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INTRODUCTION

The following report provides a summary of significant legislative
issues addressed during the first session of the Ninety-eighth Legis-
lature of Nebraska. The report briefly describes many, but by no
means all, of the issues that arose during the session. Every attempt
has been made to present information as concisely and as objec-
tively as possible. The report is comprised of information gathered
from legislative records, committee chairpersons, committee staff
members, staff of the Legislative Fiscal Office, and the Unicameral
Update.

Bill summaries and summaries of legislative resolutions proposing
constitutional amendments can be found under the heading of the
legislative committee to which each bill or resolution was referred.
Because the subject matter of some legislation relates to more than
one committee, cross-referencing notes have been included as
needed. A bill number index and a legislative resolution index have
been included for ease of reference.

The authors wish to acknowledge the contributions of the legisla-
tive personnel who assisted in the preparation of this report.



AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE

Senator Bob Kremer, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 161—Change
Standards and Fees in
the Weights and

Measures Act
(Kremer)

LB 161 makes various changes to the Weights and Measures Act
(act). The Weights and Measures Division (division) of the Nebraska
Department of Agriculture provides regulatory protection for busi-
nesses and consumers who rely on package label representations and
the accuracy of sales made by weight, measure, and count. The divi-
sion is statutorily required to: (1) inspect packaged commodities for
accuracy of weight and measure; and (2) test and inspect at least once
annually all commercial weighing and measuring devices (devices).
The division has conducted over 30,000 inspections annually in recent
years.

The bill establishes a fee structure reflecting the department’s new
approach to establishing fees. The new fee structure is designed so the
collection of revenue more closely matches expenditures, to avoid the
buildup of excessive fund balances.

LB 161 keeps the annual registration fee for a device at four dollars.
However, the bill raises fees for the annual inspection of devices such
as scales, pumps, and meters. (The inspection fee varies for each de-
vice according to the burden it places on the division to perform the
inspection.) The bill sets inspection fees effective August 1, 2003, and
establishes a maximum amount at which the director can set fees ef-
fective August 1, 2004, and every August thereafter. The bill also
provides that: (1) the annual cash revenue from fees cannot exceed
107 percent of the cash fund appropriation for the act; and (2) the
year-end cash balance cannot exceed 17 percent (approximately two
months revenue) of the cash appropriation.

The fee increases were necessitated by reductions in the division’s
general funds and transfers from the Weights and Measures Cash
Fund.

The bill updates the act by incorporating sections of the most recent
National Conference of Weights and Measures standards, as contained
in the National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbooks.
The bill incorporates all of two handbooks and parts of another which
provide standards for weighing and measuring devices; packaging,
labeling, and contents of packaged goods; and the sale of bulk com-
modities.



LB 161 passed with the emergency clause 40-4 and was approved by
the Governor on March 20, 2003.

LB 250—Change Food
Safety Code Require-

ments
(Kremer)

LB 250 updates the Nebraska Pure Food Act (act), which regulates all
commercial food in the state including the licensing and inspection of
food establishments such as: (1) restaurants, bars, grocery stores, and
bakeries; (2) food storage facilities; (3) mobile food operations; and
(4) vending machines. In addition, the bill incorporates provisions
contained in the 2001 Food Code (code), a publication of the United
States Food and Drug Administration, as part of the act. The code
provides model regulation for food sanitation, preparation and stor-
age, and presentation.

The bill narrows the definition of food establishments that are exempt
from the act. Prior to the enactment of LB 250, food establishments
selling only prepackaged, non-hazardous foods were exempt. LB 250
narrows this exemption to food establishments that sell only certain
soft drinks and snacks. Additionally, the bill exempts: (1) pharmacies
selling only pharmaceutical, medicinal, or health supplement foods;
and (2) non-hazardous foods, prepared in private homes for farmers’
markets, as long as the consumer is informed the food was prepared in
an unregulated, uninspected kitchen.

LB 250 requires food establishments, except for temporary and mo-
bile food units, to have permanent running water located in the same
building and at least one permanent toilet. It also establishes new
cold-holding requirements and sell-by dates for potentially hazardous
foods. The bill adopts the general standard that potentially hazardous
food kept at 45 degrees Fahrenheit must be consumed within four cal-
endar days and food kept at 41 degrees must be consumed within
seven days.

The bill further requires food establishments, food-processing plants,
and salvage operations must have an initial operating permit. If in-
spections are required, then an annual inspection fee is also needed.
The Director of Agriculture (director) is also authorized to raise fees.

The director must set fees by July 1, 2003, and by every July 1 there-
after for the various types of food establishments. However, the fees
cannot be higher than the maximum fee prescribed in the bill, and (1)
the annual cash revenue from the fees cannot be higher than 107 per-
cent of the cash fund appropriation for the act; and (2) the year-end
cash balance cannot be greater than 17 percent (approximately two
months revenue) of the cash fund appropriation. Any fee change must
be allocated equally among all food establishment categories.



LB 250 also extends sanitation and quality requirements of the
Graded Egg Act to producers with fewer than 3,000 hens. However,
such producers are still exempt from license and inspection fees.

LB 250 passed with the emergency clause 42-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 16, 2003.

LB 754—Provide
Criteria to Recognize
Livestock-Friendly
Counties and Change
Provisions Relating to
Conditional Use
Permits for Livestock

Operations

(Bromm, Burling, Erdman,
Jones, Dw. Pedersen,
Stuhr, Stuthman, and
Wehrbein)

LB 754 provides for the designation of livestock-friendly counties.
The bill directs the Nebraska Department of Agriculture (department)
to establish criteria for selecting counties that apply to be designated
as “livestock-friendly.” Criteria can include: (1) a resolution passed
by a county board expressing an interest in developing the livestock
industry; (2) assurances that the county intends to work with other
governmental entities in the county to implement livestock industry
development; and (3) a commitment to comply with the Livestock
Waste Management Act.

Additionally, the bill directs the department to develop a data base to
provide county zoning authorities (zoning authorities) with informa-
tion sources to assist in evaluating conditional use applications. (Con-
ditional uses or special exceptions for livestock operation permits can
be required by zoning authorities.)

The bill allows permit applicants to request a determination of any
special conditions or requirements to be included with the permit.
Zoning authorities must adjudge the determination request in a timely
manner. However, zoning authorities can withhold final approval of
the permit to determine if there has been a substantial change in an
applicant’s proposed use of the property and whether the special con-
ditions or requirements are being met. Zoning authorities are required
to provide a statement of factual findings with their decisions.

During debate on the measure, proponents contended that the live-
stock-friendly designation would promote Nebraska’s livestock in-
dustry, seen as vital to the state’s economy; while opponents argued
that LB 754 would deter counties’ regulation of large animal con-
finement operations.

LB 754 passed 39-5 and was approved by the Governor on May 28,
2003.






APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE

Senator Roger Wehrbein, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

Biennial Budget Package

“Show me the money!” was the battle cry of the Appropriations
Committee during the 2003 session as the committee struggled to find
money with which to fund the operations of state government and
meet its constitutionally mandated duty to balance the budget.

The budget dominated the 2002 session. A budget-cutting special ses-
sion was held before the 2002 session. After adjourning sine die in
April 2002, Nebraska’s budget woes continued, and a second budget-
cutting session was needed in November 2002. The economic picture
was not any brighter in 2003. Having repeatedly cut agency and pro-
gram budgets, the Appropriations Committee struggled to find more
areas to cut. The Revenue and Education committees, as well as the
rest of the Legislature, joined in the hunt for a solution to the state’s
budget shortfall.

During the final weeks of the 2003 session, senators united behind a
solution to balance the state’s budget. Generally, 52.1 percent of the
legislative solution to the budget crisis comes in the form of budget
cuts, while the remaining 47.9 percent is prescribed in revenue ac-
tions. Following is a summary of the Appropriations Committee’s
budget package. LB 759 contains the bulk of the Legislature’s tax
package and is discussed beginning on p. 96, and LB 540 contains
changes in the school state aid formula and is discussed beginning on
p. 32.

The bulk of the Appropriations Committee’s budget package is con-
tained in LB 407, the mainline appropriations bill.

Generally, LB 407 makes spending cuts and reduces growth rates for
most of Nebraska’s state agencies and many of the state’s programs
and services. State agencies received budget reductions ranging from
2.5 percent to 10 percent; however, some agencies and programs, such
as the Department of Correctional Services and some state foster care
and welfare programs, received budget increases.

LB 407 significantly reduces state aid to public education. State aid to
schools is reduced by approximately $60 million. The University of
Nebraska experiences a net budget reduction of $29.7 million from
FY2002-03. (The university takes an initial $57 million cut, but funds
appropriated for salaries and health insurance result in the net budget



reduction.) And, Nebraska’s state and community colleges also re-
ceive significant budget reductions.

Additionally, LB 407 reduces state aid to cities and counties by ap-
proximately $8 million in FY2003-04 and another $1 million in
FY2004-05.

In what one senator described as a “very bold move,” on Select File,
the Legislature voted to close the Lincoln Correctional Center by
eliminating its funding for FY2004-05. Closing the center is expected
to save the state a little over $7 million. The Lincoln Correctional
Center is a medium-maximum security correctional facility that cur-
rently houses approximately 468 prisoners. While the original
amendment closing the center called for closure on October 1, 2003, a
subsequent amendment was adopted delaying the closing until Octo-
ber 1, 2004. Supporters of closing the center believe that a drastic
move is necessary to stop the spiraling costs of the corrections system
and to force legislators and other interested parties to study alterna-
tives to incarceration, such as improved community corrections pro-
grams and parole.

LB 407 eliminates state funding in FY2004-05 for the Nebraska
Commission on the Status of Women. An earlier budget proposal also
eliminated funding in FY2004-05 for two other advocacy commis-
sions, the Mexican-American Commission and the Commission on
Indian Affairs, but funding for the two advocacy commissions was
subsequently restored.

LB 407 also eliminates funding for a tobacco prevention program,
which was scheduled to receive almost $6 million over the biennium;
however, partial funding for the program (approximately $800,000
over the biennium) was restored via the passage of LB 285A, dis-
cussed on p. 9.

A government structure and taxation task force is created in LB 407.
The task force is directed to study the state’s tax system and its gov-
ernmental and educational structures, with an eye towards whether the
system or structures can or need to be changed in order to make state
government as efficient as possible while continuing to provide qual-
ity services to its citizens.

LB 407 passed with the emergency clause 37-11. In a rare use of his
veto authority, rather than use the line-item veto, Governor Johanns
vetoed LB 407 in its entirety. Legislators, in turn, voted to override
the veto 37-11.



Other bills in the budget package include:

LB 402, which makes budget adjustments totaling $22.1
million for FY2002-03. Included in the adjustments are
$10 million for Nebraska’s child welfare program and
$8.43 million to the Department of Correctional Services
for inmate medical costs. The bill also includes several
reimbursements to the General Fund. LB 402 passed with

the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved by the Gov-
ernor on May 26, 2003.

LB 403, which establishes procedures for building the op-
erations center at the Lincoln National Guard base. The
bill passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was ap-
proved by the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 404, which appropriates funds for salaries of constitu-
tional officers and judges. The bill passed with the emer-

gency clause 49-0 and was approved by the Governor on
May 26, 2003.

LB 405, which appropriates funds for legislators’ salaries.
The bill passed with the emergency clause 49-0 and was
approved by the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 406, which appropriates approximately $39 million for
capital construction projects. The bill passed with the
emergency clause 48-0 and was approved by the Governor
on May 26, 2003.

LB 408, which makes numerous fund transfers, including:

(1) $925,000 from the Environmental Trust Fund to
the Department of Natural Resources Water Issues
Cash Fund;

(2) $1,088,472 from the Information Technology In-
frastructure Fund to the General Fund; and

(3) $993,281 from the Carrier Enforcement Cash Fund
to the Nebraska State Patrol Cash Fund.

LB 408 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and
was approved by the Governor on May 26, 2003.



LB 410, which suspends and later reduces depreciation
charge assessments on state buildings. As enacted, the bill
also contains the provisions of LB 627, which changes the
allocation of revenue from the assessments. LB 410 passed
with the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved by the
Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 411, which caps Medicaid growth by changing certain
eligibility levels and reducing the program’s coverage of
certain services. The bill was heard by the Health and Hu-
man Services Committee and is discussed beginning on p.
55.

LB 412, which shifts $5 million from the Nebraska Health
Care Cash Fund to the Children’s Health Insurance Fund.
LB 412 was also a bill heard by the Health and Human
Services Committee and is discussed beginning on p. 56.

LB 414, which authorizes the Department of Health and
Human Services to adjust rates paid to child care providers
who participate in the state’s child care assistance pro-
gram. The bill is intended to freeze child care provider
rates. Like LB 411 and 412, LB 414 was heard by the
Health and Human Services Committee and is discussed
beginning on p. 57.

LB 415, which eliminates the General Fund appropriation
to the Health Care Facility Licensure Act. The act will now
be self-funded through licensing fees. LB 415 passed with
the emergency clause 48-0 and was approved by the Gov-
ernor on May 26, 2003.

LB 424, which creates a new Treasury Management Cash
Fund and provides that “a pro rata share of the budget ap-
propriated for the treasury management functions of the
State Treasurer shall be charged to the income of each
fund held in invested cash, and such charges shall be trans-
ferred to the Treasury Management Cash Fund.” Addition-
ally, the bill provides that intangible personal property
distributable in the course of a demutualization of a life in-
surance corporation that remains unclaimed is presumed
abandoned two years after the date of distribution. The bill
also transfers $700,000 from the unclaimed property trust
fund to the General Fund and $100,000 from the un-
claimed property trust fund to the Treasury Management



Cash Fund. Finally, as enacted, the bill contains provisions
of LB 409, authorizing the materiel division administrator
of the Department of Administrative Services to assess
charges for providing purchasing services to state agen-
cies, boards, and commissions. LB 424 passed with the
emergency clause 46-0 and was approved by the Governor
on May 26, 2003.

* LB 796, which authorizes the Legislature to prorate funds
appropriated for the school breakfast program. LB 796 was
heard by the Education Committee and is discussed on p.
36.

* LB 798, which makes a variety of transfers from the Cash
Reserve Fund. Included in the transfers are:

(1) $3 million in each year of the biennium to the Gen-
eral Fund; and

(2) $5.7 million for a new veterans’ home to be built in
Douglas County. The bill provides that the transfer is
to be made before June 30, 2008, and the new veter-
ans’ home will replace the existing Thomas Fitzgerald
Veterans’ Home.

The bill also clarifies that any unspecified federal funds that
the state might receive are to be deposited in the Cash Reserve
Fund. LB 798 passed with the emergency clause 48-0 and was
approved by the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 285A—Appropri-
ate Funds to the De-
partment of Health
and Human Services
and the

Department of

Agriculture
(Landis)

LB 285A was originally introduced as the accompanying appropria-
tions bill to LB 285, which would have changed Nebraska’s sales tax
rate. However, during the course of debate on LB 285, the bill was
amended, and an appropriations bill was no longer needed.

Consequently, LB 285A was amended to appropriate $405,000 in
funding in each of the next two fiscal years for a tobacco prevention
and control program administered by the Department of Health and
Human Services. The program’s funding had been eliminated by an
amendment to LB 407, the mainline appropriations bill. With the en-
actment of LB 285A, funding is partially restored.

Also added to LB 285A was an appropriation of $250,000 for
FY2002-03 to the Department of Agriculture to pay for spraying the
state’s grasshopper population.



LB 285A passed with the emergency clause 36-1 and was approved
by the Governor on May 30, 2003.

LB 440—Change
Allocations from
Cigarette Tax
Proceeds to the
Municipal Infrastruc-
ture Redevelopment

Fund (MIRF)
(Thompson)

10

With the enactment of LB 440, for the next two fiscal years, cigarette
tax proceeds will no longer be allocated to help fund municipal infra-
structure redevelopment projects undertaken by any city or village,
except a city of the primary class. (Lincoln is Nebraska’s only city of
the primary class.) The immediate impact of the reallocation means
that approximately $2.5 million dollars more will be credited to the
General Fund each of the next two fiscal years.

Beginning in FY2005-06 and continuing through FY2008-09, ciga-
rette tax proceeds will again be allocated to MIRF. After FY2008-09,
the MIRF allocation is permanently eliminated.

During the course of debate on LB 440, an amendment was adopted
which allows the city of Lincoln to retain its MIRF allocation for the
next two fiscal years. Supporters of the amendment explained that
Lincoln needed to keep the allocation because the city had already
issued bonds against it. Therefore, in exchange for keeping its MIRF
allocation, Lincoln’s general state aid included in LB 407, the main-
line appropriations bill, is reduced by approximately $520,000 in
each of the next two fiscal years.

LB 440 passed with the emergency clause 41-2 and was approved by
the Governor on May 26, 2003.



BANKING, COMMERCE, AND INSURANCE

COMMITTEE

Senator Mark Quandahl, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 128—Shift Burden
of Loss in Demand-
Draft Fraud Cases
from the Payor Bank

to the Depository Bank
(Quandahl)

Essentially, LB 128 amends Articles 3 and 4 of the Uniform Com-
mercial Code (UCC) to shift the burden of loss in demand-draft fraud
cases from the payor bank to the depository bank. (UCC Article 3
governs negotiable instruments, while UCC Article 4 governs bank
deposits and collections.)

One increasingly common situation in which the new rules will apply
involves the so-called check-by-phone method of making a payment,
such as making a payment on a credit card account by telephoning the
credit card issuer’s billing department and making arrangements with
a customer service representative to effectuate a check-by-phone
payment.

The changes made by LB 128 that concern “transfer warranties” and
“presentment warranties” under UCC Articles 3 and 4 are very similar
to one another; however, the changes are not identical in every respect
and for that reason each change is discussed separately below.

UCC Article 3: Key Terms Defined

For purposes of UCC Article 3, LB 128 defines “check” to include a
“demand draft” and goes on to define “demand draft” to mean: “[a]
writing not signed by a customer, as defined in section 4-104, that is
created by a third party under the purported authority of the customer
for the purpose of charging the customer’s account with a bank.”

LB 128 also provides that a demand draft must “contain the cus-
tomer’s account number and may contain any or all of the following:
(1) The customer’s printed or typewritten name; (ii) A notation that the
customer authorized the draft; or (iii) The statement ‘no signature re-
quired’, ‘authorization on file’, ‘signature on file’, or words to that
effect.”

Additionally, LB 128 provides that “demand draft” does not include

“a check purportedly drawn by and bearing the signature of a fiduci-
ary, as defined in section 3-307.”

11
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UCC Article 3: Enforcement of Lost, Destroyed, or Stolen Instru-
ments

LB 128 amends UCC sec. 3-309(a) so that a person who is not in pos-
session of an instrument can nevertheless enforce it if, among other
things, the person seeking to enforce it (1) was entitled to enforce it
when loss of possession occurred or (2) had directly or indirectly ac-
quired ownership of it from a person who was entitled to enforce it
when loss of possession occurred.

UCC Article 3: Transfer Warranties

LB 128 amends UCC sec. 3-416 to provide that a person who trans-
fers an instrument for consideration warrants to the transferee and, if
the transfer is by endorsement, to any subsequent transferee, that,
among other things, “if the instrument is a demand draft, creation of
the instrument according to the terms on its face was authorized by
the person identified as the drawer.” LB 128 also provides that if such
warranty “is not given by a transferor under applicable conflict of law
rules, then the warranty is not given to that transferor when that trans-
feror is a transferee.”

UCC Article 3: Presentment Warranties

LB 128 amends UCC sec. 3-417 to provide that if an unaccepted draft
is presented to the drawee for payment or acceptance and the drawee
pays or accepts the draft, (i) the person obtaining payment or accep-
tance, at the time of presentment, and (ii) a previous transferor of the
draft, at the time of transfer, warrant to the drawee making payment or
accepting the draft in good faith that, among other things, “if the draft
is a demand draft, creation of the demand draft according to the terms
on its face was authorized by the person identified as the drawer.” LB
128 also provides that if such warranty “is not given by a transferor
under applicable conflict of law rules, then the warranty is not given
to that transferor when that transferor is a transferee.”

Additionally, LB 128 provides that a “demand draft is a check,” as
provided in UCC sec. 3-104(%).

UCC Article 4: Transfer Warranties

LB 128 amends UCC sec. 4-207 to provide that a customer or col-
lecting bank that transfers an item and receives a settlement or other
consideration warrants to the transferee and to any subsequent col-
lecting bank that, among other things, “if the item is a demand draft,
creation of the item according to the terms on its face was authorized



by the person identified as the drawer.” LB 128 also provides that if
such warranty “is not given by a transferor or collecting bank under
applicable conflict of law rules, then the warranty is not given to that
transferor when that transferor is a transferee or to any prior collecting
bank of that transferee.”

UCC Article 4: Presentment Warranties

LB 128 amends UCC sec. 4-208 to provide that if an unaccepted draft
is presented to the drawee for payment or acceptance and the drawee
pays or accepts the draft, (i) the person obtaining payment or accep-
tance, at the time of presentment, and (ii) a previous transferor of the
draft, at the time of the transfer, warrant to the drawee that pays or
accepts the draft in good faith that, among other things, “if the draft is
a demand draft, creation of the demand draft according to the terms on
its face was authorized by the person identified as the drawer.” LB
128 also provides that if such warranty “is not given by a transferor
under applicable conflict of law rules, then the warranty is not given
to that transferor when that transferor is a transferee.”

Additionally, LB 128 provides that a “demand draft is a check,” as
provided in UCC sec. 3-104().

LB 128 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on March 20,
2003.

LB 130—Adopt the
Nebraska Uniform
Trust Code and
Eliminate the
Nebraska Trustees’

Powers Act
(Landis)

LB 130 adopts the Nebraska Uniform Trust Code (NUTC) and elimi-
nates the Nebraska Trustees’ Powers Act, which--until enactment of

LB 130—uvirtually had not been changed since it was first enacted by
Laws 1980, LB 440.

The NUTC consists of 11 articles spanning 110 sections. According to
the Introducer's Statement of Intent, the Uniform Trust Code (UTC),
which was drafted by the National Conference of Commissioners on
Uniform State Laws, "is the first truly national codification of the law
of trusts."

Article 1 sets forth definitions and general provisions. For instance,
Article 1 states that the NUTC “applies to express trusts, charitable or
noncharitable, and trusts created pursuant to a statute, judgment, or
decree that requires the trust to be administered in the manner of an
express trust.” Among other things, Article 1 also sets forth the gen-
eral rule that the NUTC “governs the duties and powers of a trustee,
relations among trustees, and the rights and interests of a beneficiary,”
except as otherwise provided in the terms of the trust. But the NUTC

13
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also expressly provides that the terms of a trust will not prevail over
certain provisions of the NUTC, such as the requirements for creating
a trust and the duty of a trustee to act in good faith and in accordance
with the purposes of the trust.

Article 2 relates to judicial proceedings. Article 2 permits a court to
“intervene in the administration of a trust to the extent its jurisdiction
is invoked by an interested person or as provided by law.” Article 2
also states that a court may have personal jurisdiction over a trustee—
once the trustee accepts the trusteeship—if the trust’s principal place
of administration is in Nebraska or if the trust’s principal place of ad-
ministration is moved to Nebraska. Article 2 also provides that, to the
full extent permitted by the Nebraska Constitution, “the county court
has jurisdiction over all subject matter relating to trusts” and that ap-
pellate review under the NUTC is governed by Neb. Rev. Stat. sec.
30-1601, which governs appeals in probate matters.

Article 3 governs the representation of beneficiaries and other inter-
ested parties. In general, Article 3 states who may represent whom.
For instance, to the extent there is no conflict of interest, a trustee may
represent and bind the beneficiaries of the trust and a parent may rep-
resent and bind the parent’s minor or unborn child if a conservator or
guardian for the child has not been appointed.

Article 4 sets forth the requirements for creating, changing, and ter-
minating trusts. Article 4 states that “[a] trust is created only if: (1) the
settler has capacity to create a trust; (2) the settler indicates an inten-
tion to create a trust; (3) the trust has a definite beneficiary or is: (A) a
charitable trust; (B) a trust for the care of an animal . . . ; or (C) a trust
for a noncharitable purpose . . . ; (4) the trustee has duties to perform;
and (5) the same person is not the sole trustee and sole beneficiary.”

Article 5 deals with creditors claims, spendthrift trusts, and discre-
tionary trusts. Article 5 states that “[w]hether or not a trust contains a
spendthrift provision, a creditor or assignee of a beneficiary may
reach a mandatory distribution of income or principal, including a
distribution upon termination of the trust, if the trustee has not made
the distribution to the beneficiary within a reasonable time after the
designated distribution date.”

Article 6 addresses revocable trusts and states that “[t]he capacity to
create, amend, revoke, or add property to a revocable trust, or to direct
the actions of the trustee of a revocable trust, is the same as that re-
quired to make a will.” Article 6 also provides that “[u]nless the terms
of a trust expressly provide that the trust is irrevocable, the settlor may
revoke or amend the trust.” However, Article 6 also provides that the



rule does not apply to a trust created under an instrument executed
before the operative date of LB 130.

Article 7 is a set of default rules which will govern the office of trus-
tee unless such rules are modified by the terms of the trust. For in-
stance, Article 7 states that “[c]otrustees who are unable to reach a
unanimous decision may act by majority decision.” Article 7 also
states that a trustee may resign “(1) upon at least thirty days’ notice to
the qualified beneficiaries, the settler, if living, and all cotrustees; or
(2) with approval of the court.”

