ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2023 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB484

Hearing Date: Tuesday January 31, 2023

Committee On: Transportation and Telecommunications

Introducer: Moser

One Liner: Provide for continuing education for licensed motor vehicle dealers and authorization to conduct an

educational seminar for continuing education credit and eliminate a requirement for the Nebraska Motor

Vehicle Industry Licensing Board to maintain an office in the State Capitol

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:

Aye: 7 Senators Bostelman, Brandt, DeBoer, DeKay, Fredrickson, Geist, Moser

Nay:

Absent: 1 Senator Cavanaugh, M.

Present Not Voting:

Testimony:

Proponents: Representing: Mike Moser Introducer

Chad Tessman

Nebraska Independent Auto Dealers Association

Clint Jones

Nebraska Independent Auto Dealers Association

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Loy Todd Nebraska New Car and Truck Dealers Association
Josh Eikmeier Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Amends the Nebraska Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Act by enacting two new provisions of law.

Section 2- New Provision of Law

Provides that applicants for an initial motor vehicle dealer's license shall be required to complete 8 hours of continuing education and applicants for renewal of a dealer's license shall complete 4 hours of continuing education within 12 months of issuance or renewal of the license.

The continuing education requirement shall not apply to:

Salvage dealers (primary business is the sale of salvage vehicles on behalf of insurance carriers);

Dealers who only sell manufactured homes;

Dealers who only sell trailers; and

A franchised new car dealer or employee of a franchised new car dealer.

^{*} ADA Accommodation Written Testimony

Section 3- New Provision of Law

Establishes the process by which an entity can apply to the Motor Vehicle Industry Licensing Board to qualify to provide a continuing education program.

The bill provides for an operative date of January 1, 2024.

Explanation of amendments:

The Committee considered and adopted an amendment which accomplishes the following:

The amendment provides that the continuing education requirement for covered dealers shall become operative on January 1, 2025. Language in subsection (1) of section 2 of the bill is revised for purposes of clarity but the substantive requirements as introduce remain unchanged. An initial dealer applicant must complete 8 hours of continuing education and renewal of a dealer's license must complete 4 hours of continuing education prior to the date of applying for license renewal. Section 5 of the bill is stricken. This section prescribed a January 1, 2024 operative date for the bill.

	-
Suzanne Geist	Chairnerson