to all oncoming traffic; 
• Crossing is made only at an intersection of two highways; 

and 
• Headlight and taillight of the ATV are on. 

 
Exceptions to these operating restrictions currently exist for ATVs 
driven during parades and operated by electric utility personnel 
within the course of their employment.  LB 307 does not change 
these exceptions. 
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Finally, LB 307 requires an ATV operator to maintain liability in-
surance and carry proof of insurance when operating the ATV on a 
highway. 
 
LB 307 passed 29-1 and was approved by the Governor on March 
7, 2007. 

 
LB 415—Change Provisions Relating to Vehicle Operators’ Licenses 
and Learners’ Permits (Harms) 
 

With the passage of LB 415, the Legislature places additional re-
strictions on Nebraska’s youngest, most inexperienced drivers.  
 
Specifically, LB 415 prohibits the holder of any provisional opera-
tor’s permit, school permit, or learner’s permit from using a mo-
bile or cellular telephone; a text-messaging device; a Palm Pilot, 
BlackBerry, or other personal digital assistant; an audio-video 
player; a laptop computer; or any other interactive wireless com-
munication device while he or she is driving.  
 
The bill further restricts the holder of any provisional operator’s 
permit from transporting more than one passenger who is not an 
immediate family member and who is younger than 19 years of age 
at any one time for the first six months he or she has the permit. 
 
A violation of either provision is a secondary offense, meaning the 
permit holder can only be cited for a violation when he or she has 
been cited or charged with another vehicle law violation. 
 
LB 415 adds eligibility requirements for a provisional operator’s 
permit by requiring a person to: (1) have a learner’s permit for at 
least six months; (2) have accumulated less than three points for 
driving violations during the immediately preceding six-month pe-
riod before applying for the operator’s permit; and (3) include at 
least 10 hours of night-time driving experience within the requisite 
50-hours’ behind-the-wheel experience.  
 
The cell-phone ban generated the most discussion as LB 415 ad-
vanced through the legislative process. Supporters of the ban be-
lieve it will save teens’ lives, while opponents countered that it was 
unfair to single out the state’s youngest drivers and enforcement 
would be problematic. 
 
While the Legislature passed LB 415, 32-5, Governor Heineman 
vetoed the measure. On April 26, 2007, the Legislature overrode 
the Governor’s veto by a vote of 33-7.  

 
LB 570—Provide for Gold Star Family License Plates (Louden, Chris-
tensen, Dubas, and Hansen) 
 

With the passage of LB 570, the Department of Motor Vehicles, in 
consultation with the Department of Veterans’ Affairs, is author-
ized to design license plates, to be known as Gold Star Family 
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plates.  Beginning January 1, 2010, families of men and women 
who died while serving in good standing in the United States 
Armed Forces can apply for the specialty plates.  
 
The bill directs the Department of Motor Vehicles to design two 
types of plates: consecutively numbered plates and personalized 
message plates.  
 
To receive the Gold Star Family license plates, an applicant must: 
 

(1) Pay the requisite fee ($15 for numerical plates and $40 for 
message plates); and 

(2) Furnish satisfactory proof that he or she is a surviving 
spouse, whether remarried or not; an ancestor, including a 
stepparent; a descendant, including a stepchild; a foster 
parent or a person in loco parentis; or a sibling, of a person 
who died in good standing on active duty in the military 
service of the United States. 

 
Only one motor vehicle or trailer owned by the applicant is eligible 
for the specialty plates. Revenue from the sale of the license plates 
is to be credited to the Department of Motor Vehicles Cash Fund 
and the Nebraska Veteran Cemetery System Operation Fund. 
 
LB 570 was hotly contested on General and Select File. Supporters 
of the measure believed the plates might offer families a small to-
ken of solace and support over the loss of their loved one, while 
opponents countered that license plates are for vehicle identifica-
tion purposes and not meant to advertise or advocate an issue or 
cause. 
 
LB 570 passed 47-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 31, 
2007. 

 
LB 661—Change Provisions Relating to Telecommunications (Trans-
portation and Telecommunications Committee) 
 

LB 661 makes several changes to Nebraska’s telecommunications 
laws. As originally introduced, the bill required providers of voice 
over Internet protocol services (VoIP) to collect and remit sur-
charges for purposes of the Telecommunications Relay System Act 
and the Emergency Telephone Communications Systems Act.  
 