Article 8 sets forth powers and duties of a trustee and provides that
“[w]hile a trust is revocable, the trustee may follow written direction
from the settlor that is contrary to the terms of the trust.” As to duties
of a trustee, Article 8 requires a trustee to administer the trust in good
faith, in accordance with its terms and purposes and the interests of
the beneficiaries, and in accordance with the NUTC. Article 8 also
requires a trustee to “administer the trust solely in the interests of the
beneficiaries.”

Article 9 contains the provisions of the Nebraska Uniform Prudent
Investor Act (NUPIA), which was first enacted by Laws 1997, LB 54.
Changes made by Article 9 to the NUPIA are mostly coordinating
changes to existing Nebraska statutes.

Article 10 deals with trustee liability. It provides remedies for breach
of trust and a statute of limitations on claims by a beneficiary against
a trustee for breach of trust. “A trustee who commits a breach of trust
is liable to the beneficiaries affected for the greater of: (1) the amount
required to restore the value of the trust property and trust distribu-
tions to what they would have been had the breach not occurred; or
(2) the profit the trustee made by reason of the breach.” Article 10
also states that if there is no breach of trust, “a trustee is not liable to a
beneficiary for a loss or depreciation in the value of the property or
for not having made a profit.”

Article 11 contains a number of miscellaneous provisions. For in-
stance, Article 11 states that when applying and construing the
NUTC, “consideration must be given to the need to promote uniform-
ity of the law with respect to its subject matter among states that enact
it.”

LB 130 becomes operative January 1, 2005. (LB 130, sec. 140, states
that the act becomes operative on the second January 1 following the
effective date of LB 130, which is August 31, 2003.)

15



LB 130 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on March 20,
2003.

LB 156—Change Pro-
visions Relating

to Disclosure of
Confidential

Information
(Quandahl)

16

LB 156 changes provisions governing disclosure of confidential in-
formation by financial institutions, such as banks and trust companies.

General Rule of Confidentiality; Exceptions

The general rule regarding disclosure of confidential information by
financial institutions is that no person organized under certain laws of
the State of Nebraska (e.g., the Business Corporation Act, the Credit
Union Act, the Nebraska Banking Act, the Nebraska Industrial Devel-
opment Corporation Act, the Nebraska Nonprofit Corporation Act, the
Nebraska Professional Corporation Act, and the Nebraska Trust Com-
pany Act) “or otherwise authorized to conduct business in Nebraska
or organized under the laws of the United States,” will be required to
“disclose any records or information, financial or otherwise, that it
deems confidential concerning its affairs or the affairs of any person
with which it is doing business to any person, party, agency, or or-
ganization,” unless any one of 10 different exceptions applies.

The 10 exceptions are:

(1) The disclosure relates to a lawyer’s trust account and is re-
quired to be made to the Nebraska Supreme Court’s Coun-
sel for Discipline;

(2) The disclosure is governed by the Nebraska Supreme
Court’s rules of procedure for discovery in civil cases;

(3) The request for disclosure is made by a law enforcement
agency regarding unlawful activity in which the person to
whom the request is made is or may be a victim of such
unlawful activity;

(4) The request for disclosure is made by a governmental
agency which is a duly constituted “supervisory regulatory
agency” of the person to whom the request is made and the
disclosure relates to examinations, audits, investigations,
or inquiries of such persons;

(5) The request for disclosure is made pursuant to subpoena
issued under Nebraska law by a governmental agency ex-
ercising investigatory or adjudicative functions concerning
a matter within the agency’s jurisdiction;

The production of records is pursuant to a written demand
of the Tax Commissioner, pursuant to his or her statutory
authority to require the production of records as may be
necessary for performing his or her responsibilities under



applicable state law;

(6) A subpoena, summons, or warrant issued by a court of
competent jurisdiction has first been presented to such per-
son;

(7) The terms of a statute (or rules and regulations adopted
and promulgated thereunder) require the disclosure, other
than by subpoena, summons, warrant, or court order;

(8) Such person is presented with an order of a court of com-
petent jurisdiction setting forth the exact nature and limits
of such required disclosure and a showing that all persons
to be affected by such order have had reasonable notice
and an opportunity to be heard upon the merits of such or-
der; or

(9) The written permission of the person about whom records
or information is being sought authorizing the release of
the requested records or information has first been pre-
sented to such person.

Payment of Costs for Providing Records or Information; Exceptions

Additionally, LB 156 requires any person, party, agency, or organiza-
tion requesting disclosure of records or information to pay the costs of
providing such records or information, unless the applicable statutes
or court rules specifically prescribe a method of payment, a court or-
der prescribes payment, or the person making the disclosure waives
any or all of the costs.

LB 156 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 28,
2003.

LB 487—Adopt the
Model Act Regarding
Use of Credit
Information in

Personal Insurance
(Redfield, Combs, Hudkins,
McDonald, Price, Schimek,
Stuhr, Thompson, Brown,
and Preister)

LB 487 adopts the Model Act Regarding Use of Credit Information in
Personal Insurance. The purpose of the act is to regulate the use of
credit information for personal insurance, so that consumers will have
certain protections regarding the use of such information.

The act applies to personal insurance policies either written to be ef-
fective or renewed on or after nine months after the effective date of
LB 487. The act does not apply to commercial insurance. “Personal
insurance” means “private passenger automobile, homeowners, mo-
torcycle, mobile homeowners, noncommercial dwelling fire, and boat,
personal watercraft, snowmobile, and recreational vehicle insurance
policies.” The act requires personal insurance policies to be “indi-
vidually underwritten for personal, family, or household use” and also
provides that no other type of insurance will constitute “personal in-
surance” for purposes of the act.

17



18

The act defines other key terms and phrases too. For instance, “credit
information” is defined to mean ‘“any credit-related information de-
rived from a credit report, found on a credit report itself, or provided
on an application for personal insurance,” while “credit report” is de-
fined to mean “any written, oral, or other communication of informa-
tion by a consumer reporting agency bearing a consumer’s credit
worthiness, credit standing, or credit capacity which is used or ex-
pected to be used or collected in whole or in part for the purpose of
serving as a factor to determine personal insurance premiums, eligi-
bility for coverage, or tier placement.” Another key term, “insurance
score,” is defined by the act to mean “a number or rating that is de-
rived from an algorithm, computer application, model, or other proc-
ess that is based in whole or in part on credit information for the pur-
poses of predicting the future insurance loss exposure of an individual
applicant or insured.”

The act contains numerous prohibitions and sets forth reunderwriting
and rerating requirements; disclosure requirements; notice require-
ments; and filing requirements.

Prohibitions

The act prohibits a consumer reporting agency from providing or
selling “data or lists that include any information that in whole or in
part was submitted in conjunction with an insurance inquiry about a
consumer’s credit information or a request for a credit report or insur-
ance score.” However, that prohibition does not apply to: data or lists
that the consumer reporting agency supplies to the insurance producer
from whom information was received; the insurer on whose behalf
such insurance producer acted; or such insurer’s affiliates or holding
companies. Furthermore, the provisions of the act relating to that pro-
hibition cannot be construed to restrict any insurer from being able to
obtain a claims history report or a motor vehicle report.

The act prescribes eight additional prohibitions. An insurer authorized
to do business in Nebraska that uses credit information to underwrite
or rate risks cannot:

(1) Use an insurance score that is calculated using the con-
sumer’s income, gender, address, zip code, ethnic group,
religion, marital status, or nationality as a factor;

(2) Deny, cancel, or not renew a personal insurance policy
solely on the basis of credit information, without consid-
ering any other applicable underwriting factor independent
of credit information and not expressly prohibited by (1),
above;



(3) Base an insured’s renewal rates for personal insurance
solely upon credit information, without considering any
other applicable factor independent of credit information;

(4) Take an adverse action against a consumer solely because
he or she does not have a credit card account, without con-
sidering any other applicable factor independent of credit
information;

(5) Consider an absence of credit information or the inability
to calculate an insurance score in underwriting or rating
personal insurance, unless the insurer—(a) treats the con-
sumer as otherwise approved by the Director of Insurance,
if the insurer presents information that such absence or in-
ability relates to risk for the insurer; (b) treats the con-
sumer as if the applicant or insured had neutral credit in-
formation, as defined by the insurer; or (¢) excludes the
use of credit information as a factor and uses only other
underwriting criteria;

(6) Take adverse action against a consumer based on credit in-
formation, unless an insurer obtains and uses a credit re-
port issued or an insurance score calculated within 90 days
prior to the date the policy is first written or renewal is is-
sued;

(7) Use credit information, unless not later than every 36
months following the last time that the insurer obtained
current credit information for the insured, the insurer re-
calculates the insurance score or obtains an updated credit
report; and

(8) Use the following as a negative factor in any insurance
scoring methodology or in reviewing credit information for
the purpose of underwriting or rating a policy of personal
insurance—(a) credit inquiries not initiated by the con-
sumer or inquiries requested by the consumer for his or her
own credit information; (b) inquiries relating to insurance
coverage if so identified on a consumer’s credit report; (c)
collection accounts with a medical industry code if so
identified on the consumer’s credit report; (d) multiple
lender inquiries, if coded by the consumer reporting
agency on the consumer’s credit report as being from the
home mortgage industry and made within 30 days of one
another, unless only one inquiry is considered; or (e¢) mul-
tiple lender inquiries, if coded by the consumer reporting
agency on the consumer’s credit report as being from the
automobile lending industry and made within 30 days of
one another, unless only one inquiry is considered.
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Reunderwriting and Rerating Requirements

If it is determined, through the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act’s
dispute resolution process, that the credit information of a current in-
sured was incorrect or incomplete and if the insurer receives notice of
such determination either from the consumer reporting agency or from
the insured, the insurer must reunderwrite and rerate the consumer
within 30 days after receiving the notice. After reunderwriting and
rerating the insured, the insurer must make any adjustments necessary,
consistent with its underwriting and rating guidelines. If an insurer
determines that the insured has overpaid a premium, the insurer must
refund to the insured the amount of overpayment calculated back to
the shorter of either the last 12 months of coverage or the actual pol-
icy period.

Disclosure Requirements

The act also requires an insurer or its agent to disclose—either on the
insurance application or at the time the insurance application is
taken—that it may obtain credit information in connection with such
application; however, the disclosure is required only if the insurer
writing personal insurance uses credit information in underwriting or
rating a consumer. The act provides an example disclosure statement
meeting the requirements of the act.

Notification Requirements

If an insurer takes an adverse action based upon credit information,
the insurer must: (1) notify the consumer that an adverse action has
been taken (the notification must be done in accordance with the re-
quirements of the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, as that Act ex-
isted on January 1, 2003); and (2) notify the consumer of the reason
for the adverse action, explaining the reason or reasons for the adverse
action “in sufficiently clear and specific language so that a person can
identify the basis for the insurer’s decision to take adverse action.”
Such notification must include “a description of up to four factors that
were the primary influences of the adverse action.” However, using
“generalized terms such as poor credit history, poor credit rating, or
poor insurance score” will not meet the explanation requirements.

Filing Requirements

Insurers that use insurance scores to underwrite and rate risks must
file their scoring models or other scoring processes with the Nebraska
Department of Insurance. However, any filing relating to credit in-
formation will be considered a trade secret.



Indemnification

The act also contains indemnification provisions and rules governing
construction of the act’s indemnification provisions. The act requires
an insurer to “indemnify, defend, and hold agents harmless from and
against all liability, fees, and costs arising out of or relating to the ac-
tions, errors, or omissions, of an insurance producer who obtains or
uses credit information or insurance scores for an insurer if the insur-
ance producer follows the instructions of or procedures established by
the insurer and complies with any applicable law or regulation.”
However, nothing in the act’s provisions governing indemnification
“shall be construed to provide a consumer or other insured with a
cause of action that does not exist in the absence of” the act’s provi-
sions governing indemnification.

LB 487 passed 40-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.
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BUSINESS AND LABOR COMMITTEE
Senator Floyd Vrtiska, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 197—Appropriate
Federal Reed Act
Funds

(Business and Labor
Committee)

LB 197 appropriates federal Reed Act funds, made available to Ne-
braska for federal fiscal year 2002 under section 903(d) of the federal
Social Security Act by virtue of Congress’ Temporary Unemployment
Compensation Act of 2002. (Reed Act funds are excess unemploy-
ment taxes paid by employers that may be used by the state to, among
other things, reduce state unemployment taxes, enhance the unem-
ployment trust fund balance, and pay costs related to operating the
state’s unemployment compensation system.) According to the
Committee Statement for LB 197, Nebraska’s Reed Act distribution
totaled $48.3 million for federal fiscal year 2002.

As introduced, LB 197 would have appropriated $34.4 million for
permitted purposes. However, the adopted committee amendment re-
duced the appropriation to $6.8 million “or so much thereof as may be
necessary” to be used by the Nebraska Department of Labor for ad-
ministration of the state’s Employment Security Law and public em-
ployment offices. The bill’s Committee Statement states that the $6.8
million appropriation will be used by the department to update the
state’s Benefit Payment System, which is “the computer system that
supports all the major business functions of unemployment benefits,”
and that the remaining amount of the funds distributed to the state will
be held in the State Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund.

LB 197 also provides that accounting standards established by the
United States Department of Labor apply to the expenditure or other
disposition of Reed Act funds. Furthermore, LB 197 provides that the
funds appropriated “may be amortized with federal grant funds pro-
vided pursuant to Title III of the federal Social Security Act and the
federal Wagner-Payser Act for the purpose of administering the
state’s unemployment compensation and employment service pro-
grams to the extent allowed under such acts and the regulations
adopted pursuant thereto.”

Finally, the bill requires the Commissioner of Labor to submit an an-
nual report to the Governor, the Speaker of the Legislature, and the
chairpersons of the Appropriations Committee and the Business and
Labor Committee. The annual report must describe the expenditures
made pursuant to the provisions of LB 197.
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LB 197 passed with the emergency clause 39-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 30, 2003.

LB 210—Change the
Nebraska Workers’

Compensation Act
(Bromm and Connealy)

24

LB 210 changes the so-called “agricultural exemption” of the Ne-
braska Workers’ Compensation Act (NWCA) and makes a number of
other changes to the NWCA. Although LB 210 appears to rewrite all
of Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 48-106, the bill actually retains many of the
same provisions that were part of the old law, such as the rules gov-
erning applicability of the NWCA. Thus, unless an employer is ex-
empt from the NWCA, the NWCA applies to the State of Nebraska, to
every governmental agency created by the state, and to every resident
employer in Nebraska and nonresident employer performing work in
Nebraska who employs one or more employees in the regular trade,
business, profession, or vocation of such employer.

Exemptions from the NWCA for Agricultural Operations

LB 210 substantially reforms the agricultural exemption by creating
two distinct exemptions. Under the old law, there was only one agri-
cultural exemption and it exempted all employers of farm or ranch
laborers.

LB 210 creates two agricultural exemptions by distinguishing be-
tween employers who employ only related employees and those who
employ unrelated employees:

(1) The NWCA does not apply to “service performed by a worker
when performed for an employer who is engaged in an agri-
cultural operation and employs only related employees.”
However, that exemption does not apply if the employer is the
State of Nebraska or any governmental agency created by the
state.

(2) The NWCA does not apply to “service performed by a worker
when performed for an employer who is engaged in an agri-
cultural operation and employs unrelated employees unless
such service is performed for an employer who during any
calendar year employs ten or more unrelated, full-time em-
ployees whether in one or more locations, on each working
day for thirteen calendar weeks, whether or not such weeks are
consecutive.” However, the NWCA will apply “to an em-
ployer thirty days after the thirteenth such week.”

a. If an employer fails to qualify for the unrelated-
employee exemption, then the NWCA applies to the
employer and (1) all unrelated employees must be cov-
ered under the NWCA, and such employees’ wages



will be considered for premium purposes, and (2) if the
employer subsequently does not employ ten or more
unrelated, full-time employees, then the employer must
continue to provide workers’ compensation coverage
for the remainder of the calendar year and for the next
full calendar year.

b. When the required coverage period expires, the em-
ployer must post a written or printed notice stating that
the employer will no longer carry NWCA insurance
and the date such insurance will cease; thereafter, the
employer cannot carry a NWCA policy of insurance.
Failure to provide such notice will void an employer’s
attempt to return to exempt status.

New Notice Requirements for Agricultural Operations

LB 210 also requires that every employer who is exempt from the
NWCA due to either of the agricultural exemptions and who elects
not to provide workers’ compensation insurance to give all employ-
ees—at the time of hiring—the following written notice: “In this em-
ployment you will not be covered by the Nebraska Workers’ Com-
pensation Act and you will not be compensated under the act if you
are injured on the job or suffer an occupational disease. You should
plan accordingly.” Failure to provide written notice subjects an em-
ployer to liability under and inclusion in the NWCA “for all unrelated
employees on the basis of failure to give such notice.”

Key Terms Defined
LB 210 defines the following key terms and phrases:

(1) “Agricultural operation” is defined to mean “(i) the culti-
vation of land for the production of agricultural crops,
fruit, or other horticultural products or (ii) the ownership,
keeping, or feeding of animals for the production of live-
stock or livestock products.”

(2) “Full-time employee” is defined to mean “a person who is
employed to work one-half or more of the regularly sched-
uled hours during each pay period.”

(3) “Related employee” is defined to mean “a spouse of an
employer and an employee related to the employer within
the third degree by blood or marriage.” (‘“Relationship by
blood or marriage within the third degree includes parents,
grandparents, great grandparents, children, grandchildren,
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great grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, neph-
ews, nieces, and spouses of the same.”) LB 210 also pro-
vides that “[i]f the employer is a partnership, limited li-
ability company, or corporation in which all of the part-
ners, members, or shareholders are related within the third
degree by blood or marriage, then related employee means
any employee related to any such partner, member, or
shareholder within the third degree by blood or marriage.”

Other Exemptions from the NWCA

Also, LB 210 clarifies the exemption for household domestic servants
by adding a requirement that the servant must work “in a private resi-
dence.”

Election to Return to Exempt Status

LB 210 changes a notice requirement for an employer who wants to
return to exempt status and provides consequences for failing to pro-
vide such notice. An employer who is not exempt from the NWCA—
because the employer elected to provide workers’ compensation in-
surance coverage by procuring a workers’ compensation insurance
policy covering the employer’s employees—can elect to return to ex-
empt status by:

(1) Posting, continuously in a conspicuous place at employment
locations of the employees for a period of at least 90 days (one
year under the old law) a written or printed notice stating that
the employer will no longer carry workers’ compensation in-
surance and the date the insurance will cease. (Under the old
law, it was not necessary to state the date when the insurance
would cease.); and

(2) Thereafter, no longer carry workers’ compensation insurance.

LB 210 provides that failure to provide such notice voids the em-
ployer’s attempt to return to exempt status (the old law did not pro-
vide any consequences for failing to provide such notice).

Criminal Liability for Certain Acts

Finally, LB 210 amends Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 48-125.01, which basi-
cally provides that any employer who knowingly transfers or in any
manner disposes of, conceals, secretes, or destroys any property or
records belonging to such employer—after one of his or her employ-
ees has been injured within the purview of the NWCA—and who does
so with intent to avoid payment of compensation under the NWCA, is



guilty of a Class I misdemeanor. LB 210 amends Neb. Rev. Stat. sec.
48-125.01 so that it will apply to general partners (but not limited
partners) in a limited partnership (LP) or in a limited liability partner-
ship (LLP). (The old law dealt with corporations and limited liability
companies only—it did not provide rules governing an LP or an LLP.)
If the employer is a LP or LLP, any general partner of the LP or LLP
who knowingly participates or acquiesces in such a prohibited transfer
or concealment of records—with intent to avoid payment of compen-
sation under the NWCA—is guilty of a Class I misdemeanor and is
jointly and severally liable with the LP or LLP for any fine imposed
upon the LP or LLP.

LB 210 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 28,
2003.

LB 688—Pay Stipends
to or Restrict Hours of
Participation for
Intercollegiate
Athletes at the
University of

Nebraska—Lincoln
(Chambers)

With the enactment of LB 688, Nebraska becomes the first state in the
nation to statutorily provide for the payment of a stipend to NCAA
Division I collegiate athletes. (The Nebraska Legislature has dis-
cussed the issue several times, passing a similar measure—LB 1226—
in 1988, which then-Governor Kay Orr subsequently vetoed.)

Specifically, LB 688 allows the University of Nebraska-Lincoln UNL
to grant a stipend, the amount of which will be determined by the uni-
versity, to any person who competes in the sport of football for UNL
and to any other UNL athlete who competes in Big Twelve Confer-
ence sports. As a “preferable alternative” to paying such stipends, LB
688 states that UNL can limit the number of hours required to partici-
pate in intercollegiate athletics. The restricted hours of participation
will enable student athletes to carry a regular academic workload,
participate in other campus activities, and work an average of at least
twelve hours per week during the academic school year.

According to the Introducer’s Statement of Intent, the bill is designed
to “engender serious discussion of the need to bring fairness and at
least the ‘equity of the marketplace’ into the relationship between
athletes and the institutions and athletic conferences which they enrich
through arduous labor and dedication.” Football generates a substan-
tial amount of revenue for UNL, but NCAA rules restricting players’
ability to earn outside income and other restrictions often result in ex-
treme financial hardship for student athletes. Other reasons for the
legislation are set forth in the bill’s legislative findings and declara-
tions, including a finding that players at United States service acade-
mies (e.g., Army, Navy, Air Force) are compensated while in atten-
dance and are eligible to compete against schools which are members
of the NCAA and that a “fair rate of financial compensation would
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give players a choice when offered illicit inducements, compensation,
or assistance.”

LB 688 declares that, “in the same manner that nonathlete students are
compensated for performing various tasks while a student, football
players shall be entitled to fair financial compensation for playing
football.” However, LB 688 states that none of its provisions “shall be
construed to make a person a professional athlete.”

LB 688 becomes operative “whenever laws granting a similar stipend
or similarly restrictive hours of participation are enacted in at least
four other states which have teams that compete in the Big Twelve
Conference or its successor.”

LB 688 passed 26-9 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 198—Enact
Changes Relating to
Administration of the
Nebraska Workers’

Compensation Act
(Business and Labor
Committee)

28

LB 198 would enact a variety of changes pertaining to administration
of the Nebraska Workers’ Compensation Act.

As introduced, LB 198 would have provided new enforcement
mechanisms for various administrative provisions of the Nebraska
Workers’ Compensation Act, including providing monetary penalties
for uninsured employers and setting forth standards for handling
claims. Provisions of the original bill also would have established a
formal role for the workers’ compensation court administrator, in-
cluding power to initiate actions before the court and authorization to
appear and present evidence before the court. Additionally, the origi-
nal bill would have made a number of substantive changes concerning
insurance policy exclusions, release of medical records, interest, re-
portable injuries, cancellations and nonrenewal of workers’ compen-
sation insurance coverage, acting judges, and vocational rehabilita-
tion.

The pending committee amendment would rewrite the bill, keeping
some of the bill’s original provisions while eliminating most of the
additional enforcement mechanisms set forth in the original bill. The
committee amendment would also make a number of other changes,
including permitting the Attorney General to file a motion requesting
action by the workers’ compensation court—if such action is re-
quested by the court’s presiding judge—and permitting the Attorney
General to appear and present evidence before the court in such cases.
Also, the committee amendment would clarify: (1) that Laws 2002,
LB 417, applies only to workers’ compensation insurance policies



having an effective date on or after January 1, 2003; (2) that if a
worker is covered by a health or accident insurance policy, an exclu-
sion for work injuries is void; (3) the period during which interest is
computed for compensation awards; (4) the definition of the term “re-
portable injury” and provide that the term “medical treatment” does
not include first aid; (5) that if the insurer has not provided notice of
cancellation or nonrenewal to the court and the employer, the insur-
ance policy remains in effect; (6) the court’s right of approval over
vocational rehabilitation plans; and (7) that an acting judge can be
called for an overloaded docket.

LB 198 is on General File.

LB 382—Change
Lunch Period
Requirements for
Employees
(Synowiecki and Combs)

LB 382 would require an employer to provide a 30-minute lunch pe-
riod in each eight-hour shift for its employees. Current law requires an
employer to provide a 30-minute lunch period between the hours of
noon and 1:00 p.m.

Current law also provides an exemption from the lunch period re-
quirement for employers that own or operate an "assembly plant,
workshop, or mechanical establishment" which operates three eight-
hour shifts each day. LB 382 would eliminate that exemption. Ac-
cording to the Introducer's Statement of Intent, LB 382 was intro-
duced because certain manufacturers in the state have been "taking
advantage of the three-shift exemption . . . by not allowing lunch
breaks to their employees."

LB 382 is on General File.

LB 435—Change the
Nebraska Minimum
Wage

(Beutler)

As originally introduced, LB 435 would have increased Nebraska's
minimum wage for all employees from $5.15 per hour to: (1) $5.80
per hour beginning October 1, 2003; and (2) $6.30 per hour beginning
April 1, 2004. According to the Introducer’s Statement of Intent, the
proposed increase in the minimum wage “represents the adjustment
for inflation which has occurred since the minimum wage was last
increased in 1997.”

As amended during floor debate, LB 435 would increase the state’s
minimum wage for all employees from $5.15 per hour to: (1) $5.45
per hour beginning October 1, 2003; and (2) $5.75 per hour beginning
April 1, 2004.

