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area, other county judges have reported to us t hat we h ave
some individuals with serious alcoholism problems that would
rather take their 7 days than enter i nto a pr ogr am . Th e
judges are saying to us, give us a maximum of 30 days so we
wil l h ave a l ar ge r hamm er to direct these people i nto
t reatment programs. So tha t is the first strengthening
t h ing t h e b i l l doe s . The second strengthening thing the
b ill does is it sets o u t a different set of criminal
p enal t i e s f o r t h o se who wi l l i nj u r e someone whi l e dr u nk
driving, as distinguished from mere drun k dr i v i ng . Under
the cu r r en t l a w , y o u c a n be charged with a homicide offense,
motor v e h i c u l a r ho m i c id e , i f you k i l l so mebody wh i l e d r u n k .
Anything short of that is simple drunk driving. I n o t h e r
words, if you seriously injure someone in an auto accident
so they lose a leg or lose an arm, the penalty is no
different than if you are simply weaving down the road. So
this would fill that space in t he c r i m i n a l l aw t h at ot he r
jurisdictions, most other jurisdictions, have taken care of.
Now, the third thing the bill does is it tempers the act, it
tempers the act by reducing the maximum allowable license
suspension for third offense drunk drivers from lifetime to
10 years. Now this is an important feature. When we passed
the bill four years ago there was a floor amendment that
gave judges discretion to take away a license for a lifetime
in a third offense drunk driving s i t u a t i o n a n d I t h i nk j u st
about everyone will agree that that is a l i t t l e exce s s i v e .
I mean, lifetime, after a ll , i s a l ong t i me f o r an yon e .
Whoever is involved, whoever they are, the rest of their
life is a long, long time. What it serves to do i s d r i v e
people out of the state. If you are 30 or 40 or 45 and if
you are in a mobile profession and if your license is taken
away for the rest of your life in the State of Nebraska, you
are just going to move. You are just going to move. You
are going to move to Arizona or California or Oregon because
that is really not something that most people are willing to
deal with. So we bring that down to 10 years. N ow 10 ye a r s
i s still a long time. I f a third offense drunk driver is
25 years old and gets rnvolved in an accident and the judge
takes his license away for the maximum 10-year period, by
the tame he is 35, p re umably he ha, re»abilitated himself,
put h i s pr ob l em s b eh i nd h am an d so forth. I thi nk most
everyone wall agree that 10 years is sufficient. Now, the
fourth thing it does zs i prevents someone whose license
has been suspended or revoked in another jurisdiction from
obtaining a lrcense in Nebraska. We have a pr o b l e m because
people who s e l i cen s e s a r e suspended i n I owa f or d r u nk
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