
ONE HUNDRED FIRST LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2009
COMMITTEE STATEMENT

LB307
 
 
Hearing Date: Thursday February 19, 2009
Committee On: Judiciary
Introducer: Council
One Liner: Change sentencing requirements with respect to certain minors
 
 
Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:
          Advanced to General File
 
 
Vote Results:
          Aye: 7 Senators Ashford, Christensen, Coash, Council, Lathrop, McGill, Rogert
          Nay:   
          Absent:   
          Present Not Voting: 1 Senator Lautenbaugh
 
 
Proponents: Representing: 
Sen. Brenda Council Introducer
Loran Schmit self
Tiffany Seibert Voices for Children
Val Peter self
Mark Rathjen Justeen Orleen (Williams)
Gabriella Culliver Friend/Family of Inmates
Grace Mantich Family/Friends of Inmates
Mona Schlautman Friends/Families of Inmates
Jim Cunningham Nebraska Catholic Conference
Amy Miller ACLU Nebraska
Coleen Nielsen Nebraska Criminal Defense Attorney
Marian  Klostermann Alternatives to Violence Project
 
Opponents: Representing: 
Sharon Hanke self
Andrew Stock self
Kirby Drake Kirk Drake
Elaine Schumaker self
Kimberly Pankonin NE County Attorneys Association
 
Neutral: Representing: 
 
 
Summary of purpose and/or changes:
Legislative Bill 307 changes sentencing provisions for Class I, Class IA, or Class IB felonies when those convicted of the
crime are under 18 years of age at the time the crime is committed.  The changes include:

-	Eliminates the possibility that someone convicted of committing a Class I or Class IA felony, who was under 18 years
of age at the time of the commission of the crime, could be sentenced to life imprisonment without the possibility of
parole;  
-	One who commits a Class I or Class IA felony and is between the ages of 16 and 18 at the time of the criminal act, will
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be sentenced to 50 years to life imprisonment;
-	One who commits a Class I or Class IA felony and is under the age of 16 at the time of the criminal act will be
sentenced to 40 years to life imprisonment; and
-	One who commits a Class IB felony and is under the age of 18 at the time of the criminal act will not receive a
sentence that exceeds 40 years imprisonment.
 
 

 

Brad Ashford, Chairperson
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