LB 435 is on Select File.
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EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Senator Ron Raikes, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 249—Change
Provisions Relating to
Eligibility for
Extracurricular
Activities and Student

Fees
(Stuhr, D. Pederson,
Raikes, and Schimek)

As originally introduced, LB 249 would have changed the application
deadline to attend an option school district from March 15 to July 1
and would have made those students submitting an application after
July 1 ineligible to participate in varsity extracurricular activities for
90 days after attendance at the option school district begins.

As enacted, LB 249 does not change the application deadline and for
purposes of participation in extracurricular activities, requires option
students to be treated like other students who transfer into the school
from another public, private, denominational, or parochial school.
Practically, this change allows ninth graders enrolling in an option
school district to be eligible to participate in extracurricular activities
beginning July 1 or upon acceptance of the application, whichever is
later, while students in tenth through twelfth grades transferring into
the school via the enrollment option program must wait the same time
period as other transfer students. (The waiting period is prescribed by
the Nebraska School Activities Association and generally is in place
to prevent recruiting of athletes from other schools and school dis-
tricts.)

LB 249 also changes provisions of the Public Elementary and Secon-
dary Student Fee Authorization Act (Student Fee Act). The Student
Fee Act was first adopted by the Legislature in 2002, and some fine-
tuning was necessary after its first year of implementation. The
changes to the Student Fee Act were originally prescribed in LB 685
and were added to LB 249 by the committee amendments.

LB 249 adds a new section to the Student Fee Act, clarifying that the
act does not (1) limit the ability of a school board to request donations
of money, materials, equipment, or attire to defray costs if the request
is made in such a way that it is clear that the request is not a require-
ment or (2) prohibit a school board from allowing students to supply
materials for course projects.

Additional changes to the Student Fee Act include:
* Providing that any student taking a dual credit course—a
course offering both high school and postsecondary edu-

cation credits—can be charged tuition and fees associated
with obtaining credits from the postsecondary institution
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only if the student chooses to apply for postsecondary edu-
cation credit. Otherwise, the course is without charge.

» Stating that money can only be collected from students as
specifically authorized in the act.

* Clarifying that a student store need not have a permanent
physical presence.

e Clarifying that students cannot be required to pay fees or
provide equipment or attire unless the fees, equipment, or
attire, including dollar amounts, are specifically listed in
the fee policy adopted by the school board.

* Providing that a copy of the student handbook detailing the
fee policy be delivered to every household in which at
least one student resides.

* Removing the waiver requirement for admission fees and
transportation charges for spectators attending extracur-
ricular activities.

LB 249 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 28, 2003.

LB 540—Change and
Eliminate Provisions
Relating to Tax Levy
and Budget Authority
and State Aid for

Public Schools
(Raikes)

32

The education component of Nebraska’s budget package is found in
LB 540. This is the second year the Legislature has been forced to re-
duce state aid to schools because of the state’s continuing budget
problems. State aid to schools reduced by approximately $60 million
over the upcoming biennium.

In 2002, the Legislature reduced state aid by approximately $22 mil-
lion. To accomplish that reduction, the Legislature adopted LB 898,
which among other things, changed the state aid formula by reducing
formula needs, net option funding, and allocated income taxes by 1.25
percent for school fiscal years 2002-2003, 2003-2004, and 2004-2005.
As originally introduced, LB 540 proposed to increase the temporary
adjustment factor to 2.5 percent, but as enacted the bill maintains the
1.25 percent reduction.

LB 540 reduces the base budget limitation rate for school systems
from 2.5 percent to zero for school fiscal years 2003-2004 and 2004-
2005. Additionally, the bill increases the maximum allowable growth
range from two percent to three percent above the base limitation. The
allowable growth range allows additional growth for school systems
that spend less than their formula needs.

The formula for calculating the “lop off” is also changed. (The “lop
off” is a formula mechanism that provides that if the state aid formula
results in a school system receiving more revenue than it received in



the previous year, the extra aid is “lopped off” and redistributed to
school systems with 900 or fewer formula students and lower-than-
average operating expenditures.) Prior to LB 540, the formula used a
levy rate of 90 cents to calculate the lop off. LB 540 provides that the
levy rate used in the formula will be the maximum levy for which aid
is being certified minus 10 cents.

LB 540 further requires a recertification of state aid for school fiscal
year 2003-2004 by June 15, 2003, and extends the budget authority
for Class I school districts.

LB 540 was amended on Final Reading to allow school districts and
local school systems to levy a maximum of $1.05 per $100 of taxable
valuation for school fiscal years 2003-2004 and 2004-2005. (Prior law
prescribed a levy limit of $1 per $100 of taxable valuation, and the
adopted committee amendments prescribed a maximum levy of
$1.04.) The change was necessary to make LB 540 consistent with the
budget reductions prescribed in LB 407, the mainline appropriations
bill, and also gives schools the opportunity to make up the reduction
in state aid.

Additionally, LB 540 permits school systems to fund, through an ex-
isting levy limit exception, corrections to life safety code violations,
including projects to improve indoor air quality and mold abatement
and prevention projects. These provisions were originally found in LB
246.

Finally, the bill limits the allowable growth rate for community col-
leges for school fiscal years 2003-2004 and 2004-2005 to the percent-
age increase in full-time equivalent students from the second year to
the first year preceding the year for which the budget is being deter-
mined. The bill also allows each community college area board, by
supermajority vote, to levy an additional amount in property taxes to
make up for lost state funds. These provisions were originally in-
cluded in LB 302.

LB 540 passed with the emergency clause 42-6, but was vetoed by the
Governor. The Legislature overrode the Governor’s veto 44-4 on May
27, 2003.

LB 574—Change
Provisions Relating
to Postsecondary

Scholarship Programs
(Raikes)

The Nebraska Scholarship Act is established via the enactment of LB
574. Beginning in school year 2004-2005, Nebraska resident under-
graduate students attending a Nebraska public or private college or
university or private career school who are eligible for Pell grants will
be eligible to receive awards under the Nebraska Scholarship Pro-
gram.
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Prior to LB 574, there were three postsecondary scholarship programs
administered by the state: the Postsecondary Education Award Pro-
gram, the State Scholarship Award Program, and the Scholarship As-
sistance Program. The Nebraska Scholarship Act prescribed in LB
574 is the Legislature’s attempt to merge the three programs.

The Nebraska Scholarship Program is administered by the Coordi-
nating Commission for Postsecondary Education (coordinating com-
mission) and funded with proceeds from the Nebraska State Lottery.
($2 million is appropriated to the program for fiscal year 2003-2004,
and $2.5 million is appropriated for fiscal year 2004-2005.)

The bill provides a three-year transition period for students currently
receiving aid from one of the three scholarship programs in existence
prior to the adoption of LB 574. For award years prior to 2007-2008,
individual scholarship awards cannot exceed the greater of (1) the
total award received by the student for the 2003-2004 award year or
(2) 25 percent of the cost for tuition and mandatory fees for a full-time
resident undergraduate for the last completed award year at the Uni-
versity of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL). For award years 2007-2008 and
thereafter, the maximum award cannot exceed 25 percent of the cost
for tuition and mandatory fees for a full-time resident undergraduate
for the last completed award year at UNL. If an award recipient quits
school before the end of the award year, he or she must remit any
award balance, and the remitted amount is returned to the coordinat-
ing commission

To reduce the costs of administering the Nebraska Scholarship Act, a
formula for determining the “target level of funds” for each eligible
institution is prescribed. The “target level of funds” represents the
maximum amount that can be awarded under the program to eligible
students enrolled at each eligible institution.

In addition to the Nebraska Scholarship Act, LB 574 adopts the
Community Scholarship Foundation Program Act (Community
Scholarship Act). The Community Scholarship Act was originally
found in LB 658 and was added to LB 574 via the committee amend-
ments. The Community Scholarship Act is designed to provide
matching grants to community scholarship foundations that provide
scholarships to low-income students and is administered by the coor-
dinating commission.

To be eligible to receive a matching grant, a community scholarship
foundation must raise at least $2,000 for purposes of awarding schol-
arships to low-income students. Once eligible, foundations apply to



the coordinating commission for matching grant funds to be used for
additional scholarships.

Finally, LB 574 changes provisions relating to the Nebraska educa-
tional savings plan trust. (These provisions were originally included in
LB 147 and LB 466.)

The Nebraska educational savings plan trust is a public trust in which
money can be invested by persons, usually parents or grandparents,
for future educational use by their designated beneficiaries, usually
children or grandchildren. Money received by the trust is segregated
into three funds: the program fund, the endowment fund, and the ad-
ministrative fund. While the State Treasurer is the trustee of the trust
and administers the educational savings plan program, the state in-
vestment officer is responsible for investment of money in the three
funds.

LB 574 explicitly gives the state investment officer exclusive fiduci-
ary responsibility to make all decisions regarding the investment of
money in the three funds and prohibits the State Treasurer from
adopting any rule or regulation that interferes with the state invest-
ment officer’s fiduciary duty and from exercising any authority over
investment agreements or investment contracts.

Additionally, the State Treasurer’s authority to receive gifts, grants,
appropriations, and other government funds for deposit is limited to
the acceptance of gifts and grants for deposit into the endowment
fund. The bill also clarifies that (1) the State Treasurer is required to
deposit money received by the trust into the appropriate fund, (2) in-
vestment income must be deposited into the fund that generated the
income, (3) all funds generated in connection with participation
agreements must be deposited into the appropriate accounts within the
program fund, and (4) refund penalties must be deposited into the en-
dowment fund rather than the administrative fund.

Finally, the bill prohibits the appropriation of General Fund money to
the trust, provides that transfers from the trust’s endowment fund or
program fund into the administrative fund are to be used to pay for the
costs of administering, operating, and maintaining the trust, and spe-
cifically limits the administrative fund to transfers, by legislative ap-
propriation, from the program and endowment funds and any interest
income earned on the balances held in the administrative fund.

LB 574 passed with the emergency clause 46-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 29, 2003.
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LB 796—Provide Pro
Rata Disbursement to
the School Breakfast

Program
(Appropriations Commit-
tee)

Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 79-10,138 provides that each qualified public
school in Nebraska operating a school breakfast program will be re-
imbursed by the Legislature in the amount of five cents per each
breakfast served by the school. In recognition of the state’s fiscal
problems, LB 796 provides that if the Legislature does not appropriate
an amount sufficient to fully reimburse each school, the school will be
reimbursed a pro rata amount based on the proportion that the amount
appropriated bears to the total amount needed to fully reimburse each
school.

LB 796 passed with the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 172—Eliminate
Requirement For
School Districts to
Provide Abortion

Information
(Foley, Erdman, Combs,
and Redfield)

By outright repealing Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-6909, LB 172 would
eliminate the requirement for school districts to provide written in-
formation to all students in grades seven through twelve regarding the
provisions for parental notification as a condition for obtaining an
abortion and the judicial bypass procedure.

The bill was advanced to General File. During debate on the measure,
discussion centered around whether outright repeal of the statute was
necessary. Proponents of the measure believed outright repealing the
statute was the best course of action, while others favored amending
the statute to specifically make the provision of such information op-
tional on the part of a school district.

A motion was made to bracket LB 172 until January 1, 2004. The
bracket motion was successful, and LB 172 remains on General File.

Proposals to Change
the Composition of the
Board of Regents of
the University of
Nebraska

LR 13CA

LR 15CA

LB 389
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Two proposed constitutional amendments and one piece of enabling
legislation were introduced proposing significant changes to the com-
position of the Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska. While
the measures were not discussed on the legislative floor, the issue re-
mains viable and more discussion is likely during the 2004 session.

LR 13CA, introduced by Senators Smith, Aguilar, Cunningham, En-
gel, Erdman, Foley, Kremer, Mossey, Price, Quandahl, and
Wehrbein, would have expanded the current membership on the board
to 12 regents, by adding four regents to be appointed by the Governor,
to serve alongside the eight regents currently elected by district. Of

the appointees, one would be a student at one of the university cam



puses and one would be appointed from each congressional district.
The proposed amendment also would have kept the three students
serving on the board as nonvoting members.

The appointed student regent would have served a one-year term,
while the other three appointees would have served three-year terms.

LR 13CA did not advance from committee and was indefinitely post-
poned on May 29, 2003.

LR 15CA, introduced by Senators Johnson, Bromm, and Dwite
Pedersen, would have gone one step further in changing both the
composition and scope of power of the Board of Regents. The pro-
posed amendment would have created the Nebraska Higher Education
Board of Regents. The new board would be responsible for the gen-
eral government of the University of Nebraska and the Nebraska state
colleges.

The board would be composed of nine members, who would be
elected or appointed as provided by law, and would also include as
nonvoting members a representative from each campus of the Univer-
sity of Nebraska and each state college.

Additionally, the amendment would have eliminated references in the
Constitution to the Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Edu-
cation, the Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska, and the
Board of Trustees of the Nebraska State Colleges.

In addition to the proposed constitutional amendment, LB 389 was
introduced by Senators Johnson and Bromm. LB 389 would be the
enabling legislation for the constitutional amendment, statutorily car-
rying out the directives prescribed in LR 15CA.

Specifically LB 389 would create the Nebraska Higher Education
Board to be composed of six elected regents, two regents appointed
by the Governor, and the Commissioner of Education. The bill would
provide that two regents would be elected from each congressional
district. All elected or appointed regents would serve staggered, six-
year terms.

Additionally, the bill would direct the Legislature’s Education Com-
mittee to introduce legislation which, at a minimum, transfers the
roles and responsibilities of the Coordinating Commission for Post-
secondary Education, the Board of Regents of the University of Ne-
braska, and the Board of Trustees of the Nebraska State Colleges to
the new board.
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LR 15CA did not advance from committee and was indefinitely post-
poned on May 29, 2003. LB 389 is being held in committee.

LR 17CA—Constitu- LR 17CA would amend Article VII, sections 7 and 8, of the Nebraska
tional Amendment to Constitution to specifically authorize the Legislature, by a three-fifths
majority vote, to annually appropriate not more than 10 percent of the

Allow the Legislature principal of the perpetual school fund for such purposes as the Legis-
to lature determines.

Appropriate Principal

of the Permanent The amendment is being held in committee

School Fund

(Schrock)
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EXECUTIVE BOARD

Senator Pat Engel, Chairperson

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

Term Limits
LB 598
LR 7CA

Nebraskans have consistently voted for term limits. In fact, three laws
imposing term limits on certain state or federal elected officers were
passed during the 1990s; however, each measure was ruled unconsti-
tutional. Finally, in 2000, voters passed a constitutional amendment
which limits state lawmakers to two consecutive four-year terms.

As originally introduced by Senators Tyson, Baker, Bromm, Cham-
bers, Combs, Connealy, Cudaback, Cunningham, Foley, Hartnett,
Janssen, Jensen, Jones, Kremer, Kruse, Mines, Preister, Price, Quan-
dahl, Schrock, Stuthman, Synowiecki, and Vrtiska, LB 598 called for a
study of the feasibility of a constitutional amendment to repeal term
limits. However, as amended, the bill would propose an amendment to
the Nebraska Constitution which, if passed by the voters, would re-
peal legislative term limits prescribed in Article III, section 12.

Proponents of LB 598 argue that the repeal of term limits is necessary
because term limits do not allow the Legislature to maintain sufficient
expertise, experience, and institutional memory. They contend that
term limits disproportionately affect Nebraska’s unique, unicameral
legislature because term-limited senators cannot run for office in the
other legislative house as they can in states with bicameral legisla-
tures, thereby retaining more institutional experience.

Opponents of the repeal believe the voters have spoken and the Leg-
islature should honor that decision.

LB 598 is on Final Reading.

LR 7CA, introduced by Senators Schrock, Aguilar, Brown, Burling,
Byars, Combs, Cudaback, Cunningham, Engel, Foley, Hartnett, Hud-
kins, Janssen, Jensen, Kremer, Kruse, Maxwell, Mossey D. Pederson,
Preister, Price, Smith Stuhr, Synowiecki, Thompson, Tyson, and
Vrtiska, also would have proposed an amendment to Article III, sec-
tion 12, of the Nebraska Constitution. The proposal would have
changed the term limits for Nebraska legislators from two consecutive
four-year terms to three consecutive four-year terms. The new provi-
sion would have applied to legislators whose terms began after Janu-
ary 1, 2001.
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Proponents of LR 7CA argued that a three-term limit would have
lessened the negative impact of term limits on the Nebraska Legisla-
ture.

LR 7CA was indefinitely postponed on February 10, 2003.

Legislative Pay
LR 8CA
LR 9 CA
LR 3CA
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Several proposals were introduced this year regarding legislators’
salaries. Legislators’ salaries were last increased in 1988, from
$4,800 to $12,000.

LR 8CA, introduced by Senators Schimek and Quandahl, would pro-
pose an amendment to Article III, section 7, of the Nebraska Consti-

tution which, if passed by the voters, would raise a legislator’s salary
from $12,000 to $20,000 annually.

LR 8CA is being held by the committee.

Another measure, LR 9CA, also introduced by Senators Schimek and
Quandahl, would have proposed an amendment to Article III, sections
7 and 19, of the Nebraska Constitution which, if passed by the voters,
would have increased a legislator’s salary from $12,000 to $20,000. In
addition, passage of LR 9CA would have given legislators a biannual
pay raise beginning January 1, 2006, and every two years thereafter,
consisting of the average percentage pay increase negotiated for other
state employee collective-bargaining units for the immediately pre-
ceding fiscal year.

LR 9CA was indefinitely postponed on February 19, 2003.

A third measure, LR 3CA, introduced by Senator Beutler, would take
a different approach. As originally introduced, LR 3CA would have
amended Article III, sections 7 and 19, and added section 31 to Arti-
cle III, of the Nebraska Constitution which, if passed by the voters,
would have created an Ethics and Compensation Review Commission
(commission). The commission would be composed of nine members
appointed by the Governor and charged with proposing a code of eth-
ics (code) for the Legislature’s approval. Once approved, the code
would be added to the Legislature’s permanent rules. The proposal
would prohibit any modification of the code for three years after its
approval; thereafter, the code could be modified but not eliminated.

Additionally, after adopting the code, the proposed amendment di-
rected the commission to review legislative salaries and recommend
adjustments to the Governor and to the Legislature. The Legislature
could approve, disapprove, or reduce the proposed adjustments but



could not increase them. And, the Legislature would have to approve
the final, agreed-upon adjustments.

LR 3CA also would direct the commission to review and recommend
changes to the code and legislative salaries every four years.

Committee amendments pending to LR 3CA would eliminate the pro-
visions relating to the code of ethics. The commission would be re-
named the Compensation Review Commission and provisions relating
to legislative salaries prescribed in the proposed amendment would be
retained.

LR 3CA is on General File.

LR 1CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment to
Change from a Uni-
cameral

to a Bicameral

Legislature
(Schimek)

LR 1CA proposed an amendment to Article III of the Nebraska Con-
stitution, which, if passed by the voters, would have created a bicam-
eral (two house) legislature. Currently, Nebraska has a unicameral
(one house) legislature, which was created by the passage of a con-
stitutional amendment in 1934. Nebraska has the only unicameral
state legislature in the United States.

The bicameral legislature proposed by LR 1CA would have consisted
of a Senate and a House of Representatives. The Senate would have
been composed of not more than 31 members and the House not more
than 62 members. The state would have been divided into districts
from which one Senator and two House members would have been
elected.

Proponents argued that LR 1CA would have lessened some of the
negative aspects of legislative term limits. They contended that term
limits disproportionately affect Nebraska’s unicameral legislature be-
cause term-limited legislators cannot run for office in the other legis-
lative house as they can in states with bicameral legislatures, thereby
retaining more institutional experience.

LR 1CA was indefinitely postponed on February 10, 2003.
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LR 22CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment to
Change Legislative

Session Requirements
(Stuhr, Aguilar, Baker,
Beutler, Burling, Byars,
Combs, Cudaback, Erd-
man, Friend, Hartnett,
Hudkins, Jensen, Johnson,
Jones, Kremer, McDonald,
Mossey, Quandahl,
Redfield, Schimek,
Schrock, Smith, Stuthman,
Thompson, Tyson, Vrtiska,
and Wehrbein)
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LR 22CA proposed an amendment to Article III, section 10, of the
Nebraska Constitution which, if passed by the voters, would have
changed the starting date of the first year of the two-year legislative
session. The starting date of the 90-day legislative session would have
begun in December on the fifth Wednesday after the statewide general
election. Currently, both the first and second years of the legislative
session begin on the first Wednesday after the first Monday in Janu-

ary.

The amendment would have allowed only three meeting days for or-
ganizational purposes in December. However, the Legislature could
have extended the number of December meeting days with a four-
fifths vote.

LR 22CA was indefinitely postponed on February 24, 2003.



GENERAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Senator Ray Janssen, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 367—Change
Provisions Relating to
Transfers from the
State Lottery
Operation Trust Fund
and the Petroleum
Release Remedial
Action Cash Fund

(Janssen, Hartnett, and
Schrock)

LB 367 changes the distribution of lottery proceeds for the next five
years and also provides funding for a lead abatement program in
Omabha.

The bill guarantees three programs that receive money from the state
lottery — the Education Innovation Fund, the Nebraska Environmental
Trust Fund, and the Compulsive Gamblers Assistance Fund — receive
"a portion" of funding from the lottery that does not dip below the
amount of lottery proceeds the funds received in fiscal year 2002-
2003. Prior law guaranteed the programs at least 25 percent of lottery
proceeds, after operational expenses are paid. (Except that the lottery
revenue earmarked to the Education Innovation Fund, minus the
amount it takes to operate the Excellence in Education Council, is al-
ready being diverted into the General Fund for fiscal years 2003-2004
and 2004-2005 via Laws 2002, Second Spec. Sess. LB 1.) On January
1, 2008, the minimum level of funding for the three programs reverts
to 25 percent.

The Lottery Division of the Nebraska Department of Revenue can use
the revenue diverted from these three programs to increase prize pay-
outs for the state lottery. Increasing the amount of money that indi-
viduals can win has been discussed as a way to increase lottery sales.

Additionally, LB 367 transfers $300,000 from the state's Petroleum
Release Remedial Action Cash Fund to carry out the federal Residen-
tial Lead-Based Paint Hazard Reduction Act of 1992 as a "grant to a
city of the metropolitan class." (Omaha is Nebraska's only city of the
metropolitan class.) The fund generally is used to pay for cleaning up
leaky underground storage tanks.

LB 367 passed 36-8 and was approved by the Governor on May 13,
2003.

LB 536—Change Pro-
visions Relating to

Farm Wineries
(Hudkins)

LB 536 is intended to encourage Nebraska's nascent wine industry by
removing statutory obstacles to its growth.

The bill increases the limit of how much a farm winery can produce

without having to use a wholesaler to distribute its product. Previ-
ously, this limit was set at 15,000 gallons. LB 536 raises the limit to
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30,000 gallons. The bill also removes statutory references to "small"
and "local" in the context of Nebraska wineries and uses the term
"farm winery" to describe these operations.

Further, LB 536 changes the funding mechanism for the Nebraska
Grape and Wine Advisory Board. Prior law charged each winery $20
for every ton of grapes crushed. LB 536 changes the fee to $20 for
every 160 gallons of juice produced or received. According to the
bill's Fiscal Note, the change will bring $314 in added revenue to the
Winery and Grape Producers Promotional Fund.

Finally, LB 536 contains one provision of LB 393. This provision
changes the definition of farm winery to require that 75 percent of the
finished product is made with agricultural products grown in Ne-
braska. The definition's previous wording had been interpreted by the
state's Liquor Control Commission to mean that each agricultural
product used in the production of wine must individually meet the 75-
percent requirement.

LB 536 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

Constitutional
Amendments to
Authorize Additional
Gaming in

Nebraska

LR 6CA

LR 11CA

LR 14 CA

LR 23CA
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Four constitutional amendments were introduced to allow casino
gambling in Nebraska. Although proponents, who held a slim major-
ity, expressed concern that an initiative-driven proposal lacking leg-
islative control would find its way to the ballot unless the Legislature
acted to place its own gambling proposal on the 2004 general election
ballot, support broke down over the details. Opponents were able to
capitalize on this division to thwart a gaming proposal from advanc-
ing.

LR 6CA, introduced by Senators Schrock, Aguilar, McDonald, Dw.
Pedersen, and Synowiecki, would have presented Nebraska voters
with a proposal to allow up to eight casinos within six miles of the
state border, as well as casinos at the five currently licensed horse
racetracks. It also would have allowed the Legislature to provide for
regulation and taxation of casino gaming.

LR 6CA was indefinitely postponed by the committee.

LR 11CA, introduced by Senators Janssen, Byars, Connealy, Cun-
ningham, Schrock, Synowiecki, Bourne, and Schimek, emerged as the
vehicle to carry this session's constitutional amendment to authorize
casino gaming. As originally introduced, LR 11CA would have



amended the state's Constitution to allow, after voter approval, the
Legislature to authorize games of chance. The details of what, where,
and how would have been left to future legislation.

As amended, LR 11 CA became much more specific. It would allow
the Legislature to authorize, regulate, and tax casino gaming in up to
eight facilities throughout the state. LR 11CA would also state that the
Nebraska Constitution is not a bar to Indian gaming when such gam-
ing is conducted in accordance with federal law. LR 11CA contains
no earmarks for the revenue generated from the state's regulation and
taxation of gaming, but allows the Legislature to determine its use.

