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The amendment is actually...the amendment that Senator Chambers 
is attacking is actually a protection to people when you get 
into the area of judicial notice. And, if he wants to debate 
the matter, I'll debate it further with him. Thank you.
SENATOR COORDSEN: Thank you, Senator Matzke. Senator Bruning.
SENATOR BRUNING: Mr. President, members of the Legislature, I
rise in support of the bill. The conference we're having off to 
the side right now, Senator Chambers and I and others, was to 
figure out exactly how, if a conviction from another state comes 
at .08, for example, or .085, whether that can be used in 
Nebraska. And that's the...that's the catch right now. Senator 
Chambers has said on the side that he doesn't disagree with the 
overall concept of the bill, the f£ct that other convictions 
from other states can be used, it's the wording at this point. 
In my experience in the Legislature, those types of conflicts 
can be fixed. So I guess my hope is here at some point we can 
get Senator Engel, who's the sponsor of the bill, and Senator 
Chambers together and we can work out an amendment to fix this, 
because it seems like there is common ground here, based on my 
conversation a few moments ago with Senator Chambers. And, I 
guess, Senator Engel, I'd be interested in your comments. But
knowing that the rub, at least for Senator Chambers, is how
exactly this bill should be worded with regard to convictions in 
other states that fall below Nebraska's level and also that may 
have happened in another state prior to a change in law, so,...
SENATOR COORDSEN: Senator Engel, would you respond?
SENATOR ENGEL: I would, and I thought I'd just answered that,
but maybe I didn't...quite clear with it. But the intent of the 
bill is that the conviction, if it's in Kansas or any other
state, and there are several other states that are .08, we
cannot use those convictions if that law was in effect in the 
prior 12 years. But, if it's been, say it went into effect two 
years ago, .08, and they were convicted two or three times prior 
to that, in that state, because our law goes back 12 years where 
they use it for enhanced penalties, then we could use those 
convictions prior to where they passed a law with the lower 
blood alcohol content. But you're right, we will not use, as of 
right now in Kansas or any other state where it's less than


