
ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2013
COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB413
 
 
Hearing Date: Monday February 04, 2013
Committee On: General Affairs
Introducer: Schumacher
One Liner: Change license violation provisions under the Nebraska Liquor Control Act
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Indefinitely postponed
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 8 Senators Bloomfield, Coash, Johnson, Karpisek, Krist, Lautenbaugh,

Murante, Schilz
          Nay:   
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting:   
 
 
Proponents: Representing: 
Sen. Paul Schumacher Introducer
Jim Moylan Nebraska Licensed Beverages Association
Kathy Siefken Nebraska Grocery Industry Association
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Hobert Rupe Nebraska Liquor Control Commission
Nicole  Carritt Project Extra Mile
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
Section 53-1,104(3)(a) and (b) spells out the penalties for multiple violations of 53-180 or 53-180.02 (selling to minors)
that occurred within 4 years prior to a current violation.

Subsection (3)(a) states that the Liquor Control Commission may suspend a license for up to 48 hours for a second
offense. Subsection (3)(b) states that for a third or subsequent suspension for violating 53-180 or 53-180.02 (selling to
minors) during the last 4 years, the Liquor Control Commission may suspend a license for up to 15 days. 

Under subsections (3)(a) and (3)(b), the licensee must serve the suspension and cannot pay a fine in lieu of the
suspension as he/she could if it were a first offense.

LB 413 would require the Liquor Control Commission to treat every violation of 53-180 and 53-180.02 (selling to minors)
if it is a result of a 53-1,222 compliance check as a first offense, which would allow the licensee to pay a fine in lieu of
serving the suspension.
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Russ Karpisek, Chairperson
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