The Legislature rejected floor attempts to amend the proposal to vari-
ously allow casino gaming at established racetracks, to reduce the
number of allowable casinos from eight to five, and to mandate that
three of the eight casinos be located in the Mountain Time Zone of the
state.

LR 11CA advanced to Final Reading, but was brought back to Select
File for a specific amendment. The amendment would have author-
ized up to six casinos in specific geographic areas to include:

e Two casinos within two miles of the Nebraska-lowa
border in a defined area along the riverfront in the
Omabha area;

e Two casinos in licensed horse racetracks east of the
sixth principal meridian, which is a surveying line that
runs roughly along U.S. highway 81; and

e Two casinos west of the sixth principal meridian, one
of which would have been in a licensed horse racetrack
facility.

The amendment would have created the Nebraska Future Trust Fund
and a governing body, the Nebraska Future Trust Board. Revenue
from casino gaming would have been deposited into the fund to be
used for community improvement, including economic development.

The amendment failed and the vote to re-advance LR 11CA to Final
Reading was 21-20. LR 11CA is on Select File.

LR 14CA, introduced by Senators Schimek, Beutler, Cunningham,
and Janssen, would amend the Nebraska Constitution with a plan to
authorize casino gaming on land held in trust for federally recognized
Indian tribes and in an "interdiction zone" of two miles from Ne-
braska's border with any state that allows gaming. The interdiction
zone would exclude Indian land. LR 14CA is similar to the 2002 ses
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sion’s LR 6CA, which died on Select File when the session ended.

LR 14CA would allow the Legislature to authorize up to five casinos
within the interdiction zone and provide for the operation, regulation,
and taxation of those gaming operations. Revenue from nonlndian
gaming would be allocated to counties or other political subdivisions,
although the amendment would prohibit revenue from being disbursed
to any county in which a casino operates. Indian tribes who forgo the
option of establishing casinos on their reservations or other land held
in trust would also be eligible for up to five percent of the gaming
revenue. A Class II casino currently operated by the Santee Sioux in
Knox County would be grandfathered by a provision allowing gaming
operations in existence as of January 1, 2003, to continue without the
tribe losing its five percent, if it forgoes opening additional casinos.

LR 14CA was laid over after a motion to bracket was filed. It is on
General File.

LR 23CA, introduced by Senators Louden and Aguilar, would have
given voters the simple choice of whether to allow the Legislature to
authorize, regulate, and tax games of chance in casinos approved and
licensed by county boards. Revenue from the casinos would have
been earmarked for promoting Nebraska tourism.

LR 23CA was indefinitely postponed by the committee.



GOVERNMENT, MILITARY AND

VETERANS AFFAIRS COMMITTEE
Senator DiAnna Schimek, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

Change Provisions
Relating to Election
Law

LB 357

LB 358

LB 359

LBs 357, 358, and 359 are related to the congressional passage of the
Help America Vote Act of 2002. Passage of these bills makes Ne-
braska eligible for more than $5 million in federal funds.

LB 357, introduced by the Government, Military and Veterans Affairs
Committee, directs the Secretary of State to implement a statewide
computerized voter registration list of every legally registered voter in
Nebraska. The list will be: (1) the official voter registration of the
state and will be centralized in the Secretary of State’s office; and (2)
coordinated with other state agency data bases and verified by infor-
mation kept by the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles. The Sec-
retary of State must make the list available electronically to election
commissioners and county clerks.

The bill provides that election officials can appoint one election clerk
who is at least 16 years old for each election precinct. The election
clerk is not required to be a registered voter. This addresses the need
for poll workers and to involve young people in the election process.

LB 357 creates the Corporation Cash Fund and transfers $260,000
from the fund to the Election Administration Fund by May 1, 2003,
and provides that the Legislature may regularly make such transfers.

LB 357 passed with the emergency clause 44-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 16, 2003.

LB 358, introduced by the Government, Military and Veterans Affairs
Committee, creates the Vote Nebraska Initiative (initiative) to study
the decrease in voter turnout in recent years.

Specifically, the bill directs the initiative to examine: (1) why voter
turnout continues to decline; (2) ways to encourage turnout among
young people and minorities; and (3) ways the media and schools can
increase voter education. Initiative members include the Secretary of
State, the chairperson of the Legislature’s Government, Military and
Veterans Affairs Committee, and others representing a cross section
of Nebraskans. The initiative must issue a report with recommenda-
tions to the Legislature by December 31, 2004.
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LB 358 also makes changes to the Election Law. The bill requires the
Secretary of State to establish a secure and confidential free access
system, such as a toll-free telephone line or an Internet website, so
that a voter can find out the result of his or her provisional ballot. (A
provisional ballot is one that is conditionally accepted pending verifi-
cation of the voter’s registration by election officials.)

Additionally, LB 358 permits the use of different types of voting
equipment, including electronic voting systems, and clarifies what
constitutes a valid mark on a ballot when ballots are counted manually
or by optical scanner.

Finally, the bill requires that election officials post various informa-
tion at every polling place on election day. Required information in-
cludes the hours the polling place is open, instructions for first-time
voters and those who register by mail, and information on voting
rights and voter fraud.

LB 358 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 13,
2003.

LB 359, introduced by the Government, Military and Veterans Affairs
Committee, makes various changes regarding the voter registration
process. The bill requires that an applicant registering to vote state his
or her age and whether he or she is an American citizen. An applicant
must also submit his or her driver’s license number and, if none, then
the last four digits of his or her social security number. If the applicant
has neither, then he or she is assigned some other unique identifying
number.

The bill also provides that those who register to vote by mail and are
registering in a particular county for the first time must submit a copy
of a photo identification or some other identifying document, such as
a bank statement or paycheck, that shows the name and address of the
applicant.

Additionally, LB 359 provides that a mail-in voter registrant regis-
tered after January 1, 2003, who has not previously voted for a federal
office in the county, must provide a photo identification or other
identifying document at the polling place. If the voter does not or can-
not provide identification at such time, he or she can cast a provisional

ballot. (A provisional ballot is one that is conditionally accepted
pending verification of the voter’s registration by election officials.)



Voters requesting absentee ballots who registered by mail after Janu-
ary 1, 2003, must also submit photo identification or an identifying
document with the returned ballot.

LB 359 passed with the emergency clause 42-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 16, 2003.

LB 607—Adopt the
Legislative
Performance Audit
Act and Provide
Duties for the Auditor

of Public Accounts
(Schimek, Combs, and
Redfield)

LB 607 adopts the Legislative Performance Audit Act (Audit Act). By
doing so, the Legislature revises and updates its legislative oversight
function and replaces the Legislative Program Evaluation Act with the
Audit Act prescribed in LB 607.

Generally, a performance audit assesses whether a program is operat-
ing efficiently and pursuant to legislative intent. As such, it is differ-
ent from a financial audit, which assesses whether an agency or a pro-
gram is spending its funds appropriately. While a review of an
agency’s or program’s funds and expenditures can be part of a per-
formance audit, the audit’s scope and purpose is broader.

The Audit Act creates the Legislative Performance Audit Committee
(formerly, the Program Evaluation Committee) and the Legislative
Performance Audit Section (formerly, the Program Evaluation Unit).
The committee is composed of seven members: the Speaker of the
Legislature; the chairpersons of the Executive Board and the Appro-
priations Committee; and four other Senators chosen by the Executive
Board. Four analysts and the Director of Research compose the audit
section.

The Audit Act authorizes the committee, through the audit section, to
conduct performance audits of state agencies and programs, including
departments, boards, commissions, and other state governmental enti-
ties. The committee is prohibited from conducting performance audits
of the courts or the Governor or his or her personal staff.

Additionally, LB 607 authorizes the Auditor of Public Accounts, with
the approval of the Legislative Performance Audit Committee, to
conduct additional performance audits. If, during the course of the
performance audit, the audit reveals any problems within a state
agency or program, the auditor must report his or her finding to the
committee. And, if in the course of a financial audit the auditor identi-
fies performance audit issues, he or she must report them to the com-
mittee. Finally, the bill authorizes the committee and the auditor to
jointly conduct a performance audit.
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LB 607 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.

LB 626—Provide
Requirements for
Contracts for Services
(Preister, Bourne, Bromm,
Connealy, Jensen, Redfield,
Schimek, Stuhr, and
Wehrbein)

50

LB 626 establishes a system for the bidding and selection of selected
state government service contracts and a method of tracking the ex-
penditures associated with the provision of such services.

The bill requires all state agency service contracts to be processed
through the state accounting system. Contracts entered into prior to
April 1, 2003, and still in effect must be processed by September 5,
2003. For purposes of this requirement, the term “state agency” means
any state constitutional office or agency, except the University of Ne-
braska; any Nebraska state college; any state court; and the Legisla-
ture.

Additionally, LB 626 provides that any proposed contract for $50,000
or more must be bid according to procedures prescribed by the De-
partment of Administrative Services (DAS) or a process approved by
the department. The actual bidding of the proposed contract can be
done by the agency or by DAS, through the materiel division. If the
agency bids the proposed contract, the materiel division must review
all bid documents prior to bidding and any changes to these docu-
ments.

To bid a proposed contract, an agency director must give public no-
tice, in cooperation with DAS, of a proposed contract project greater
than $50,000 and for all other contracts, must document the contrac-
tor-selection process and ensure that services required by the contract
are actually performed.

LB 626 further requires that all contracts must include a specific time
limit and cannot be structured to avoid the bidding and approval re-
quirements prescribed in the bill. Additionally, service contracts that
would replace state employees must be evaluated by DAS.

Certain contracts are exempt from the provisions of LB 626, including
contracts: (1) for professional legal services; (2) provided by another
state or local government agency; and (3) between a state agency and
the University of Nebraska, Nebraska state colleges, the courts, the
Legislature, or other officers or agencies established by the Nebraska
Constitution. Additionally, certain contracts entered into by the De-
partment of Insurance, the Department of Roads, and the Nebraska
Investment Council fall outside the scope of LB 626.



Finally, LB 626 provides that all “sole source” contracts greater than
$25,000 must be preapproved by DAS, except that the agency director
or designee can approve the contract in an emergency. (“Sole source”
contracts are those in which the selected contractor is the only practi-
cable source to provide the service.)

LB 626 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 30,
2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LR 16CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment to
Exclude Certain
Political Subdivision
Employees from Being
Considered Executive

Officers
(McDonald and Schimek)

LR 16CA would amend the Nebraska Constitution to clarify that an
employee of a political subdivision of the state, who is not an elected
official of that branch, would not be considered a member of the ex-
ecutive branch for purposes of Article IV, section 1. This change, if
approved by voters, would allow such employees to serve as state
senators.

The amendment arose from a decision by the Nebraska Supreme
Court which held that the “separation of powers” clause of the Ne-
braska Constitution made a state senator ineligible to serve in the
Legislature because, as an assistant professor at a Nebraska state col-
lege, he was a member of the executive branch of state government.
(See, Spire v. Conway, 238 Neb. 766, 472 N.W. 2d 403 [1991]).

LR 16CA advanced to General File, where the bill was bracketed.

LR 19CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment to
Restore Voting Rights
upon Completion of

Felony Sentence
(Schimek and Kruse)

LR 19CA proposed an amendment to Article VI, section 2, of the Ne-
braska Constitution which, if passed by the voters, would have auto-
matically restored a convicted felon’s right to vote once his or her fel-
ony sentence, including parole, was completed. Passage of the
amendment would have eliminated the requirement that the Board of
Pardons grant a pardon before a convicted felon is allowed to vote.

LR19CA was indefinitely postponed on March 20, 2003.

51



52



HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

Senator Jim Jensen, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 73—Adopt the
Outpatient Surgical
Procedures Data Act
and Provide for a
Uniform Prescription
Card or Other

Technology
(Cunningham, Byars,
Jensen, Price, and Combs)

LB 73 requires hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers to report in-
formation pertaining to outpatient surgeries. As enacted, LB 73 also
contains elements of a bill originally heard by the Banking, Com-
merce and Insurance Committee, LB 125, which requires each insurer
to issue a prescription drug card or other technology that contains
certain uniform information.

The bill requires every hospital and ambulatory surgical center per-
forming outpatient surgery to report the following information annu-
ally to the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and
Licensure (department):

e The name of the reporting facility;

* The facility portion of billed charges for each patient served;

* The county and state of residence by zip code for each patient
served;

* The primary outpatient surgical procedure performed for each
patient served;

e The primary payer for each patient served; and

* Other outpatient surgical information as voluntarily reported
by such facilities.

LB 73 assigns the department the duty to compile the information into
a data base to be used for statistical and public health planning pur-
poses. The bill guarantees that the information collected is privileged
and, as such, is not discoverable or subject to subpoena, nor usable as
evidence in any legal proceeding.

Among the duties assigned the department in the collection and analy-
sis of this information is an annual report listing:

e The 20 most frequently performed outpatient surgical proce-
dures;

e The total number of persons served for each procedure;

e The total number of persons served by county and state of
residence and region of service; and

* The average billed charges for such procedures.

Further, the department must periodically review the reported infor
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mation to identify policies and practices deemed detrimental to public
health. Recommendations to address any identified problems, whether
through regulation or legislation, must be reported annually to the
chairperson of the Health and Human Services Committee. The de-
partment is authorized to consider the cost of compiling the data when
setting licensure fees for the facilities who must report.

LB 73 also requires all health insurers who offer prescription drug
coverage in Nebraska to issue a card that conforms to the standards
and format of the National Council for Prescription Drug Programs
Pharmacy ID Card Implementation Guide. The card is to display in-
formation regarding coverage and claims filing. The cards must be
provided for health benefit plans issued on or after January 1, 2004,
and all health benefit plans renewed on or after January 1, 2005. The
bill provides for exemptions from the requirement for selected types
of coverage and also allows insurers to issue just one card if the pre-
scription drug information can fit on the primary health insurance
card.

LB 73 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LB 95—Adopt the
Cremation of Human
Remains Act and
Change Provisions
Relating to Disposition
of Remains

(Maxwell, Combs, Redfield,
Friend, and Erdman)
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Parents who suffer a miscarriage at a hospital can direct the disposi-
tion of the remains under the rights granted by LB 95.

The bill expands on current law that allows hospitals to dispose of fe-
tal remains younger than 20 weeks gestational age. Under previous
law, hospitals could allow the parents to direct the disposition or they
could dispose of the fetal remains as medical waste. For fetuses older
than 20 weeks, Nebraska law requires that a death certificate be is-
sued.

LB 95 requires hospitals licensed under the Health Care Facility Li-
censure Act to maintain a written policy for the disposition of the re-
mains of a child born dead. The bill defines child born dead as "a
child at any stage of gestation (a) who has died in utero, (b) whose
remains have been removed from the uterus of the mother, for whom
pregnancy has been confirmed prior to such removal, and (c) whose
remains are identified with the naked eye at the time of such removal
by the attending physician or upon subsequent pathological examina-
tion if requested by a parent." The provisions do not apply to elective
abortions.

Parents must be informed of their rights to direct disposition of fetal
remains and must be provided a copy of the hospital's written policy



regarding such. Nothing in the bill prevents hospitals from providing
additional notice and assistance to parents. Disposition can be made
by the hospital if no direction is given by a parent within 14 days fol-
lowing the delivery of the remains.

LB 95 also contains provisions adopted from a bill originally heard by
the Judiciary Committee. LB 59 enacts the Cremation of Human Re-
mains Act and requires the licensure of crematoriums. The act pro-
vides definitions, establishes a licensure and revocation process over-
seen by the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation
and Licensure, and sets standards and fees. The act also provides for
criminal penalties for violating the provisions of the act.

LB 95 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LB 411—Change
Coverage and
Eligibility under the
Medical Assistance

Program
(Speaker Bromm, at the
request of the Governor)

LB 411 changes eligibility and reduces some services under the state's
Medicaid program. This bill is one of four bills heard by the commit-
tee that are part of the Governor's budget package. The other bills are
LB 412, discussed on p. 56; LB413, which was indefinitely postponed
by the committee; and LB 414, discussed on p. 57 of this report.

According to LB 411's Fiscal Note, the changes will reduce state
General Fund expenditures by $4,281,551 in fiscal year 2003-2004
and $5,159,927 in fiscal year 2004-2005. Federal fund expenditures
will be reduced by $5,858,218 and $7,597,727 in each fiscal year re-
spectively.

Among its changes, LB 411 eliminates the Ribicoff program, which
provides medical coverage for low-income 19- and 20-year-olds who
are either single or married without children. According to the bill's
Fiscal Note, eliminating the Ribicoff program will end medical cover-
age for about 3,100 young adults and require 10 fewer social workers.
Individuals qualifying for Ribicoff coverage must have an annual in-
come below $4,704 for a one- or two-person household.

LB 411 also ends presumptive Medicaid eligibility for children. Pre-
sumptive eligibility means that services are automatically and imme-
diately granted to families who apply for Medicaid, under the as-
sumption they will qualify for the program once the paperwork has
been processed. About 80 percent of children who apply for Medicaid
are eventually approved.
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Additionally, LB 411 limits:

* Orthodontics for children to the most severe cases, including
instances of craniofacial birth defects affecting the occlusion
and mutilated and severe occlusion;

* Chiropractic visits for adults to 20 per year; and

* Eyeglass frame and lens replacement for adults to one annu-
ally.

As introduced, LB 411 also would have eliminated presumptive eligi-
bility for pregnant women and adult dental care. However, both of
these services were retained with the adoption of the committee
amendment.

LB 411 passed with the emergency clause 44-3 and was approved by
the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 412—Change and
Eliminate Provisions
Relating to Public
Health Departments
and Health Care

Funding
(Speaker Bromm, at the
request of the Governor)
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LB 412 eliminates funding for public health grants over the biennium
from the Nebraska Health Care Cash Fund. The $5 million previously
appropriated from the fund for this purpose is instead appropriated to
the Children's Health Insurance Cash Fund via the mainline appro-
priations bill, LB 407, discussed beginning on p. 5 of this report. LB
412 is one of four bills heard by the committee that are part of the
Governor's budget package. The other bills are LB 411, discussed on
p. 55 of this report; LB413, which was indefinitely postponed by the
committee; and LB 414, discussed on p. 57.

The Nebraska Health Care Cash Fund provides funding for health-
related purposes from a portion of the state's share of the tobacco set-
tlement. The Children's Health Insurance Cash Fund provides money
for the Kids Connection program, which extends Medicaid coverage
to children under 19 who are at or below185 percent of the federal
poverty level. Kids Connection is the name of the Nebraska program
authorized by the federal Balanced Budget Act of 1997, which created
the State Children's Health Insurance Program (Title XXI of the So-
cial Security Act).

Specifically, LB 412 strikes the $5 million statutorily set aside for
public health grants awarded by the Nebraska Health Care Council
under Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-7614. The dollar-specific language is
replaced by "out of money appropriated by the Legislature." Seven-
hundred thousand dollars of the $5 million was previously earmarked
for programs designed to improve minority health. LB 412 changes
this to 15 percent of whatever money is appropriated by the Legisla



ture. No money is appropriated in the biennium for these public health
grants. However, LB 412 retains the program's statutory infrastruc-
ture for future appropriations.

As enacted, LB 412 also contains provisions of LB 469 which was
heard jointly by the Appropriations Committee and the Health and
Human Services Committee. The bill deletes provisions relating to the
distribution of minority health funds to federally qualified health cen-
ters in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-1628.07 and deletes the current $2 mil-
lion cap on infrastructure funding for local public health departments
in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-1626.08. Additionally, the bill provides that
local public health department funds not distributed in a given fiscal
year cannot be reappropriated and will remain in the Nebraska Health
Care Cash Fund.

Funds appropriated or distributed under the Nebraska Health Care
Funding Act cannot be considered entitlements or ongoing obligations
of the state and cannot be used to replace existing funding for existing
programs. As enacted, LB 412 deletes an exception currently provided
to such restrictions in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-7606.

Further, LB 412 removes obsolete language relating to transfers of
tobacco settlement revenue and Medicaid intergovernmental transfer
payments that have already been made. But it revives Neb. Rev. Stat.
sec. 71-6709 to preserve the existence of the Nursing Facility Conver-
sion Cash Fund, which terminated on January 1, 2003, to fulfill the
fund’s ongoing obligations.

The bill outright repeals Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 71-1626.02 (public
health planning grants), sec. 71-1626.03 (petitions to join an existing
public health department), and sections 71-7611.01 to 71-7611.08
(appropriations originally included in Laws 2001, LB 692).

LB 412 passed with the emergency clause 49-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 414—Change
Provisions Relating
to Child Care

Reimbursement Rates
(Speaker Bromm, at the
request of the Governor)

LB 414 allows the Department of Health and Human Services Fi-
nance and Support (department) to set the child care reimbursement
rate at less than the sixtieth percentile of the current market rate sur-
vey for the two fiscal years beginning July 1, 2003. This bill is one of
four bills heard by the committee that are part of the Governor's
budget package. The other bills are LB 411, discussed on p. 55; LB
412, discussed on p. 56; and LB413, which was indefinitely post-
poned by the committee.
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Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 43-536 requires the department to survey child
care providers regarding rates in every odd-numbered year to deter-
mine the department's reimbursement rate for providers who partici-
pate in the state's child care assistance program. The state's reim-
bursement rate must be set between the sixtieth and the seventy-fifth
percentile of the department's current market rate survey. LB 414 lets
the department set rates below the sixtieth percentile in the next two
fiscal years, but not less than the rate for the immediately preceding
fiscal year. The practical effect of this change is to freeze the state's
child care reimbursement rates for the 2003-05 biennium at the fiscal
year 2003 level.

LB 414 passed with the emergency clause 42-6 and was approved by
the Governor on May 26, 2003.

LB 467—Name the
Nebraska Health and
Human Services
System Act and
Eliminate Obsolete

Transfer Provisions
(Jensen)
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LB 467 makes several organizational changes and clarifications to the
statutes governing Nebraska's Health and Human Services System
(HHSS), including renaming its governing act and eliminating the
Partnership Council.

The bill changes the name of the Nebraska Partnership for Health and
Human Services Act to the Nebraska Health and Human Services
System Act. It provides that each of the directors of the three depart-
ments within HHSS — the Departments of Health and Human Serv-
ices, Regulation and Licensure, and Finance and Support — are ap-
pointed by the Governor and serve at his or her pleasure. Each direc-
tor is subject to confirmation by a majority vote of the Legislature.
The bill adds new language pertaining to each department's statutory
duties and states, in part, that the purpose of the act is to "provide for
the administration of publicly funded health and human services pro-
grams and services in the state of Nebraska" through its three depart-
ments.

Further, LB 467 permits the Governor, after January 1, 2007, to des-
ignate the Policy Secretary the chief administrative officer for HHSS.
The directors of the departments, the Policy Secretary, and the chief
medical officer comprise the Policy Cabinet of HHSS, which is re-
tained under the bill.

Finally, LB 467 eliminates the Partnership Council, which was cre-
ated to advise and assist the Policy Cabinet and act as a link to com-
munity and local service networks. The council was composed of
between seven and 15 persons, appointed by the Governor. The Policy
Secretary had served as chair.



LB 467 passed 46-0 and was signed by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LB 667—Change
Health and Human

Services Provisions
(Jensen, Aguilar, Byars,
and Combs)

LB 667 clarifies statutes pertaining to infectious disease exposures,
grants rights to the trainers of service dogs for the disabled, provides
an exception from certain respiratory care licensure provisions, and
outright repeals sections relating to the Community-Based Neurobe-
havioral Action Plan Act and the Parkinson's Disease Registry Act. As
enacted, LB 667 also includes provisions originally introduced in five
other bills.

The bill amends the statutes pertaining to reporting significant infec-
tious disease exposures to include "public safety officials" not en-
gaged in activities as an "emergency services provider" as among
those officials who can request diagnostic blood testing of a person
suspected of having an infectious disease. It also clarifies that fire-
fighters, whether they are paid or volunteer, can request the testing.
The bill adds hepatitis C to the list of infectious diseases.

Another provision of LB 667 confers the same rights of access to the
bona fide trainers of guide dogs, hearing dogs, and service dogs as are
conferred upon the disabled handlers of such dogs. Under Neb. Rev.
Stat. sec. 20-127, disabled persons have rights to "full and equal ac-
commodations, advantages, facilities, and privileges of all common
carriers, airplanes, motor vehicles, railroad trains, motor buses, street
cars, boats, any other public conveyance or mode of transportation,
hotels, lodging places, places of public accommodation, amusement,
or resort, and other places to which the general public is invited. . . ."
The bill makes it a Class III misdemeanor to interfere with these
rights.

Further, LB 667 provides an exception from respiratory care licensure
for certain duties performed by a registered polysomnographic tech-
nologist engaged in the study of sleep disorders; repeals obsolete pro-
visions of the Community-Based Neurobehavioral Action Plan Act;
and removes a termination date for the Parkinson's Disease Registry
Act. No general funds are to be used. Instead of a termination date,
LB 667 requires the Department of Health and Human Services to
cease its duties pertaining to the registry and the act by June 30 in any
year in which the department lacks sufficient funds to pay for the next
fiscal year, after giving 30 days' notice to each approved researcher
who has contracted with the department under the act. Additionally,
costs associated with administering the Parkinson's Disease Registry
Act are to be paid from cash funds, contract receipts, gifts, and grants.
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LB 667 also contains provisions of the following bills:

LB 121, which renames the Mail Service Prescription Drug
Act the Mail Service Pharmacy Licensure Act. The bill re-
quires an out-of-state mail-service pharmacy shipping or oth-
erwise delivering products to Nebraskans to employ at least
one full-time pharmacist with a current, unrestricted license is-
sued under the Uniform Licensing Law to be responsible for
the mail-service pharmacy's compliance with the act. It also
allows the Department of Health and Human Services Regula-
tion and Licensure to take action against the license of a mail-
service pharmacy if it has been disciplined in another state, has
violated the act or the act's rules and regulations, or engages in
conduct which in Nebraska poses a threat to the public health
and safety or poses a danger of death or physical harm.