As enacted, and in addition to its original provisions, LB 661 in-
cludes provisions originally found in LB 560 and LB 660. 
 
Specifically, LB 661 requires VoIP providers to collect a surcharge 
of not more than 20 cents per month for purposes of telecommu-
nications relay services and a surcharge, in an amount determined 
by the local governing body of the 911 service area, for purposes of 
emergency telephone services (landline 911 service).  The sur-
charges are imposed on each telephone number or functional 
equivalent, including wireless service. Except for wireless service, 
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the surcharges are only collected on the first 100 telephone num-
bers or functional equivalents per subscriber and are not imposed 
on subscribers who have no access to relay service or landline 911 
service.  
 
VoIP providers are also required to contribute to the Nebraska 
Universal Service Fund.  
 
Additionally, the bill eliminates a cap on funds available to provide 
telecommunications relay equipment to the deaf and hard-of- 
hearing. Prior law limited the amount appropriated for specialized 
equipment to the revenue generated by one cent of the surcharge 
per month. 
 
Pursuant to LB 661, users of prepaid wireless services are required 
to pay a surcharge for purposes of providing enhanced wireless 911 
service (E-911 service). The bill directs the Public Service Commis-
sion to establish the surcharge amount—which is to be comparable 
to surcharges imposed on other users of wireless services—and to 
develop collection and remittance procedures.  The surcharge is 
not imposed on users who have no E-911 service.  
 
With the enactment of LB 661, wireless carriers are required to 
pay audit costs and to take legal action to collect the E-911 and re-
lay surcharges if necessary. 
 
Additionally, the membership of the Enhanced Wireless 911 Advi-
sory Board is changed by eliminating one representative from the 
telecommunications industry and adding a representative from 
the general public.  
 
Finally, LB 661 requires all telecommunications providers not cer-
tified by the Public Service Commission to file limited contact in-
formation with the commission and pay a one-time registration 
fee of $50. Contact information must be provided for purposes of 
the Nebraska Universal Service Fund, the telecommunications re-
lay system, wireless E-911 service, and consumer complaints. This 
requirement applies to all communication providers, except those 
who are otherwise regulated by the Nebraska Telecommunications 
Act (i.e., landline telephone companies). Broadband service pro-
viders must provide a contact person with managerial responsibil-
ity for Nebraska operations.  
 
LB 661 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved 
by the Governor on April 4, 2007. 

  
LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LB 253—Adopt the Motorcycle Safety and Training Act (Rogert, Agui-
lar, Erdman, Langemeier, Mines, Nantkes, White, and Hudkins) 
 

LB 253 would adopt the Motorcycle Safety and Training Act; thus 
eliminating the mandatory helmet requirement for motorcycle and 
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moped operators who are 21 years of age or older as of January 1, 
2008.  A similar measure (LB 70) was introduced in 2005. LB 70 
sparked spirited debate throughout the 2005 session, until a failed 
cloture motion on the 88th legislative day stalled the bill on Select 
File. 
 
LB 253 enjoyed a quieter ride in 2007.  As introduced, LB 253 
would eliminate the mandatory helmet requirement for any driver 
who is at least 21 years old, wears eye protection, and carries proof 
of successful completion of a motorcycle safety education course.  
Additionally, any driver who was born prior to January 1, 1987, is 
equipped with eye protection, and was issued a Class M license be-
fore January 1, 2008, would be exempt from the mandatory hel-
met provisions. Any person exempt from the requirements would 
be required to have the words “helmet not required” printed on his 
or her license.  
 
Under the bill, violation of the eye-protection requirements would 
be a primary violation, while violation of the helmet requirement 
would be a secondary violation, meaning that a driver could only 
be cited for a helmet law violation if he or she has been cited for 
another vehicle law violation. 
 
Additionally, LB 253 would authorize the Department of Motor 
Vehicles to establish minimum requirements for a motorcycle 
safety course and qualifications for course instructors.  
 
Finally, the bill would increase the motorcycle registration fee and 
impose fees on applications for safety-course approval and in-
structors’ licenses. Revenue from the fees would be credited to the 
Motorcycle Safety and Training Fund and used to provide funding 
for the motorcycle safety courses. 
 
