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AMENDMENTS TO LB 410

1 1. Strike the original sections and all amendments

2 thereto and insert the following new sections:

3 "Section 1. Section 60-6,267, Reissue Revised Statutes

4 of Nebraska, is amended to read:

5 60-6,267. (1) Any person who resides in Nebraska and who ——— ——————— ——— ___

6 drives any motor vehicle which has or is required to have an

7 occupant protection system shall ensure that:

8 (a) All children under the age of four or five and———— —— _________

9 weighing less than forty pounds being transported in such vehicle

10 use a child passenger restraint system of a type which meets

11 Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 as developed by the

12 National Highway Traffic Safety Administration as of July 10, 1990,

13 and which is correctly installed in such vehicle; and

14 (b) All children under the age of five and weighing forty _________________________

15 or more pounds or at least four years of age and younger than five—— —— ————— ———— ————— —— ——— ——— ——————— ———— ————

16 years of age being transported in such vehicle use an occupant————— —— ———

 17 protection system.

18 This subsection shall apply to every motor vehicle which

19 is equipped with an occupant protection system or is required to be

20 equipped with restraint systems pursuant to Federal Motor Vehicle

21 Safety Standard 208 except taxicabs, mopeds, motorcycles, and any

22 motor vehicle designated by the manufacturer as a 1963 year model

23 or earlier which is not equipped with an occupant protection

 24 system.
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1 (2) Whenever any licensed physician licensed to practice________ ———————— —— ————————

2 medicine in Nebraska determines, through accepted medical———————— —— ————————

3 procedures, that use of a child passenger restraint system by a

4 particular child would be harmful by reason of the child's weight,

5 physical condition, or other medical reason, the provisions of

6 subsection (1) of this section shall be waived. The driver of any

7 vehicle transporting such a child shall carry on his or her person

8 or in the vehicle a signed written statement of the physician

9 identifying the child and stating the grounds for such waiver.

10 (3) The drivers of authorized emergency vehicles shall

11 not be subject to the requirements of subsection (1) of this

12 section when operating such authorized emergency vehicles pursuant

13 to their employment.

14 (4) The Department of Motor Vehicles shall develop and

15 implement an ongoing public information and education program

16 regarding the use of child passenger restraint systems and occupant

 17 protection systems.

18 Sec. 2. Section 60-6,268, Reissue Revised Statutes of

19 Nebraska, is amended to read:

20 60-6,268. (1) A person violating any provision of

21 subsection (1) of section 60-6,267 shall, for a first offense, be ______________________

22 guilty of an infraction as defined in section 29-431 and shall be

23 fined twenty-five dollars for each violation. The failure to

24 provide a child restraint system for more than one child in the

25 same vehicle at the same time, as required in such subsection,

26 shall not be treated as a separate offense.

27 Any For a first offense, a person who is charged with a ——— ______________________
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1 violation of such subsection, who does not have in his or her

2 possession a child restraint system meeting the requirements of

3 Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 as of August 26, 1983,

4 and who subsequently purchases or rents for a one-year period such

5 a system prior to his or her court appearance shall not, upon ___

6 presentation of proof of purchase or proof of rental for a one-year

7 period of such a system, be able to utilize such presentation as an—— ———— —— ——————— ———— ———————————— —— ——

8 absolute defense and cause for dismissal of such charge have any———————— ——————— ——— ————— ——— ————————— —— ———— —————— ________

9 fine imposed and shall not have any points assessed against his or ___________________________________________________________________

10 her driving record. __________________

11 For a second or any subsequent offense, any person _________________________________________________________

12 violating such subsection shall be guilty of an infraction. ___________________________________________________________

13 (2) A person who has acquired the statement authorized by

14 subsection (2) of section 60-6,267, but fails to show a peace

15 officer such statement when requested to do so, shall be guilty of

16 an infraction as defined in section 29-431 and shall be fined ten

17 dollars for each offense. The failure to produce a statement for

18 more than one child in the same vehicle at the same time shall not

19 be treated as a separate offense.

20 Sec. 3. Section 71-1907, Revised Statutes Supplement,

21 1998, is amended to read:

22 71-1907. Any person furnishing foster care who is

23 subject to licensure under section 71-1902, when transporting in a

24 motor vehicle any children for whom care is being furnished, shall

25 use an approved child passenger restraint system for each child,

26 except that an occupant protection system as defined in section

27 60-6,265 may be used for any child weighing forty or more pounds. _
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1 or four years of age or more.—— ———— ————— —— ——— —— —————

2 Any person violating this section shall be guilty of an

3 infraction as defined in section 29-431 and shall have his or her

4 license to furnish foster care revoked or suspended by the

5 Department of Health and Human Services.

6 For purposes of this section, approved child passenger

7 restraint system shall mean a restraint system which meets Federal

8 Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 as developed by the National

9 Highway Traffic Safety Administration as of July 17, 1982.

10 Sec. 4. Original sections 60-6,267 and 60-6,268, Reissue

11 Revised Statutes of Nebraska, and section 71-1907, Revised Statutes

12 Supplement, 1998, are repealed.".
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