LB 222, which also pertains to pharmacy regulations. The bill
waives the one-year-of-practice requirement for pharmacists
licensed in other states who are seeking licensure in Nebraska
without having to take the Nebraska licensure exam. The bill
also recodifies the Nebraska Drug Product Selection Act.

LB 383, which exercises the state's waiver option on a provi-
sion prohibiting convicted drug felons from receiving food
stamps. The federal ban is a part of the federal Personal Re-
sponsibility and Work Opportunity Act of 1996. The state
waiver allows persons convicted of felonious drug possession
to receive food stamps if they have completed a state-licensed
or nationally accredited substance abuse rehabilitation pro-
gram since the date of conviction. The waiver does not apply
to trafficking offenses or third-time offenses for possession or
use.

LB 666, which requires any person who acquires an auto-
mated external defibrillator to notify the local emergency
medical service of the existence, location, and type of defi-
brillator, unless the defibrillator was acquired for use in a pri-
vate residence, a hospital, or a doctor's office.

LB 667 passed 45-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 13,
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LB 724—Adopt the
Nebraska Behavioral
Health Reform Act
and Change Release
Provisions for

Committed Persons
(Jensen and Thompson)

LB 724 lays the groundwork for future major changes in the way in
which Nebraska delivers behavioral health care.

LB 724 states legislative intent for reforming the behavioral health
care system and recodifying those acts pertaining to it, including, but
not limited to, the Nebraska Comprehensive Community Mental
Health Services Act, the Nebraska Mental Health Commitment Act,
the Alcoholism, Drug Abuse, and Addiction Services Act, and the
Rehabilitation and Support Mental Health Services Incentive Act.

The changes favor community-based mental health services and could
eventually result in closing two of the state's three hospitals for the
mentally ill, known as regional centers. The regional centers are lo-
cated in Lincoln, Norfolk, and Hastings. LB 724 contains findings that
the number of inpatients at the regional centers is significantly less
than the originally designed capacity and many of the buildings are
uninhabitable or require significant expenditures of state funds for
maintenance and renovation. The bill envisions decreased reliance on
inpatient commitments at the state regional centers and uses the reve-
nue saved for developing a statewide, community-based, behavioral
health system. The bill also envisions the designation of a chief be-
havioral health officer in the Nebraska Health and Human Services
System.

The proposed changes extend to the county regional governance sys-
tem for behavioral health, which the bill would reform. LB 724 con-
tains intent language to revise and recodify statutes relating to the lo-
cal boards, including changing the membership of the regional gov-
erning boards, limiting their powers and duties, and restricting the
boards from directly providing behavioral health services without
state approval.

The bill directs the chairperson of the Legislature's Health and Human
Services Committee to prepare and introduce bills in the next regular
legislative session to implement LB 724.

Additionally, LB 724 eliminates a requirement that mental health
boards must be notified "seven days in advance" of the release of a
committed person from one of the state's three regional centers. The
board retains the prerogative to reconsider the appropriateness of the
release and, if requested by a county attorney, the board must consider
the appropriateness of a release. The changes are intended to eliminate
a potential backlog in the system.
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LB 724 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 13,
2003.

LB 756—Adopt the
Cancer Drug
Repository Program

Act

(McDonald, Aguilar,
Baker, Bourne, Burling,
Byars, Combs, Connealy,
Cudaback, Cunningham,
Erdman, Hudkins, Jensen,
Johnson, Jones, Kremer,
Kruse, Mines, Mossey, Dw.
Pedersen, D. Pederson,
Preister, Price, Redfield,
Schimek, Smith, Stuhr,
Stuthman, Synowiecki,
Thompson, Tyson, Vrtiska,
Wehrbein, Foley, and
Maxwell)
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LB 756 establishes a donation program for leftover cancer medica-
tions that allows the survivors of cancer patients to donate unadulter-
ated medications to benefit Nebraskans.

The bill provides that any person or entity can donate cancer drugs at
participating physician's offices, pharmacies, hospitals, or health
clinics. The drugs must be in their original, unopened, sealed, and
tamper-evident, unit-dose packaging. Cancer drugs packaged in single
unit doses can be accepted and dispensed if the outside packaging is
opened but the single-unit-dose packaging is not. Drugs cannot be ac-
cepted to the program with expiration dates earlier than six months
after the date of donation or if they have been adulterated or mis-
branded.

The bill allows dispensing entities to charge a handling fee, but not
charge for the cost of the drugs themselves. The original bill con-
tained language requiring the development of eligibility standards
based upon economic need in order to receive cancer drugs under the
act. However, the committee amendment struck this language, elimi-
nating most of the bill's cost.

The Department of Health and Human Services Regulation and Li-
censure is charged with adopting and promulgating rules and regula-
tions, upon the recommendation of the Board of Pharmacy, to carry
out the Cancer Drug Repository Program Act.

LB 756 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.



JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Senator Kermit Brashear, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 1, Ninety-seventh
Legislature, Third
Special Session,
2002—Change
Provisions Relating to
Death Penalty

Sentencing

(Bromm and Brashear, at
the request of the
Governor)

LB 1, the subject of the Ninety-seventh Legislature's third special ses-
sion, brings Nebraska's death penalty statutes into compliance with a
U.S. Supreme Court ruling that juries, not judges, must determine
whether aggravating factors exist, warranting imposition of a death
sentence.

Under Nebraska's previous death penalty sentencing procedure, either
the trial judge or a three-judge panel determined whether any of Ne-
braska's statutorily enumerated aggravating factors existed to warrant
the death penalty for persons convicted of first-degree or felony mur-
der. If so, judges then weighed those aggravating factors against the
existence of any mitigating circumstances and compared the facts of
the crime and the defendant against other similar cases to determine
whether the death sentence was disproportionate to the penalty im-
posed in similar cases.

But, in Ring v. Arizona, 536 U.S. _, 122 S.Ct. 2428 (2002), the U.S.
Supreme Court held that allowing judges to find aggravating factors
violated a defendant's constitutional guarantee to a jury trial. In perti-
nent part, the court said that aggravating factors act as the "functional
equivalent of an element of a greater offense" (Ring quoting Apprendi
v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 464 (2000) at 494, n. 19). Previously, in Ap-
prendi, the Supreme Court ruled a person has a constitutional right to
have any fact that acts as an element of a crime determined by a jury.

LB 1 provides for a two-phase sentencing process: the aggravation
phase and the penalty phase. In the aggravation phase, prosecutors
present their evidence for the existence of aggravating factors to the
jury, which can be either the trial jury or a new jury impaneled under
certain enumerated circumstances. The aggravating factors — one or
more must exist for first-degree or felony murder to result in the death
penalty — must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt and the jury de-
cision must be unanimous. LB 1 retains the judge's role in imposing
sentence, which includes weighing the aggravating factors found by
the jury against the existence of any mitigating factors, and a propor-
tionality review. However, the bill does require sentence be imposed
by a three-judge panel, comprised of the trial judge and two other dis-
trict judges appointed by the Chief Justice of the Nebraska Supreme
Court. Previously, Nebraska law allowed the original trial judge to
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impose sentence or request a three-judge panel to impose sentence.
The panel must be unanimous in its verdict. Defendants are allowed to
waive their right to a jury determination of aggravating factors, in
which case the three-judge panel will determine aggravators.

Further, LB 1 requires the prosecuting attorney to file a "notice of ag-
gravation" in any case in which the death penalty is sought. According
to the Committee Statement, under Ring, "such notice is appropriate
in order to ensure that the requirements of due process are met." How-
ever, the jury is not to know of the existence or contents of the notice
of aggravation until after a finding of guilt. If no notice of aggravation
was filed prior to trial, then the bill directs the district court to enter a
sentence of life imprisonment without parole after the defendant has
been found guilty or has plead guilty. The bill also clarifies that sen-
tences of life imprisonment for Class IA felonies — first-degree and
felony murder — are not eligible for parole.

Finally, the provisions of LB 1 are intended to be "procedural only"
and not intended to "alter the substantive provisions" of Nebraska's
death penalty statutes.

LB 1 passed with the emergency clause 37-8 and was approved by the
Governor on November 22, 2002.

LB 17—Prohibit
Sexual Abuse of a
Protected Individual
and Change Provisions
Relating to Crimes
and Offenses as

Prescribed
(Brashear, Redfield, Mines,
and Preister)

64

LB 17 creates the crime of sexual abuse of a protected individual. The
bill also addresses numerous other criminal statutes because it carries
the provisions originally found in eight other bills.

A "protected individual" is defined in LB 17 as an individual in the
custody or care of the Health and Human Services System, essentially
state wards and residents of veterans' homes and the regional centers.
"Person" means someone employed by the Department of Health and
Human Services, the Department of Health and Human Services
Regulation and Licensure, or the Department of Health and Human
Services Finance and Support, and any individual to whom one of the
departments has authorized or delegated control over a protected indi-
vidual, whether by contract or otherwise.

Under the bill, a person subjecting a protected individual to sexual
penetration is a Class III felony and subjecting a protected individual
to sexual contact is a Class IV felony. Consent is not considered a de-
fense.



The other provisions of LB 17 and the bill in which the provision was
originally prescribed are:

* Banning the sale or distribution of liquid mercury thermome-
ters containing elemental mercury (LB 136).

* Making it a Class V misdemeanor to sell a puppy or kitten un-
der six weeks of age without its mother. The bill recognizes
exceptions for animal control facilities and animal shelters.
(LB 632).

* Making it a Class I misdemeanor to install or reinstall an air
bag not specifically designed for the make, model, and year of
the motor vehicle (LB 344).

* Increasing the monetary thresholds for the crimes of forgery in
the second degree and criminal possession of a forged instru-
ment (LB 427).

* Allowing law enforcement officers outside their primary juris-
dictions to conduct chemical testing on individuals suspected
of operating a motor vehicle, a boat, or an aircraft under the
influence of alcohol. Other instances granting expanded juris-
diction in statute include when an officer is in "hot pursuit" of
a suspect or when an aid to officer call is received. (LB 260).

* Giving a city attorney the same authority as a county attorney
to appeal a criminal case by defining "prosecuting attorney" as
a city, county, or other designated attorney (LB 364).

* Allowing criminal justice agencies to charge fees for storing
and maintaining criminal justice records (LB 179).

* Allowing jail inmates to receive inpatient or outpatient treat-
ment for substance abuse (LB 298).

LB 17 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,

2003.
LLB 43—Authorize With the goals of providing alternatives to the cost and caseload bur-
City and County den of adjudication in juvenile court, reducing recidivism, and in-

creasing the use of restitution, LB 43 authorizes city and county attor-
neys, with the approval of their local governing bodies, to create pre-
trial diversion programs for juveniles.

Juvenile Pretrial
Diversion Programs,
Create Offenses

i ursuant to , a juvenile pretrial diversion program:

Relating to P ttoLB43,aj le pretrial d prog

Methamphetamine,

and Change Juvenile * Provides an option for the county or city attorney and sets out

Temporary Custody criteria the attorney can use in making a decision on whether
. . retrial diversion is appropriate;

Provisions P bprop

(Thompson) * Is voluntary for the juvenile;
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e Allows the juvenile to consult with counsel before agreeing to
the diversion;

* s offered prior to adjudication but after arrest or issuance of a
citation that supports the filing of a juvenile petition or crimi-
nal charge;

* Results in the dismissal of the underlying petition or charge if
successfully completed;

* Is designed to further the goals stated in statute; and

* Requires confidentiality unless the juvenile agrees otherwise
or is authorized by law.

The bill provides for a juvenile diversion agreement that must include
one or more of six enumerated tasks that must be completed, includ-
ing a letter of apology, restitution, community service, and restrictions
on the juvenile's activities.

The Nebraska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice
is given duties to gather and compile data on the diversion programs.

As enacted, LB 43 also contains the provisions of two other juvenile
justice bills.

LB 43 makes it a crime to knowingly or intentionally cause a child or
vulnerable adult to inhale or have contact with methamphetamine or
methamphetamine-related substances or to ingest methamphetamine
or methamphetamine-related substances. These provisions, which
were originally introduced in LB 438, make it (1) a Class I misde-
meanor on the first offense and a Class IV felony for subsequent of-
fenses for the inhaling charges and (2) a Class I misdemeanor on the
first offense and a Class IIIA felony on second or subsequent offenses
for causing the ingestion of methamphetamine.

The bill also addresses temporary custody issues for juveniles by
specifying that when a juvenile is taken into emergency custody, the
law officer is to deliver the juvenile to a probation officer who must
determine whether the juvenile needs detention and, if so, to arrange
for that placement. These provisions were originally found in LB 133.

LB 43 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.



LB 46—Change and
Adopt Provisions
Relating to Correc-
tions, Probation, and

Parole

(Brashear, Bourne, and
Dw. Pedersen)

LB 46 revamps the correctional system in Nebraska.

The bill enacts the Community Corrections Act and the Correctional
System Overcrowding Emergency Act, creates the Community Cor-
rections Council, gives duties to the executive director of the Ne-
braska Commission on Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice per-
taining to uniform crime data analysis, and makes Nebraska a signa-
tory to the Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision. The
bill repeals the current Community Correctional Facilities and Pro-
grams Act and the Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supervision.

The majority of proposals in LB 46 were developed from recommen-
dations of the Community Corrections Working Group convened by
Governor Johanns to address Nebraska's rising prison costs. The bill
proposes to do this by creating less-expensive, community-based in-
carceration alternatives and reducing the state's reliance on the more
expensive option of imprisoning certain non-violent felony offenders.
The elements of these changes include creating new sentencing
guidelines, expanding community corrections alternatives to prison,
and changing the state's systems of probation and parole.

To further these objectives, LB 46 creates the Community Corrections
Council (council). For administrative and budgetary purposes, the
council is housed within the Nebraska Commission on Law Enforce-
ment and Criminal Justice (crime commission). The council's voting
membership includes the executive director of the crime commission,
the Director of Correctional Services, the chairperson of the Board of
Parole, the parole administrator, and seven members appointed by the
Governor from certain statutorily specified constituencies. The coun-
cil also includes six nonvoting members.

The council is assigned numerous duties. They include developing
standards for community correctional facilities and programs; devel-
oping a plan to establish a statewide community corrections contin-
uum; and developing and recommending sentencing guidelines for the
state Supreme Court's review.

The council's first task is to develop sentencing guidelines for felony
drug offenses and present the guidelines to the Supreme Court by July
1, 2004. After that, sentencing guidelines for other felony offenses are
to be developed on a schedule deemed appropriate by the court. The
guidelines must include that courts consider community correctional
programs and facilities in sentencing designated offenders, with a goal
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of reducing dependence on incarceration for nonviolent offenders.
The bill authorizes judges to sentence offenders to a community cor-
rectional program or facility as a condition of probation. Additionally,
the Board of Parole can parole an offender to a community correc-
tional program or facility pursuant to the guidelines developed by the
council.

LB 46 encourages the use of parole and probation, removing statutory
barriers that had kept some offenders from qualifying for parole and
allowing sanctions short of revocation for non-criminal probation
violations to keep offenders out of prison. The bill mandates a parole
review no later than 60 days prior to the date a committed offender
becomes eligible for parole and affirms the Legislature's intent that
offenders eligible for parole have the opportunity to complete the "fi-
nal stages" of their sentences on parole.

LB 46 gives probation officers new authority to levy administrative
sanctions on persons who commit minor, non-criminal violations of
probation. Previous law required probation officers to file a report for
any probation violation with the county attorney, who could then file
a motion to revoke probation. The bill places new fees on probation-
ers and parolees to fund the programs and services associated with
community corrections. Persons placed on probation will pay a one-
time administrative fee of $30 and monthly probation programming
fees of $25 or $35 (for intensive supervision). Parolees are charged
$25 a month under the bill. A judge can waive the fees based on a
finding of undue financial hardship.

Another provision of LB 46 imposes a $1 court fee to be used for de-
veloping a uniform crime data analysis system. The executive director
of the crime commission is charged with overseeing the development
of the system, which is to include, at least, "the number of offenses,
arrests, charges, probation admissions, probation violations, probation
discharges, admissions to and discharges from the Department of Cor-
rectional Services, parole reviews, parole hearings, releases on parole,
parole violations, and parole discharges" categorized by statutory
crime.

LB 46 also addresses prison overcrowding by allowing the Governor
to declare an overcrowding emergency when the correctional system
population is above 140 percent of design capacity. The declaration
triggers the Board of Parole to begin considering or reconsidering
those offenders eligible for parole and to parole those deemed most
appropriate, until the prison population is reduced to 125 percent of
design capacity.



Finally, the provisions of LB 522 were added to the bill via amend-
ment, making Nebraska a compact state for purposes of overseeing
adult offenders placed on community supervision who move to and
from other states. The compact establishes uniform procedures to
manage the offenders, notify victims, collect data, monitor and en-
force compliance with the rules governing the interstate movement of
offenders, and coordinate training and education. It further provides
for the creation of the State Council for Interstate Adult Offender Su-
pervision, which is responsible for appointing a commissioner from
Nebraska to serve on the Interstate Commission for Adult Offender
Supervision.

LB 46 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 23, 2003.

LB 146—Change
Provisions of the
Nebraska Hospital-
Medical Liability Act
and Provide Immunity
for Volunteer Medical

Personnel
(D. Pederson, Combs,
Johnson, and Aguilar)

As enacted, LB 146 increases the amount Nebraskans can collect for a
medical malpractice suit from $1.25 million to $1.75 million.

The increased liability cap under the Nebraska Hospital-Medical Li-
ability Act goes into effect December 31, 2003. This provision was
originally found in LB 23.

LB 146 makes several other changes to the medical malpractice stat-
utes.

The bill requires insurance providers to collect the liability insurance
surcharge required of health-care providers and remit the money to the
state Department of Insurance within 30 days of receipt. Previously,
the department collected the surcharge, which is deposited into the
Excess Liability Fund for payment of claims. The amount of the sur-
charge is based on the health-care provider's annual premium paid for
maintenance of current financial responsibility. The bill's Fiscal Note
expects a minimal savings in cash fund expenses related to collecting
the surcharge and a reduction in the department's workload. The bill
also requires the insurer to collect certain information pertaining to
insurance coverage from the health-care provider and supply it to the
department.

Additionally, LB 146 allows a judge to dismiss a pending liability ac-
tion if the medical review panel has not convened within six months.
Nebraska law provides that a review panel must hear any action
against a health-care provider before it can be filed in court unless the
claimant waives this right.
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Finally, LB 146 provides civil immunity for certain medical profes-
sionals who volunteer services in a free clinic or not-for-profit facility,
unless the clinic or facility is operated by a licensed hospital. Injuries
that are deemed the result of willful or wanton acts by the practitioner
are not protected nor can the practitioner receive immunity if he or she
has been disciplined by the applicable credentialing board in the five
years before the injury occurred or if the practitioner was under the
influence of alcohol or illegal drugs. These provisions were originally
contained in LB 162.

LB 146 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 28,
2003.

LB 148—Adopt and
Change Uniform Acts
Regarding Domestic

Relations
(Landis, Friend, and
Redfield)
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Nebraska is on board with how states have agreed to handle orders of
child support, custody, and domestic violence across state lines with
the adoption of LB 148.

First, LB 148 adopts changes to the Uniform Interstate Family Sup-
port Act (UIFSA) recommended by the National Conference of
Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (commissioners). The act aids
in the enforcement and collection of interstate family support orders,
primarily child support, by stipulating that one order from one state
will be enforced in all states. All states have adopted this act in some
form.

The changes include:

* Clarifying when an individual can seek modification of an or-
der in states other than the state of original jurisdiction;

* Clarifying how the controlling order is determined when two
or more states have orders of support for the same child,

* Providing for the redirection of support when an obligee
moves from one state to another;

* Allowing for the advance of technology by recognizing the
validity of electronic signatures and e-mails; and

* Expanding the act to include foreign country jurisdictions pur-
suant to reciprocity and comity principles and allowing a state
court to modify a support order if an individual can establish
that the foreign jurisdiction cannot or will not.

Further, LB 148 adopts the Uniform Interstate Enforcement of Do-
mestic Violence Protection Orders Act, which establishes uniform
procedures for the interstate enforcement of domestic violence pro-
tection orders by courts and law enforcement. This act, developed



from recommendations by the commissioners in 2000, was originally
contained in LB 628.

Finally, LB 148 adopts the commissioners' recommended revisions to
laws governing child custody and enacts the Uniform Child Custody
Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act. This measure was originally found
in LB 629. The bill acknowledges a preference for home state juris-
diction, which limits temporary emergency jurisdiction and broadens
the ability to retain continuing exclusive jurisdiction. The bill also
adds enforcement provisions to the current jurisdictional provisions
and provides that Nebraska courts can enforce a custody or visitation
order from another state that conforms substantially to Nebraska law.

LB 148 passed 41-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 30,
2003.

LB 294—Recognize an
Action for an Unborn
Child in Wrongful

Death Cases

(Foley, Baker, Bromm,
Burling, Byars, Combs,
Cunningham, Engel, Erd-
man, Friend, Hartnett,
Hudkins, Jensen, Jones,
Kremer, Maxwell, Mines,
Mossey, Dw. Pedersen,
Preister, Quandahl,
Redfield, Schrock, Smith,
Stuhr, Stuthman,
Synowiecki, Tyson, Vrtiska,
and McDonald)

LB 294 amends Nebraska's wrongful death statute (Neb. Rev. Stat.
sec. 30-809) to provide a cause of action for the wrongful death of "an

unborn child in utero." The bill is the civil counterpart to the Homi-
cide of the Unborn Child Act (Laws 2002, LB 824).

The bill exempts the mother of the unborn child and licensed health
care providers and persons who dispense or administer a drug or de-
vice if the death of the unborn child is the intentional result of their
actions and the mother has given consent.

LB 294 passed 43-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.

LB 760—Provide for
Additional Judicial
Branch Training and
Education, Fees, and
Nonjudicial Days
(Brashear, Mines, and
Connealy)

LB 760 increases the cost of going to court. The bill as enacted con-
tains provisions originally found in LB 62, LB 489, LB 699, and LB
808. (LB 46, discussed on p. 67, also contains a $1 increase in court
filing fees.)

LB 760 imposes:

* A $1 training fee assessed on each case filed in county and
district court, including appeals, and for each appeal and origi-
nal action filed in the Court of Appeals and the Supreme Court
(all court filings). This fee is for a mandatory training and
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education program enacted via LB 760 for judges and employ-
ees of the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, district courts,
separate juvenile courts, county courts, and the Nebraska Pro-
bation System.

e A $5 fee to support the Nebraska Retirement Fund for Judges,
assessed as costs for each civil and criminal case, traffic mis-
demeanor, and city or village ordinance violation filed in the
district and county courts. This is an increase of $4 from the
previous $1 cost assessed for the judges retirement plan. (The
increase in court costs for the judges retirement plan was also
included in LB 320, discussed on p. 83.)

* A 75-cent dispute resolution fee on all court filings to support
the Office of Dispute Resolution. Additionally, LB 760 states
legislative intent that any General Fund money supplanted by
the Dispute Resolution Cash Fund can be used by the State
Court Administrator for the support and maintenance of the
State Library.

* A $2.75 fee for indigent defense assessed on all court filings
to support the Commission on Public Advocacy. LB 760 also
creates a new violent crime and drug defense division within
the commission. The commission provides defense counsel to
indigent persons in criminal and civil cases. It was created to
defend poor people accused of first-degree murder, but has
since been expanded to include defending low-income per-
sons in civil cases and violent and drug crimes and inmates
requesting DNA testing under the DNA Testing Act. Because
the state provides the majority of its funding, the commission
provides some property tax relief to counties.

LB 760 also contains a provision that automatically waives a $15 fee
for making a complete record of a case in all Title IV-D child support
cases all cases filed as in forma pauperis and all cases filed by a
county attorney.

Finally, LB 760 authorizes the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court to
designate certain days as nonjudicial days, during which certain courts
could be closed. This provision allows the Chief Justice to close
courts on days other than or in addition to weekends and state holi-
days. The bill allows the Chief Justice to furlough workers for desig-
nated days and is intended to be a money-saving measure.

LB 760 passed with the emergency clause 46-1 and was approved by
the Governor on May 23, 2003.



LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 602—Adopt the
Human Cloning

Prohibition Act
(Smith, Aguilar, Baker,
Bourne, Bromm, Burling,
Combs, Cudaback,
Cunningham, Engel, Erd-
man, Foley, Friend, Hart-
nett, Hudkins, Jensen,
Jones, Kremer, Louden,
Maxwell, McDonald,
Mines, Mossey, Dw.
Pedersen, Preister, Price,
Quandahl, Redfield,
Schrock, Stuhr, Stuthman,
Synowiecki, Tyson,
Wehrbein, Byars, and
Vrtiska)

LB 602 would ban human cloning, whether done for therapeutic or
reproductive purposes. The bill also proposes to make it unlawful to
derive any product from human cloning. The bill would not affect
cloning plants or animals other than humans. The bill defines human
cloning as "human asexual reproduction, accomplished by introducing
nuclear material from one or more human somatic cells into a fertil-
ized or unfertilized oocyte whose nuclear material has been removed
or inactivated so as to produce a living organism, at any stage of de-
velopment, that is genetically virtually identical to an existing or pre-
viously existing human organism. . . ."