LB 253 advanced to General File.  

 
LB 266—Provide for the Issuance of a Driving Privilege Card (Aguilar, 
Chambers, and Kruse) 
 

LB 266 would allow Nebraska residents who do not have social se-
curity numbers to be eligible for driving privilege cards.   
 
In essence, a driving privilege card would serve as an alternative 
motor vehicle operator’s license, a provisional operator’s permit, 
or an LPD-learner’s permit and would allow card holders to legally 
operate a motor vehicle, other than a commercial vehicle or mo-
torcycle, on Nebraska’s highways.  A driving privilege card could 
not serve as an alternative school permit, a seasonal permit, an 
employment permit, a medical hardship permit, or a farm permit. 
 
To receive a driving privilege card, an applicant would be required 
to provide reliable proof of his or her identity and age, proof of 
residency in Nebraska, or other satisfactory proof or documenta-

 103



tion, as determined by the Department of Motor Vehicles in duly 
adopted rules and regulations.   
 
Pursuant to LB 266, the driving privilege card could be used by 
law enforcement to verify that the card holder was licensed to op-
erate a motor vehicle and to check his or her driving record, but 
the card could not be used for other government identification 
purposes. 
 
LB 266 is being held in committee. 

 
State Compliance with Federal Real ID Act—LB 285 and LR 28 
 

In December 2004, in response to recommendations made by the 
9/11 Commission, Congress passed and the President signed into 
law the National Intelligence Reform Act of 2004. Among its many 
provisions, the law directed the U.S. Secretary of Transportation to 
establish a negotiated rule-making process to establish minimum 
standards for state-issued driver’s licenses and identification 
cards.  
 
Subsequently, in May 2005, the federal government enacted the 
Emergency Supplemental Appropriation for Defense, the Global 
War on Terror, and Tsunami Relief, 2005. In the 2005 legislation, 
the negotiated rule-making process was eliminated and replaced 
with the Real ID Act of 2005, which mandates federal standards 
for driver’s licenses and personal identification cards. 
 
To carry out the mandate prescribed in the Real ID Act, Ne-
braska’s Department of Motor Vehicles will be required to change 
all existing business practices relating to the issuance of driver’s li-
censes and personal identification cards. The department esti-
mates the state’s cost to implement the federal act to be approxi-
mately $26 million. (According to a 2006 study conducted by the 
National Conference of State Legislatures, the National Governors 
Association, and the American Association of Motor Vehicle Ad-
ministrators, the Real ID Act will cost states more than $11 billion 
to implement over a five-year period.) 
 
This year, the Transportation and Telecommunications Committee 
began discussions on Nebraska’s compliance with the federal act. 
 
LB 285, introduced by the Transportation and Telecommunica-
tions Committee, empowered the Director of Motor Vehicles to do 
all things necessary to comply with the Real ID Act. The bill is be-
ing held in committee. 
 
The committee also heard testimony on LR 28, a resolution in-
troduced by Senator Fischer.  Stating, among other things, that 
the Real ID Act of 2005 intrudes upon the states’ sovereign power 
and is an unfunded federal mandate, the resolution calls on Con-
gress to repeal the act. The resolution advanced to the floor of the 
Legislature and was adopted 37-0. However, resolutions, other 
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than resolutions proposing amendments to the Nebraska Consti-
tution, do not have the force of law. 

 

LB 330—Change Provisions of the Nebraska Telecommunications 
Regulation Act (Schimek, Howard, and Mines) 
 

LB 330 would change provisions of the Nebraska Telecommunica-
tions Regulation Act by allowing the Public Service Commission to 
resolve disputes between wireless telephone companies and con-
sumers regarding bills and service agreements. 
 

Specifically, the bill would prescribe a process by which disputes 
over bills and service agreements would be handled. If a dispute 
arose between a customer and a wireless carrier, the carrier would 
be required to investigate the dispute and report the findings to 
the customer.  
 

If the investigation did not settle the dispute, LB 330 would au-
thorize either the customer or the carrier to petition the Public 
Service Commission to hold a hearing on the issue.  Pursuant to 
the hearing, the commission could order payment or discharge of 
the disputed bill, order the disputed service agreement voided, or 
impose an administrative fine on the wireless carrier. Any order of 
the commission could be appealed pursuant to the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 
 

LB 330 is being held in committee. 
 
