ONE HUNDRED FOURTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION - 2016 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LB886

Hearing Date: Wednesday February 03, 2016

Committee On: Revenue **Introducer:** Davis

One Liner: Adopt the Volunteer Emergency Responders Incentive Act and provide income tax credits

Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:

Advanced to General File

Vote Results:

Aye: 8 Senators Brasch, Davis, Gloor, Harr, Scheer, Schumacher, Smith,

Sullivan

Nay:

Absent:

Present Not Voting:

Verbal Testimony:

Proponents: Representing:

Senator Al Davis Introducer

John Hansen Nebraska Farmer's Union

Micheal Dwyer Nebraska Volunteer Firefighters' Association

Lori Panko Cook Rescue Squad

Jessica Kolterman

Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation

Joel Johnson

Former State Senator, Kearney, NE

Jerry Stilmock Nebraska State Volunteer Firefighters, Nebraska Fire

Chiefs Association

Darren Garrean Nebraska Professional Firefighters Associaiton

Richard Lombardi Nebraska Emergency Medical Services

Opponents: Representing:

Neutral: Representing:

Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 886 will create the Volunteer Emergency Responders Incentive Act. This Act will create a \$250 refundable tax credit for volunteer emergency responders who meet the stated criteria.

LB 886 uses a point system already in place to track the level of involvement of volunteers. The city, village, or rural or suburban fire protection district will certify the list of those volunteers who have qualified as active emergency responders, active rescue squad members, or active firefighters. This list will be filed with the Department of Revenue.

Furthermore, the Act provides that the tax refund is available the second taxable year in which the volunteer is included on such list.

This Act also adds a new section to the tax refund statutes in 77-2715.07 to grant a refundable credit of \$250 for the tax year for which an individual volunteer qualifies as an active emergency responder, active rescue squad member, or

Mike Gloor, Chairperson	active firefighter under the Volunteer Emergency Responders Incentive Act.							
Mike Gloor, Chairpersen								
Mike Gloor, Chairperson								
Mike Gloor, Chairperson								
						Mike Gloor, Chairperso	n	