In reproductive cloning, the cloned cell is implanted in a woman's
uterus in an attempt to achieve a live birth. In therapeutic cloning, also
known as somatic nuclear cell transfer, the cell is allowed to develop
into an embryo, which is destroyed to obtain stem cells. Scientists
hope to use stem cells to cure certain diseases, such as diabetes and
Parkinson's Disease. The bill would prohibit human cloning for either

purpose.

LB 602 would make violating the Human Cloning Prohibition Act a
Class IV felony. The bill also provides for civil penalties.

The bill was bracketed until January 7, 2004. It is on General File.

LR 10CA -
Constitutional
Amendment to
Restrict Pardon
Powers for Sentences
of Life Imprisonment

without Parole
(Beutler)

LR 10CA would make it harder for the Board of Pardons to free con-
victed first-degree murderers serving life sentences.

LR 10CA would amend section 13 of Article IV of the Nebraska Con-
stitution to prevent the board from pardoning or commuting a sen-
tence of life without parole unless the board unanimously finds that
the offender is so infirm, disabled, or elderly that he or she no longer
poses a threat to the public or that there is reasonable doubt as to the
offender's guilt based on newly discovered evidence presented to the
board.

LR 10CA is being held by the committee.
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LR 20CA -
Constitutional
Amendment to
Eliminate the
Requirement that
There Be a County
Court In and For Each

County
(Beutler)

74

LR 20CA would strike the constitutional requirement that a county
court be located in every county of the state.

The resolution would amend Article V, section 1, of the Nebraska
Constitution to eliminate language requiring a county court "in and for
each county." The change would give the Legislature flexibility to
change the judicial system.

LR 20CA is being held by the committee.



NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE
Senator Ed Schrock, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 122—Change Park
Entry Permit Fee

Provisions

(Schrock, Baker, Bromm,
Byars, Connealy, Hartnett,
Hudkins, Janssen, Jensen,
Johnson, Kruse, Kremer,
Preister, Stuhr, and
Wehrbein)

Visitors to the state's parks can expect to pay higher entry fees in the
future after the passage of LB 122, which allows the Game and Parks
Commission (commission) to increase the annual entry fee and the
daily entry fee and creates a new, higher fee for nonresidents.

LB 122 authorizes the commission to set park entry fees by rules and
regulations within a statutorily permissible range. Previously, the fees
were set in statute. The commission has indicated it would not raise
fees immediately to the maximum allowable, opting, instead, to in-
crease fees gradually.

LB 122 caps the annual park entry fee for resident motor vehicles at
$20, from its prior rate of $14. The daily resident park permit could
increase to $3, from its current $2.50 per day. Under the new fee
structure, nonresidents could be charged $25 for an annual park entry
permit and up to $5 for a daily permit.

LB 122 passed 38-1 and was approved by the Governor on February
20, 2003.

LB 143—Change and
Eliminate Scrap Tire
and Other Solid Waste

Disposal Provisions
(Schrock)

LB 143 amends the Integrated Solid Waste Management Act and the
Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Act and outright repeals the
Scrap Tire Reduction and Recycling Incentive Act.

The bill allows the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to
issue permits for solid waste processing facilities for up to 10 years
from the date of issuance. Previously, these permits could be issued
for only five years. These facilities, such as transfer stations, compost
sites, and material recovery facilities, pose a low environmental risk.
The bill also allows permits for solid waste disposal areas (landfills
and special use facilities) to be issued for terms not to exceed five
years. As required by LB 143, permitholders must be in compliance
with the Integrated Solid Waste Management Act before extension of
the permits is allowed.

LB 143 also allows DEQ to use the Integrated Solid Waste Manage-

ment Cash Fund to cover costs incurred responding to spills or other
environmental emergencies and to seek recovery of these expenses
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from third parties. Previously, these costs were paid from the General
Fund and DEQ could only seek recovery of expenses incurred for in-
vestigation, remediation, and monitoring facilities.

Additionally, the bill eliminates obsolete provisions of the Scrap Tire
Reduction and Recycling Incentive Act and consolidates the remain-
ing provisions into the Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Act.
Provisions pertaining to scrap tires were originally found in LB 144.
Notably, the bill allows nonrecyclable tires to be disposed of in land-
fills. LB 143 defines nonrecyclable tires as press-on solid tires, solid
pneumatic shaped tires, and foam pneumatic tires. Previously, Ne-
braska law prohibited the disposal of any tires in landfills.

LB 143 also allows any person to store 500 passenger-tire equivalents
of waste tires for up to one year without a solid waste permit. But, af-
ter one year, at least 75 percent of the tire material by weight must be
reused or recycled or the accumulation will be deemed an illegal dis-
posal.

The bill also retains language originally found in the Scrap Tire Re-
duction and Recycling Incentive Act allowing the Environmental
Quality Council to define beneficial reuse and establish construction
standards and other criteria for exempting the placement of tires for
agricultural uses, including fish habitat and bank and blowout stabili-
zation.

LB 143 passed 47-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 13,
2003.

LB 165—Provide Fees
for Shipment of
Radioactive and
Transuranic Waste,
Change Provisions of
the Municipal
Cooperative Financing
Act, and Provide for
Indemnification by
Power Districts for
Negligence

(Natural Resources Com-

mittee, Stuthman, Vrtiska,
and Wehrbein)
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As originally introduced, LB 165 was a response to management
problems at the Cooper Nuclear Station in Brownville. However, the
bill, as enacted, contains provisions from LB 29, pertaining to the
Municipal Cooperative Financing Act, and LB 254, which establishes
fees for shipping nuclear waste across Nebraska.

LB 165 allows a public power district or public power and irrigation
district to indemnify a third-party entity against negligence if the dis-
trict enters into a contract with the entity for the management or op-
eration of a nuclear power plant. Sponsors said the bill was designed
to address the needs of the Cooper plant, which, for the past decade,
has been beset by management problems and high employee turnover,
while receiving poor performance ratings from the federal Nuclear
Regulatory Commission. The Nebraska Public Power District, which
owns Cooper, has proposed solving the management problems at
Cooper by hiring a private firm to manage it.



The bill extends the same limitations of liability and other protections
available to a public power district under the Political Subdivisions
Tort Claims Act to any public or private entity acting as an agent for a
district under a contract for operation. But LB 165 exempts from in-
demnification damages resulting from the management company's
misconduct.

Another provision of LB 165 assesses a fee of $2,000 on each cask of
high-level radioactive waste or transuranic waste shipped through Ne-
braska, whether by rail or motor carrier. After January 1, 2005, the
bill allows the Department of Health and Human Services Regulation
and Licensure to set the fee amount. The fees are to be used to cover
the costs of:

* Inspection, escorts, security, planning, and mainte-
nance;

* Coordination of emergency response capability;

* Education and training;

* Purchase of necessary equipment; and

*  Administrative costs.

High-level radioactive waste or transuranic waste shipped by or for
the United States government for military, national security, or na-
tional defense purposes are exempt from the provisions of LB 165.

Finally, LB 165 amends the Municipal Cooperative Financing Act.
The act allows cities and villages to cooperatively finance, acquire,
and operate systems to deliver water, generate power, and dispose of
sewerage and solid waste. LB 165 amends the act's definition of "mu-
nicipality" to allow a public power district that only serves one com-
munity to participate in the provisions of the act. The bill eliminates
obsolete language regarding requirements for municipalities wishing
to form an agency to undertake a power project. Finally, LB 165
changes rules governing how the Nebraska Power Review Board con-
ducts business under the act.

LB 165 failed to pass with the emergency clause 29-10. However,

without the emergency clause, the bill passed 26-10 and was approved
by the Governor on April 16, 2003.
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LB 305—Change
Miscellaneous
Provisions of the

Game Law
(Schrock)

LB 305 is a cleanup bill for the Game and Parks Commission that,
among the more substantive changes, addresses the process for issu-
ing habitat stamps, increases the allowable size of a cash fund, pro-
hibits hunting pigs, and restores a portion of the Game Law inadver-
tently

dropped in prior legislation that pertains to nonresident owners of Ne-
braska land obtaining deer hunting permits.

As enacted, LB 305 also contains provisions pertaining to the State
Boat Act originally introduced in LB 74 and LB 348. Previously, state
law required motorboats to be "effectively muffled" in a "reasonable
manner," making the law too vague to be effectively enforced, ac-
cording to proponents. LB 305, as enacted, sets the permissible noise
level at 96 decibels as measured by the appropriate equipment in
compliance with standards set by the American National Standards
Institute.

LB 305 also addresses boating safety. The bill requires a person
younger than 18 to complete a boater safety course, prohibits a person
younger than 14 from operating a motorboat, and prohibits a person
younger than 16 from towing individuals behind a motorboat or per-
sonal watercraft. The bill changes, from 30 feet to 50 feet, the distance
a person jumping the wake of a boat or watercraft must be from that
vessel and prohibits jumping the wake of any watercraft towing
someone. Further, any accident involving a water vessel that results
in a death, missing person, or life-threatening injury must be reported
to the Nebraska State Patrol. Finally, the bill allows persons to register
their boats in any county.

LB 305 passed with the emergency clause 44-2 and was approved by
the Governor on May 13, 2003.

LB 306—Change Fee
Authorization for the
Game and Parks

Commission
(Stuhr)
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LB 306 allows the Game and Parks Commission to increase a host of
fees for hunting and fishing permits and related activities. The com-
mission is still bound by a statutory cap that prevents fees from in-
creasing more than 6 percent in one year. The new fee range goes into
effect July 1, 2004, effectively delaying any increases until 2005, be-
cause the commission must hold a public hearing before increasing
fees.

In most cases, the prior fee maximum becomes the minimum. For ex-
ample, the fee range for resident hunting fees increases from the prior



range of $8.50-$11 to the new range of $11-$13; fishing fees, previ-
ously set at $11.50-$15, rise to $15-$17.50. Additionally, the fee
range for a lifetime hunting permit increases from the previous $200-
$260 to the new $260-$269. Under the provisions of the bill, fees also
increase for specialty hunting permits, commercial fishing licenses,
fur harvesting, taxidermy, game breeding, and controlled shooting
area licenses and for the manufacture or sale of boats or personal wa-
tercraft.

LB 306 passed 35-8 and was approved by the Governor on February
20, 2003.

LB 619—Provide for
Water Use Payments,
Nondelivery of Water,
Changes to Water
Storage Facility and
Livestock Waste
Control Facility
Provisions, and
Extension of the
Biopower Steering
Committee

Termination Date
(Jones, Burling, Cudaback,
Kremer, Louden,
McDonald, Schrock, Stuhr,
and Stuthman)

As enacted, LB 619 contains several provisions to manage Nebraska's
water resources and a provision that extends the life of the Biopower
Steering Committee. The bill contains measures originally introduced
in LB 123, LB 145, LB 637, LB 692, and LB 739.

LB 619 adds legislative findings that the ownership of water is held
by the state for the benefit of its citizens. This language, already in the
Nebraska Constitution, is added to the statutes declaring groundwater
to be one of the state's most valuable resources. The bill clarifies that
natural resources districts are the preferred legal authority to regulate
certain activities that may contribute to groundwater depletion. The
intent of this measure is to emphasize that Nebraska groundwater be-
longs to Nebraska for the beneficial use of its citizens. This review of
Nebraska's water transfer statutes was conducted when a Colorado
group expressed interest in using railcars to ship water from Nebraska
to Colorado. Currently, Nebraska allows water transfers to occur from
Nebraska to Kansas.

LB 619 expands and refines the criteria that can be used by the Direc-
tor of Natural Resources for determining whether to grant permits to
municipalities and other entities wanting to withdraw groundwater
from Nebraska wells for use in another state. To the list of statutory
criteria, LB 619 adds that the director can consider the nature of the
proposed use and whether it is a beneficial use of groundwater;
whether the proposed withdrawal would negatively impact the ability
of the state to comply with any interstate compact or decree or any
other formal state contract or agreement for water use; any adverse
environmental effect; and the cumulative effect of the requested with-
drawal when considered in conjunction with all other transfers subject
to law.

Further, LB 619 clarifies that owners of livestock waste control facili-
ties are exempt from obtaining a water storage permit but may be re
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sponsible for obtaining a dam safety permit. Owners of dams with a
total storage capacity of less than 15 acre-feet are exempt from filing
an application with plans, drawings, and specifications with the De-
partment of Natural Resources and from needing approval for aban-
donment of a dam. The bill also provides that all new livestock waste
control facilities must divert from the storage lagoon all runoff from
the 25-year, 24-hour storm, except rainfall directly falling on the fa-
cility and incidental runoff. However, incidental runoff must be pro-
vided for in the waste reservoir in addition to the capacity required for
the waste effluent or stored materials. The bill allows some exemp-
tions to current livestock waste requirements when there are no feasi-
ble alternatives and downstream water users won't be detrimentally
affected.

LB 619 additionally provides for another category of approved proj-
ects eligible for funding from the Nebraska Soil and Water Conserva-
tion Fund. Under these provisions, the owners of private land can be
paid for adopting or implementing practices or measures to reduce the
consumptive use of water in river basins in which an interstate agree-
ment, compact, or decree could require reduced water usage. The
payments can be for research, cost-sharing, or other programs imple-
mented by natural resources districts, irrigation districts, or other enti-
ties to develop incentive-based water conservation.

The bill also allows the board of directors of an irrigation district to
make a determination not to deliver water to certain areas "in times of
reduced water supply, when the volume of water is not adequate to be
beneficially used when equitably apportioned to all landowners in the
district." The board must meet certain obligations, including providing
notice to landowners and getting a majority of the landowners to agree
to the limitation. The bill authorizes the district to adjust its fees to
reflect the reduced delivery of water. Such determinations must be
made on a yearly basis and do not subject the landowner to any loss of
water rights for future deliveries.

Finally, LB 619 deletes obsolete references and extends the sunset
date of the Biopower Steering Committee from December 31, 2003 to
December 31, 2008. The committee was created in 1999 to study the
economic and environmental impact of generating electricity from
biomass and agricultural crops.

LB 619 passed with the emergency clause 44-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 16, 2003.



LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 32—Authorize
Storm Water
Management
Programs for Certain
Political Subdivisions

as Prescribed
(Schrock and Thompson)

LB 32 would allow certain cities, counties, and natural resources dis-
tricts to create storm water utilities.

Programs to reduce storm water pollution are required by the federal
Clean Water Act. The provisions of LB 32 would apply to cities of
the metropolitan, primary, or first class and counties subject to the
act's permit requirements under the National Pollutant Discharge
Elimination System (NPDES) and to natural resources districts that
encompass cities that must meet the NPDES requirements. Storm
water runoff has been identified as a major source of pollution for
bodies of water subject to such untreated discharges.

To pay for the storm water management programs required by federal
law, LB 32 would allow the affected political subdivisions to charge
fees proportionate to the storm water contribution of each property
assessed, using sound engineering principles and considering such
factors as impervious land surfaces (for example, parking lots) and
land use. Properties could get credit to offset their storm water
charges for using best management practices. The bill would prohibit
counties and natural resources districts from assessing a fee against
properties already paying a storm water fee to a municipality. The bill
would also exempt agricultural land from the imposition of storm
water charges.

LB 32 is on General File.

LR 4CA—
Constitutional
Amendment to
Preserve the Right to

Fish, Trap, and Hunt
(Schrock, Aguilar, Baker,
Combs, Connealy,
Cudaback, Cunningham,
Engel, Erdman, Hudkins,
Janssen, Jensen, Johnson,
Jones, Kruse, Louden,
Mines, McDonald, Dw.
Pedersen, Smith, Stuhr,
Stuthman, Tyson, Vrtiska,
Synowiecki, and Mossey)

"Fishing, trapping, and hunting are a valued part of the heritage of the
people and will be a right forever preserved for the people subject to
reasonable restrictions as prescribed by law" is the proposed consti-
tutional language of LR 4CA.

If adopted by the electorate, LR 4CA would add a new section 25 to
Article XV of the Nebraska Constitution.

LR 4CA is on General File.
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NEBRASKA RETIREMENT SYSTEMS

COMMITTEE

Senator Elaine Stuhr, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 320—Change
Judges Retirement
System Contributions

and Fees
(Stuhr)

LB 320 raises the contribution rates for the judges retirement system.
The bill raises the employee contribution beginning July 1, 2003,
from six to eight percent of salary, for judges with less than 20 years
of service. It also initiates a four percent contribution for judges with
more than 20 years service. (It takes 20 years to earn the maximum
retirement benefit in the judges retirement plan.)

LB 320 increases court fees from one to five dollars. Fees accrue for
all civil and criminal cases, traffic misdemeanors or infractions, and
city and village ordinance violations filed in the district and county
courts. Fees are, in effect, the state matching contribution for the
judges retirement plan. The increase in court costs for the judges re-
tirement plan is also included in LB 760, discussed on p. 71.

The changes prescribed in LB 320 are meant to improve the financial
condition of the judges retirement system. In 2002, the Public Em-
ployees Retirement Board (PERB) reported the financial situation of
the three state defined benefit systems (schools, judges, and State Pa-
trol plans) had declined, primarily because of the negative investment
returns of recent years. (A defined benefit pension typically has a
“formula benefit” that determines the annuity received at retirement
and takes into account such factors as years of service, retirement age,
and average salary over a set number of years. Social Security is a
defined benefit pension.) PERB reported the defined benefit plans are
94-percent funded, meaning they are able to cover 94 percent of obli-
gations if all their members retire as scheduled. The judges retirement
fund has deteriorated the most. The fund ran a deficit of $726,000 in
fiscal year 2001-2002. A deficit of $1.5 million is projected for fiscal
year 2002-2003.

If the financial situation of one of the state’s defined benefit plans
deteriorates to the point where it cannot meet its obligations to its re-
tirees, then the state is statutorily required to pay the unfunded liabili-
ties.

LB 320 passed with the emergency clause 43-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 29, 2003.
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LB 451—Change

Retirement Provisions
(Nebraska Retirement
Systems Committee)
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LB 451 is the annual retirement cleanup bill. It encompasses changes
to different portions of the Nebraska retirement systems law.

The bill makes changes to the state and county employees retirement
systems. It defines a retiree’s “annuity start date” as the first day of
the month following the member’s termination or date the application
is received by the board, whichever is later. It also defines “final ac-
count value” as the value of a member’s retirement account on the
date the account is distributed to the member or used to purchase an
annuity from the retirement plan. The bill clarifies that the retiree’s
annuity purchase must be made as soon as possible after a valid appli-
cation has been received, but no sooner than 45 days after the mem-
ber’s termination.

Additionally, LB 451 provides that if a member of the state or county
system dies before retirement, the member’s retirement death benefit
will go to his or her estate if there are no designated beneficiaries. If
the sole primary beneficiary is the member’s surviving spouse, the
spouse can choose to receive an annuity within 120 days after the
member’s death. The annuity will be calculated as if the member had
retired and selected a joint and survivor annuity. Otherwise, the sur-
viving spouse (or other beneficiary) will receive a lump-sum payment
or payments, which must be paid out entirely within five years of the
member’s death.

LB 451 also provides that “termination of employment” for the judges
and State Patrol systems does not include ending employment if the
member returns to regular employment in the same system as a judge
or state patrol officer is employed on a regular basis by another state
agency, and there are less than 120 days between the end of the old
job and the starting date of the new one.

The bill changes provisions of all the retirement systems to comply
with the Internal Revenue Service Code and regulations that require
the Public Employees Retirement Board to make a reasonable effort
to locate the member or his or her beneficiary and to distribute bene-
fits by the required date. If the board is unable to locate the member or
beneficiary, the benefit will be distributed pursuant to the Uniform
Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act.

LB 451 also prohibits a member’s account, or portion thereof, in any
of the retirement systems from being used to increase the benefits of



other members.

LB 451 passed with the emergency clause 38-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 16, 2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LR 21CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment to
Define and Classify
Groups of Persons
Pertaining to Future

Retirement Benefits
(Stuhr)

LR 21CA proposes an amendment to Article III, section 18, of the
Nebraska Constitution, which, if passed by the voters, would allow
the Legislature to define and classify groups of persons differently for
purposes of granting retirement benefits under the state retirement
plans.

Proponents of the amendment argue that some school retirees, in par-
ticular, are poor because of their low retirement benefits. They con-
tend that LR 21CA would address this issue by allowing retroactive
benefit increases. However, there are many legal questions surround-
ing the constitutionality of extra compensation for prior service.

LR 21CA is being held by the committee.
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REVENUE COMMITTEE
Senator David Landis, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LR 2CA—Constitu-
tional Amendment
Allowing Limited
Property Tax Exemp-
tion for

Historically Significant

Real Property
(D. Pederson, Hartnett,
Wehrbein, and Smith)

LR 2CA will be submitted to voters at the general election in Novem-
ber 2004. The measure proposes an amendment to Article VIII, sec-
tion 2, of the Nebraska Constitution to provide that “the Legislature
may by general law, and upon any terms, conditions, and restrictions
it prescribes, provide that the increased value of real property result-
ing from improvements designated primarily for the purpose of reno-
vating, rehabilitating, or preserving historically significant real prop-
erty may be, in whole or in part, exempt from taxation.”

LR 2CA passed 44-3 and was presented to the Secretary of State on
March 27, 2003.

LB 282—Ratification
of the Streamlined
Sales and Use Tax

Agreement
(Landis)

LB 282 ratifies the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement, which
was approved by 33 implementing states on November 12, 2002.
Ratification of the agreement follows Nebraska’s adoption of the Uni-
form Sales and Use Tax Administration Act (USUTAA) by Laws
2001, LB 172. The USUTAA and the agreement are the product of
the Streamlined Sales Tax Project—a multistate consortium of state
tax administrators gathered to simplify sales and use taxation admini-
stration, especially relating to out-of-state sellers making sales via
mail-order and the Internet. Certain decisions of the United States Su-
preme Court and congressional inaction have hampered states’ efforts
to require remote sellers to collect state sales and use taxes.

LB 282 changes numerous Nebraska statutes that govern sales and use
taxation, including outright repeal of several statutes relating to sales
and use tax administration. Several sections of LB 282 were amended
by LB 759, which is discussed on p. 96.

LB 282 passed 37-3 and was approved by the Governor on May 6,
2003.
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LB 283—Increase
Alcoholic Beverage
Tax Rates; Change
Estate Tax Brackets
and Rates; and Delay
Implementation of the
Business Child Care

Tax Credit Program
(Landis and Schrock)

LB 283 increases alcoholic beverage tax rates operative July 1, 2003.
As enacted, LB 283 provides for the following alcoholic beverage tax
rates: Beer, 31 cents per gallon (up from 23 cents per gallon); distilled
spirits, $3.75 per gallon (up from $3.00 per gallon); farm wine, 6
cents per gallon (up from 5 cents per gallon); and wine—other than
farm wine—95 cents per gallon. LB 283 eliminates the distinction
between light wine (i.e., 14 percent or less alcohol), which was previ-
ously taxed at the rate of 75 cents per gallon, and fortified wine (i.e.,
more than 14 percent alcohol), which was previously taxed at the rate
of $1.35 per gallon. The final Fiscal Note for LB 283 estimates that
the alcoholic beverage tax rate increases will generate $4,940,838 for
fiscal year 2003-2004 and $5,390,005 for fiscal year 2004-2005.

Provisions of LB 286, as amended by the committee amendment,
were amended into LB 283. The legislation changes Nebraska’s estate
tax brackets and rates, operative January 1, 2003, and provides for one
set of estate tax brackets and rates for decedents dying on or after
January 1, 2003, and before July 1, 2003, and another set of estate tax
brackets and rates for decedents dying on or after July 1, 2003.

Provisions of LB 580 also were amended into LB 283. LB 580 delays
the operative date for the state’s business child care tax credit program
until January 1, 2007. (The business child care tax credit program was
first enacted by Laws 2001, LB 433.) The bill also changes the date
by which a business must meet the requirements for the program from
December 31, 2007, to December 31, 2011, and changes the date by
which the Department of Revenue and the Department of Insurance
must issue a joint report containing certain information about the pro-
gram (e.g., the number of business firms qualifying for the credit) to
December 1, 2008, and each December 1 thereafter, for so long as the
business child care tax credit program is in effect.

LB 283 passed with the emergency clause 40-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 30, 2003.

LB 285—Redefine the
Term “Contractor”
for Purposes of Sales

and Use Taxation
(Landis)
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As introduced, LB 285 would have extended the current 5.5 percent
sales and use tax rate until July 1, 2005. Laws 2002, LB 1085, in-
creased the sales and use tax rate from 5 percent to 5.5 percent, for a
one-year period beginning October 1, 2002. The committee amend-
ment would have made several additional changes to Nebraska’s tax
structure.



However, an amendment adopted on Select File struck all of LB 285’s
provisions and amended Laws 2003, LB 759, sec. 17, by redefining
the term “contractor,” to close a possible sales and use tax loophole.
As enacted, LB 285 defines contractor to mean “any person who re-
pairs property annexed to or who annexes property to real estate, in-
cluding leased property, by attaching building materials to the im-
provement or annexed property being built or repaired.” By contrast,
LB 759 defined contractor to mean “any person who repairs property
annexed to or who annexes property to real estate, including leased
property, by attaching such person’s own building materials to the
improvement or annexed property being built or repaired.” (Emphasis
added.) Floor debate on LB 285 indicated some concern that if build-
ing materials were acquired by the customer rather than the contrac-
tor, the contractor might not have to collect sales tax on charges for
labor.

