## ONE HUNDRED THIRD LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2013 COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LDZJJ	

Hearing Date: Committee On:	Thursday February 14, 2013 Judiciary
Introducer:	Pirsch
One Liner:	Change award and report provisions under the Nebraska Crime Victim's Reparations Act

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File

Vote Results: Aye: Nay: Absent: Present Not Voting:	7 1	Senators Ashford, Christensen, Coash, Davis, Lathrop, McGill, Seiler Senator Chambers
<b>Proponents:</b> SEN. PETE PIRSCH MIKE BEHM		Representing: INTRODUCER CRIME COMMISSION
Opponents:		Representing:
Neutral:		Representing:

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

LB 233 amends sections 81-1822 (Crime Victims Reparations Act; Compensation; situations when not awarded.) and 81-1833(Committee; report; contents.) of the Nebraska Revised Statutes in the following manner:

Section 1. Amends 81-1822 by striking subsection (5) which prohibits a person from receiving compensation from the Nebraska Crime Victims Reparations Fund if the victim does not suffer at least a 10% loss to their net financial resources. So a victim would be able to receive compensation upon proof of loss as a result of the criminal act.

Section 2. Amends 81-1833 to remove the requirement that the Crime Victims Reparations Committee include in its required biennial report the listing of the names, description of facts and the amount of compensation awarded to applicants.

This section also provides that the report that's required to be sent to the Governor and the Clerk of the Legislature, be sent electronically.

Finally, LB 233 strikes section 81-1834 (Award; payment.) which contains language relating to certifying awards to the Department of Administrative Services and ordering them to issue a warrant to pay the award from the Crime Victims Reparations Cash Fund. This process is no longer applicable as the hearing officer is the one who orders the awards in all cases other than appeals and all awards are currently paid by electronic draft rather than warrants.

Brad Ashford, Chairperson