LB 663—Change Distribution and Allocation of Certain Motor Vehicle 
Registration Fees (Hudkins) 
 

LB 663 would change the distribution and allocation of commer-
cial motor vehicle registration fees.  
 

Currently, the registration fees are allocated as follows: (1) a col-
lection fee equal to 3 percent of the 30 percent of the collected reg-
istration fees is credited to the Department of Property Tax As-
sessment and Taxation Cash Fund; (2) the remainder of the 30 
percent is credited to the Motor Vehicle Tax Fund; and (3) 70 per-
cent is credited to the Highway Trust Fund. 
 

LB 663 would change the allocation: (1) the collection fee (equal to 
3 percent of the 30 percent) would be credited to the Motor Car-
rier Division Cash Fund; (2) the remainder of the 30 percent 
would be credited to the Highway Allocation Fund; and (3) 70 per-
cent would be credited to the Highway Trust Fund. 
 

The bill also would eliminate the Motor Vehicle Tax Fund and 
transfer any money in the fund on September 1, 2007, to the 
Highway Allocation Fund. 
 

Finally, LB 663 would allow pro rata motor vehicle license fee re-
ceipts received before September 1, 2006, to be considered an ac-
tual receipt when determining local system formula resources pur-
suant to the Tax Equity and Educational Opportunities Support 
Act. 
 
LB 663 advanced to General File.  While on General File, Senator 
Hudkins asked unanimous consent to bracket the bill.
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URBAN AFFAIRS 
Senator Mike Friend, Chairperson 
 
ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS 
 
LR 6CA—Constitutional Amendment to Allow the Investment of Public 
Endowment Funds by Cities Authorized to Establish a Charter (Avery, 
Aguilar, Fischer, Flood, Heidemann, Janssen, Johnson, McGill, Raikes, 
Schimek, Synowiecki, Wightman, and Gay) 
 

As originally introduced, LR 6CA proposed an amendment to Arti-
cle XI, section 1, of the Nebraska Constitution, which authorized 
the Legislature to allow cities, villages, school districts, public 
power districts, and other political subdivisions to invest their 
public endowment funds in a manner and in investments as the 
governing bodies of the political subdivisions may determine, sub-
ject to limitations by the Legislature. A similar proposal, LB 75, 
was passed by the Legislature in 2006, appeared on the 2006 gen-
eral election ballot, but was defeated. 
 
This year’s proposal, as well as the 2006 proposal and a measure 
introduced in 2005 are in response to a 2005 Attorney General’s 
opinion (Opinion No. 05006, March 8, 2005), which held that the 
Nebraska Constitution needed to be amended in order to give po-
litical subdivisions expanded investment authority.  
 
This year, as LR 6CA advanced through the legislative process, 
discussion centered on which political subdivisions actually 
needed expanded investment authority. As passed, LR 6CA pro-
poses an amendment to Article XI, section 1, which authorizes the 
Legislature to allow any city authorized by the Nebraska Constitu-
tion to adopt a charter to invest their public endowment funds in a 
manner and in investments as determined by the city’s governing 
body, subject to limitations by the Legislature.  (The Constitution 
authorizes cities having a population of 5,000 or more to establish 
a charter.) 
 
LR 6CA passed 42-2 and was presented to the Secretary of State 
on May 10, 2007. The measure will appear on the special election 
ballot on May 13, 2008. 

 
LB 11—Change Provisions Relating to Annexation by Cities of the 
First Class (Mines) 
 

With the passage of LB 11, a property owner whose property would 
otherwise qualify for annexation by a city of the first class can peti-
tion the city and request annexation of  the property. The bill gives 
the city council some flexibility when determining whether to ap-
prove the request for annexation. 
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Specifically, upon the receipt of an annexation request from a 
property owner, LB 11 allows the city council to: 
 

(1) Bypass the annexation requirements prescribed in subdivi-
sion (3),  (4), (5), or (6) of Neb. Rev. Stat. sec.  16-117, 
which requires a resolution of intent to annex by the city 
council, adoption of a resolution describing the plan for the 
provision of services to the area, holding a public hearing 
on the proposed plan for providing services, and publiciz-
ing the plans and requisite maps showing the annexed 
area; or 
 

(2) Follow the statutorily prescribed annexation procedure. 
 
