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The following constitutes the reasons for this bill and the purposes which are sought to be
accomplished thereby:

LB 216 defines a “vehicle of special interest” as a motor vehicle which is essentially unaltered from the
original manufacturer’s specifications and because of it present or future significance in design is being
collected, preserved, restored or maintained by the owner as a leisure pursuit and not used for general
transportation of persons or cargo. Other states use this definition to designate collector cars.

LB 216 then authorizes owners of “vehicles of special interest” to operate collector vehicles on Nebraska’s
roads displaying a single license plate on the rear of the vehicle if the following conditions are met:

The owner is a current member of a recognized car club under Section 60-142.03 R.S. Supp. 2010

« The owner must submit an sworn statement that:
o The special interest vehicle will not be used for general daily transportation, to transport
passengers for hire, nor haul material weighing more than 500 pounds,
o The owner owns or operates one or more vehicles with regular license plates which are used for
regular transportation and identifies such vehicle,

 The owner pays an additional fee of $50 ($25 to the DMV/$25 to the Highway Trust Fund) for each
vehicle registered as a special interest vehicle,

« Proof of the owner’s current membership in the recognized car club must be displayed in the form of
a sticker on the lower corner of the windshield of the passenger’s side of the special interest vehicle;
and;

 The rear plate is required to bear a distinctive marking or sticker as prescribed by the DMV to
facilitate enforcement of the law’s requirements.

 Aviolation of the law is a Class 111 Misdemeanor which carries a maximum penalty of three months
imprisonment and a $500 fine or both.

Nebraska law currently permits owners of historical vehicles to operate such vehicles on the roads of
Nebraska with a single plate on the rear of the vehicle under Section 60-3,130.04 R. S. Supp 2010. LB 216
extends this option to the owners of collector vehicles.
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