LB 285 becomes operative October 1, 2003.

LB 285 passed 36-7 and was approved by the Governor on May 30,
2003.

LB 295—Clarify the
Meaning of
“Comparable Sales”
for Purposes of
Property Taxation and
Repeal a Rule
Governing the
Valuation of Farm

Sites
(Baker)

For purposes of real property taxation, LB 295 clarifies the meaning
of the phrase “comparable sales” and repeals a rule governing the
valuation of farm sites.

LB 295 clarifies the meaning of the phrase “comparable sales” by
providing a statutory definition. Comparable sales are relevant to the
sales comparison approach, which is one of the professionally ac-
cepted mass appraisal techniques that can be used to determine the
actual value (i.e., market value) of real property for purposes of prop-
erty taxation. LB 295 provides that “[c]omparable sales are recent
sales of properties that are similar to the property being assessed in
significant physical, functional, and location characteristics and in
their contribution to value.” Nebraska’s Property Tax Administrator
had and still has statutory authority to issue guidelines for assessing
officials to use in determining what constitutes a comparable sale, but
the phrase “comparable sales” was not defined by statute until enact-
ment of LB 295.

In addition, LB 295 requires certain statutory guidelines to be fol-
lowed when the sales comparison approach is used. There are 12 such
guidelines (set forth in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-137), including deter-
mining whether zoning affected the sale price of the property.
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Finally, LB 295 eliminates a rule governing the valuation of farm sites
for purposes of property taxation. “Farm site” is a term of art that
came into being with the enactment of Laws 2000, LB 419. LB 419
provided rules for establishing the value of a farm site and defined the
term to mean the portion of land contiguous to land actively devoted
to agriculture that includes agricultural or horticultural improvements,
such as a barn, silo, or corral, or an uninhabitable or unimproved farm
home site. Pursuant to LB 419, land currently in use as a farm site not
currently occupied or used for any other nonagricultural or nonhor-
ticultural purpose had to be valued at the same assessed value as the
contiguous agricultural or horticultural land which is under the same
ownership and is in use as agricultural or horticultural land. Since the
enactment of LB 419, farm site valuation has proved to be a concept
that is difficult to apply and administer in a consistent, fair manner.

Although LB 295 does not eliminate the statutory definition of “farm
site,” the legislation does eliminate the rule enacted by LB 419 which
provided different tax treatment for farm sites by permitting such
property to be valued the same as agricultural and horticultural land
(i.e., valued at 80 percent of its actual value).

LB 295 passed 41-0 and was approved by the Governor on February
20, 2003.

LB 524—Change Cor-
porate Occupation Tax

Provisions
(Mines and Bromm)
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LB 524 changes Nebraska’s corporate occupation tax provisions, op-
erative January 1, 2004. The bill eliminates the requirement that cor-
porations must file annual corporate reports with the Nebraska Secre-
tary of State; instead, LB 524 requires the filing of biennial corporate
reports by March 1 of each even-numbered year. Also, LB 524 dou-
bles the dollar amount of tax shown in the corporate occupation tax
schedules for domestic corporations and foreign corporations, so as to
avoid a loss of revenue due to less frequent filings.

Provisions of LB 327 were amended into LB 524. The legislation im-
poses new or different fees for certain services provided by the Sec-
retary of State, including fees for electronically accessing certain data
base records.

LB 524 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.



LB 596—Adjustments
Relating to Recent
Changes in Federal

Tax Law
(Revenue Committee)

LB 596 requires taxpayers to add back to their incomes certain
amounts deducted or excluded from income pursuant to federal in-
come tax law. Also, LB 596 establishes an inflation-adjusted standard
deduction based on a taxpayer’s federal filing status.

Nebraska Income Tax Treatment of Federal “Bonus” Depreciation

For income tax returns filed after September 10, 2001, LB 596 re-
quires taxpayers to add back 85 percent of any amount of any federal
bonus depreciation deductions claimed for assets placed in service
after September 10, 2001, and before December 31, 2005. (Federal
bonus depreciation deductions are provided for by the federal Job
Creation and Worker Assistance Act of 2002 and the federal Jobs and
Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003.) Note, however, that
LB 596 also allows a taxpayer to recoup such foregone deductions in
certain future tax years, by subtracting from income 20 percent of the
foregone amount in each of the first five tax years beginning or
deemed to begin on or after January 1, 2006.

Nebraska Income Tax Treatment of Capital Investment Expensed
Under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 179

For taxable years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January 1,
2003, LB 596 requires taxpayers to add back the amount of any ex-
penditure for qualified property (e.g., off-the-shelf computer soft-
ware) deducted under IRC section 179 that is in excess of $25,000.
(The federal Jobs and Growth Tax Relief Reconciliation Act of 2003
allows a taxpayer to annually deduct up to $100,000 of expenditures
for qualified property placed in service in tax years 2003, 2004, and
2005.) Note, however, that LB 596 also allows a taxpayer to recoup
such foregone deductions in certain future tax years, by subtracting
from income 20 percent of the foregone amount in each of the first
five tax years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January 1,
2006.

Nebraska Standard Deduction

For purposes of individual income taxation, LB 596 changes the
amount of the standard deduction and provides for related inflation
adjustments. The Nebraska standard deduction amount is based on a
taxpayer’s federal filing status (i.e., single, head-of-household, mar-
ried filing jointly, and married filing separately). Pursuant to LB 596:
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(1) For tax years beginning or deemed to begin before January 1,
2003, the Nebraska standard deduction is equal to the federal
standard deduction for the applicable federal filing status (e.g.,
single filer), except as adjusted under Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-
2716.03 (i.e., phase-out of standard deduction for certain
higher income individuals).

(2) For tax years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January
1, 2003, and before January 1, 2004, the Nebraska standard
deduction is equal to a standard deduction based on federal
filing status (e.g., head-of-household), except as adjusted un-
der Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-2716.03. More specifically, LB
596 provides that the Nebraska standard deduction will be:
$4,750 for single filers; $7,000 for head-of-household filers;
$7,950 for married joint filers; and $3,975 for married separate
filers.

(3) For tax years beginning or deemed to begin on or after January
1, 2004, the Nebraska standard deduction amount will be ad-
justed for inflation by the method provided in IRC section 151.

Thus, LB 596 aims to protect Nebraska’s individual income tax base
from erosion due to enactment of changes in federal income tax law
that would eliminate the so-called “marriage penalty” by changing,
among other things, the amount of the federal standard deduction for
married taxpayers filing a joint return.

LB 596 passed 39-7 and was approved by the Governor on May 30,
2003.

LB 608—Make
Changes to the
Employment
Expansion and
Investment Incentive
Act

(Landis, Aguilar, Bromm,
Combs, Hartnett, Janssen,
Johnson, Kruse, Louden,
McDonald, Preister, Price,
Raikes, Schimek, Schrock,
and Vrtiska)
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As introduced, LB 608 would have provided for increased disclosure
of certain confidential tax information—pertaining to LB 775 com-
panies—if the information was at least three years old. The Revenue
Committee amendment would have rewritten the bill.

However, as enacted, LB 608 transforms the Employment Expansion
and Investment Incentive Act into a rural development tax incentive
program for future tax-benefit-seekers, while preserving the current
tax incentive program for taxpayers who met the job and investment
thresholds of the act (as it existed before changes made by LB 608)
for a tax year beginning before January 1, 2004. Changes made to the
act by LB 608 will not preclude a taxpayer from receiving tax incen-
tives earned before January 1, 2004, which is the operative date of LB
608. Specifically, the legislation:



Redefines the term “taxpayer” so as to exclude certain tax-exempt
cooperatives (i.e., Internal Revenue Code section 521 organiza-
tions).

Requires—for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2004—
the taxpayer to file an application for an agreement with the Tax
Commissioner to earn the incentives.

Specifies the contents of the application (e.g., the application must
contain a written description of the “full expected employment
and investment” and sufficient documentation to support the plan
and to define a project); requires payment of a $500 application
fee (up to $400 of that fee may be refunded if the application is
not approved), which will be credited to a new fund, the Employ-
ment Expansion and Investment Incentive Fund; and provides that
the application and all supporting documentation is confidential,
except for the taxpayer’s name, project location, and amount of
increased employment and investment.

Requires the Tax Commissioner to approve the application and
authorize the total amount of credits expected to be earned, once
the Tax Commissioner is satisfied that the plan in the application
defines a project; meets the investment, employment, and wage
requirements; is located in an eligible county or enterprise zone;
and that such requirements will be reached within the required
time period. However, the Tax Commissioner may not approve
further applications once the expected credits from the approved
projects total $2.5 million in each of the fiscal years 2004-2005
and 2005-2006 and $3 million in fiscal year 2006-2007 and each
fiscal year thereafter. (Applications for benefits will be considered
in the order in which they are received.)

Provides that after an application is approved by the Tax Commis-
sioner, the taxpayer and Tax Commissioner must enter into a
written agreement whereby the taxpayer agrees to complete the
project and the Tax Commissioner agrees to allow the taxpayer to
use the incentives contained in the act up to the total amount
authorized by the Tax Commissioner at the time of approval. The
application and all supporting documentation (to the extent ap-
proved) will be deemed to be a part of the agreement. The written
agreement must state the levels of employment and investment re-
quired by the act for the project; the time period in which the re-
quired level must be met; the documentation the taxpayer will
need to supply when claiming an incentive under the act; the date
the application was filed; and the maximum amount of credits
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authorized.

Provides for a refundable credit against the taxes imposed by the
Nebraska Revenue Act of 1967 (e.g., sales and income taxes) to
any taxpayer who has an approved application, is engaged in a
qualifying business, and after January 1, 2004, (1) increases em-
ployment and investment in any county in Nebraska with a popu-
lation of less than 25,000 (or in any designated enterprise zone
pursuant to Nebraska Enterprise Zone Act or federal law, 42
U.S.C. 11501); (2) increases employment by five new equivalent
Nebraska employees and increases investment by $250,000 before
the end of the first taxable year after the year in which the appli-
cation was submitted; and (3) pays a minimum qualifying wage of
$8.25 per hour, as adjusted annually by the Department of Reve-
nue according to a formula set forth in the legislation.

Defines the phrase “rural Nebraska average weekly wage” to
mean the most recent average weekly wage paid by all employers
in all counties with a population of less than 25,000 inhabitants
“as reported by October 1 by the Department of Labor.”

Prescribes a formula for determining the amount of the tax credit,
except that the tax credit cannot exceed the amounts set forth in
the application and approved by the Tax Commissioner.

Requires repayment of tax credits if the taxpayer creates fewer
jobs or less investment than approved in the project agreement.
The taxpayer must repay 100 percent of the job creation tax cred-
its if less than 75 percent of the proposed jobs in the project
agreement are created; but no repayment of the jobs creation cred-
its is required if at least 75 percent of the proposed jobs in the
project agreement are created. If less than 75 percent of the pro-
posed investment in the project agreement is created, 100 percent
of the investment tax credits must be repaid; but no repayment of
the investment credits is required if at least 75 percent of the pro-
posed investment in the project agreement is created.

Authorizes the tax credits to be used: (1) as a refundable credit
claimed on an income tax return of the taxpayer, though the in-
come tax return need not reflect any income tax liability owed by
the taxpayer; and (2) to obtain a refund of state sales and use taxes
paid. (The credits cannot be used to obtain a refund of local option
sales and use taxes.)

Provides that a taxpayer can lose all used and unused tax credits.
If the taxpayer does not maintain the increases in the level of in



vestment and employment described in the act to create a credit
for at least three years (two years under current law) after the year
for which the credit was first allowed, the taxpayer will lose all
used and unused credits. The taxpayer must repay the state the
amount of the used credits within one year after the failure to
maintain such investment and employment.

e Redefines the term “qualified business” (e.g., “any business en-
gaged in . . . the administrative management of any activities, in-
cluding headquarter facilities relating to such activities). However,
“qualified business” does not include (1) any casino; or (2) any
business activity in which 80 percent or more of the total sales are
sales to the ultimate consumer of food prepared for immediate
consumption or are sales to the ultimate consumer of tangible per-
sonal property which is not (a) assembled, fabricated, manufac-
tured, or processed by the taxpayer or (b) used by the purchaser in
any of the activities that constitute a qualified business.

* Provides that a taxpayer will be deemed to have “new equivalent
Nebraska employees” when the new employees hired during a
taxable year “are in addition to the number of total equivalent em-
ployees in the taxable year preceding the date of application.

* Provides that a taxpayer will be deemed to have made an in-
creased investment in Nebraska when the value of property used
or available for use exceeds the value of all property used or avail-
able for use on the last day of the taxable year “previous to the
date the application was filed.”

* Provides that the tax credit is not transferable, except in the fol-
lowing situations: (1) distributions to partners, shareholders of S
corporations, members of a limited liability company, and benefi-
ciaries of an estate or trust; (2) when a project is transferred by
sale or lease to another taxpayer or in an asset acquisition under
Internal Revenue Code section 381; (3) the acquirer is entitled to
any unused credits and any future incentives, provided that the
Tax Commissioner is notified of the completed transfer; (4) the
acquirer is liable for any repayment that becomes due after the
date of transfer for repayment of benefits received either before or
after the transfer; and (5) distribution of credit following the death
of the taxpayer.

LB 608 passed 46-1 and was approved by the Governor on May 30,
2003.
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LB 622—Change
Provisions of the
County Property Tax
Relief Act and
Distributions from
the Municipal Equali-

zation Fund
(Raikes)

LB 622 provides for a minimum levy adjustment in the County Prop-
erty Tax Relief Act (CPTRA); changes distributions from the Munici-
pal Equalization Fund (MEF); and eliminates funding for the CPTRA
program for fiscal year 2003-2004 and fiscal year 2004-2005, while
stating that funding for the program will resume in fiscal year 2005-
2006.

LB 622 provides that a minimum levy adjustment must be made for
any county that would otherwise receive aid under the CPTRA that
has a levy for all purposes except bonded indebtedness for the prior
year that is less than $0.40 per $100 of valuation. The legislation re-
quires the Department of Revenue to reduce the amount to be distrib-
uted by a minimum levy adjustment which will be calculated accord-
ing to the following formula: ($0.40 - the nonbond levy of the county
for the prior year) x (valuation of the county / 100). If the resulting aid

amount—after subtracting the minimum levy adjustment from the aid
calculated under the CPTRA—is zero or less, the county will receive
no aid under the CPTRA.

LB 622 also provides that if the amount of money in the MEF is more
than the total amount of state aid for municipalities as required by the
MEF equalization formula, (a) $1,006,000 of the excess money in the
MEF for fiscal year 2002-2003 will be distributed along with and in
the same manner as provided for in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-27,137.01
and the remainder will be credited to the state’s General Fund and (b)
the excess money in the MEF that exceeds $300,000 for fiscal year
2003-2004 and fiscal years thereafter will be credited to the state’s
General Fund and the first $300,000 will be distributed in the same
manner as provided in Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-27,137.01 to munici-
palities that have not adopted a local option sales tax by January 1 of
the fiscal year for which the fund is distributed.

LB 622 passed with the emergency clause 33-8 and was approved by
the Governor on May 30, 2003.

LB 759—Tax Revenue

Increases
(Brashear, D. Pederson,
and Thompson)
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As introduced, LB 759 was sometimes referred to as the “Peoples’
Tax Plan,” and would have broadened the sales tax base to include
more services; lowered sales and income tax rates; and provided a
homestead exemption for all property taxpayers regardless of age or
level of income.



As enacted, LB 759: (1) increases alcoholic beverage tax rates for
beer, distilled spirits, farm wine, and wine, and eliminates for pur-
poses of taxation—the distinction between wine containing 14-percent
alcohol or less and wine containing more than 14-percent alcohol; (2)
changes estate tax brackets and rates; (3) makes permanent all of the
temporary tax increases enacted by Laws 2002, LB 1085, including
the temporary two-year cigarette tax increase, the temporary two-year
tobacco products tax rate increase, the temporary one-year sales and
use tax rate increase, and the temporary one-year individual income
tax rate increase; (4) changes the distribution of cigarette tax revenue;
(5) subjects a variety of services to sales and use taxes, provides re-
lated sourcing rules for determining whether a sale of taxable services
takes place in Nebraska, and provides special rules governing the
taxation of contractor labor, including a tax refund procedure for cer-
tain fixed-price contracts; (6) eliminates the sales tax exemption for
newspaper advertising supplements; and (7) delays until January 1,
2007, the operative date for the business child care tax credit program
enacted by Laws 2001, LB 433.

LB 759 will increase tax revenue by an estimated $111.5 million for
fiscal year 2003-2004 and $237 million for fiscal year 2004-2005. The
following material examines more closely the changes enacted by LB
759.

Alcoholic Beverage Taxes

LB 759 increases alcoholic beverage tax rates for: beer, to 31 cents
per gallon; distilled spirits, to $3.75 per gallon; farm wine, to 6 cents
per gallon; and wine, other than farm wine, to 95 cents per gallon.
Note that these tax rate changes are the same as those provided for in
LB 283, which is discussed on p. 88. With respect to alcoholic bever-
age taxes, the only difference between LB 759 and LB 283 is the op-
erative date for the tax rate changes. LB 759 provides for an operative
date of October 1, 2003, while LB 283 provides for an operative date
of July 1, 2003. Since LB 283 was enacted after LB 759 was enacted,
the new alcoholic beverage tax rates become operative July 1, 2003.

Estate Taxes
Provisions of LB 286 were amended into LB 759. These same provi-

sions, which change Nebraska’s estate tax brackets and rates, were
also added by amendment to LB 283. LB 283 is discussed on p. 88.
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Cigarette and Tobacco Products Taxes

LB 759 makes permanent the temporary two-year cigarette and to-
bacco products tax rate increases enacted by Laws 2002, LB 1085,
rather than allowing those tax rate increases to expire October 1,
2004. The cigarette tax rate was increased to 64 cents per pack of 20
cigarettes (up from 34 cents per pack), while the tobacco products tax
rate was increased to 20 percent (up from 15 percent).

In addition, LB 759 changes the distribution of cigarette tax revenue
as follows:

e Until October 1, 2004 (formerly July 1, 2009), the State Treasurer
must place the equivalent of 21 cents of such tax in the State’s
General Fund. Beginning October 1, 2004, the Treasurer must
place the equivalent of 49 cents of such tax in the State’s General
Fund. Additionally, the State Treasurer is required to reduce the
amount of such tax placed in the state’s General Fund if necessary
to meet certain other financial obligations; namely, until June 30,
2016, placing $1 million each fiscal year in the City of the Pri-
mary Class Development Fund and $1.5 million each fiscal year in
the City of the Metropolitan Class Development Fund.

* Beginning October 1, 2002 and continuing until all the purposes
of the Deferred Building Renewal Act have been fulfilled, the
State Treasurer must place the equivalent of seven cents of such
tax in the Deferred Building Renewal Allocation Fund. (The
seven-cent distribution is the same as under the prior law, except
that the seven-cent distribution must continue until all purposes of
the act have been fulfilled; prior law required such distributions to
end October 1, 2004.) Such distribution cannot be less than the
amount distributed to the Deferred Building Renewal Allocation
Fund for fiscal 1997-1998. Any money needed to increase the
amount distributed to the fiscal year 1997-1998 amount must re-
duce the distribution to the state’s General Fund.

* The Nebraska Capital Construction Fund will receive the remainder
(if any) of the proceeds of such tax after the State Treasurer has made
the distributions required by Neb. Rev. Stat. sec. 77-2602(2) and (3)
to the state’s General Fund; Nebraska Outdoor Recreation Develop-
ment Cash Fund; Department of Health and Human Services Finance
and Support Cash Fund; Deferred Building Renewal Allocation Fund;
Municipal Infrastructure Redevelopment Fund; Information Technol-
ogy Infrastructure Fund; City of the Primary Class Development
Fund; City of the Metropolitan Class Development Fund; and the
state’s Cash Reserve Fund.



Sales and Use Taxes
LB 759:

» Clarifies that a contractor or repair person can elect to be taxed as
a retailer, in which case he or she is not considered to be the final
consumer of property annexed to real estate, even if the incorpo-
ration of such property is incidental to the transfer of an improve-
ment upon real estate or the real estate. (Under former law, in
situations “when the transfer of the annexed property is incidental
to the transfer of an improvement upon real estate or the real es-
tate,” the contractor or repairperson was not allowed to elect to be
taxed as a retailer.)

* Expands the services tax base by providing that gross receipts for
providing a service includes gross income received for labor by a
contractor. However, LB 759 provides that sales and use tax will
not be imposed on the labor of a contractor purchased in connec-
tion with: the first or original construction of a structure; the addi-
tion of an entire room or floor to any existing building; the com-
pletion of an unfinished portion of an existing structure; the resto-
ration, reconstruction, or replacement of a structure damaged or
destroyed by fire, flood, tornado, or other natural disaster; the con-
struction, repair, or annexation of any structure used for the gen-
eration, transmission, or distribution of electricity; or the major
renovation of an existing building or a unit of an existing building.
However, the latter tax exemption is conditioned upon notice from
the contractor to the Department of Revenue of the nature of the
project and an explanation of why the renovation will qualify for
the exemption.

* Expands the services tax base by providing that gross receipts for
providing a service includes gross income received for services of
recreational vehicle parks; animal specialty services, except vet-
erinary services and specialty services performed on livestock;
detective services; and labor for repair or maintenance services
performed with regard to movable property, except motor vehi-
cles.

* Defines and redefines terms necessary to implement the sales and
use tax changes prescribed in the bill.

* Amends the sourcing rules enacted by Laws 2003, LB 282, secs.
48 and 49. LB 759 provides that the provision of services is
deemed to be in Nebraska if, in the case of services provided to
animals, the animal is located in Nebraska and the service is ren
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dered for use in Nebraska; and, in the case of detective services
rendered for a customer who is an individual, the individual is re-
siding in Nebraska and, in the case of detective services rendered
for a business customer, the principal place of business is located
in Nebraska.

e Amends Laws 2003, LB 282, secs. 36, 58, 60, and 70, to enact
various coordinating changes. (LB 759 also enacts various coordi-
nating changes to a number of existing sales and use tax statutes.)

* Repeals the sales tax exemption for newspaper advertising sup-
plements.

* Expands the sales tax exemption for purchases of semen for use in
ranching or farming or for commercial or industrial uses to in-
clude “insemination services.”

* Authorizes a sales tax refund for “any major renovation of an ex-
isting building or a unit of an existing building” (i.e., a single
renovation project that increases the market value of the building
or unit by at least 100 percent) and sets forth a related tax refund
procedure.

* Directs the Tax Commissioner to adopt and promulgate necessary
rules and regulations.

* Requires the State Treasurer to credit to the state’s General Fund
the amount of sales and use tax revenue—attributable to any sales
tax rate in excess of five percent—derived from motor vehicles,
trailers, and semitrailers.

Individual Income Taxes

LB 759 makes the temporary one-year individual income tax increase
enacted by Laws 2002, LB 1085, permanent. (LB 1085 increased in-
dividual income tax rates, on average, by 2.2 percent.) Specifically,
individual income tax rates will continue to be 2.56 percent for the
lowest income tax bracket; 3.57 percent for the second lowest income
tax bracket; 5.12 percent for the second highest income tax bracket;
and 6.84 percent for the highest income tax bracket.

Delay Operative Date of the Business Child Care Tax Credit Pro-
gram

The provisions of LB 580, which delay the operative date of the
state’s business child care tax credit program, were amended into LB



759. However, the provisions of LB 580 that were amended into LB
759 are identical to the provisions of LB 286 that were amended into
LB 283, which is discussed on p. 88.

LB 759 passed 36-13, but the measure was vetoed by the Governor.
The Legislature overrode the Governor’s veto 37-12 on May 27,
2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LR 18CA—Authorize
a Property Tax
Exemption for Part of
a Levyona

Homestead
(Redfield, Connealy, Hart-
nett, Janssen, and Raikes)

LR 18CA would have amended Article VIII, section 2, of the Ne-
braska Constitution to permit the Legislature to enact a general law
which would provide that any residence actually occupied as a home-
stead, by any classification of owners as determined by the Legisla-
ture, “is exempt from all or any part of the levy assessed on such por-
tion of the value by one or more political subdivisions as determined
by the Legislature.” According to the Committee Statement for LR
18CA, if the measure “were adopted by the Legislature and approved
by the voters, the Legislature could authorize a homestead exemption
covering all or part of the levy of one or more political subdivisions.”

LR 18CA failed to advance to Select File and remains on General
File.

LB 420—Cigarette

Tax Increase
(Bromm, at the request of
the Governor)

LB 420 would have increased Nebraska’s cigarette tax to 84 cents per
pack of 20 cigarettes beginning July 1, 2003. The equivalent of 41
cents of such tax (less $3 million each fiscal year) would go to the
state’s General Fund during the period July 1, 2003, to October 1,
2004. During the period October 1, 2004, to July 1, 2009, the equiva-
lent of 69 cents of such tax (less $3 million each fiscal year) would go
to the state’s General Fund. Beginning July 1, 2009, the equivalent of
69 cents of such tax would go to the state’s General Fund.

LB 420 is being held by the committee.