LB 11 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on February 
9, 2007. 

 
LB 160—Change Provisions Relating to Certain Donations to Fire De-
partments (Cornett, Flood, Lathrop, Rogert, White, Howard, Pirsch, 
and Fischer) 
 

Pursuant to LB 160, any person, other than a vendor or manufac-
turer of fire control or rescue equipment, who donates fire control 
or rescue equipment to a fire department or a political subdivision 
for use by its fire department, will not be liable for civil damages 
for any personal injury, damage, loss, or death caused by the do-
nated equipment, unless the donor’s conduct was intentional or 
reckless or the donor acted with gross negligence. 
 
LB 160 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 4, 
2007. 

 
LB 206—Change Provisions Relating to the City Treasurer of a City of 
the Metropolitan Class (Friend) 
 

Prior to the enactment of LB 206, Nebraska law required, (1) the 
county treasurer of a county in which a city of the metropolitan 
class is located to serve as the ex officio city treasurer for the city; 
and (2) the city to pay additional compensation to the county 
treasurer for services provided to the city.  Omaha, located in 
Douglas County, is Nebraska’s only city of the metropolitan class, 
which meant that the  Douglas County treasurer served as the ex 
officio city treasurer of Omaha.  
 

With the passage of LB 206, the Douglas County treasurer no 
longer serves as Omaha’s treasurer. Instead, a member of the city’s 
finance department will serve as the city’s treasurer. The new 
treasurer is required to give bond in the amount required by the 
city finance director. And, the duty of the city to pay the county 
treasurer for his or her services as the ex officio treasurer is elimi-
nated. 
 
LB 206 passed 49-0 and was approved by the Governor on Febru-
ary 14, 2007. 
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LB 347—Change Bonding Requirements for Municipal Officers (Mines) 
 

LB 347 changes bonding requirements for municipal officers, 
which were first prescribed in 1881 and have not been substan-
tively amended since that date. 
 
As a possible alternative to the individual bonds required of  mu-
nicipal officers, LB 347 authorizes a municipality to provide and 
pay the premiums for a blanket bond or to provide evidence of 
equivalent insurance for all its municipal officers who are required 
to be bonded. 
 
LB 347 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on March 
19, 2007.  

 
LB 562—Change Provisions Relating to the Community Development 
Law (Adams, Carlson, Flood, Friend, Mines, and Stuthman) 
 

With the passage of LB 562, legislators expressed their desire to 
provide Nebraska’s cities and villages with another opportunity for 
economic development.  
 
Specifically, LB 562 amends the Community Development Law 
and allows a city or village to designate an enhanced employment 
area within its jurisdiction and to enter into an agreement with a 
developer to develop (or redevelop) the designated area.  
 
In order to finance an approved development plan, the bill author-
izes the city or village to impose an occupation tax within the des-
ignated enhanced employment area. Occupation tax receipts will 
then be used to pay revenue bonds issued by the city or village to 
finance improvements within the enhanced employment area. 
Once the revenue bonds are paid in full, the occupation tax will no 
longer be collected. 
 
An enhanced employment area may or may not be located within a 
substandard and blighted area. If it is, occupation tax proceeds can 
be applied to improvement projects in addition to the funds de-
rived from tax increment financing. 
 
LB 562 prescribes the following employment and investment crite-
ria that a development plan must meet in order to take advantage 
of the financing available under LB 562: 
 

• Two new employees and $125,000 of new investment in 
counties with a population of less than 15,000. 

• Five new employees and new investment of $250,000 in 
counties with a population between 15,000 and 25,000. 

• Ten new employees and new investment of $500,000 in 
counties with a population between 25,000 and 50,000. 

• Fifteen new employees and new investment of $1 million in 
counties with a population between 50,000 and 100,000. 
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• Twenty new employees and new investment of $1.5 million 
in counties with a population between 100,000 and 
200,000. 

• Twenty-five new employees and new investment of $2 mil-
lion in counties with a population between 200,000 and 
400,000. 

• Thirty new employees and new investment of $3 million in 
counties with a population greater than 400,000.  

 
And, any business occupying 130,000 square feet and having an-
nual gross sales totaling at least $10 million must provide an an-
nual health benefit of at least $3,000 to all new employees who 
work an average of at least 30 hours a week and have been em-
ployed by the business for at least six months.  
 
