Ninety-Ninth Legislature - First Session - 2005
' Committee Statement
' LB 288

Hearing Date: March 8, 2005
Committee On: Transportation and Telecommunications

Introducer(s): (Thompson)
Title: Provide for child abuse prevention license plates

Roll Call Vote — Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

X Advanced to General File with Amendments

Indefinitely Postponed
Vote Results:
6 Yes Senators Hudkins, Foley, Stuthman, Aguilar, Smith, Baker
I No Senator Dw. Pedersen
Present, not voting
1  Absent Senator Brown
Proponents: Representing:
Senator Nancy Thompson Introducer
Melissa Dodge Voices for Children in Nebraska
Amy Prenda Nebraska CASA Association
Opponents: Representing:
Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

The bill provides for child abuse prevention license plates and distribution of fees for child abuse
prevention.

SECTION BY SECTION SUMMARY

Section 1 amends §43-1904 by adding to the Nebraska Child Abuse Prevention Fund Board the
duty of reviewing the recommendations of the 2003 report of the Governor’s Children’s Task
Force and using proceeds from the sale of child abuse prevention plates to carry out the
recommendations of the report or other programs as determined by the board that address child
abuse and neglect.
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Section 2 amends §43-1906 to add the proceeds from the sale of Child Abuse Prevention Plates
to the Child Abuse Prevention Fund.

Section 3 adds new language allowing the Department of Motor Vehicles to design child abuse
prevention plates. Before DMV will manufacture the plate, at least 500 prepaid applications must
be received within 2 years.

Section 4 requires DMV to design child abuse prevention plates. The design shall be selected on
the basis of enhancing the marketability of the plates to supporters of prevention and limiting the
manufacturing cost. One type of plate shall be consecutively numbered plates, limiting numerals
to five characters or less, and not use a county designation. One type shall be personalized
message plates.

Section 5 allows for application of the Child Abuse Prevention Plates. Farm trucks must affix
appropriate tonnage stickers as required. For consecutively numbered plates, each initial plate fee
or renewal fee is $30. One-sixth of the plate fee shall go to the DMV cash fund. Five-sixths of
the plate fee shall go to the Nebraska Child Abuse Prevention Fund.

Each initial plate fee or renewal fee for a personalized message plate is $40. Seventy-five percent
of the fee shall go to the DMV cash fund, twenty-five percent to the Nebraska Child Abuse
Prevention Fund. The department shall deliver the plates to the county as needed. Replacement
plates may be issued. Subsection (4)(a) allows the owner of the plate to transfer ownership to
another vehicle owned by that individual. Subsection (4)(b) allows for the unused portion of the
fee for the plate be credited to the other vehicle at the rate of 8 1/3 percent per month for each
full month left in the registration period. Subsection (c) sets a $3 fee for a transfer. Transfer fees
shall be remitted to the DMV Cash Fund.

New language in subsection (5) states that any time the cost of manufacturing the plates exceeds
the amount charged, the money shall first be credited to the Highway Trust Fund to make up the
difference; then to Nebraska Child Abuse Prevention Fund.

Section 6 amends §60-310 by adding an internal reference.

Section 7 amends §60-315 by adding internal references.

Section 8 provides an operative date of July 1, 2005.

Section 9 contains the repealer clause.

Section 10 contains the emergency clause.
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Explanation of amendments, if any:

The committee amendment, AM0769, strikes the emergency clause, eliminates the requirement
that there be a minimum of 500 prepaid applications, adds language to allow the use of the plates
on trailer, motorcycles, or commercial trucks, and strikes the original operative date. An
operative date of January 1, 2006 is provided.

Senator Tom Baker, Chairperson
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