## LB 596

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 596

## Approved by the Governor March 17, 1999

Introduced by Bohlke, 33

AN ACT relating to community colleges; to amend section 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change provisions relating to community college areas; and to repeal the original section.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

85-1504. The state is hereby divided into six community college areas as follows:

- (1) The Western Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Box Butte, Scotts Bluff, Banner, Kimball, Morrill, Cheyenne, Garden, Deuel, and Grant and the voting districts of Merriam, Russell, King, Mother Lake, Cody, Barley, Gillaspie, Lackey, and Calf Creek in Cherry County as such voting districts existed on July 1, 1975;
- (2) The Mid-Plains Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Cherry except as provided in subdivision (1) of this section, Hooker, Thomas, Blaine, Loup, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Custer, Keith, Lincoln, Perkins, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Dundy, Hitchcock, and Red Willow;
- (3) The Northeast Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Knox, Cedar, Antelope, Pierce, Madison, Wayne, Stanton, Dixon, Dakota, Thurston, Burt, and Cuming and the precincts of North Oakland, South Oakland, Ashland, North Branch, Shell Creek, and Midland in Boone County as such precincts existed on July 1, 1975;
- (4) The Central Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Valley, Greeley, Platte, Colfax, Sherman, Howard, Nance, Merrick, Polk, Butler, Dawson, Buffalo, Hall, Hamilton, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Adams, Clay, Furnas, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls and all of Boone County except as provided in subdivision (3) of this section;
- (5) The Southeast Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Saunders, Cass, York, Seward, Lancaster, Otoe, Fillmore, Saline, Thayer, Jefferson, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, and Richardson; and
- (6) The Metropolitan Community College Area shall consist of the following counties: Dodge, Washington, Douglas, and Sarpy.
- Sec. 2. Original section 85-1504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is repealed.