LB 562 passed 43-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 
25, 2007. 

 
 

 

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED 
 
LR 2CA—Constitutional Amendment to Remove Requirement that 
Property be Blighted for Purposes of Rehabilitating, Acquiring, or Re-
developing the Property through Use of Debt (Rogert) 
 

LR 2CA would propose an amendment to Article VIII, section 12, 
of the Nebraska Constitution. Specifically, the amendment would 
remove the requirement that a city or village declare property to 
be substandard and blighted in order to use public debt or special 
property tax treatment (known as tax increment financing) to de-
velop, rehabilitate, acquire, or redevelop the property. (A similar 
amendment, LR 272CA, was adopted by the Legislature in 2006, 
appeared on the 2006 general election ballot, but was defeated.) 
 
Additionally, the proposal would expand the use of tax increment 
financing to county projects and city or village projects located 
outside the corporate boundaries of the city or village. 
 
Finally, the proposal would authorize the Legislature to extend the 
term of tax increment financing from 15 to 30 years if more than 
one-half of a project’s property area is owned by the State of Ne-
braska and the indebtedness incurred for the projects cannot rea-
sonably be financed within 15 years. 
 
LR 2CA advanced to General File but was bracketed until January 
9, 2008. 
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LR 5CA—Constitutional Amendment to Authorize Use of Revenue 
Bonds to Develop and Lease Property for Use by Nonprofit Enter-
prises (Friend) 
 

LR 5CA would  propose an amendment to Article XIII, section 2, 
of the Nebraska Constitution, to authorize the use of revenue 
bonds to acquire, develop, or lease property for use by certain 
nonprofit enterprises.  
 
The proposed amendment would empower the Legislature to au-
thorize a county, city, or village to issue revenue bonds to acquire, 
own, develop, and lease real and personal property for use by non-
profit enterprises. The revenue bonds would be used to defray the 
cost of the property’s acquisition and development. The amend-
ment would prohibit the governing body of the political subdivi-
sion from imposing taxes for the payment of the bonds. (Similar 
amendments were introduced in 2002 and 2006, LR 4CA and LR 
2CA, respectively. Both amendments were passed by the Legisla-
ture but were defeated by the voters.) 
 
While the amendment would mandate property acquired pursuant 
to this provision be dedicated to a public purpose, the amendment 
specifically would prohibit use of the property as a place for sectar-
ian instruction, devotional activities, or religious worship. 
 
Additionally, the amendment would prohibit a political subdivi-
sion from using its power of condemnation to acquire the property 
and from operating the property as a business.  
 
Finally, the amendment would provide that revenue bonds issued 
under this provision would not become general obligation bonds 
of the issuing political subdivision. 
 
LR 5CA advanced to General File. 

 
LB 405—Provide for Additional City Council Members for Cities of the 
Metropolitan Class (Pedersen and Howard) 
 

Membership on Omaha’s city council would expand from seven to 
nine members had LB 405 been enacted. (Omaha is Nebraska’s 
only city of the metropolitan class.)   
 
Specifically, LB 405 directed the city council of a city of the metro-
politan class, within 90 days’ of LB 405’s effective date, to: 
 
(1) Divide the city into nine city council districts of compact and 
contiguous territory; and 
 
(2) Appoint two additional council members to serve until their 
successors are elected at the general city election in May 2009.  
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Supporters of the measure believed that the council needed the 
additional districts and members to guarantee the recently an-
nexed Elkhorn area representation on the Omaha City Council. 
 
LB 405 advanced to Select File but was bracketed until May 31, 
2007. 

 
LB 597—Change Provisions Relating to Zoning and Jurisdiction Des-
ignation for Cities of the First Class (Kopplin and Cornett) 
 

Current law allows a city of the first class to extend its jurisdiction 
to the unincorporated area two miles beyond and adjacent to its 
corporate boundaries. (This is known as extraterritorial jurisdic-
tion.) 
 
LB 597 would allow any first-class city whose boundaries are 
within three miles of a city of the metropolitan class but which is 
located in a different county to extend its extraterritorial jurisdic-
tion to three miles. 
 
A committee priority bill, LB 597 advanced to General File, with 
Standing Committee amendments pending. 
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