LB 479—Increase
Corn and Grain
Sorghum Excise Taxes

(Baker)

As introduced, LB 479 would have increased the excise taxes on corn
and grain sorghum, operative October 1, 2003, to October 1, 2011.
(Under current law, both excise taxes are set to expire October 1,
2009.) The excise tax would have been increased to one cent per
bushel for corn (up from one-half cent per bushel under current law)
and one cent per hundred weight for grain sorghum (up from one-half
cent per hundred weight under current law). Revenue from the excise
taxes is credited to the Ethanol Production Incentive Cash (EPIC)
Fund.
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The Revenue Committee amendment would strike the bill’s original
provisions and rewrite the bill; however, the excise tax rate increases
proposed in the original bill would not be changed by the committee
amendment. In addition, the committee amendment would: (1) pro-
vide that any funds received by the Department of Revenue, which
result from a producer claiming excess credit, would be credited to the
EPIC Fund; (2) define the term “related parties;” (3) eliminate certain
obsolete statutory language; (4) require the minimum rate of produc-
tion to last for a period of at least 30 days before the department will
consider a claim for ethanol credits; (5) require a new facility to pro-
duce at least 8,219 gallons of ethanol within a 30-day period to be eli-
gible for ethanol credits; (6) redefine the phrase “new ethanol produc-
tion facility;” (7) prohibit the transfer of ethanol credits between an
ethanol producer and motor vehicle fuel licensees who are related
parties; (8) provide for approved measuring devices; (9) require
claims for ethanol credits to be filed by an ethanol producer within
three years of the date the ethanol was produced or by September 30,
2012, whichever occurs first; (10) require every ethanol producer to
maintain certain records and to retain such records for a period of at
least three years after a claim for ethanol credits is filed; (11) require
an ethanol producer to provide public notice for bids before entering
into any contract for the construction of a new ethanol facility or else
not be qualified for ethanol credits; (12) establish administrative and
protest procedures governing the imposition of assessments by the
department relating to excess ethanol credits claimed by ethanol pro-
ducers; (13) prohibit the Tax Commissioner from accepting any appli-
cations for new agreements on or after the effective date of LB 479;
(14) provide that whenever the unobligated balance in the EPIC Fund
exceeds $20 million ($15 million under current law) collection of the
corn and grain sorghum excise taxes will be suspended and that, if the
balance of the EPIC Fund falls below $10 million ($8 million under
current law), collection of the corn and grain sorghum excise taxes
will resume; (15) extend by two years (from October 1, 2009, under
current law to October 1, 2011) the sunset date for imposition of the
corn and grain sorghum excise taxes; (16) provide for transferring
$1.5 million from the state’s General Fund to the EPIC Fund each fis-
cal year for fiscal years 2003-0204 and 2004-2005; (17) state the
Legislature’s intent to appropriate $1.5 million from the state’s Gen-
eral Fund to the EPIC Fund each fiscal year for fiscal years 2005-
2006 and FY2006-2007; and (18) eliminate obsolete fund-transfer
provisions.

LB 479 advanced to General File. All amendments, including the
Revenue Committee amendment to the bill, are pending.



LB 689—Require
Valuation of Property
by Tax-Exempt
Organizations
(Redfield)

As introduced, LB 689 would have required public disclosure of the
estimated value of tax-exempt property. The valuation of such prop-
erty would have been performed by the organization owning the prop-
erty, using insured value or comparable property values.

The adopted committee amendment struck the bill’s original provi-
sions and would have required county assessors to place a value on all
property for which an exemption is sought, beginning with the 2008
exemption application cycle.

LB 689 failed to advance to Select File.
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TRANSPORTATION AND

TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE
Senator Tom Baker, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 112—Change Pro-
visions Relating to the
Purchase of
Communications

Services

(Mossey, Erdman, and
Smith)

LB 112 authorizes the Division of Communications of the Department
of Administrative Services to purchase telecommunications services
for state government from any telecommunications carrier that is cer-
tificated or permitted by, or registered with, the Public Service Com-
mission. Prior to the bill’s enactment, the state could only purchase
telecommunications services from a carrier that was certificated or
permitted by the commission.

By expanding the pool of eligible telecommunications carriers, the
bill’s supporters believe that the state can purchase the newest, most
modern telecommunications services and better reach the citizens of
the state.

LB 112 passed with the emergency clause 41-0 and was approved by
the Governor on April 30, 2003.

LB 185—Change
Motor Vehicle
Reporting and
Security Requirements

(Baker)

The minimum estimated damage amount for mandatory reporting of a
motor vehicle accident is raised from $500 to $1,000 via the passage
of LB 185. Additionally, the bill changes the mandatory minimum
security amount required by the Motor Vehicle Safety Responsibility
Act from $500 to $1,000.

LB 185 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on March 20,
2003.

LB 186—Change
Provisions Relating to
Junkyards Along

Roadways
(Baker)

As introduced, LB 186 would have eliminated the responsibility of the
Department of Roads to regulate junkyards located next to state high-
ways and returned such responsibility to the counties in which the
junkyards are located. The proposed change sparked a spirited discus-
sion regarding county zoning laws. Supporters of the legislation be-
lieved that junkyard regulation was better left to local officials, while
opponents of the measure feared that counties without zoning regula-
tions would not be able to regulate junkyards at all.

A compromise was struck on Final Reading. As enacted, LB 186 ex
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empts from state regulation those junkyards located within counties
that have adopted a comprehensive development plan and a zoning
resolution regulating the location of junkyards within 1,000 feet of the
nearest edge of the right-of-way of any roadway of the Highway
Beautification System.

LB 186 passed 40-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.

LB 209—Change,
Transfer, and
Eliminate Provisions
Relating to Adminis-
trative License
Revocation

Proceedings
(Bromm, Baker, and
Connealy)
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Nebraska has in place an administrative license revocation (ALR)
procedure, that authorizes the Department of Motor Vehicles (depart-
ment) to administratively revoke the driver’s license of a person
charged with drunk driving, reckless driving, or refusal to submit to a
blood alcohol test. The ALR procedure also provides for a hearing to
determine whether to reinstate the revoked driver’s license and for an
appeal of the department’s decision to the district court. The appeal
procedure specifically provides that a person can keep his or her li-
cense during the appeal.

As originally introduced, LB 209 would have prohibited a person
from keeping his or her license during the appeal unless granted per-
mission by the district court. Supporters of the change believed that
people were exploiting the ALR procedure by prolonging the appeal
process in order to avoid or delay license revocation, while opponents
believed that the department should never revoke a license before a
court’s determination of guilt of the underlying driving offense. The
bill also generated discussion regarding the relationship between the
ALR procedure and the corresponding criminal prosecution. Several
amendments were offered, some of which were adopted.

As enacted, LB 209 reflects the Legislature’s efforts to streamline and
clarify the ALR procedure and make its application more uniform
throughout the state.

LB 209 transfers the ALR procedure provisions from Chapter 60, arti-
cle 6, (Nebraska Rules of the Road) to Chapter 60, article 4 (the Mo-
tor Vehicle Operator’s License Act). The purpose of the transfer is to
distinguish the ALR procedure, a civil process, from the Rules of the
Road, which prescribe criminal penalties for traffic violations.

LB 209 specifically requires the Attorney General to assure oversight
and represent the State of Nebraska in appeals of ALR decisions be-
fore the district court, and the provision allowing a person to keep his
or her driver’s license during an appeal remains part of the law.



The bill also authorizes administrative hearings and prehearing con-
ferences to be held in person or by telephone, television, or other
electronic means and allows all parties to participate by such means at
the discretion of the Director of Motor Vehicles (director). Language
requiring all hearings to be held in the county of arrest is eliminated.
Correspondingly, LB 209 requires the district court hearing an appeal
of an ALR decision to allow a party to appear by telephone.

LB 209 requires a prosecuting attorney to notify the director if crimi-
nal charges are not filed within 30 days of a driver’s arrest to enable
the department to dismiss the ALR proceeding and provides that an
ALR proceeding also will be dismissed if the court finds the driver
not guilty of the underlying driving offense. Likewise, the bill allows
the department to reinstate a license revocation if a drunk-driving
charge is filed subsequent to dismissal of an ALR proceeding.

Finally, the bill creates the Administrative License Revocation Cash
Fund to be administered by the Attorney General. The fund is to be
used to pay costs associated with ALR proceedings authorized by law
and approved by the Attorney General.

LB 209 passed with the emergency clause 47-0 and was approved by
the Governor on May 29, 2003.

LB 333—Provide for
Certificates of Title for
All-Terrain Vehicles

and Minibikes

(Burling, Connealy, and
Jones)

With the passage of LB 333, any new all-terrain vehicle (ATV) or
minibike sold on or after January 1, 2004, is required to have a certifi-
cate of title, while the owner of an ATV or minibike sold before Janu-
ary 1, 2004, has the option to apply for a certificate of title.

According to the Introducer’s Statement of Intent, the titling system
established via LB 333 parallels the motor vehicle titling statutes and
is intended to deter theft of ATVs and minibikes and provide proof of
ownership if a theft occurs.

The bill directs the Department of Motor Vehicles (department) to
adopt and promulgate rules and regulations and prescribe forms and
procedures to implement the titling system for ATVs and minibikes.

Specifically, LB 333 places the responsibility for issuing and filing
certificates of title for ATVs and minibikes with each county clerk or
“designated county official pursuant to section 23-186” and directs
each county to issue and file certificates of title using the vehicle ti-
tling and registration computer system prescribed by the department.
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Each application for a certificate of title must include a statement that
an identification inspection has been conducted on the vehicle. (LB
333 provides certain exceptions to the inspection requirement.) An
examination of the current odometer reading and a comparison of the
vehicle identification number with the number listed on the ownership
records must be included as part of the inspection.

Additionally, the bill requires the department to develop a metallic
assigned license plate, which can be permanently secured to an ATV
or minibike by rivets.

The bill prescribes procedures for the transfer of certificates of title
and provisions for salvage certificates of title and provides for the ap-
plication of the Uniform Commercial Code to the title provisions.

LB 333 imposes a fee of six dollars for each original certificate of ti-
tle, three dollars for each notation of any lien on a certificate of title,
ten dollars for each replacement or duplicate copy of a certificate of
title, four dollars for refiling a certificate of title, and ten dollars for
each inspection fee.

Finally, LB 333 makes any violation of the titling provisions a Class
III misdemeanor.

LB 333 passed 44-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 16,
2003.

LB 563—Adopt
Provisions of the
International
Registration Plan and
Create the
International

Registration Plan Act
(Baker)
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LB 563 creates the International Registration Plan Act. According to
the Introducer’s Statement of Intent “the International Registration
Plan is an agreement between the 48 contiguous states and the Cana-
dian provinces providing for reciprocal recognition of the registration
of power units and trailers.”

The purposes of the International Registration Plan Act are to:

* Promote and encourage the use of the highway system by
authorizing registration of fleets of apportionable vehicles
and the recognition of apportionable vehicles apportioned
in other jurisdictions;

e Implement the concept of one registration plate for one ve-
hicle;

* Grant exemptions from payment of certain fees when such
grants are reciprocal; and

* Grant reciprocity to fleets of apportionable vehicles and
provide for the continuance of reciprocity granted to those



vehicles that are not eligible for apportioned registration
under the act.

The act allows fleets of apportionable vehicles to be registered in their
base jurisdiction, and the registration is then recognized by other
states and provinces participating in the International Registration
Plan. Base jurisdiction is defined as “the jurisdiction where the regis-
trant has an established place of business, where miles or kilometers
are accrued by the fleet, and where operational records are maintained
or can be made available. . ..”

The act directs the Director of Motor Vehicles to do all things neces-
sary to carry out the act.

LB 563 passed 49-0 and was approved by the Governor on April 2,
2003.

LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 100—Provide
Certain Specialty

License Plates
(Baker)

LB 100 would provide for the design and availability of emergency
medical technician plates, firefighter plates, Game and Parks Com-
mission plates, and military plates. The new specialty plates would be
produced when there are a minimum of 500 prepaid license applica-
tions for a specific specialty plate within a two-year period.

Additionally, the bill would direct each category of specialty plate to
be available as a sequentially numbered plate and a personalized plate.
The Department of Motor Vehicles would be responsible for design-
ing the specialty plates in accordance with directions prescribed in LB
100.

The fees for the specialty plates would be $15 for a sequentially num-
bered plate and $40 for personalized plates. The bill also would pro-

vide for the disposition of the collected fees.

LB 100 is being held by the committee.

LB 208—Change
Provisions and
Penalties for Drunk-

Driving Offenses
(Kruse, Aguilar, Burling,
Hudkins, Jones, and
Redfield)

As originally introduced, LB 208 was an attempt to clarify the state’s
drunk-driving and implied-consent statutes by rearranging the existing
statutory language. According to the Introducer’s Statement of Intent,
the intent of the legislation was to make the drunk-driving and im-
plied-consent statutes “easier to find and use.” No substantive changes
were made.
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The committee amendments added the provisions of LB 775 to the
bill. The LB 775 provisions would increase penalties for repeat of-
fenders convicted of violating the state’s drunk-driving or implied-
consent statutes.

Specifically, LB 208, as amended, would:

* Increase the maximum penalty for a second drunk-driving
or implied-consent conviction from 90 days imprisonment
and a $500 fine to six months imprisonment and a $500
fine.

* Change the minimum driving prohibition for a person con-
victed of motor vehicle homicide from 60 days to one year.

* Authorize felony drunk-driving or implied-consent con-
victions to be used to sentence a person as a habitual
criminal to a mandatory minimum of 10 years imprison-
ment up to a maximum term of 25 years.

* Create an aggravated drunk-driving offense, which would
make it a Class IITA felony to avoid a drunk-driving arrest
by speeding, turning off headlights, or causing serious in-
jury while violating the law.

* Authorize persons found for a second time to have a blood
alcohol content of .16 or higher to be convicted of an ag-
gravated drunk-driving offense.

* Allow prosecutors to provide public notice of a person’s
prior drunk-driving convictions.

LB 208 advanced to Select File, where the bill was further amended to
provide that a driver who causes an accident resulting in the death of
an unborn child would lose his or her driver’s license for one year.
(Currently, the driver loses his or her license for 60 days.)

Also on Select File, an amendment was proposed to further modify
the drunk-driving and implied-consent penalties. While the amend-
ment was pending, a motion to bracket LB 208 until January 1, 2004,
was made. Supporters of the bracket motion were concerned with the
complexity of LB 208.

The bracket motion was successful, and LB 208 remains on Select
File.



LB 303—Adopt the
Motorcycle Safety and
Training Act

(Smith, Aguilar, Baker,
Bourne, Burling, Connealy,
Cudaback, Cunningham,
Erdman, Jones, Mines,
McDonald, Mossey,
Quandahl, Redfield,
Schrock, Stuthman, Tyson,
Vrtiska, and Combs)

LB 303 would adopt the Motorcycle Safety and Training Act.

As amended, the act would authorize persons 21 years of age or older
to choose whether to wear a helmet when driving or riding a motorcy-
cle. If a person chooses not to wear a helmet, he or she would be re-
quired to wear eye protection, carry proof of health insurance, and
complete a motorcycle safety course. Additionally, a person would be
exempt from the helmet requirement if he or she was born prior to
January 1, 1984, had a motorcycle license prior to June 1, 2003, is
equipped with eye protection, and carries proof of health insurance
coverage.

LB 303 would increase the motorcycle registration fee and impose a
fee of $50 for the motorcycle safety course.

Finally, the act would make riding a motorcycle without eye protec-
tion a primary offense. (A primary offense is a law violation for which
no other reason is needed for a law enforcement officer to issue a ci-
tation.)

LB 303 is on Select File.

LB 743—Adopt the
Telephone Solicitation
Regulation Act

(Smith, Baker, Combs,
Erdman, McDonald,
Schimek, Cudaback, Foley,
and Preister)

No more telemarketing calls during the dinner hour would be the goal
of LB 743. LB 743 would adopt the Telephone Solicitation Regula-
tion Act, which would establish a statewide telemarketing “do not
call” list.

As amended by the committee amendments, the act would provide
that Nebraska residents not wanting to receive unsolicited telephone
calls could be placed on a statewide “do not call” list for three years
upon payment of a three-dollar fee. The Public Service Commission
would administer the list.

LB 743 advanced to Select File. Several amendments were pending
when a motion was made to bracket the bill until January 15, 2004.
Discussion centered around the need for this legislation at this time.
Supporters of the bracket motion pointed out that the federal govern-
ment has a similar plan, which it hopes to begin shortly, and the wiser
course would be to wait to see if the federal plan is successful, thus
making the state plan unnecessary. On the other hand, opponents of
the bracket motion believed that a state plan was needed because the
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federal plan did not prohibit intrastate telephone solicitations and
there was no guarantee that the federal plan would be operational or
successful.

While the bracket motion was withdrawn, LB 743 remains on Select
File.
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URBAN AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

Senator D. Paul Hartnett, Chairperson

ENACTED LEGISLATIVE BILLS

LB 643—Change
Provisions Relating to
the State Building
Code

(Hartnett, Quandahl, Dw.
Pedersen, Tyson, Mines,
Engel, Synowiecki,
Redfield, Stuthman, and
Schimek)

LB 643 adopts by reference the International Building Code, 2000
edition, published by the International Code Council, and the Interna-
tional Residential Code, 2000 edition, also published by the Interna-
tional Code Council. These codes are now part of Nebraska’s state
building code.

A similar measure, LB 811, was introduced in 2002, and committee
testimony on the 2002 legislation revealed that the various code bod-
ies that participated in the development of the International Building
Code would no longer be updating or publishing their codes. Since the
codes were part of Nebraska’s state building code, it became neces-
sary to update Nebraska’s code by adding appropriate code references
and eliminating obsolete references. LB 643 is the result.

LB 643 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LB 720—Change
Provisions of the

Transit Authority Law
(Urban Affairs Committee)

As enacted, LB 720 extends the territorial boundaries of a transit
authority, authorizes the authority to certify the property tax levy nec-
essary for its operations in its expanded jurisdiction, and changes pro-
visions relating to membership on the transit authority board.

Prior to the passage of LB 720, Nebraska’s Transit Authority Law al-
lowed a city of the metropolitan class (Omaha) to create a transit
authority to manage “all public transportation systems within such
city.” However, the law did not prohibit the authority from providing
service outside the city’s corporate limits, and in fact, the transit
authority provided public transportation service to areas outside of
Omaha’s municipal boundaries. This was problematic because the
Transit Authority Law (1) limited the authority’s power to seek a
property tax levy on property within Omaha’s municipal boundaries
and (2) required members of the transit authority board to be residents
of Omaha. Practically, citizens outside of Omaha’s municipal bounda-
ries were not paying their share for public transportation services nor
were they represented on the transit authority board.

LB 720 changes that. The bill specifically extends the jurisdiction of

the transit authority to all areas served by the authority, which in-
cludes the city of the metropolitan class, the county in which the city

113



is located, any other city or village located in the county, any adjacent
county, and any city or village located in the adjacent county. The bill
also requires the governing body of any county, city, or village to ap-
prove becoming part of the transit authority.

Correspondingly, LB 720 authorizes the transit authority to certify the
property tax levy necessary to fund its operations to all areas within
the transit authority and provides that persons living within an area
served by the transit authority are eligible to serve on the transit
authority board.

LB 720 passed 48-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 30,
2003.

LB 721—Change
Provisions Relating
to Sanitary and
Improvement

Districts
(Urban Affairs Committee)

114

As enacted, LB 721 provides that any sanitary and improvement dis-
trict (SID) organized pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 31-701 to 31-
726.01 and in existence on July 19, 1996, is to be treated as if it was
formed and organized pursuant to Neb. Rev. Stat. secs. 31-727 to 31-
762. (Sections 31-701 to 31-726.01 were repealed by Laws 1996, LB
1321, and generally replaced with sections 31-727 to 31-762.) Addi-
tionally, the board of trustees of any SID formed pursuant to the re-
pealed sections and any action undertaken by the board or SID are
deemed to be lawful.

LB 721 also changes provisions relating to eligibility for membership
on certain SID boards of trustees. The bill provides that when a SID is
formed by a single owner of property, the initial board of trustees, in
addition to owners of real property within the SID, can be composed
of designees of the property owner if the owner is a limited partner-
ship; a general partnership; a limited liability company; a public, pri-
vate, or municipal corporation; an estate; or a trust.

Finally, the bill grants smaller SIDs the authority to establish an inter-
est-bearing checking account in the name of the SID to be maintained
as the district’s service fee fund. (Service fee funds are the funds
within which are deposited all SID receipts, other than those funds
which must be deposited into the SID’s general fund or construction
fund.) Specifically, the bill provides that if the average weekly bal-
ance in the SID service fee fund does not exceed $5,000, the SID’s
board of trustees can authorize the SID’s clerk to establish an interest-
bearing checking account. The county treasurer is directed to transfer
the balance of the service fee fund to the clerk for deposit in the
checking account. Any deposits to and disbursements from the service
fee fund can lawfully be made by the clerk from the checking account.



LB 721 passed 46-0 and was approved by the Governor on May 29,
2003.

LB 790—Adopt the
State Natural Gas

Regulation Act
(Landis and Hartnett)

Nebraska is no longer the only state that does not have some form of
state natural gas regulation via the passage of LB 790. LB 790 creates
the State Natural Gas Regulation Act (state act) and gives the Public
Service Commission (commission) the “full power, authority, and ju-
risdiction to regulate natural gas public utilities” in Nebraska. Addi-
tionally, the commission can “do all things necessary and convenient
for the exercise of such power, authority, and jurisdiction.”

What does this mean? It means that the commission can regulate the
rates and services of investor-owned natural gas companies providing
service to Nebraskans. (Prior to LB 790, cities were responsible for
natural gas regulation.) To that end, LB 790 prescribes a laundry list
of powers and duties for the commission, including, but not limited to,
establishing:

* Procedures and requirements for applications for rate and
tariff changes;

* Standards and procedures for determining rates charged by
utility providers to ensure equity for both customers and
providers;

* Requirements for utility service providers to maintain and
make available to the public and the commission records
and information;

* Requirements regarding customer billings and meter
readings;

* Procedures and requirements for handling customer dis-
putes and complaints;

* Standards and procedures to ensure nondiscriminatory
credit policies;

e Procedures, requirements, and record-keeping for customer
refunds;

* Policies for refusal of natural gas service;

* Requirements regarding advertising; and

* Procedures, requirements, and policies regarding the pres-
ervation, confidentiality, and disclosure of records in the
possession of the commission.

The state act does not apply to municipally owned utility providers,
the Metropolitan Utilities District, or any natural gas public utility
which distributes, sells, or transports natural gas to persons receiving
services through fewer than 7,500 meters in the state.
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Additionally, the state act allows a public utility provider to negotiate
and enter into a contract to provide natural gas service to high-volume
ratepayers. (A high-volume ratepayer is a ratepayer whose natural gas
requirements equal or exceed 500 therms per day, as determined by
average daily consumption.) The commission can request the utility
provider to file a copy of the contract with the commission, but the
high-volume ratepayer is not otherwise subject to the commission’s
jurisdiction.

The state act also grants cities authority to negotiate natural gas rates
directly with the natural gas utility if the natural gas utility and the
cities agree to do so. The negotiated rates are submitted to the com-
mission, which must approve them. If the cities and the utility do not
negotiate or if the negotiations fail, the commission assumes jurisdic-
tion and determines the new rates for the area.

The office of public advocate is created in the state act. The office is a
separate and independent division within the commission. The public
advocate represents the interests of Nebraskans and all classes of util-
ity ratepayers, other than high-volume ratepayers, in matters involving
utility providers and acts as trial staff before the commission. The
public advocate does not advocate for or on behalf of any single indi-
vidual, organization, or entity. He or she must be an attorney and have
experience in consumer-related utility issues or in the operation, man-
agement, or regulation of utilities. The public advocate is appointed
by the commission’s executive director, after consultation with other
commission members, to serve a four-year term. He or she can be re-
moved from office only for good cause.

The state act is funded by quarterly assessments against the utility
providers. Additionally, any costs of special investigations undertaken
by the commission will be financed by the providers.

Finally, the Municipal Natural Gas Regulation Act is repealed.

LB 790 passed with the emergency clause 45-1 and was approved by
the Governor on May 30, 2003.



LEGISLATIVE BILLS NOT ENACTED

LB 549—Authorize
Counties to Intervene

in City Annexations
(Hartnett)

LB 549 would give a county the authority to initiate or intervene in
any action or proceeding relating to the proposed annexation of any
land by a city of the first or second class or village located within the
county. A county would have one year from the effective date of the
proposed annexation to intervene.

LB 549 is on General File.

LR 24CA—Expand

Authority of Munici-
palities and Counties
and Eliminate Home

Rule Charters
(Smith, Combs, Erdman,
and Landis)

LR 24CA would expand the authority of municipalities and counties,
by adding a new section 6 to Article XI of the Nebraska Constitution.

The new section would specifically provide that municipalities and
counties would have power and authority, not inconsistent with the
laws of this state, to determine their own local affairs and government.
The Legislature would determine which matters are of statewide con-
cern.

The new section would also authorize the Legislature to delegate its
power so that matters of local concern are handled by municipalities
and counties without needing any further legislative action. The rule
of law that a municipality or county possesses only those powers
granted by express words would not be part of the law of Nebraska.
Home rule charters would also be eliminated.

The proposed amendment would be voted on at the general election in
November 2004.

The proposed resolution is being held by the committee and will be
the subject of an interim study.
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